This subject guide will lead you to a variety of learning materials
in History, including reference books, circulating books, and Web
Sites.
In Auraria Library, you will find these materials are generally
kept in the collection areas listed below. Keep in mind however,
that historical information may be found in other areas of study
(political science, sociology, literature, etc.), and these may
be located nearly anywhere in the library --musicians of the past
in the music section, politicians of the past in political science,
and so on. Also remember that material about historical issues may
be written from many standpoints; it may be liberal or conservative
or radical. As with information on any subject, you have to consider
the point of view of the author and how that affects the value you
will place on the information.
Call Numbers (the Library of Congress Classification System)
Books and other library materials are arranged and located by call
numbers that follow the Library
of Congress Classification System. The call number refers to
a particular subject(s). If you wish to browse a certain subject
area, you may do so once you know the appropriate call number.
Most of the library materials in history have call numbers that
begin with the following letters:
- C (History of Civilization and Culture, Anthropology, Biography)
- D (History: General and all areas except North and South America)
- E (History United States)
- F (History: U.S. Local, Canada, Mexico, Central America, South
America)
How to Use Skyline,
the Auraria Online Catalog
Use Skyline to locate books and other library materials.
When you're looking for information on a particular topic, you may
want to search the catalog by subject heading. Subject
Headings are the words or phrases used by the Library of Congress
to describe the main topic of books and/or articles. When searching
for subject headings on historical topics, enter the name of the
country, region, ethnic group, or time period in which you are interested,
followed by the word "history". Phrases listed below
are examples:
| Subject Heading |
Further refine your search by adding dates or broad
time periods |
| Spain History Colorado History Middle
Ages History Chinese Americans History |
Spain History 18th Century
Colorado History 1876 1950
|
For additional subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings Books located near the Reference
Desk on the first
floor, or ask a Reference Librarian.
If you can't find a subject heading related to your topic of interest,
you may find what you want by using the above headings, or
terms similar to them, as WORDS searches within Skyline.
back to top
Reference Books
The reference section for history is on the first
floor of the Auraria Library. Look for it in the reference collection
in the call number areas listed above. Historical information on
specific countries, events, peoples, or time periods may be found
in books dedicated to those topics, or be part of more general works.
For example, information on slavery in the United States might be
found in a book dealing with African-American history, or in a general
history of the U.S. Also keep in mind that relevant material may
be found in other parts of the reference collection: artists of
the past in the art section, athletes of the past in the sports
section, and so on. For additional information ask a Reference
Librarian.
Some especially useful reference books are listed below. Other
reference sources may be found by using Skyline,
the library's catalog.
Encyclopedias
Chronology of World History / by H.E.L. Mellersh.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1999. 4 volumes. Santa
Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1999. REF
D11 .M39 1999
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History.
1 volume. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1993. REF D9
.H87 1993
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing / editor,
Kelly Boyd. 2 volumes. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn,
1999. REF D14 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Historic Places / by Courtlandt Canby.
2 volumes. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File Publications, 1984.
REF D9 .C29 1984
Encyclopedia of World Facts and Dates / by Gorton Carruth.
1 volume. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1993.
REF D11 .C37 1993
Encyclopedia of World History : Ancient, Medieval, and Modern,
Chronologically Arranged / general editor, Peter N. Stearns.
2 volumes. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. REF
D21 .E578 2001
Reader's Guide (Journal and Magazine
Article Indexes)
C.R.I.S., the Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals
in History, 1838-1974 / executive editor, Annadel N. Wile.
Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977- REF INDEX E171
.C55
Biographical Materials
American National Biography / general editors, John A. Garraty,
Mark C. Carnes. 24 volumes. New York: Oxford University
Press, 1999. REF CT213 .A68 1999
Dictionary of World Biography / editor, Frank N. Magill.
9 volumes. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers ; Pasadena
: Salem Press, 1998sp; REF CT104 .D54 1998
back to top
Books
Books dealing with historical topics may be found on the second
floor of the library in one of the following call number areas:
C, D, E or F, depending on the area of history in question (see
Call Numbers). Please keep in
mind however, that these are not the only sections where such information
can be found -- the history of feminism may be found in the Women's
Studies section, information about 19th century American writers
in the literature sections, etc.. To find in-depth information on
your topic use Skyline,
the library's catalog, and do either a WORDS or a LIBRARY
OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADING search using keywords related to your
topic (see How to Use Skyline,
the Auraria Online Catalog)
Specific Databases to Use to Locate Books and Other Materials
Use Skyline
to find books as well as find out if the Library subscribes or has
access to specific journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine which
major Colorado library(s) may own a particular book.
WorldCat
This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use it to request
items not found through Skyline or Prospector.
ILL (Interlibrary
Loan) Use this to order books or journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
NetLibrary
A database of online, full text books (for other online books see
eBooks).
Tip Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
back to top
Periodical Articles
Indexes provide citations to periodical articles, which can be
used to find the full text of the article, either in print or online.
If you need relatively recent material select one of the online
indexes, select "find articles & more" under the " find
it" column. For older or more in-depth lists of articles you may
have to consult one of the print-only indexes (see Readers
Guide). For help in finding journal, magazine or newspaper articles
consult the Find Articles
Guide.
back to top
Online Indexes
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
America: History and Life
-- Index to over 2,000 journals covering the U.S. and Canada from
prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews
and dissertations. No full text articles are available.
1964 - present, updates monthly.
Contemporary
Women's Issues -- Contemporary women's issues on health and
human rights, some full text. 1992 - present, updates every
two weeks.
Expanded
Academic Index ASAP --- A general index with material on different
topics, with many journals indexed. Includes full text
articles. 1980 - present.
Historical Abstracts --
Index to over 2000 journals covering world history from 1450 - present.
Includes book and media reviews and dissertations. No full
text articles are available. 1960 - present, updates monthly.
Excludes U.S. and Canadian history, see: America:
History and Life
JSTOR -- A suite of full
text journals in anthropology, archaeology, history, language
and literature, economics, ecology, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, andpopulation studies. Dates of coverage
19th (Nineteenth) Century
Masterfile -- Formerly Poole's Plus: the Digital
Index of the Nineteenth Century. Index to nineteenth
century periodical articles, newspaper articles, and government
documents. Citations only, no full text articles are available.
Titles include, among others, Index to Legal Periodicals, 1786-1922,
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906, New York
Times Index, 1863-1905, and Harper's Magazine Index,
1850-1892
Original Sources --
Formerly American Reference Library. Thousands of full
text classic works and firsthand accounts in the form of books,
documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S.
history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political
science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Dates
of coverage
back to top
Internet Resources
American History
AMDOCS:
Documents for the Study of American History Primary source
materials and other documents dealing with the history of the United
States from the 15th to the 21st centuries.
Gilder Lehrman
Institute of American history This site includes: primary sources
on U.S. political, social and legal history, classroom handouts,
chronologies, glossaries, audio and visual archives (containing
hundreds of historical maps and images), a U.S. history e-textbook,
and over 400 annotated documents . Ask questions of professional
historians by using the "Ask the HyperHistorian" feature.
Presidents
of the United States The most comprehensive site on the
Internet for presidential resources. Alphabetized subject headings
are linked to most of the sites on the web that have information
about the listing of the Presidents, and a brief description of
their careers and terms in office. There is also a link to
a list of
Presidents.
September 11 Digital Archive:
Saving the Histories of September 11, 2001 Site created
to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11,
2001 attacks in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public
responses to them. Funded by a major grant from the Alfred
P. Sloan Foundation and organized by the American
Social History Project at the City University of New York Graduate
Center and the Center for History
and New Media at George Mason University.
back to top
Ancient History (4th Millennium B.C. to 4th Century C.E)
Illustrated
History of the Roman Empire A comprehensive history
of the empire and the city of Rome. A large collection of
interactive maps is included.
Internet
Ancient History Sourcebook
A collection of ancient history texts and doc
Perseus Project
(Tufts U.) A digital library of ancient history resources,
many of which deal with Greece and Rome. Included are essays,
FAQs, an historical overview and an extensive library of art from
the time period.
back to top
Cities
Historic
Cities Includes maps, books, literature, and other relevant
documents and materials pertaining to historic cities around the
world.
back to top
Maps
David Rumsey Map Collection
Contains over 7,180 online maps, most of which are rare 18th and
19th century cartographic materials dealing with North and South
America.
back to top
Medieval History (4th Century C.E. to 15th Century C.E.)Internet
Medieval Sourcebook A collection of medieval history texts
and doc
ORB: Online Reference Book for
Medieval Studies "The Online Reference Book for Medieval
Studies (ORB) site was begun in 1995 to establish an online resource
for medievalists and others hoping to disseminate current research
in the field and to serve as a repository of previous scholarship
for the general public and scholars alike."
back to top
Modern History (15th Century C.E. to Present)
Encyclopaedia
of the First World War Examines the war's battles, strategies
and tactics, combatant countries, political and military leaders,
soldiers, weapons, etc.
Early Canadiana
Online A full text online collection of more than 3,000
books and pamphlets (over 1,330,000 pages) documenting Canadian
history from the first European contact up to the early 20th century.
The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history,
native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French
Canada.
Internet
Modern History Sourcebook A collection of modern history
texts and documents.
Second World
War Encyclopedia Examines the war and those who fought
it. Included is information on battles, strategy and tactics,
combatant countries, the holocaust, naziism, political and military
leaders, soldiers, weapons, etc.
SparkNotes. A collection
of study guides which includes English literature, American and
European history, economics, philosophy. Full-text versions
of literary and philosophical texts are available (as of April 2003,
over 1.6 million). Users must register to use
this site, but the registration is free!
back to top
Timelines
AlternaTime
A collection of timelines dealing with history, culture, science,
technology, arts, literature, popular culture, current events and
science fiction.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference
Desk
REF INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near
Reference Desk
|