Landscape Architecture Collection Description
Auraria Library does not place all landscape materials together
in a single area of the library. Because of this it is important
to become familiar with the various locations. Generally all
of the books on landscape will be found on the second
floor in the SB section. Landscape periodicals are
found in the library Periodicals Department on the first
floor in alphabetical order by the title of the journal for
current issues, and the backfiles which are in paper will be found
in the bound section under the SB call numbers. The majority
of backfiles of periodicals are on microform. Ask at the service
desk of the Periodicals
Department for assistance in locating microforms.Landscape video
programs and films are found in the Media Department on the first
floor. Consult the Skyline
online catalog to identify nonprint programs.
Searching Landscape Subjects
It is important to use subject headings which are appropriate when
searching architecture subjects on the Auraria Library
Skyline
catalog, or when using other paper and online sources. There
are several methods of determining proper subject headings including
consulting the Library of Congress Subject Headings books which
are located near the Reference Desk, consulting The Penguin Dictionary
of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, New York: Penguin
Books, 1998. (NA31
F55 1998), or talking to landscape architecture faculty and
other experts in the field. Also, it is important to do searches
on Skyline using the Library
of Congress Subject search.
Assistance with Architecture Research
The Reference Desk located on the first
floor of Auraria Library will provide assistance with architecture
research any time the library is open. In addition, the Auraria
Library Fine Arts Bibliographer Bob
Wick may be contacted by telephone or email for assistance with
research.
back to top
Browsing the Architecture Stacks
The majority of books relating to landscape architecture may be
found on the second
floor of the Auraria Library under the "SB" classification.
Below is a chart which identifies the classification number under
SB by specific subject area.
SB 1-1110
Plant Culture.
SB 107-109
Economic botany.
SB 110-112 Methods
for special areas (including dry-land and tropical agriculture irrigation
farming.)
SB 113.2-118.45 Seeds.
SB 118.46-118.75 Nurseries. Nursery industry.
SB 119-124 Propagation.
SB 183-317 Field
crops.
SB 317.5-450.87 Horticulture.
SB 450.9-467 Gardens
and gardening.
SB 469-476.4 Landscape
gardening
SB 481-485 Parks
and public reservations.
SB 599-990.5 Diseases
and pests (including treatment and control).
back to top
Landscape Architecture Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias
The following landscape dictionaries and encyclopedias are representative
of the reference collection. They represent a few important
sources of the many reference works which may be of help to your
research. Please browse the Reference Stacks on the main floor
of the Auraria Library in call number area: Ref. SB 400- to
discover additional sources.
Goode, Patrick, ed. The Oxford Companion to Gardens.
Oxford: University Press, 1986. Ref. SB 429.25 O95
1986 This Companion is the first comprehensive work
to deal with the art of garden design on a world-wide scale from
the earliest records of civilization to the present day. The
work is concerned with locating and describing gardens, their design,
construction, geography, climate, and ethnic and social factors.
Morrow, Baker H. A Dictionary of Landscape Architecture.
Albuquerque: University of New Mexico, 1987.
Ref. SB 429.25 This work provides short definitions concerning
landscape design and construction. It also provides more detailed
overviews on national landscape styles, e.g., Canada, New Zealand,
Australia, etc.
back to top
Architectural Bibliographies
Bibliographies provide a list of resources (books, articles, online
sources, etc.) published on a specific architectural subjects.
They may be entire books or they may appear at the end of articles,
books, or book chapters. Specific bibliographies may
be found using the Skyline
online catalog by adding the word "bibliography" to terms
used in a Word search, for example:
Landscape architecture "bibliography"
Fredrick Law Olmsted "bibliography"
Architectural accessibility "bibliography"
back to top
Biography
The following sources provide access to biographical information
about architects and other individuals in the fields related to
landscape architecture. To determine if the library has a
book-length biography of a specific landscape architect or designer
consult the Skyline
online catalog using a word search. For example enter:
Frederick
Law Olmsted.
There are also several online biography sites which may include
landscape architects and designers. The sites listed below
may be accessed directly from this page:
Biographies
Plus (Wilson) - More than 46, 000 full-text profiles of authors,
artists, prize winners, politicians, world leaders, musicians and
more. Covers the Ancient World to the present.
Biography
and Genealogy Master Index -- A comprehensive index to more
than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and
editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering
both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Biography
Index -- Index to a wide range of biographical material. 1984
- present, updates monthly.
Search the Biography
page at Auraria Library for online biographical sources.
Biography Reference
Colvin, Howard Montague. A Biographical Dictionary of
British Architects, 1600-1840. New Haven: Paul Mellon
Center for Studies in British Art by Yale University, 1995.
3rd. ed. REF NA 996 C6 1995. This authoritative
and now classic work of reference on the history of British architecture
contains biographical information on many architects who practiced
in England, Scotland, and Wales from the time of Inigo Jones (1573-1650)
to that of William Burn (1789-1870).
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture.
2vols. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993. REF NA 40 I48 1993.
This is the most comprehensive biographical dictionary, featuring
over 500 architects and nearly 450 buildings.
Profile: The Official AIA Directory of Architectural Firms.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1983-. REF NA 53 P76 1983-
Nearly 8000 U. S. architectural firms are profiled with organizational
structure and project capabilities. It includes staff personnel,
geography of practice, and awards. There is also an online
version of this source: http://www.cmdg.com/profile
Withey, Henry E. Biographical Dictionary of American Architects
(Deceased). Los Angeles: Hennessey & Ingalls, 1970.
REF NA 40 W57. While somewhat older now, this biographical
source provides career information on more than 2,000 American architects.
Coverage ranges from about 1740 to 1952.
Contemporary Designers. Chicago: St. James Press,
1990. Colin Naylor, ed. REF NA 53 C66 1990.
This book lists more than 700 international designers from virtually
every area of the profession including graphic, industrial/product,
textile, interior, and set and costume design.
Pioneers of American landscape Design : an Annotated Bibliography.
Charles A. Birnbaum and Lisa E. Crowder, eds.. Washington,
D.C. : U.S. Dept. of the Interior, National Park Service, Cultural
Resources, Preservation Assistance Division, Historic Landscape
Initiative. 3 vols. 1993. GOV PUBS I 29.82.P 65.
To day there have been three volumes published on the pioneers of
American landscape design. These are valuable sources for
finding references to otherwise obscure landscape architects.
back to top
Books
Auraria Library Online Catalog
Use the Library online catalog (Skyline) to find books in the library
and to find out if the Library subscribes or has access to specific
journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat This database contains the book records of nearly every
library in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use
to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector.
NetLibrary A database of online, full text books. Some
psychology books are included. Other eBooks.
Tip: Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector. You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
back to top
Online Indexes
The most current information, as well as historical information,
can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles, which
tend to deal with more specific topics than books cover.
The "Find Articles"
Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The staff at the Reference Desk
can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic
if the Library does not own the material you need. The librarian
at the Reference Desk can often help you locate other suitable information
on your topic if the Library does not own the material you need.
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text
and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various
fields.
Several of the online indexes subscribed to by the Auraria Library
are appropriate for landscape architecture. The online indexes
are available on the computers in the library, at all campus computer
labs, and at home for all faculty and currently registered
students using the Off Campus Online Access procedures. The
online indexes listed below cover varying numbers of architecture
journals. For additional assistance in using the online indexes
ask at the Auraria Library Reference Desk.
Architecture Database
-- This is the online version of the Architecture Periodicals
Index (API) which is also available in paper at the library.
It is published by the British Architectural Library at the Royal
Institute of British Architects and includes articles, interviews,
obituaries, and biographies in more than 400 current periodicals
from over 45 countries, as well as some 2,000 cataloged items including
monographs, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets,
and some technical literature.
Architectural
Index -- 1982-present. The Architectural Index
provides indexing to 18 of the more prominent journals in the areas
of architecture, interior design, and construction. Searches
may be limited to specific journals and/or to specific states or
architects. A list of the journals included is provided on
the search screen.
ArticleFirst
-- 1990-present. This database is a table-of-contents
indexing service for articles in more than 13,000 journals.
It may be searched by architecture subjects to identify journal
articles.
Uncover
(Ingenta) -- 1988-present. This database is the
largest journal table-of-contents indexing service. It covers
more than 17,000 journals and offers a fee-based document delivery
service. While many of the journals indexed are not available
at the Auraria Library, it is a good index to use for in-depth searches
of architecture topics.
Other Databases
The following databases are also of use to landscape architecture
studies. These databases are not all periodical indexes, but
will include articles and other materials on landscape architecture
and related fields.
Dissertation
Abstracts Online -- 1861-present. (indexing)
1980-present. (abstracting) Includes most Ph.
D. dissertations published in the U. S.. Updated monthly.
Most art and architecture dissertations are included in this source.
EbscoOnline
-- Provides tables of contents and abstracts on hundreds of journals
published in the U. S.. Includes many of the journals subscribed
to by the Auraria Library.
GPO
Monthly Catalog -- 1976-present. Contains
information on records for more than 450,000 records for documents
on all subjects of interest published by the U. S. government.
Grove Art Online -- Grove Art Online is the most
comprehensive online resource for all aspects of the visual arts
worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
Jake -- Jake provides
a source for finding where a particular journal is indexed.
Statistical
Universe -- 1973-present. Based on the American Statistic
Index this site provides abstracts and indexes for all government
publications back to 1973. Many of the statistical tables
are provided full text.
Thomas Register Online --
This database provides product information for U. S. and Canadian
Manufacturing companies. An important source for architecture, design,
and building trades. Updated Quarterly.
WorldCat
-- 1000 A. D.-present This database represents the OCLC Online
Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing
items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains
library holdings. This is an essential database for art, architecture,
and building trades studies for finding hard to find books and other
materials.
back to top
Internet Resources
American
Society of Landscape Architects ( ASLA) -- Founded in 1899,
the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) currently represents
more than 12,000 members and has 47 chapters across the country
with headquarters in Washington, DC. Private, public, and academic
practitioners have a professional home at ASLA as do international
practitioners and members of related professions. Links are
provided to state landscape architecture organizations.
The Center for Landscape
Research -- The Center for Landscape Research's
work is predicated on the assumption that better access to information
permits a democratic and therefore more equitable approach to the
solution of complex value laden environmental problems.
Colorado Chapter of the American
Society of Landscape Architects -- This is the official
site for the Colorado Chapter of the American Society of Landscape
Architects. Membership and information is provided concerning
Colorado.
Council of Educators
in Landscape Architecture -- This site represents an association
of educational institutions offering programs in landscape architecture
and their faculty. The Council of Educators in Landscape
Architecture is composed of virtually all of the programs of landscape
architecture in the United States and Canada. The members of the
faculty of these institutions are invited to participate in the
Council.
Frederick Law Olmsted --
Frederick Law Olmsted (1822-1903) is recognized
as the founder of American landscape architecture and the nations
foremost park-maker. This site is proved by the Olmsted National
Historic Site and provides information and links on this important
landscape developer.
GardenWeb -- The
GardenWeb comprise the largest community of gardeners on the Internet.
Covering more than 90 different plants, regions and topics; the
forums allow you to tap the collective wisdom of the thousands of
other users who visit GardenWeb each day.
Landscape
Architecture Information Sources -- This site provides an introduction
to some of the landscape architectural resources currently available
on the Internet. The list is provided by Rutgers University.
Landscape Design Trust
(United Kingdom) The Landscape Design Trust is an educational
charitable trust whose aim is to stimulate concern for, and understanding
of, landscape, especially the quality of the landscape around us
and the way landscape is designed, used, managed and protected.
LandscapeOnline
-- LandscapeOnline provides information on locating architects,
contractors, maintenance companies, consultants, supplies, and provides
a useful newsletter for landscape architects.
Landscape Products Profiles
-- This is the official ASLA product profile directory. Here
you will find an excellent collection of the industry's most comprehensive
information on landscape-related products and services to assist
with your research and specification needs. The information provided
allows you to phone, fax, e-mail, or search the World Wide Web to
get all the answers you need.
Landscape
Virtual Library -- This site is a part of the World
Wide Web Virtual Library developed by the University of Toronto.
The primary point of focus for this library is the collection of
references to the electronic landscape resources on the internet.
It is an attempt to be fairly definitive within that realm only
- not a library covering all material about these subjects - only
that which exists.
National Park Service -- The
National park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural
resources and values of the national park system for the enjoyment,
education, and inspiration of this and future generations. The Park
Service cooperates with partners to extend the benefits of natural
and cultural resource conservation and outdoor recreation throughout
this country and the world.
The Trust for Public Land --
Founded in 1972, the Trust for Public Land is the only national
nonprofit working exclusively to protect land for human enjoyment
and well-being. TPL helps conserve land for recreation and spiritual
nourishment and to improve the health and quality of life of American
communities.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|