skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

aviation
 
Aviation

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research in aviation.

Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases and indexes
 
Aviation major databases: Compendex, Business Source Premier
Government primary databases are LexisNexis, NTIS
Business primary databases Business Source Premier, General Business File ASAP

 

Books
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in aviation
Handbooks list of aviation handbooks in Skyline
Call number areas T - technology TL aviation, U - military science UG air forces

 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Federal Aviation Administration),  a WORD search (for subjects such as avionics, wind shear, air crashes or biplanes), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as Aviation Consumer or Aviation Week & Space Technology.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings . A few select books that could be helpful are:

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of General Aviation .  REF TL 509 . G27 1990

The Airline Industry.  REF  TL 509  .E54  1992

Jane's All the World's Aircraft. REF TL 501 .J3

World Aviation Directory. REF TL 512 . A63

Jane's Avionics. REF UG 1420 .J36

Brassey's world aircraft and systems directory.  REF TL512 .W65 1999

Ways to find books we do not own or that may be checked out:

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector .

REGULATIONS AND OFFICIAL PUBLICATIONS

Code of Federal Regulations --  (CFR). Washington, DC.: Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service.     Regulations are not laws but they carry the force of law. Many aspects of air transportation in this country are carefully regulated by the Federal Government,  but commercial carriers were deregulated in the 1980's.

The CFR contains all U.S. Government regulations currently in force. One example is Title 14 which concerns "Aeronautics and Space." Title 14, I is concerned with the Civil Aviation Administration. Title 14, II is concerned with the Civil Aeronautics Board.   GOVPUB AE2.106/3    Available online through LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe .   

U.S. Civil Aeronautics Board. Civil Aeronautics Board Reports . (CAB). Washington, D.C.: Civil Aeronautics Board, Dec. 1969/April 1970-.  The CAB Reports are selected economic orders. The Library receives some in paper copy, some in microfiche. The following volumes are in paper     copy: v. 52-53, 56-64, 72-75; Aug. 1969-Apr. 1970, Jan. 1971-May 1974, Dec. 1976-Jan. 1978. The following volumes are in microfiche: v.65-71, v.76-, June 1974-Nov.1976, February 1978-.GOVPUB CAB1.21:+ microfiche

U.S. Federal Aviation Administration . Federal Aviation Regulations . Washington, D.C.: Federal Aviation Administration.  Continuously updated rules and regulations issued by the FAA. Also located in GOVPUB    TD 4.6

FEDERAL

United States government documents are an excellent source for information on air related topics. Here you will find publications issued by the Federal Aviation Administration, the National Transportation Safety Board,  the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, and other Federal agencies.

LOCAL AND REGIONAL 

Documents published by the Denver Regional Council of Governments are examples of both state and regional documents. DRCOG is a regional planning agency representing six counties and thirty-seven municipalities in the greater Denver metropolitan area. Its staff researches many facets of municipal government, including aviation and air transportation. You will find many of the publications resulting from this research in the Auraria Library. 

Do a Author search in Skyline using "DENVER REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS" , or do a WORD search using words such as "DENVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT" or "COLORADO AIRPORTS."

INTERNET SOURCES

Air & Space Smithsonian Magazine

AirDisaster.com

Aviation Safety Network

AirSafe: Aviation Accident Information

Air Traffic Control System Command Center -- Select an airport from the map or from the drop-down list to obtain the latest delay information.

Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association (AOPA)

Aviation Home Page

Certified Pilots Database

Denver International Airport

FlightBrief  -- Flying weather forecast.

Flight Watch  -- Legal resources for aviation.

Jane's

Mechanic Home Page --  Dedicated to the nuts and bolts side of aviation.

Mountain Flying

National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA)

National Air & Space Museum

Weather Channel

White House Commission on Aviation Safety and Security DOT Status Report

There are too many web pages to list every valuable source. Start with Lii.org (Librarians Index to the Internet) for a well maintained source of quality web sites. A search on aviation results in many valuable resources.

 

 
end of page