Building Trades Collection Description
Auraria Library does not place building trades materials together
in a single area of the library. Because of this it is important
to become familiar with the various locations. Generally all
of the books on building trades will be found on the second floor
in the TH section.
Architecture and building trades periodicals are found in the
library Periodicals
Department on the first floor in alphabetical order by the title
of the journal for current issues, and the backfiles which are in
paper will be found in the bound section under the NA, NK, and SB
call numbers. The majority of backfiles of periodicals are
on microform. Ask at the service desk of the Periodicals Department
for assistance in locating microforms. Architecture video
programs and films are found in the Media Department on the first
floor. Consult the Skyline
online catalog to identify nonprint programs.
Searching Building Trades Subjects
It is important to use subject headings which are appropriate when
searching architecture subjects on the Auraria Library Skyline
online catalog, or when using other paper and online sources.
There are several methods of determining proper subject headings
including consulting the Library of Congress Subject Heading books
which are located near the Reference Desk, consulting the Encyclopedia
of Vernacular Architecture of the World
(Ref. NA208 E53 1997), or talking to architecture
faculty and other experts in the field. Also, it is important
to do searches on Skyline using the Library of Congress Subject
search.
Assistance with Architecture Research
The Reference Desk located on the first
floor of Auraria Library will provide assistance with architecture
research any time the library is open. In addition, the Auraria
Library Fine Arts Bibliographer Bob Wick may be contacted
by telephone or email for assistance with research.
back to top
Browsing the Building Trades Stacks
The majority of books related to building trades may be found on
the second floor
of the Auraria Library under the "TH" classification.
Below is a chart which identifies the classification by specific
subject area.
TG 1-470
Building Engineering.
TH 1-9745
Building Construction
TH 845-895
Architectural engineering. Structural engineering of buildings.
TH 1000-1727 Systems of building
construction including fireproof, wood, etc.
TH 2031-3000 Details, including foundations,
walls, chimneys, roofs, floors, etc..
TH 4021-4977 Buildings: construction
with reference to use, public buildings, factories,
dwellings, farm buildings, etc..
TH 5011-5701 Construction by phase
of work in building.
TH 6014-7975 Environmental engineering,
plumbing, heating, lighting, ventilation, etc.
TH 9025-9745 Protection of buildings,
including protection from dampness,
fire prevention and and extinction, protection from burglary,
etc.
For more specific classifications under architecture consult the
Library of Congress Subject Headings books located near the Reference
Counter on the first
floor of the Library, or use the online catalog SKYLINE and
search under the Library of Congress Subject Searching area.
back to top
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The following building trades dictionaries and encyclopedias are
representative of the reference collection. they represent
a few important sources of the many reference works which may be
of help to your research. Please browse the Reference Stacks
on the main floor of the first
floor of Auraria Library in call number area: Ref. NA
31 and TH 9 to discover additional sources.
Cowan, Henry J. Dictionary of Architecture and Building
Technology. New York: Elseier Applied
Science Publications, 1998.
Ref. NA 31 C63 1998. Based on earlier works, 1973, 1986,
this dictionary covers the field of architectural sciences, building
science, and building technology. Topics covered include
structure, materials, acoustics, lighting, thermal environment,
sun control, building services, etc..
Cowan, Henry J., ed. Encyclopedia of Building Technology.
Englewood Cliffs, N. J.: Prentice Hall, 1988.
TH9
.E48 1988. This work provides in-depth articles on all
aspects of building technology and construction.
A Diderot Pictorial Encyclopedia of Trades and Industry; manufacturing
and the technical arts in plates selected from "L'Encyclopédie,
ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers"
of Denis Diderot. Edited with introd. and notes by Charles Coulston
Gillispie. New York, Dover Publications [1959]
Ref. T9 .D473 V.1 & 2. This famous retrospective work
provides historical information concerning building and building
trades before 1950.
Krieger, Morris. Homeowner's Encyclopedia of House Construction.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1978.
TH4811 .K73. This volume provides less technical information
concerning home construction and engineering.
Grech, Chris., ed. Multilingual Dictionary of Architectrue
and Building Terms. London: E. FN Spon,
1998. Ref.
NA31 .M85 1998. This recent dictionary provides definitions
for building and construction terms.
back to top
Codes and Standards
Auraria Library provides many basic codes and standards books.
These sources provide information concerning state and national
construction standards and building codes. For a complete
listing of these materials use the Skyline
online catalog in a "word" search using the terms:
Building
Codes and Standards.
American Institute of Architects. Architectural Graphic Standards.
New York: John Wiley, 1981- Ref.
TH 2031 A48. The Architectural Graphic Standards are
updated yearly with the 1997 edition providing graphic standards
in all aspects of building and construction. More than 800
plates explaining graphics, detailing, and standards are provided.
ASTM Standards in Building Codes. Philadelphia: American
Society for Testing and Materials, 1966- Ref.
TA 404.5 A45. Building codes through the U. S. and Canada
have adopted, by reference. a large number of ASTM standards as
authentic sources of test procedure and as a basis for acceptable
quality for materials and construction. This annual compilation
includes ASTM standards that are referenced in such nationally known
codes as the Basic Building Code, Uniform Building Codes, and
the Standard Building Code, and in various state and city
building codes. Updated every few years.
Building Code of the City and County of Denver. Denver:
City and County of Denver, 1984- (loose-leaf) Ref.
KFX 1362 A3. This is the official building code of the
City and County of Denver. It is now updated electronically
at: http://www.denvergov.org/cbvinfo/business.asp
and through a yearly update entitled Amendments (KFC
2399.5 D46 A37)
DeChiara, Joseph. Time-Saver Standards for Building Types.
New York: McGraw Hill, 1990.
Ref. NA 2760 D42. This book contains data on all major
building types and essential components, and provides design considerations
for studying functional relationships. There are other titles
in this series including:
back to top
Architectural Bibliographies
Bibliographies provide a list of resources (books, articles, online
sources, etc.) published on a specific architectural subjects.
They may be entire books or they may appear at the end of articles,
books, or book chapters. Specific bibliographies may
be found using the Skyline
online catalog by adding the word "bibliography" to terms
used in a Word search, for example:
Building Trades "bibliography"
Building Engineering "bibliography"
Construction Engineering "bibliography"
back to top
Books
Auraria Library Online Catalog
Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to find books in the library
and to find out if the Library subscribes or has access to specific
journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat This database contains the book records of nearly every
library in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use
to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector.
NetLibrary A database of online, full text books. Some
psychology books are included. Other eBooks.
Tip: Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector. You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
back to top
Online Indexes
The most current information, as well as historical information,
can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles, which
tend to deal with more specific topics than books cover.
The "Find Articles"
Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The staff at the Reference Desk
can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic
if the Library does not own the material you need. The librarian
at the Reference Desk can often help you locate other suitable information
on your topic if the Library does not own the material you need.
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
Architecture Database
-- This is the online version of the Architecture Periodicals Index
(API) which is also available in paper at the library. It
is published by the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute
of British Architects and includes articles, interviews, obituaries,
and biographies in more than 400 current periodicals from over 45
countries, as well as some 2,000 cataloged items including monographs,
conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets, and some
technical literature.
Architectural
Index -- 1982-present. The Architectural Index
provides indexing to 18 of the more prominent journals in the areas
of architecture, interior design, and construction. Searches
may be limited to specific journals and/or to specific states or
architects. A list of the journals included is provided on
the search screen.
Expanded
Academic Index -- 1971-present. [Includes full text articles.]
This online index indexes many of the journals subscribed
to by the Auraria Library including a number of architecture journals.
Also, many of the articles may be viewed in full-text. The
Expanded Academic Index is recommended as a first stop in searching
architectural periodical sources.
General
Business File ASAP -- Index to business and industry
articles, many full text. 1982 - present.
ArticleFirst
-- 1990-present. This database is atable-of-contents indexing
service for articles in more than 13,000 journals. It may
be searched by architecture subjects to identify journal articles.
Electric
Library -- The Electric Library database tends to provide
information from popular journals, newspapers and news wires, pictures,
maps, and radio and TV transcripts from many publishers. Architecture
topics may be found in a number of the sources.
Uncover
(Ingenta) --1988-present. This database is the largest journal
table-of-contents indexing service. It covers more than 17,000
journals and offers a fee-based document delivery service.
While many of the journals indexed are not available at the Auraria
Library, it is a good index to use for in-depth searches of architecture
topics.
Other Databases
The following databases are also of use to architectural &
building trades studies. These databases are not all periodical
indexes, but will include articles and other materials on architecture
and related fields.
Dissertation
Abstracts Online -- 1861-present. (indexing) 1980-present.
(abstracting) Includes most Ph. D. dissertations published
in the U. S.. Updated monthly. Most art and architecture
dissertations are included in this source.
EbscoOnline
-- Provides tables of contents and abstracts on hundreds of journals
published in the U.S.. Includes many of the journals subscribed
to by the Auraria Library.
GPO
Monthly Catalog -- 1976-present. Contains information
on records for more than 450,000 records for documents on all subjects
of interest published by the U. S. government.
Grove Art Online. Grove Art Online is the most comprehensive online resource for all aspects
of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
Jake -- Jake provides
a source for finding where a particular journal is indexed.
Statistical
Universe -- 1973-present. Based on the American
Statistic Index this site provides abstracts and indexes for
all government publications back to 1973. Many of the statistical
tables are provided full text.
Thomas Register Online
-- This database provides product information for U. S. and Canadian
Manufacturing companies. An important source for architecture, design,
and building trades. Updated Quarterly.
WorldCat
-- 1000 A. D.-present This database represents the OCLC Online
Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing
items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains
library holdings. This is an essential database for art, architecture,
and building trades studies for finding hard to find books and other
materials.
back to top
Print Indexes
The four paper indexes listed below are important sources for finding
articles, book reviews, and other information concerning architecture
& building trades. For additional assistance please consult
a librarian at the Auraria Library Reference Desk located on the
first floor of the library.
Architectural Index. Boulder, CO: Architectural Index,
1950- Index
NA 2500 A66 Published annually,
this index offers access to only the most common journals such as
Architectural Record, Interior Design, and Landscape
Architecture. Articles about specific buildings are indexed
under the General building type and cross-indexed under architect
or designer.
Architectural Periodicals Index. London: RIBA Publications,
1973- Index
NA1 A1 A7 This index is designed as an up-to-date general,
though selective, index to more than 450 of the world's design periodicals.
It is published quarterly. Cumulations are yearly.
Art Index. New York: H. W. Wilson Co., 1929-
Index
N 5300 A78 The Art Index is an index to domestic and foreign
publications. Although it is primarily a periodical index,
yearbooks and museum bulletins are included. The main body
consists of subject and author entries to published articles arranged
in one alphabet. A number of important architecture journals
are indexed in this source.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. (2nd Ed.,
rev. and enl.)
Index NA 2500 C6 The Avery Index began as a photomechanical
reproduction of the card index to periodical literature in the Avery
Library at Columbia University. The most important architectural
periodicals are indexed here, and in addition, a number of books
are included each year. Many journals have been indexed back
to the beginning of their publication, e.g., 1870s or earlier.
This index is valuable for finding information on building plans
and elevations.
back to top
Internet Resources
The following is a list of Internet sites which are useful for
research in the building trades. Each listing will link directly
to the site by clicking on the URL. There may be some sites
which have moved or are out of print. Updating is done on
a regular basis. Please contact Bob
Wick, Fine Arts Bibliographer, 303-556-2438, to report sites
which no longer work.
Architecture
and Building Trades -- Use this directory to find organizations
for architects, builders, contractors, urban planners and other
professionals in the building trades.
Building Trades Association
-- The Building Trades Association (BTA) is made up of thousands
of companies involved in all phases of the building and construction
industries. BTA was formed to provide services for its members.
ConstructionEducation.com
-- ConstructionEducation.Com provides a clearing house
site for the construction industry. It includes links to an
online construction journal along with the APM Bookstore, project
management information, and Construction may additional links important
to the construction trades.
Construction Specifications Institute
-- The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) is
a national professional association that provides technical information
and products, continuing education, professional conferences, and
product shows to enhance communication among all the nonresidential
building design and construction industry's disciplines and meet
the industry's need for a common system of organizing and presenting
construction documents.
Denver Chapter -- Construction
Specifications Institute.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|