This music research guide is based on a larger annotated
bibliography by Robert L Wick, Fine Arts Bibliographer.
You can download the complete and original bibliography
here: Word document
| Article
databases |
|
| Music
research can include disciplines from the arts, psychology
and engineering. These are just a few selections for
traditional music research |
| |
| Music
databases |
Music Index and RILM
are core databases for articles on music. |
| Music
education |
Use education databases
such as ERIC and Education Full text, the Music Index
also includes articles on education. |
| Music
industry/business |
Use the business databases
for issues relating to the industry. Business Source
Premier, Business and Company Resource Center, and Lexis/Nexis
are good choices. |
| Recording
arts |
All engineering and science
databases are appropriate and of course, the Music Index.
Also check the MUS5000 course page for databases. |
Dictionaries and encyclopedias:
New
Grove dictionaries: The Grove dictionaries of music
are considered the most scholarly sources for basic research
in music. These sources should be consulted before beginning
research on music topics to obtain an overview of the subject
along with definitive bibliographies.
New
Grove dictionary of Music and Musicians is available
both online and in Print.
Additional dictionaries and encyclopedias:
General
Music
dictionaries : extensive list of titles in Skyline.
Below are a few selections with annotations.
- Kuhn, Laura, comp. Baker's
Student Encyclopedia of Music. New York: Schirmer
Books, 1999.
This is a work aimed at the junior-high-school level and
up. It includes more than 5,500 entries covering musical
terms; musicians, composers, conductors, and performers;
instruments; genres; and individual works. There is an
"Introduction to Musical Terminology" in the
first volume, and a detailed index in volume three. Many
of the definitions of musical terms are accompanied by
pronunciation guides. Ref ML100 B26 1999
- Randel, Don Michael, ed. The
Harvard Dictionary of Music. 4th ed.
This classic reference work, the best one-volume music
dictionary available, has been brought completely up to
date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship
and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The
Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide
for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates
music. ML100 A64 2003
- Encyclopedia
of Music in Canada. Helmut Kallmann, ed. 2nd. ed.
Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto Press, 1992.
This one-volume source provides detailed information about
music written by Canadian composers, and performed by
Canadian musicians. Several articles are included which
give an overview of the differences in Canadian music
from that of other countries. Discographies, bibliographies,
and filmographies are included. Ref ML106 E5 1992
- The
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Advisory Editors,
Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone; founding editors, James
Porter and Timothy Rice.
This is a major music encyclopedia that includes audio
cds with each volume. Volumes include: 1. Africa, 2. South
America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean, 3.
the United States and Canada, 4. Southeast Asia, 5. South
Asia: the Indian Subcontinent, 8. Europe, 9. Australia
& the Pacific Islands. ML100 G16 1998
- Hoffman, Miles. The
NPR Classical Music Companion: Terms and Concepts from
A to Z.
This is a very unique source. It is produced by National
Public Radio and was designed for use in local public
radio stations. The work is an excellent source of information
on recording, composers, musicians, orchestras, etc..
ML108 H64 1997
- Kennedy, Michael. The
Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Considered the most comprehensive, detailed,
reliable one-volume reference work on music available
in the English language. The second edition contains more
than 12,000 entries covering all types of music in all
periods. It is also a valuable source for biographical
information. Ref ML100 K35 1994
- Strahle, Graham. An
Early Music Dictionary: Musical Term from British Sources
1500-1740.
This work provides a brief encyclopedia covering early
and medieval music found mainly in the Cambridge University
collection. The book is a valuable source for studying
early music, composers, and musicians. Ref ML108 S88 1995
- Slonimsky, Nicholas. Webster's
New World Dictionary of Music.
This dictionary offers over 12,000 entries covering all
areas of the music world. It is by the renowned editor
and music critic Nicolas Slonimsky, and is a useful, educational,
and entertaining resource for amateur and professional
musicians, educators, students, and dedicated concert-goers
around the world. Ref ML100 S639 1998
Band Music
- Rehrig, William H. The
Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music: Composers and Their
Music. Westerville, OH: Integrity Press, 1991.
William Rehrig has provided a definitive list of the literature
written for bands and wind ensembles, along with information
on composers and arrangers. Information ranges from John
Phillip Sousa to modern wind ensemble composers. It is
one of the only biographical sources on little-known band
conductors and composers. ML128 B23 R44
Country
Music - Encyclopedias in Skyline. Selected list:
- All
Music Guide to Country: the Experts' Guide to the Best
Recordings in Country Music. San Francisco: CA: Miller
Freeman, 1997.
While basically a source for listings of recordings of
country music individuals and groups, this work also provides
biographical and business information. It is a good source
for reviews. Ref ML156.4 C7 A47 1997
- McCloud, Barry. Definitive
Country: the Ultimate Encyclopedia of Country Music and
Its Performers. 1st. ed. New York, NY: Berkley Publishing
Group, 1995.
Major source for information on the general subject of
country music. It includes country bands, stars, recording,
and the business in general. It is an excellent biographical
source. Ref ML102 M33 1995
- The
Encyclopedia of Country Music: the Ultimate Guide to the
Music. Compiled by the staff of Country Music Hall
of Fame and Museum; edited by Paul Kingsbury with the
assistance of Laura Garrard, Daniel Cooper, and John Rumble.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
This work includes about 1,300 complete and up-to-the-minute
alphabetical entries. A distinguished field of 137 contributors
provides this guide to the singers, songwriters, record
companies, and industry movers and shakers who have made
country music the increasingly popular. ML102 C7 E54 1998
Electronic
Music dictionaries Complete holdings from Skyline.
Selected sources below:
- Cary, Tristram. Dictionary
of Musical Technology. New York: Greenwood Press,
1992.
Begins with an historical overview of the development
of technology as it has been applied to music. Definitions
are brief for the most part, but there are complete essays
on amplifiers, synthesis, computer composition, MIDI,
and sound sampling. Ref ML102 C37 1995
- Dobson, Richard. A
Dictionary of Electronic and Computer Music Technology:
Instruments, Terms, Techniques. New York : Oxford
University Press, 1992.
This work surveys the entire field of electronic and computer
music with entries on major commercial instruments, synthesizers,
sound samplers, sequencers, signal processors, MIDI, and
computers. ML102 E4 D62 1992
Jazz
encyclopedias Selected sources:
- Feather, Leonard G. The
Encyclopedia of Jazz. New York: DaCapo Press, 1999.
The Encyclopedia of Jazz by Leonard Feather is
the major encyclopedia for the world of jazz. Long considered
an authority on jazz, Leonard Feather has compiled the
definitive list of jazz musicians and organizations, along
with the most authoritative definitions of the music of
jazz. ML3561 J3 F43
- Case, Brian. The
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Jazz. New York: Harmony
Books, 1978.
This encyclopedia remains one of the most important sources
for information on jazz. It provides general articles
on the history of jazz, the roots of jazz, jazz bands,
biographies of jazz musicians, and a complete discography.
ML102 J3 C34
- Herzhaft, Gerard. Encyclopedia
of the Blues. (Trans. from French by Paul Harris et.
al.) 2nd. ed. Gayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas
Press, 1997.
This is the definitive encyclopedia of the blues. It features
information concerning blues bands, performers, composers,
and generals articles concerning the history and culture
of blues music. An excellent aspect of this work is its
photographs of blues performers generally not found in
other sources. Ref ML102 B6 H413 1997
- Oliver, Paul. The
New Grove Gospel, Blues, and Jazz, with Spirituals and
Ragtime. 1st. American edition. New York: Norton,
1986.
In-depth information concerning areas generally related
to jazz which are not usually covered in other sources.
While the information is somewhat sketchy it is a valuable
source. ML3187 O55 1986b
Musicals
-- Encyclopedias (Skyline complete) Selected below:
- Hischak, Thomas S. The
American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia. Forward
by Gerald Bordman. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1995.
An encyclopedia of theatre songs from Broadway shows,
the work features facts on over 1,800 songs from over
500 musicals. The encyclopedia includes entries ranging
from The Black Crook (1866) to the 1994 Tony Award-winning
Passion. This guide gives information on the song's author,
original performers and dates and history of recording.
Ref ML102 M88 H59 1995
- Stage
it With Music: an Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical
Theatre. Westport, CN: Greenwood Press, 1993.
A a fascinating source for all kinds of information concerning
the American musical theatre. Information contained in
this volume ranges from specific musicals, information
on composers, directors, and the business in general.
ML102 M88 H6 1993
Popular
Music -- encyclopedias (complete Skyline search) Selected:
- The
Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Compiled & edited
by Colin Larkin. New York: Muze, 1998. (8 vols.)
This work is a revised edition of the older Guinness Encyclopedia
of Popular Music (see below). The work is now the largest
single compilation of information on popular music. Ref
ML102 P66 G84 1998
- Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Popular
Bands and Performers. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press,
1995.
This source provides the most in-depth listing of popular
music bands, groups, and performers. Hundreds of individuals
and groups are listed along with information concerning
their music and place in the industry. ML102 P66 C53 1995
Biography: see
the biography
subject guide and searchable biography
article databases. Search Skyline for individual names
as a subject or keyword, or music types and biography:
Country
music biography
Women
rock musicians -- Biography.
Jazz
musicians Biography
Selected reference sources:
- Baker, Theodore. Biographical
Dictionary of Musicians. 8th ed. Revised by Nicolas
Slonimsky. New York, NY: Schirmer Books, 1994.
The definitive Biographical Dictionary of Musicians was
begun in 1900 by Theodore Baker. Nicolas Slonimsky undertook
the fifth through eighth editions, infusing them with
inimitable, irrepressible Slonimsky style. This edition
contains more than 3.5 million words, all of them delightful,
all penned by Slonimsky, making it one of the world's
known treasures. From Aaltonen, Erkki (Finnish composer,
born 1910) to Zylis-Gara, Teresa (Polish soprano, born
1935), the work exudes factual accuracy, critical (and
opinionated) insights, fine humor, and a human touch.
Though associated with classical music, Slonimsky has
always included hundreds of popular musicians, jazz, rock,
blues, and more. Ref ML105 B16 1994
- International
Who's Who in Classical Music. London: Europa Publications
Ltd., 2002-
This work lists biographical information and addresses
of living musicians throughout the world. In addition,
it provides information on individual musicians' recordings,
company affiliation, etc.. A very useful work. Ref ML105
I54 2002
- Harrison, Nigel. Songwriters:
A Biographical Dictionary with Discographies. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1998.
This book claims to be "the first comprehensive guide
to English-language composers and lyricists" of popular
songs of the 19th and 20th centuries. The work compiles
over 1000 entries with biographical information, discographies,
and peak chart positions (both British and American).
The biographical information tends to be quite brief,
with most entries consisting primarily of discography
information. Ref ML102 P66 H47 1998
- Biographical
Dictionary of Russian/Soviet Composers. New York,
NY: Greenwood Press, 1989.
This work provides essential biographical information,
dated lists of the composition, and bibliographic source
data for more than 2000 Soviet composers. Relatively obscure
composers (many of them contemporary) merit just a few
lines. Also listed are composers (for example: Irving
Berlin, Dmitri Tiomkin) not generally considered to be
"Russian," and persons (for example: Jascha Heifetz,
Vladimir Horowitz, Boris Pasternak) not generally considered
to be "composers." Ref ML106 S68 B56 1989
- International
Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory. Cambridge,
England: Melrose Press, 1975-1995. (8 vols.)
This work is considered by many to be the definitive reference
work in the classical and light classical fields. This
volume will provide personal biographies and career details
on more than five thousand notable individuals involved
in pop, jazz, blues, country and folk music. Prominent
musicians and singers will are included.
- Kendall, Alan. Chronicle
of Classical Music: An Intimate Diary of the Lives &
Music of the Great Composers. London: Thames &
Hudson, 2000.
This work extracts from contemporary letters and journals
and in hundreds of paintings and drawings, cartoons, posters,
photographs, music scores and documents. A good source
for hard-to-fine biographical information on musicians.
Ref ML390 K35 2000
- The
Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. Don Michael
Randel, ed. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University
Press, 1996.
This definitive guide provides biographical information
on thousands of individuals from humble artisans to the
greats of music. The volume brings together all the pertinent
biographical information about composers, performers,
music theorists, and instrument makers from Medieval times
to the present. Ref ML105 H38 1996
- Helander, Brock. The
Rock Who's Who: a Biographical Dictionary and Critical
Discography Including Rhythm-and-Blues, Soul, Rockabilly,
Folk, country, Easy Listening, Punk, and New Wave. New
York, NY: Schirmer Books, 1982.
This volume presents 395 serious biographical and historical
entries on the movers, shakers, and players in rock. Every
significant or innovative performer, personality, or group
since the early Fifties is given its due alongside the
major promoters, producers, and fat cats who populate
the world of rock 'n' roll. Each entry includes a complete
discography including original issue numbers for LPs as
well as information on CD reissues. There are over 75
historic black and white photos of significant performers
and groups. Ref ML102 R6 H5 1982
Music Histories:
Information on musical themes, musicians, composers,
events, and many other aspects of music throughout the years.
Several major music histories are listed below. Search Skyline
for additional music histories: "music
history," "women
music history," etc.
- Hanning, Barbara Russano. Concise
History of Western Music. (Based on Donald Jay Grout's A History of Western Music 5th ed.) New York:
Norton, 1998.
This is the continuation of the world-famous A History
of Western Music written by Donald Jay Grout. After
Mr. Grout's death, Barbara Hanning continued the standard
text used in many colleges as an introductory text.. It
is arranged chronologically and contains numerous illustrations.
It is indexed by title, subject, and name. ML160 H2827
1998
- The
New Oxford History of Music. London: Oxford University
Press, 1954- .
This series is the definitive history of music. It has
been in progress since 1954 Date and is nearing completion.
Each volume is written by the foremost authority in the
world.
Bibliographic sources:
Bibliographical sources provide lists of other works on
music. To find additional bibliographic sources search Skyline:
Important selections:
- A
Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings. 3rd. ed. Compiled by the Music Library Association.
Chicago: American Library Association, 1997. xvi, 665p.
Ref ML113 B3 1997
- Crabtree, Phillip. Sourcebook
for Research in Music. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University
Press, 1993. 236p. Ref ML113 .C68 1993
- Duckles, Vincent H. Music
Reference and Research Materials: an Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 1997. xviii, 812p.
Ref ML113 D83 1997
- Heintze, James R. Early
American Music: a Research and Information Guide. New York: Garland Pub. Co, 1990. xii, 511p. ML120 U5 H46
- Hill, George Robert. Collected
Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments
of Music: a Bibliography. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf
Press Press, 1997. Xliv., 1349p. Ref ML113 H55 1997
- Lebrecht, Norman. The
Companion to 20th-Century Music. New York: Simon &
Schuster, 1992. xiii, 415p. xiii, 415p. Ref ML100 L46
1992
- Mixter, Keith E. General
Bibliography for Music Research. 3rd. ed. Warren,
MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1996. xxii, 200p. ML113 M59 1996
Internet sites for music
research
music(general) | ballet | classical | computer | folk | instruments | jazz | individual
composers | medieval | dissertations
and theses | education | music
events | periodicals | reference | theory | opera | popular music | public
domain | songs, hymns and chants |
Music (General)
- All Music Guide.
All Media Guide (AMG). A leading business-to-business
provider of entertainment descriptive content and content
management technology. The music portion has unparalleled
depth and breadth of coverage in all types of music and
entertainment data (including in-print and out-of-print
titles).
- American
Music Resource. The American Music Resource ( AMR ) provides a multi-dimensional
source of reference information about all styles of music
indigenous to the Western Hemisphere. It is intended to
serve efficiently and quickly: text-only. The collection
houses over 800 bibliographies, lists and files, and is
indexed below by topic (genre and style
subdivisions) and subject (individuals
- mostly composers).
- Essentials
of Music. This site is provided by the W. W. Norton
& Company and the Sony Music Entertainment Company,
and is written by three music professors. This comprehensive
Internet resource provides access to nearly 200 musical
excerpts from any location within the site. This site
is continually updated with new audio files and composer
biographies.
- Institute for
Music Research.The
Institute for Music Research came into being in 1991-92.
It was established to promote research in the areas of
music psychology and music technology. Current activities
are divided into six categories: Online Services, Conferences,
Research, Publications, Presentations, and a Ph.D. proposals.
- Selected
Bibliography Related to Orchestra Practice.This database was compiled
by Thomas Drescher and includes items related to the 17th
and 18th centuries. No examples of music are included.
- La Folia: Online Music
Review.Begun in
1999 this site reviews music performances and provides
articles on mostly classical music throughout the world.
- IUMA-Internet Underground
Music Archive.The site is very popular
with underground music fans. It provides information on
alternative music, including online radio sites. Articles,
chat rooms, lists, etc..
Ballet
- Ballet
and Dance Art. This online magazine includes information
on dancers, feature articles, chat and message boards,
interviews with dancers, etc..
- Ballet Alert! Includes information on ballet in the U. S. and around
the world. Covers ballets, companies and dancers, ballet
talk for fans, dancer of the week, weekly quiz, photos,
interviews with famous dancers, and advice for teachers.
Classical Music
- Andante -
Everything Classical. The Andante web site is dedicated
to classical music and opera. It has both free and paid
sections including an online magazine, and classical music
cds and books for sale.
- Gramophone: The
Classical Music Website.This commercial
classical music site provides information on music news,
feature articles, music awards, performance and cd reviews,
notice of competitions, industry news, and upcoming concert
listings.
Computer Music
- Computer
Music Journal. The Computer Music Journal is
a quarterly online journal published by MIT Press including
electro-acoustic, electronic, and computer music software
and hardware for digital audio signal processing; music
notation, printing and archival systems; music representation
and cognition; new musical performances, music business,
etc..
Folk Music
- The
Encyclopedia of Traditional Celtic Music. This site
is done by an individual who provides information on the
subject of music history, historical performance techniques,
and other aspects of Celtic music. The author discusses
both historical and his opinions of Celtic music.
- Folk Music
- An Index to Recorded Resources. This site provides
indexes for song titles and performers, including both
side and principal performers, in a standard discography
format. Specific entries can be located by either alphabetic
browsing or keyword searching which is automatically linked
to the title or performer alphabetic listings. Additionally,
cross references to alternate titles, related pieces and
similar melodies have been included and these constitute
around 18% of the nearly 39,000 titles in the title index.
- The
Wighton Database. This database contains more than
100 records concerning Scottish music. Many rare English,
Irish and Welsh volumes are included.
- RootsWorld. RootsWorld is considered an online magazine of
world music with emphasis on folk traditions. Menus include
Africa, Europe, Asia, and The Americas. The site is searchable
by key words. Sound samples are also available.
Instruments
- A
Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments. This
site lists several instruments which were used during
the Medieval and Renaissance period in Europe. Information
about each instrument is provided along with illustrations
and photographs.
- Instrument
Encyclopedia. This site covers instruments
from a wide variety of different cultures, performance
contexts, and structural materials related to one another.
Jazz
- RoJaRo Index.
This index covers blues, country, gospel, soul, rap, metal,
reggae, punk, world music, etc.. It provides a key to
articles, discographies, live recordings, etc.. Last updated
August, 2000.
Individual Composers
- Bach Digital.
This Web site contains many examples of music and sound.
The world of Bach may be explored using autograph selections.
An impressive site.
- The
Beethoven Bibliography Database. The Center for Beethoven
Studies is the only institution in North America devoted
solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig
van Beethoven (1770-1827). Established in 1983, the Center
officially opened at San Jose State University in September
1985 with a gala co-sponsored by the San Jose Symphony.
The Center now has the largest collection
of Beethoven materials outside of
Europe. In addition to functioning as a research library,
the Center is involved in a variety of educational
programs and projects and sponsors concerts,
lectures, tours, and other programs.
- Composer
Timeline. This composer timeline constructed by Tim
Cordell is a useful list of the world's major composers
and their works. Useful as a study guide.
- Gaylord
Music Library Necrology. This site provides death
notices of individuals in the world of music. It is updated
daily. Files which list those who died in each year since
2000 are also list separately.
- Music
Library Association Obituary Index. This is an on-line
version of an index of obituary citations published annually
by the Music Library Association (MLA) in its quarterly journal, Notes . The index facilitates access to information about
musicians and other members of the music world.
Medieval Music
- Digital Image Archive
of Medieval Music. The Digital Image Archive of Medieval
Music (DIAMM) enhances digital images of European sources
of medieval, polyphonic music. These include a relatively
small number of complete manuscripts, found throughout
Britain and continental Europe, which have been widely
studied since their discovery by scholars at various times
over the past century. An excellent site to see original
early music manuscripts. Free site...registration required.
- Thema [The Music
Theory of the Middle Ages] This site contains hypertext
transcriptions of 18 manuscript copies of 14 Latin theoretical
treatises related to musica mensurabilis of the
13th century.
- TmiWeb. This
is the online version of Thesaurus Musicarum Italicarum
(TMI). The site provides an electronic listing of
Italian music treatises from the Renaissance and early
Baroque in digital facsimile.
- The
Medieval Music Database. This database is a collection
of scores, color images, texts and bibliographic information
of medieval music which can be searched by text or melody
and which will return musical information in the form
of a modern score, text data and, where available, a color
facsimile of an original manuscript. In contains a complete
annual cycle of liturgical chant taken from original medieval
sources and complete works of selected composers from
the twelfth to the fifteenth centuries.
Music
Dissertations and Theses
- Archive
of Dissertation Abstracts in Music. This archive is
maintained by Geoffrey Chew mainly on the basis of material
supplied by Andrew Dell'Antonio. The abstracts relate
both to completed dissertations and to those in progress.
To purchase complete dissertations in the area of music
use the University
Microfilms International site.
- Directory
of Dissertations. This site provides a list of the
music dissertations with abstracts that have appeared
in Music Theory Online. Those who wish to obtain
copies of dissertations listed here should contact the
author or University Microfilms Inc. ( http://www.umi.com ).
- Doctoral
Dissertations in Musicology - Online. DDM-Online is
an international database of bibliographic records for
completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in
the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology,
as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic
disciplines. More than 12,000 records, including the contents
of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations
in Musicology, are included.
- Index to Theses Accepted
for Higher Degrees by Universities in Great Britain and
Ireland.This online service provides
users with coverage of music theses dating from the present
back to 1716, providing total bibliographic control of
all theses produced by British and Irish Universities.
In addition, the expanded Index to Theses service benefits
from a further 44,000 abstracts added to the original
collection covering the period 1970 - 1985. Free site...registration
required.
Music Education
- Music Education Resource
Base. This site provides a bibliographic database
of more than 31,000 resources in music and music education
from 35 Canadian and International journals and other
sources covering the period 1956 through the present.
The journals are fully indexed by title, author, and subject.
Music Events
- Musi-Cal.(http://www.calendar.com/concerts/) Musi-Cal is a free Internet music events calendar. It lists
the dates and locations of upcoming concerts, festivals,
and other musical events around the world, and allows
promoters, record labels, venues, and even fans to submit
tour and other event itineraries. This site is kept up
to date and is a valuable source to the music industry.
- Music Festival
Finde.This internet site provides
information on more than 1,300 music festivals in North
America. Each festival may be located by date, location,
performers, or festival name. This site is updated daily.
Music Periodicals
- Canadian
Music Periodical Index. This index is made possible
through the collaboration of the Encyclopedia of Music
in Canada, which has provided indexers on contract to
the National Library of Canada since 1983. CMPI is an
index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. CMPI
is a free service provided by the National Library of
Canada. Texts of articles are not available from this site, but can be obtained through interlibrary
loan at your local library.
- Music
Week Magazine. Music Week Magazine began more than 27 years ago in the UK and is now
available on the Web with daily updates and music news.
The motto of the magazine is "for everyone in the business
of music."
- Online
Music Periodicals.This handy list
of online music periodicals is maintained by maintained
by Gary Daum of Georgetown Preparatory School Music Department.
Music Reference
- CAIRSS for
Music.CAIRSS is a bibliographic
database of music research, literature in music education,
music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. Citations
have been taken from 1,354 different journal titles; 18
of which are primary journals, meaning that every article
ever to appear is included.
- Directory
of Music User Guides for Libraries. This
site is compiled by the Bibliographic Instruction Subcommittee
of the Music Library Association, and provides links to
numerous music research guides that have been developed
at various libraries around the country. These guides
are designed to assist with music research. Note: Not
all of the sources listed in these guides will be available
at the Auraria Library.
- International
Inventory of Musical Sources. Also known as Repertoire
International des Sources Musicales (RISM), this site
attempts to maintain a comprehensive documentation of
existing musical sources worldwide.
- Music
Library Association. The Music Library Association
is the professional organization in the United States
devoted to music librarianship and to all aspects of music
materials in libraries. Founded in 1931, MLA provides
a forum for study and action on issues that affect music
libraries and their users.
- Texas
Music Bibliography. This is website of the Texas Music
Office in the office of the governor of Texas. It serves
as a clearinghouse for promotion of the Texas music industry.
Music Theory
Opera
- The Aria Database.
The Aria Database is a diverse collection of
information on over 1000 operatic arias. It is designed
for singers and non-singers alike amd includes translations
and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of
MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.
- Operabase. This
database provides listings of more than 115,000 performances
by more than 16,000 artists worldwide. It is done in partnership
with the Grove Dictionary of Music.
Popular Music
- The Big Bands Database.
The Big Bands Database is an ongoing project dedicated
to Bands, Jazz and to Swing History, and to the music
now known to the world as "American Popular Song."
- Center
for Popular Music Research. The Center's
collection documents the diversity of American music.
It takes as a starting point the European and African
origins of American culture, selecting items which document
the music of our national vernacular culture.
- Country
Music Research Center. About.com's Country Music site
will direct you to just about anything that you want to
know about this popular form of music.
- The Lester
S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music. The Lester S. Levy
Collection of Sheet Music is part of Special Collections
at the Milton S. Eisenhower Library of The Johns Hopkins
University. It contains over 29,000 pieces of music and
focuses on popular American music spanning the period
1780 to 1960.
- Hotwired. Hotwired is a major online source for
information on popular music. Features include archives,
feature stories, gallery of hits, movie music, multimedia
music, pop-talk, articles, and chat rooms. Many additional
links to other web pages are also provided.
Public Domain Music
- Public Domain Music. This reference site helps identify public domain
songs and public domain music which is royalty free music
you can use anywhere and any way you choose. It may be
used in performance, sing-along, film, video, advertising,
business, or personal use.
- CPDL - A Free Sheet Music
Archive. The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) is
the largest website devoted exclusively to free choral
sheet music. Begun in December 1998, the site has over
250 contributors and 6,000 scores.
Songs,
Hymns, Chant
- The British
Song. This is a web site linking to a database of
British+ songs. The site has more than 6000 song cycles,
sets, albums, collections and individual songs, representing
a body of song literature from the end of the 16th century
to the present.
- Cantus: A
Database for the Latin Ecclesiastical Chant. This
database provides indices of chants in selected manuscripts
and early printed sources of the liturgical office. The
Cantus project is housed and maintained by the Music at
the University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada.
It is supported by the Humanities Research Council of
Canada.
- Dictionary
of American Hymnology. The Dictionary of American
Hymnology Project (DAH), with the support of the Oberlin
College Library and the Hymn Society in the U.S. and Canada,
provides data related to hymns and hymn writers as well
as the history of congregational song in America. The
project comprises four sources for research: an index
of first lines of hymns from 1640 to 1978 with a supplementary
index 1978 to present; a bibliography of some 5000 hymnals
published in America (1817 denominational + 3192 non-denominational);
an author file; and a biographical file.
- The Musica Virtual
Choral Library. Provided by the International Federation
of Choral Music and the Centre d'Art Polyphonique d'Alsace.
- The
Parlor Songs Collection. This site is produced by
the Parlor Songs Association, Inc., and provides songs
and information concerning the preservation of popular
American music and musical culture.
- Women
Song Composers: A Listing of Songs Published in the
United States and England, ca. 1890-1930. This searchable
database contains more than 5000 songs and song sets by
women composers in North America.
|