skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Philosophy Resources

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy defines philosophy as "rationally critical thinking, more or less of the systematic kind about the general nature of the world ( metaphysics or theory of existence), the justification of belief ( epistemology or theory of knowledge), and the conduct of life ( ethics or theory of value )."  This short guide consists of selected resources in philosophy available in Auraria Library and on the Internet.

Information regarding the discipline of philosophy can be found in several types of library materials: reference (biography, dictionaries, encyclopedias and so on), the journal literature, media and book collections. Most of the library materials in the field of philosophy and related areas are assigned the Library of Congress call numbers as listed below, and are located on the second floor . Second floor materials may be checked out, while materials in shelved in the Reference section on the first floor must remain in the Library.

Philosophy books may be found in the

B 1- 5802
BC
BD
BJ
Areas of Psychology and Religion
BF      Psychology
BL-BX   Religion

Article Databases

Databases -- Go to this page for a customized list of databases related to philosophy. Many databases listed on this page contain full text, scholarly, peer reviewed articles in leading journals.

Books

Keep in mind there are different library systems that offer different services and features:

  • Skyline (Auraria Library Online Catalog) -- Use the library online catalog to find books, government documents, periodicals and media that Auraria owns physically, or electronically through NetLibrary , a database of online, full text books. 
  • Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   -- Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular item and have the item shipped to Auraria.
  • WorldCat -- This database contains the book records of nearly every library in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector, including books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials.

Reference Materials

Once you have decided on your topic, you may want to find an overview or a definition of your topic.A good place to start is with subject encyclopedias or dictionaries .  The following is a selection of some of the encyclopedias and dictionaries in the reference section of Auraria Library and on the Internet:

The Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers , edited by Stuart Brown, Diané Collinson, Robert Wilkinson. REF B104 .B5 1996

The Dictionary of Seventeenth-Century British Philosophers. editor, Andrew Pyle. REF B1131 .D538 2000

The Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. Philip P. Wiener, editor in chief. REF CB5 .D52

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment . Alan Charles Kors, editor in chief; REF B802 .E53 2003

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy . Paul Edwards, editor in chief;  REF B41 .E5

Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics . edited by James Hastings with the assistance of John A. Selbie and other scholars. REF BL31 .E4 1924

The Encyclopedia of Religion. editor in chief, Mircea Eliade. REF BL31 .E46 1987

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy edited by Ted Honderich.; this is a NetLibrary book that you may check out electronically.

NOEMA: The Collaborative Bibliography of Women in Philosophy  (NOEMA)
From the Greek, meaning thought, understanding, mind; Continuously up-dated bibliography of works by women in aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, history of philosophy and philosophy of mind, of science, of art, and of many other subjects. Coverage: 1995-  Note: Unrestricted access .

The Perseus Project: An Evolving Digital Library on Ancient Greece. The Perseus Project includes standard Greek editions of works by Plato and Aristotle. Some of these that might be of interest to philosophers include the: English Index to the Database , Greek Word Search of Primary Texts , English Word Search of the Liddell, Scott and Jones Greek Lexicon , and an engine for All Primary Texts (Greek and English) .

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  (Routledge) Encyclopedia of Philosophy, with articles on philosophical topics and on philosophers. Searchable by subject, keyword, names, and titles of articles.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Internet Resources

Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk 
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department  Main Level, Most Recent Issues in Current Periodicals

 
end of page