This is a guide to finding books, journal articles, electronic
databases, web sites and media
materials relating to criminal justice, criminology, law enforcement, and related topics.
Related subject guides on psychology, sociology, business, public affairs, law, and statistics are also available.
Article Databases
The most current information, as well as historical information, can frequently be found in magazine and journal articles, which tend to deal with more specific topics than books cover.
The "Find Articles" Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
Recommended Starting Points
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED, ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The staff at the Reference Desk can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic if the Library does not own the material you need. The librarian at the Reference Desk can often help you locate other suitable information on your topic if the Library does not own the material you need.
| Article databases and indexes |
|
| Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use. Many databases provide full text and scholarly, peer reviewed articles which appear in leading journals in various fields including criminal justice. |
|
| Criminal Justice and Criminology |
major database: Criminal Justice Abstracts, NCJRS |
| Law |
major database Lexis Nexis, Campus Research (Westlaw) |
| Education |
major databases: ERIC, Education full text |
| Psychology |
primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect |
Library of Congress Classification
Many books and reference materials in criminal justice may be found in the call number areas listed below. It is a good idea to browse the reference collection on the first floor and the circulating collection on the second floor in the call numbers areas which are pertinent to your subject:
HV6001 - HV7220.5 Criminology
- HV6080 - HV6113 Criminal Psychology
- HV6115 - HV6190 Causes of Crime
- HV6250 - Victims of Crimes
- HV6251 - HV6773 Crimes and Offenses
- HV6774 - HV7220.5 Crimes and Criminal Classes
HV7231 - HV9920.5 Penology
- HV7431 Prevention and Methods
- HV7551 - HV8290 Police
- HV8301 - HV9025 Prisons Penitentiaries
- HV9051 - HV9230.7 Juvenile Offenders
- HV9261 - HV9430.7 Reformation of Adult Prisoners
Reference Sources
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find it, How to Use it. Oryx Press, 1998 REF HV7419.5. C75 1998
Crimes and Punishment: A Pictorial Encyclopedia of Aberrant Behavior . 20 vols. Hicksville, NY: Symphonette, 1973-74. REF HV6251. C7 Each volume spotlights five different aspects of wrongdoing and aberrant behavior (e.g., murder, forgery, hijacking, prostitution), including history, motives and methods, and detection and punishment. Index.
Dictionary of American Criminal Justice. Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998. Key terms and major Supreme Court cases. REF HV7411. C53 1998
Dictionary of Criminal Justice terms. American Correctional Association, 1998 REF HV7411. D53 1998
Encyclopedia of American Crime. 2 volumes. New York: Facts on File, 2001. From the Facts on File Crime Library series. REF HV6789.S54.2001.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice . 4 volumes. New York: Macmillan, 1983. Covers all fields of knowledge that have a bearing on understanding the nature and causes of criminal behavior of various kinds, the prevention of crime, the punishment and treatment of offenders, the functioning of the institutions of criminal justice, and the bodies of law that define criminal behavior. REF HV6017. E52 1983
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. 4 volumes. Philadelphia: Brunner-Routledge, 2001.Vol 1: Historical, conceptual and theoretical issues; Vol. 2: Crime and juvenile delinquency; Vol. 3: Sexual deviance; Vol. 4: Self-destructive behavior and disvalued identity. REF HV6017.E53.2001
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences -- Over 200 articles pertaining to the medical, psychiatric, chemical, biological, physical, mathematical and legal aspects of forensics.
Encyclopedia of Police Science . New York: Garland, 1995. Introductory articles on numerous topics. Statistics, bibliographies. REF HV7901. E53 1995
Biographies
Search the Biography page at Auraria Library for online biographical sources.
Axelrod, Alan. Cops, Crooks, and Criminologist. Facts on File, 1996. REF HV7911. A1 A94 1996
A biographical dictionary. Nash, Jay Robert. Encyclopedia of World Crime . 6 vols. Wilmette, IL: Crime Books, 1989-1990. REF HV6017. N377 1989
Directories
Directory: Juvenile & Adult Correctional Departments, Institutions, Agencies & Paroling Authorities, United States and Canada . Annual. College Park, MD: American Correctional Association. REF HV9463. A84
Includes names, addresses, phone and fax numbers, populations, capacities, programs, etc. Statistics.
Forensic Services Directory: The National Register of Experts, Engineers, Scientific Advisers, Medical Specialists, Technical Consultants, and Sources of Specialized Knowledge . Princeton, NJ: National Forensic Center. Annual. REF HV8073. F62 A register of available expert witnesses for attorney evaluation and selection.
National Jail and Adult Detention Directory . College Park, MD: American Correctional Association. REF HV9463. N37
County jail directory includes data on staff salaries, budget, capacity, and population.
National Directory of Law Enforcement Administrators. Correctional Institutions, and Related Agencies . Milwaukee: National Police Chiefs and Sheriffs Information Bureau. Annual. REF HV8130. N37
Includes names, addresses, phone numbers for municipal, county, district, campus, state, and federal agencies.
back to top
Statistics
Uniform Crime Reports for the United States . ( Crime in the United States ) Washington D.C.: U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation. Annual. GOVPUB REF J1.14/7:
State and municipal level crime statistics. Also on the Web at Federal Bureau of Investigation
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics . Washington D.C.: U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Annual. REF HV7245. N376 and GOVPUB REF J29.9/6
Also available online at Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
National and selected state and local data on criminal justice systems, public opinion, offenses, arrests, defendant processing, and prisoners.
Crime in Colorado . Denver, CO: Colorado Bureau of Investigation. Annual. GOVPUB REF PS 5.10/YEAR
City Crime Rankings: Crime in Metropolitan America. Morgan Quitno Press, 1997 REF HV6787 .C57
Statistical Universe Statistical Universe contains abstracts and indices from American Statistics Index (ASI) of all U.S. government statistical publications back to 1973; the full text of 800 of the most important federal government statistical publications published from 1995 through 1997; and links to over 2000 statistical publications on government agency Web sites.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Provides statistics on a variety of topics, including crime and victims, law enforcement, the Federal Justice System, courts and sentencing, and corrections.
Federal Justice Statistics on the Web Contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system, using data obtained from Federal agencies. The FJSP compiles comprehensive information describing defendants from each stage of Federal criminal case processing.
Uniform Crime Reports County Data
Crime and Delinquency . MICRO HV6025. C7
The microfiche collection is located in the Periodicals Microform area of the Library. Fiche are arranged by the accession number found in the index.
back to top
Internet Resources
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
CopNet
Correctional Education Association
Corrections.com -- "The Official Home of Corrections," a meta-site for corrections information and hypertext links.
Crime & Justice Electronic Data Abstracts -- Data is derived from a variety of sources including BJS statistical programs (correctional populations, Federal case processing), the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) program of the FBI (Index crime, homicide, and arrests), and the Bureau of the Census (population numbers and non criminal justice information).
Criminal Justice Links Many hypertext links provided by the Criminal Justice Program of California State University, Stanislaus. The site is updated frequently.
Criminal Justice Links From Florida State University School of Criminology and Criminal Justice.
Criminal Justice Statistics -- From the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS).
Criminal Justice Resources: Bibliographies Criminal Justice bibliographies, edited by Jon Harrison, Criminal Justice Specialist, Main Library Reference, Michigan State University Libraries.
Criminal Justice Statistics Center [.pdf] -- The California Attorney General has the "duty to collect, analyze and report statistical data." This site contains statistical tables, reports, and links to federal, state, and local agency statistics.
DRCNet Online Library of Drug Policy "World's largest online library of drug policy."
Death Penalty Information Center -- A nonprofit organization which prepares analytical reports for the media and the public on issues concerning capital punishment.
FBI HomePage
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin -- The FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin is published monthly by the Federal Bureau of Investigation in Washington, D.C.
FindLaw: Internet Legal Resources, including LawCrawler
Hieros Gamos-The Comprehensive Legal Site: A Guide to Criminal Law
Institute for Law and Justice
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects.
National Center for State Courts
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) A collection of clearinghouses supporting all bureaus of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs: the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the Bureau of Justice Assistance, and the Office for Victims of Crime.
National Criminal Justice Reference Center Abstracts Database -- Search abstracts of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. When full text documents are available online from NCJRS, the Abstract includes a live link to the full report!
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
National Rifle Association
Prisons & Prison Law Page This site is titled "The Other Side of the Wall" and includes a dictionary of criminal lingo, death penalty information, and writings from Death Row.
Prison-Related Resources Prison Activist Resource Center (PARC). The source for progressive and radical information on prisons and the criminal prosecution system.
Punishment and Prejudice: Racial Disparities in the War on Drugs
Sentencing Project The Sentencing Project is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which
promotes decreased reliance on incarceration and increased use of more effective and humane alternatives. It is a nationally known source of criminal justice policy analysis, data and program information. Its reports, publications and staff are relied upon by the
public, policymakers and the media.
Shielded from Justice -- "Police Brutality and Accountability in the United States of America" is a report from Human Rights Watch. Research for the report was conducted between late 1995 and early 1998, in 14 large US cities.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics The 27th anniversary edition, published in 2000, by the Bureau of Criminal Justice Statistics.
Terrorism Research Center
The World's Most Wanted Reports on fugitives and unresolved crimes by district, state, and country, as well as "all points bulletins."
TRAC, Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse is a comprehensive Web site on federal law enforcement in the following agencies:
UNCJIN United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network.
U.S. Code: Title 18, Crimes and Criminal Procedure From the Legal Information Institute (LII) Code Collection section.
U.S. Department of Justice
Uniform Crime Reports County Data
Violence-Related Injuries Treated in Hospital Emergency Departments From the U. S. Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics.
World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network A site to "develop specific ways of sharing services and criminal justice information on a global scale."
back to top
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues in Current Periodical
.
|