skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
microphone
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Speech resources

What do you know about research?   Take a quiz!
 
16 item quiz: pretest posttest
Short in class survey: presurvey postsurvey

 

about finding speeches:

There are several methods to locate the texts of speeches at Auraria Library (speeches by a particular person or speeches on a topic). You may locate some through the use of Skyline, the Library's online catalog, others through the use of various periodical indexes and reference books which index speeches. In addition, there are a variety of special sources which reprint the texts of speeches.

Databases and Indexes  
 
General article databases: The general databases listed on the Article database page are all good tools for finding material for a speech. Expanded Academic indexes the magazine Vital Speeches of the Day.
News and Newspapers Link to Lexis-Nexis, Colorado Newstand, and other databases that specialize in news.

 

Quotations

Skyline subject search on quotations : most of these are reference books, if you want books to check out, limit to location, 2nd floor.

Refine your search using a Subject subheading, or keyword search two terms (baseball quotations).

Speeches

Speeches in their full text are available in many formats. Find speeches online, in video or audio productions, and reprinted in books or journal articles.

Search Skyline for books, video and audio:
Subject: Speeches, addresses, etc. Limit the search to a material type such as video or audio tape.

Indexes for locating the texts of speeches:
Use article databases and indexes as you would look for articles (Lexis/Nexis, Expanded Academic), also there are many specialized indexes just for speeches:

Speech Index. REF AI 3.S85
Covers speeches published in books and gives titles of books in which complete speeches may be found. The indexes are by author of speech, title, and subject.

Indexing to speeches by women, subject search includes:

Index to American women speakers, 1828-1978 . REF PS 400.O7 M36

We Shall Be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women, 1978 to 1985. REF PS 408.Z9 M37 1988

Polls, Surveys and Public Opinion Online

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Lexis/Nexis.Full text.
Public opinion polls - periodicals - Link to a subject search in Skyline. List includes the Gallup poll.

Audiovisual collections

There are many videos and audio tapes of famous speeches available in the library. Search Skyline by the name of the person and limit to the material type (video).

sample searches:
keyword search: speeches limit material: video

Sample of what you will find:
Contemporary American Speeches. PN 4121.C684 1988 Film & Video
Great Speeches, the presidents PS662 .G74 1989 Film & Video
Great American Speeches PS668 .G7 1997 Film & Video

Speech Audio Recordings

Use Skyline to locate sound recordings of speeches. You can do a word search on a topic, then limit the results (material type "AUDIO TAPES").

 

end of page