skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

mathematics
 
Mathematics

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research in mathematics. The two main areas in mathematics are applied mathematics , which is the study of physical phenomena, and pure mathematics , which is the study of mathematical structures. Mathematics is used in many areas, including business, computer science, engineering and physics, so there are a wide variety of specialized resources available to assist in your research.

Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases and indexes
 
Applied Mathematics major databases: MathSciNet, ScienceDirect
Mathematics primary databases are Current Index to Statistics, MathSciNet
Business primary databases Business Source Premier, General Business File ASAP

 

Books
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in mathematics
Handbooks list of mathematics handbooks in Skyline
Call number areas Q - science, QA mathematics

 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, National Center for Education Statistics,  a Word search (for subjects such as algebra, statistics, formulas, or geometry), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as Journal of Numerical Mathematics or Mathematics and Computer Education.

Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you want considerable background information on your topic. For terms to use in a WORD search, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings. A few select books that could be helpful are:

Encyclopaedia of Mathematics: an Updated and Annotated Translation of the Soviet "Mathematical Encyclopaedia ." REF QA5 M3713

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences.   REFQA276.14 E5

A Concise Dictionary of Mathematics. REF QA5 C53

Notable Mathematicians. REF QA28 N66

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae REF QA47 M315

CRC Standard Curves and Surfaces REF QA643 V67

Ways to find books we do not own or that may be checked out:

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector .

Internet Sources

American Mathematical Society

Association for Women in Mathematics

Biographies of Women Mathematicians

Cornell University Library Math Book Collection - 571 historic works in Mathematics, scanned from originals held by the Cornell University Library.

Dictionary of Algorithms, Data Structures, and Problems

Dictionary of Units of Measurement

Gallery of OnLine Geometry

History of Mathematics With Timelines

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive

Mathematical Snippets -- Mobius Strip, counting to infinity and other concepts.

Mathematics Archives

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

WebMath -- A online program that instantly solves a wide variety of mathematical problems. A form lets users type in polynomials, quadratic equations, radical expressions, or almost any common mathematical expression.

There are too many web pages to list every valuable source. Start with Lii.org (Librarians Index to the Internet) for a well maintained source of quality web sites. A search on mathematics results in many valuable resources.

 

 
end of page