This short guide consists of a list of selected resources on environmental studies available in Auraria Library and on the Internet.
Choose Your Topic
Information about the environment, which is an interdisciplinary
area, can be found in several sections of the Library: reference,
periodicals, government documents, media and book collections.
Books shelved on the second
floor may be checked out.
Within each collection area, with the exception of government
publications which is shelved under the SuDocs
classification system , library materials are arranged
by Library
of Congress call numbers.
Specifically, many of the library materials in the areas of environmental studies and related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed below:
- GE 1-140 Environmental Sciences
- GF 1-900 Human Geography
- HC 79 Special Topics (Economics)
- Q Science (General)
- QD Chemistry
- QE Geology
- QH 1-705 Natural History and Biology
- QK Botany
- QL Zoology
- RA 421-790 Public Health. Hygiene. Preventive Medicine
- T Technology
- TA-TN Engineering
For additional subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), which is used
to organize books and other materials in many academic and
university libraries throughout the United States and the
world. LCSH is located near the Reference area on the first
floor , or ask a Reference Librarian.
Article Databases
Especially in the environmental sciences, the most current
information is frequently found in journal
and magazine
articles. Use the following subject links to
locate full
text, magazine and scholarly, peer
reviewed articles in the fields of ecology
, environmental
policy and environmental
science .
TIP Link to the Find
Books and Other Materials guide to learn how to find
and request materials that are not available at
Auraria Library.
back to top
Reference Works
TIP Using an encyclopedia such as Access Science (McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology), the Almanac of Policy Issues or browsing through the National Library for the Environment can assist you in gathering background information on your subject.
The Core List for an Environmental Reference Collection @ EPA might also be of use in your research. The Core List is an annotated bibliography of approximately 500 (and growing) information resources in the areas of environmental protection, conservation, pollution, environmental law, atmospheric trends, water quality, alternative and renewable energy, waste management, public policy, endangered species and environmental science. The List is divided into key subjects related to the environment. To check if Auraria owns any of these items, check Skyline, the Library's catalog.
Reference Materials at Auraria Library
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ecology. REF QH540.4 .C66 1994
Conservation and Environmentalism: an Encyclopedia. Garland Pub., 1995. 2nd Floor GE10 .C68 1995
Dictionary of Environmental Law. REF K3584.6 .G55 2000
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology . REF GE10 .P67 2000
Encyclopedia of Clinical Toxicology : a Comprehensive Guide and Reference to the Toxicology of Prescription and OTC Drugs, Chemicals, Herbals, Plants, Fungi, Marine Life, Reptiles, and Insect Venoms, Food Ingredients, Clothing, and Environmental Toxins . REF RA1193 .R67 2002
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues . 3 volumes. Salem Press, 2000. REF GE10 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science. Oryx Press, 2000. REF GE10 .M66 2000
Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society REF GE149 .E47 2002
The Environment A to Z . CQ Press, 2001. REF GE10 .H67 2001
Environmental Forensics : a Glossary of Terms. CRC Press, 2000. 2nd FL KF3775.A68 M67 2000
Glossary of Environment Statistics . REF GE10 .U54 1997
Historical Dictionary of North American Environmentalism. 2nd FL GE10 .W45 1997
back to top
Books
- Auraria Library Online Catalog -- Use Skyline to locate specific materials which Auraria Library owns. You will also find links to specific full text periodical titles.
- Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book, dissertation, video or periodical.
- WorldCat -- This database contains records of nearly every library in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use WorldCat to order materials not held in Skyline or Prospector.
- National Academy Press -- The National Academy Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
TIP Link to the Find
Books and Other Materials guide to learn how to find
and request materials which are not available at
Auraria Library.
back to top
Environmental Impact Statements
If you are looking for an environmental impact statement
(EIS), Search the NUCat
at Northwestern. Northwestern is one of the largest
repositories of EIS's in the country. Remember to check
Skyline to see if Auraria
owns the title; then check Prospector
and WorldCat
to order the EIS. Also check federal
agency Websites for copies of EIS's that maybe published
on the Web.
Internet Resources
Environmental Portals
Specific Websites
- Alternative Fuels Data Center
- Alternatives to Animal Testing Website
- American Heritage Rivers
- Animal Concerns.org
- Animal Rights FAQ
- Biosphere2
- Cadillac Desert
- Center for World Indigenous Studies
- Center for Renewable Energy and Sustainable Energy
- Cleaning Up the Nuclear Weapons Complex: Internet Resources by Resources for the Future
- Climate Diagnostics Center (CDC) At NOAA.
- Commission for Environmental Cooperation Formed under NAFTA. to settle trade disputes.
- The Earth Council Earth Council is an international non-governmental organization (NGO) created to promote and advance the implementation of the Earth Summit agreements.
- Earth Negotiations Bulletin Read the latest in United Nations treaties, with links.
- EnergySearch From the Electric Power Research Institute.
- Environmental Law Institute Excerpts from The Environmental Forum ®, ELR- the Envir onmental Law Reporter ®, and National Wetlands Newsletter ®.
- Epidemiology, the Internet and Global Health A free "supercourse" is designed to provide an overview on epidemiology;available in English, German, Japanese, and Spanish.
- Global System for Sustainable Development (GSSD) A collection of abstracted, indexed, and cross-referenced online resources for sustainable development; at MIT.
- Global Trade Negotiations Home Page at the Center for International Development @ Harvard.
- HazDat Information Hazardous waste and chemical info from Superfund sites.
- Human Rights and Environment Database The Environment and Human Rights Resources website contains information on human rights, environmental protection and the links between them; the database is one component of a three-year project to develop and promote the connections between human rights and environmental protection.
- International Nuclear Information System at IAEA.
- International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) Database Provides side-by-side comparisons of risk values from federal and international agencies, as well as those developed by independent parties.
- Linkages Designed to be an electronic clearing-house for information on past and upcoming international meetings related to environment and development policy.
- Love Canal Collection at University of Buffalo.
- Mapcruzin U.S. toxics maps and information on community right-to-know.
- Memories Come To Us In The Rain And The Wind Oral Histories & Photographs of Navajo Uranium Miners & Their Families
- National Coalition Against the Misuse of Pesticides
- Northwest Coalition for Alternatives to Pesticides
- National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements
- Nuclear Information Resource Service (NIRS)
- NTP Report On Carcinogens
- Nuclear Files Archive A project of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, this site offers a wealth of materials concerning nuclear weapons and nuclear war, including links to the full text of treaties, data and graphs, and a photo gallery.
- People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA).
- PopNet An extensive directory of population resources on the Web.
- Prior Informed Consent for Certain Hazardous Chemicals
- RadEFX From Baylor University, home of the USA-Canada Chernobyl Immigrant Registry, ionizing radiation health effects, disaster preparedness for radiation accidents, and the health effects of acute radiation exposure.
- Right to Know Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets From the State of New Jersey; this Website is an excellent source for in-depth information on over 2,000 hazardous substances.
- Rocky Mountain Institute
- Tox Town An introduction to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks you might encounter in everyday life; from National Library of Medicine.
- Trade and Environment Program At National Wildlife Federation.
- U.S. Global Change Research Information Office
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
- United Nations Population Information Network
- WaterWiser American Water Works Association
- Waste Isolation Pilot Program
- World Population Trends
- Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Project Office
- Zero Population Growth
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues in Current Periodicals