skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
cornucopia
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Nutrition

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research about nutrition.

Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases  
 
Nutrition primary databases: Health Reference Center Academic, Medline, CINAHL, and ScienceDirect
Medicine primary database: Medline
Education major databases: ERIC, Education full text
Psychology primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in many areas of nutrition
Handbooks list of nutrition handbooks in Skyline
Call number area R - medicine

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Department of Health and Human Services),  a Word search (for subjects such as nutrition, diet therapy, or diet fads), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior or Nutrition Journal.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings .

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector.

Local Denver Resources.

There is a major medical library in Denver. You may use it for a membership fee. Look for similar libraries in your area. Try a medical libraries list or a libraries directory .

 

end of page