skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
Chemistry

This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on chemistry available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. Research is a dynamic process. Some of the sources in this guide will provide a good starting point; others will be the main tool for your research.

Article Databases and Indexes Your topic may require branching out to a number of different databases and even discipline areas.
 
Chemistry databases List includes Scifinder Scholar to access Chemical Abstracts, ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals, Wiley InterScience, and Web of Science
Science databases This broad "catch all" category covers most of the databases listed elsewhere. Read the descriptions to make your selection or explore these sources to determine how well they work with your topic.
Medicine Medline is the primary database for research in the medical fields.
Physics INSPEC, Wiley, ScienceDirect, SPIN web are good sources for research in the area of physics.
Environmental Science These databases are excellent for research in the applied areas of environmental chemistry, soil chemistry, etc.

 

Resources  
 
Call number areas QD Chemistry - Call number area for chemistry. Click on the links in this page to see more specific breakdowns.
Reference books in chemistry Handbooks and manuals, organic synthesis, inorganic synthesis, tables, formulas, etc. Browse the reference collection in QD to find an extensive collection of print reference tools.
Chemistry Reference Shelf Some of the most important resources for chemistry are listed on this page. Most of these volumes are only available in print format. Materials for general, organic and inorganic chemistry are included.

 

Guides to research:

Maizell, Robert E., How to find Chemical Information.
This reference book goes into detail on the tools and sources, both online and print, which are available. Important sources are described in detail, along with search tips for searching specific databases.

The ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information
Information on writing the paper, including grammar, conventions, reference citations and the use of illustrations.

Internet sites:

Teaching Chemical Information -- (http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/swain/workshop/cont.html)
This website on searching chemical information from the ACS is filled with valuable tips for all levels of research. Definitely take a look at the tactics and strategies page.

ChemInfo -- (http://www.indiana.edu/~cheminfo)
As described on the page, "CHEMINFO, Chemical Information Sources, is designed to help people find and learn how to use chemical information resources on the Internet and elsewhere." From Indiana University, it is a continuously updated version of Gary Wiggin's book Chemical Information Sources.

 
end of page