skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Film Studies

Search Film Studies Resources:

This guide recommends print, online, and Internet resources accessible through the Auraria Library related to research in Film Studies, including production, criticism, acting, and writing. Related guide of interest: Theatre Resources.

Locating Films Owned by the Auraria Library
The Library owns feature and documentary films on DVD and VHS in our Reserves/Audio-Video Media Department. Films may be checked out by Auraria campus faculty members. Students may view films in the Library. For Library Hours, Click Here.

 

To find films owned by the Auraria Library, follow the steps in the Video/DVD Finding Guide.

Sampling of great films at the Auraria Library:

Blade Runner Taxi Driver Chaplin's Modern Times

 

Locating Books  
The catalogs below will help you identify books and media items related to your topic. Tip: The phrase 'motion pictures' will sometimes be more helpful than 'film.' Try both. Books shelved on the second floor may be checked out; books in the reference collection on the first floor can be consulted in the Library.
 
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD and VHS recordings, sound recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword and Subject searching. Keyword examples: Alfred Hitchcock; motion pictures production; motion pictures direction; horror films; screenwriting, scriptwriting, or motion pictures authorship; documentary films; silent films criticism; women motion pictures.
Prospector Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library owns a particular book. Campus students and faculty members can order the book at no charge through Prospector if it's available at another library.
NetLibrary The Library has access to this database of online, full text books. Find other e-books via the e-Books Guide.

 

Article Databases  
The links below will help you find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles related to your film topic using online databases. Articles from newspapers and magazines will supply popular commentary, film reviews, and biographical information; scholarly and professional journals will contain more in-depth and specialized articles from experts on film criticism, film theory, film history, production techniques and other film study topics. The Find Articles guide offers tips on locating information in journals and magazines.
 
Multi-subject databases Academic Search Premier and others.
Film Literature Index. Searchable by subject, this free online Index leads to citations to articles on film topics in 150 periodicals. The online version contains citations from 1976-2001. There are no plans at this time to update the online version. The print version, of the Film Literature Index, located in the Library's Index section, is updated to the present.
News and Newspaper databases Lexis Nexis and others.
Communication databases ComAbstracts and others.
Film Studies  

TIP For indexes/databases that do not contain the full text of an article, remember to check the Find Journal by Title category, in Skyline, the Library's online catalog, to see if Auraria has access to the periodicals you're looking for. Use ILLIAD (Interlibrary loan service) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own.

Film Criticism  
In-depth scholarly commentary on films will appear in books, reference compilations and articles.
 
Film Criticism in Articles See Article Databases, above.
Film Criticism in Books Search Skyline or other book catalogs. Possible keywords: director's name (i.e. David Lynch); name of the film (i.e. Gone With the Wind) or genre (western films).
Film Criticism in Reference Books in the Auraria Library Reference Collection

Click here to see various print review compilations in the Library's Reference Collection

Magill's Surveys - Film summaries and critiques.

 

Film Reviews on the Internet Tip: Newspapers often have extensive reviews and discussions of films. Recommended: MRQE - The Movie Review Query Engine is a terrific, searchable 'review portal.'
 
Book-Lover's Guide to Cinema BOXOFFICE Online CNN - Movie News
Ebert's Film Reviews Film.com Films @ Los Angeles Times
Parent Previews Films in Review Hollywood.com Movies
IMDB: Internet Movie Database [IMDB is often recommended] Movie Magazine International MovieMom
Movie Review Query Engine Nitrate Online Preview Magazine
Rotten Tomatoes Spliced Wired Online: Film Reviews, News & Interviews - currently on hiatus, but has older reviews TV Guide Movie Database

back to top

Production, Direction, Theory, and Acting Books in the Auraria Library Collection  
 
Acting: 'How to' Books  
Animated Film Books  
Documentary Film Books  
Film Production and Direction Books  
Film Theory/Psychological Aspects of Film Books  
Video Production and Direction Books  

 

Filmographies and More  
 
All Movie Guide  
Cinemedia - Bills itself as "Internet's Largest Film and Media Directory," Leads to filmogrpahies, biographies, and much more.
DocuSeek A search site for independent documentary, social issue, and educational videos available in the U.S. and Canada.
European Film Database  
FilmSite  
Hollywood.com  
IMDB - Internet Movie Database Yes, mentioned above. We like it so much we're mentioning it again.
Motion picture catalogs Print format film directories located in the Auraria Library.
Screen World Annual overview of the year in film.

 

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Almanacs  
 
Online: Film Dictionary | Film Glossary Free on the Internet.
Print Dictionaries In the Library's Reference collection.
Encyclopedias In the Library's Reference collection.
International Motion Picture Almanac and International Television and Video Almanac Facts, statistics, contacts, biography, and filmographies.

 

Hollywood Contacts  
 
HCD: Hollywood Creative Directory. Note that you need to put in the user name and ID indicated on the password protected page since this is a database the Library subscribes to. "The phone books to Hollywood." Offers regularly updated names, numbers, addresses and current titles of entertainment professionals from the film, television and music industries.
Writer's Guild of America  

 

Archives, Associations, Organizations  
 
Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences American Film Institute
Center for Cognitive Studies on the Moving Image Colorado Film Commission
Directors Guild of America International Animated Film Society
International Federation of Film Archives Motion Picture Editors Guild
National Film Preservation Board - To find film footage. Online Film Critics Society
Public Motion Picture Research Centers and Film Archives Screen Actors Guild
Society for Cinema and Media Studies Society of Camera Operators
Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers Student Original Film Art (SOFA)  

back to top

Festivals  
 
Aspen FilmFest Boulder International Film Festival
Cannes Film Festival Cinemedia Festival Directory
Denver International Film Festival Film Festivals Server
ScreenSite: festival calls forum Sundance Institute
Telluride Film Festival  

 

International & Genre Film Web Sites | Tip: Filmsite.org supplies overviews of film generes
 
Animation World Network Asian Film Foundation
Bollywhat? Making Bollywood Accessible British Film Institute
CineEuropa Cult Film Page
Documentaries.org Film Genres@ Yahoo
National Film Board of Canada SciFlicks.com
Silent Era | Silent Movies Tromaville
Westerns.com  

 

Film History Web Sites  
 
American Memory Collection. Early motion pictures collected by the Library of Congress.  
Awards Page@ Yahoo  
Early Cinema.com  
Cinema History  
The Complete History of the Discovery of Cinematography  
Film History by Decade  
Film Sound History  

 

Filmmaking, Film Studies, and Film School Sites  
 
College of Arts and Media - Theatre, Film and Video Production Department at UCD  
Colorado Film School - A Joint Program of UCD-HSC & the Community College of Aurora  
The Colorado Production Resource Guide (CPRG). Colorado’s official production directory, put together yearly the by the Colorado Film and Video Association.  
Film Studies Minor - English Department at UCD  
Filmmaker.com  
Library of Annotated Film Schools  
ScreenSite: Discussion and information site for Educators and Students of Film Study  

 

Free Films Online  
These sites offer free shorts/full-length movies online. Many home-made, of course.
American Memory Collection Daily Motion
Flicker Google Video
ifilm Internet Archive: Moving Image Archives
Movieflix.com Theatre in Video - Free for Auraria Campus Students, Faculty, and Staff
YouTube  

 

end of page