skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 

 

Journalism, Photojournalism, and Public Relations


This guide presents online and print resources and societies of interest to those studying topics related to Journalism, Photojournalism, and Public Relations.

Article Databases  
The database links below will help you find journal and newspaper articles related to your topic.
 
Multi-subject databases Academic Search Premier and others.
Communication databases ComAbstracts and others.
Business Databases Business Source Premier and others.
News and Newspaper databases Lexis Nexis and others.
Photography databases Art Abstracts and others.

 

Books  
The catalogs below will help you identify books and media items related to your topic.
 
Skyline Skyline is the Library's catalog. It points you to the Library's books, DVD and VHS recordings, sound recordings, government publications, and more. There are several ways to search including Keyword and Subject searching. Keyword examples: public relations; feature writing; journalism ethics; photojournalism; reporting news
Prospector Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library owns a particular book. Campus students and faculty members can order the book at no charge through Prospector if it's available at another library.
NetLibrary The Library subscribes to this database of online, full text books.

 

Tip: Link to the guide 'Find Books, Videos, and DVD's' to learn how to request  books and other materials not available at the Auraria Library using either the Interlibrary Loan WebZap service; in-Library requests at the Interlibrary Loan service window; WorldCat; or Prospector.

 

Style Manuals and Handbooks
 
Public Relations Handbooks
Journalism: 'How To' Books
Photography: 'How To' Books
Style Manuals: How to cite material including MLA, APA, and More

 

Worldwide Media Outlets  
 
Kidon Media Guide More than 8,000 links to media resources worldwide including television, radio, magazines, newspapers, and Internet outlets.

 

Internet Resources
 
All About Public Relations. http://aboutpublicrelations.net/mlibrary.htm
AmericanPhotojournalist.com. http://www.americanphotojournalist.com/
American Press Institute: Photojournalism Links. http://www.americanpressinstitute.org/content/4036.cfm
DigitalJournalist.com. http://digitaljournalist.org/contents.html
Fotofile.com. http://www.fotophile.com/
JobsPage: Your Link to Newspaper Careers. http://www.freep.com/jobspage/toolkit/
Journalism.org.- Research, Resources and Ideas to Improve Journalism. http://www.journalism.org/default.asp
Journalism Tools from the Columbia Journalism Review. http://www.cjr.org/tools/
Media InfoCenter. http://www.mediainfocenter.org/
Online Journalism Review. http://www.ojr.org/ojr/page_one/index.php
Online Public Relations. http://www.online-pr.com/
Poynter Online: Everything You Need to be a Better Journalist. http://www.poynter.org/
Stephen Downes Guides to the Logical Fallacies. http://web.uvic.ca/psyc/skelton/Teaching/General Readings/Logical Falllacies.htm

 

Resources Identifying Freelance Writing Opportunities
 
Writer's Market. See also Writer's Market editions for Children's Writer's and Illustrators | Novel and Short Story Writers | and |Poets.
American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: A Compilation of Information for Freelancers
Bacon's Magazine Directory : Directory of Magazines, Newsletters.
Bacon's Newspaper Directory: Directory of Daily and Weekly Newspapers, News Services, Syndicates.
Ulrich's Perioidicals Directory.

 

Organizations
 
American Photojournalist
American Press Institute
American Society of Journalists and Authors
American Society of Newspaper Editors
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
Council of Public Relations Firms
Institute for Public Relations
International Center for Journalists
International Public Relations Association
Investigative Reporters and Editors
National Conference of Editorial Writers
National Press Photographers Association
Public Relations Society of America: Colorado Chapter
Society of Professional Journalists | Colorado Chapter

 

 
end of page