skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Colorado History

Use this guide for to help you locate print and online resources related to history of the western United States, with an emphasis on Colorado. See also: subject guide for HISTORY and NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES.

Article Databases  
The database links below will help you find journal and newspaper articles related to Colorado/Western History.
 
History databases Colorado Historic Newspapers; America, History and Life and others.
Multi-subject databases Academic Search Premier and others.
News and Newspaper databases Lexis Nexis, America's Newspapers, and others.
Colorado State Publications Links to Colorado-related Web sites.

 

Books  
 
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD/ VHS recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword and Subject searching. Keyword examples: colorado history women; pueblo indians; gold mines colorado; colorado history combined with the name of town or area, i.e. Five Points, Greeley, or Denver, for example.
Auraria Library Archives Although many Colorado/Western history books are in the Library's reference and circulating collections, a substantial number are also housed in the Library's archives.
Denver Mining Camp to Metropolis Classic text written by campus professors Stephen J Leonard and Thomas J. Noel. Available in print and as an e-book.
Colorado; A History of the Centennial State Another classic text. Authors are Carl Abbott, Stephen J. Leonard , and Thomas J. Noel.
Prospector Use Prospector to search major Colorado library all in one shot. Campus students and faculty members can request books found on Prospector at no charge; the book(s) will be delivered to the Auraria Library.
NetLibrary The Library subscribes to this database of online, full text e-books. A suprising number of them cover Colorado history!

Need to borrow resources from another library? Of course you do! You're doing historical research! Link to the guide 'Find Books, Videos, and DVD's' to learn how to request  books and other materials not available at the Auraria Library using either the Interlibrary Loan service; in-Library requests at the Interlibrary Loan service window; WorldCat; or Prospector.

Colorado Images  
 
Western History Photograph Collection: Photoswest.org An impressive, searchable collection of historic Colorado images provided by the Denver Public Library, the Colorado Historical Society, and the Denver Art Museum.
Heritage Colorado  - Created through the Colorado Digitization Program. Heritage Colorado is a database of images, special collections (costumes, objects, newspapers) and unique resources of Colorado's archives, historical societies, libraries and museums in digital format.
History of the American West: 1860-1920 Photos presented by the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. culled from the Denver Public Library collection focusing on the period 1860-1920 only.
USGenWeb: Colorado Photographs Photographs submitted by volunteers for this genealogical information website.
Special Collections Photographs and images will also be available in the Colorado and Western Research Collections listed below.

 

Colorado and Western History Research Collections to Visit Online or in Person  
 
Auraria Library Archives Although many Colorado/Western history books are in the Library's reference and circulating collections, a substantial number are also housed in the Library's archives.
Western History/Genealogy Department: Denver Public Library This department, open to researchers, is located on the fifth level of the Central branch of the Denver Public Library.
Colorado Historical Society: Stephen H. Hart Library The Library of the Historical Society, housed in the Colorado History Museum. General information.
Colorado State Archives The State Archives is charged with preserving Colorado's legal and historical records.
Other Historical Societies An online directory of historical societies in Colorado and beyond.
Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library This library is part of the Denver Public Library system.
National Archives (NARA): Rocky Mountain Region

NARA maintains retired records from Federal agencies and courts in Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Libraries and Museums in Colorado Listing on the State of Colorado Home page.
Colorado's Main Streets  - Created through the Colorado Digitization Program. A project to educate the public about the value of preservation; the role historic structures play in livable communities, encourage heritage tourism, and offer opportunities for students and teachers to use the sites as an educational tool.
Western Trails - Created through the Colorado Digitization Program.
Early history, images, and documents related to Colorado, Wyoming, Nebraska, and Kansas.

 

Historic Colorado Buildings/Landmarks: Specialized Resources  
Below are some specialized resources highlighting Colorado structures and sites.
 
Denver Landmarks and Historic Districts: A Pictorial Guide. By Thomas J. Noel. Niwot, CO: University Press of Colorado, 1996. Available in print in the Library and online as an e-book.
Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape, and Planning. Database of architectural and landscape images searchable by city, county, building/site, designer/planner, category, style, and date.
Rediscovering Northwest Denver: Its History, Its People, Its Landmarks. By Ruth Eloise Wiberg. Boulder, CO: Pruett Publishing, 1976. Available in print in the Library and online as an e-book.
Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, 1933-Present. The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.

 

Colorado Counties and Cities: Historic Information Online TIP: Remember that local libraries in the area you're researching will carry historic information on that area.  
 
COGenWeb Project. Especially helpful for leads to information on smaller counties. Created by volunteers with an interest in genealogy. Colorado Counties, Inc. Map of Colorado's counties. History in Colorado. Contact information for hundreds of historical sites and institutions in Colorado. From UCDHSC Public History and Preservation Program.
Adams County Alamosa County Arapahoe County
Bent County Boulder County Breckenridge (in Summit County)
Broomfield Chaffee County Cheyenne County
Clear Creek and Gilpin Counties Conejos County Costilla County
Creede and Mineral County Crowley County Custer County
Delta County Denver City and County Dolores County
Douglas County Eagle County Erie (in Weld County)
Fraser (in Grand County) El Paso County - Old Colorado City Freemont County
Garfield County Georgetown (in Clear Creek County) Gilpin and Clear Creek Counties
Grand County Gunnison County Hinsdale County
Jefferson County Leadville, Twin Lakes, Lake County Logan County
Huerfano County Jackson County Kiowa County
Kit Carson County La Plata County :Larimer County
Lake County Las Animas County Longmont (in Boulder County)
Manitou Springs (in El Paso County) Mesa County :Minturn (in Eagle County)
Monte Vista (in Rio Grande County) Moffat County Nunn (in Weld County)
Ouray (in Ouray County) Pitkin County Pitkin (in Gunnison County)
Poncha Springs (in Chaffee County) Pueblo County Salida (in Chaffee County)
South Fork (in Rio Grande County) Teller County Telluride (in San Miguel County)
Weld County
   

 

Colorado Facts and Statistics See also: Statistics Subject Guide
 
Colorado by the Numbers An online statistical abstract for the state of Colorado.
Colorado Census Data: 1870-1920 Colorado data culled from the Historical Census Browser.
Colorado Emblems and Symbols
Find such facts as the State Bird, Song, and more.
Colorado Lore, Legend, and Fact Colorado tidbits.
IPUMS: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series Census microdata presented for social and economic research beginning with 1850 data.

 

Oral Histories and Primary Resources  

Primary sources can be the oral statements of individuals or writings that come from the living of everyday life and processes of business and government. They include personal letters and papers, journals, diaries, drafts of speeches, photographs, official records, and business documents. Some primary sources, like diaries, were never intended for public use. Some, like pamphlets and congressional hearings, were meant for public scrutiny. Secondary sources are those that were written after an event took place; usually looking at the happening critically, with hindsight, and includes articles and books.

 
Books When searching for published primary resources on online catalogs, such as the Auraria Library database, Skyline, try matching your keyword with one of these subject headings: ORAL HISTORY; PERSONAL NARRATIVES; CORRESPONDENCE or DIARIES. Example: PIONEERS COLORADO DIARIES.
Primary Resource Databases Early Encounters in North America, In the First Person, and others.
Your Phone Find people to interview from such places as phone books (maybe Bob Gaglianni is the great-grandson of the Gaglianni you're doing research on) and by calling people who are not so obvious (i.e. archivist or librarian is obvious) who could be in the know, like a worker in the local post office.
Google It There are many oral history collections and projects related to Colorado and the Western United States. Try a search on the Internet search engine Google to locate many of them. Search Example: ORAL HISTORY COLORADO

 

Historic Colorado Touring Opportunities  
 
Colorado Tourism: Culture and Heritage Destinations A subsection of the Colorado Travel and Tourism website.
Dr. Colorado Web Site Web page for University of Colorado History Professor Thomas J. Noel . Includes calendar of upcoming historic tours.
Colorado State Web Page: Visiting and Activites Links to historical and cultural information.

 

 
end of page