skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Communications

This guide presents online and print resources and societies of interest to those studying the cross-disciplinary area of Communication, covering such subject areas as technical communications, interpersonal communication, mass media, Web design, and language. These subject guides may also be of interest: Journalism, Theater, and Speech.

Article Databases  
The database links below will help you find journal and newspaper articles related to your Communication topic.
 
Multi-subject databases Academic Search Premier and others.
Communication databases Communication & Mass Media Complete and others.
Technical Communications databases Computer Database and others.
Computer Information Systems databases ScienceDirect and others.
Graphic Design databases Art Abstracts and others.
News and Newspaper databases Lexis Nexis and others.
Business databases Business Source Premier and others.
Psychology databases PsycInfo and others.

Worldwide Media Outlets  
 
Kidon Media Guide More than 19,000 links to media resources worldwide including television, radio, magazines, newspapers, and Internet outlets.

Internet Resources  
   
American Communication Journal American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
Arguments and Their Evaluation Ars-Rhetorica
Communication Theory Links at UCD Communication Sciences and Disorders: A List of Resources 
Digital Media Designer Persuasive Speech Links
Stephen Downes Guides to the Logical Fallacies Symbols.Net
TECHWR-L Internet-based community and resource for technical communicators worldwide. Web Page Design for Designers

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
 
Communication dictionaries
Communication encyclopedias
Mass Media dictonaries
Nonverbal Dictionary
Technical Communication handbooks

Books  
 
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD and VHS recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword and Subject searching. Keyword examples: web design; communication sex differences; small groups communication; intercultural communication
Prospector Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library owns a particular book. Campus students and faculty members can order the book at no charge if it's available at another library.
NetLibrary The Library subscribes to this database of online, full text books.

Tip: Link to the guide 'Find Books, Videos, and DVD's' to learn how to request  books and other materials not available at the Auraria Library using either the Interlibrary Loan WebZap service; in-Library requests at the Interlibrary Loan service window; WorldCat; or Prospector.

Communication Organizations
 
American Communication Association
American Forensic Association
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
Association for Educational Communications and Technology
Association for Women in Communication
Colorado Film Video Association
Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
DVD Association
International Communication Association
International Interactive Communications Society
Media Communications Association International
National Association of Hispanic Journalists
National Communication Association
Organization for Research on Women and Communication
Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Society for Technical Communication
Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric
Society for Technical Communication
Western States Communication Association

Style Manuals
 
How to cite material: MLA, APA, and More
 

 
end of page