This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on Economics
available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. You may
choose to use this suggested action plan in other libraries as well,
because some of the resources listed here can be found in other
libraries.
Choosing a Topic
Browse the Library's collection of business materials to help in
selecting a topic. Information about Economics can be found in several
collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents,
media and book collections and under different subject areas. Books
shelved on the second floor can be checked out. Within each
collection area, library materials are arranged and located by call
numbers. The call number refers to a subject. In Auraria Library,
many materials on Economics are kept under the call numbers HB-HC.
Library materials in business and other areas related to Economics
are typically assigned the following call numbers:
- H Social Sciences (General)
- HD Management, Land Use, Industry, Labor
- HF Commerce, Marketing, Accounting
- HG Finance, Insurance, Investments
- HJ Government Finance
Please also note that most of the library materials are located
and arranged first by type of materials (e.g. reference, periodicals,
government publications, etc.), and then by call numbers.
For a more specific approach, use the Library
of Congress Subject Headings, or ask reference librarians for
more information.
back to top
Books
Use Skyline, Auraria
Library's online catalog to check for books and other materials
the Library owns. You may also check Colorado's union catalog Prospector
from within Skyline, to extend your search to other library catalogs
and to order books and other materials online (NOT journals or magazines).
Click the "Search Prospector" button from the choices of
buttons on Skyline.
Use ILL (Interlibrary
loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library
doesn't own. Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to find books and other materials that
are not available at Auraria Library. Or go directly to WorldCat to request
books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials that Auraria
doesn't own.
back to top
Reference Books
The following are some of the resources in both the reference section
and the Government Documents section of the Auraria Library:
Rutherford, Donald (ed.). Routledge Dictionary of Economics.
London; New York, 2002 . REF HB 61 .R92 2002
Blaug, Mark. Great Economists Since Keynes. Cheltenham,
UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar, 1998. REF HB
76 .B55 1998
County and City Data Book., Washington, DC.: U.S. Dept.
of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 2000. GOVPUB C
3.134/2:C 83/2/2000 and REF HA202 .A36, also online at: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html A wealth of information is presented on states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2,500 or more. Includes population/vital statistics breakdowns, housing, serious crime, commuting, education, labor force, income, wholesale, retail, services, and agriculture. Ranks counties and cities in selected characteristics such as bank deposits, income, etc.
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book.
Lanham, MD.: Bernan Press, 1995. GOVPUB REF HA203 .C68
2004
Greenwald, Douglas (ed.). McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of
Economics. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1994. REF HB61
.E55 1994
Main Economic Indicators. Paris: Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development, 1999- REF HC10 .O68 A
source for international economic statistics, including the those
for the United States. Also online at:
Main economic indicators
= Principaux indicateurs économiques.
Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics. [Vienna, VA] : ESRI REF HA203 .S66 2006.
Community sourcebook of county demographics.[S.l.] : ESRI REF HA203 S65 2006.
These two sources give demographic profiles for the county and zip
code levels. The demographic characteristics include population
(also growth rates), employment, housing, income, and purchasing
potential. Business statistics are also provided for each level.
State And Metropolitan Area Data Book.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
GOVPUB C 3.134/5:, REF HA 202 .S84 2006, GOVPUB CD-ROM C 3.134/5: 997-98. Also online: http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb/
Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington,
DC.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, 1878- Contains statistics
relatingREFDESK HA202 .A2, GOVPUB CD-ROM C3.134/7, GOVPUB C
3.134/2, available online http://www.census.gov/stat_abstract/ A source of various kinds of statistical information on the United
States, including important economic data, such as employment rates,
income, prices, finance, etc.
back to top
Business and Industry Information
Information about businesses and industries can frequently be important
when doing economic research. The following are guides to
Company Information, Industry Overviews, and Financial Ratios (below).
Periodicals are another good place to find these kinds of information,
see Find
Articles.
Business &
Company Resource Center -- Company profiles, brand information,
rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and
periodical articles.
Hoover's
Online -- Comprehensive company, industry and market information: in-depth coverage of 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises. Hoover's expertise and updated daily. Data is searchable by company A-Z and by geography, by industry and by stock index. There is also a browsable 'business boneyard' with records of companies that no longer exist.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. New York: Standard
and Poor's. Quarterly. Quarterly. REF HC 106.6.S74 Supplies
in-depth profiles of major industries.
Industry & trade reports are also available from
the International Trade Administration
website.
Value Line Investment Survey. New York: Arnold Bernhard.
Every 13 weeks. REF DESK HG4501.V26 The Standard
edition of the Survey supplies overviews of major industries.
back to top
Financial Ratios
Almanac Of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios. Englewood
Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall. Annual. REF DESK HF5681.R25 A45
Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios. New York: Dun
& Bradstreet. Annual. REF DESK HF5681.R25 I525
Moody's Industry Review. New York: Moody's Investors Service.
Annual. REF HG4501 .M66
RMA Annual Statement Studies. Philadelphia: Robert Morris
Associates. Annual. REF DESK HF5681.B2 R6
back to top
Find Articles
The most current information on this topic, as well as historical
information about it, can frequently be found in magazine and journal
articles, which tend to deal with more specific topics than books
cover.
The Find Articles
Guide provides information about locating journals and magazines.
Also see Online Indexes (below), to search for articles
and other information on Economics.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The librarian at the Reference
Desk can often help you locate other suitable information on your
topic if the Library does not own the material you need.
back to top
Online Indexes
Business
Economics
Government Research
Databases
If trying to locate an article from an index that does not contain
full text of that article, remember to check Skyline, Auraria Library's
online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodicals you are looking
for!
Selected Databases:
Business
Source Premier Supplies access to thousands of regional, national,
and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals,
and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics,
finance, accounting, international business and much more. There
is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles.Includes
embedded full page images for many of the full text journals.Also
has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit,
WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe -- Provides extensive coverage of business,
news, and legal sources. One of the best sources of industry
& trade news, and company information. Most articles are full text.
Reuters
Business Insight -- Access to lengthy industry reports authored
by independent experts in their fields.overage of: E-Commerce/Technology,
Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Human Resources,
Energy, and Telecommunications.Each report includes:case studies;
quantitative analysis; interviews with industry executives; discussion
of strategic, and more.
ScienceDirect
-- Provides indexing, abstracts and full text article access
to the Elsevier Science journal collection online.The Library's
subscription includes access to approximately 900 journal titles.The
collection includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical,
and social sciences (including economics), and a few in the fine
arts and humanities.Most journal coverage begins with 1996, although
coverage varies.
STAT-USA Market research and other domestic
and international economic information.
Statistical
Universe -- Database available through
Auraria Library. Provides references to statistics of all
types.
back to top
Internet Resources
2000 Census (also available
on CD-ROM, in the Government Publications department of the library).
American
Factfinder (data collected from 2000 census & later surveys)
The
Beige Book Summary of Commentary on Economic Conditions. Released
eight times a year, the Beige Book contains anecdotal information
on current economic conditions from interviews with key businessmen,
economists, market experts, and other resources. From the Federal
Reserve Board of Governors.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Find statistics related to US and foreign labor, employment, earnings,
prices, and the Consumer Price Index.
Colorado by
the Numbers Source of information on Colorado's economy,
population, government, etc.
Colorado State
Data Center
The Currency Site - FX Converter
This currency conversion site supplies exchange rates for 164 countries.
Data on the Net
from UC- San Diego, a database of web sites containing various
forms of data.
The Datazone: Quarterly
Wage and Employment Series (QWES) Current, detailed analysis
of wage and employment trends in the Current Populations Survey,
released quarterly. From the Economic Policy Institute.
Documents Center
-- University of Michigan provides an excellent, extensive, annotated
list of demographic information available on the web. Includes
international resources.
Econ
Data and Links [EDL] Links to recent US economic
data, including variables such as population, income, productivity,
poverty, money, federal finance, exchange rates, and prices.
Economic
Growth Resources Numerous links to web pages dealing with
economic growth research, including data sets, journals, working
papers, literature surveys, mailings lists, and the home pages of
researchers.
Economics History Services
This site is geared to scholars in economic history and related
fields and supplies resources and opportunities for communication.
FAIRMODEL Work
with FAIRMODEL, a macroeconometric model of the US economy,
to forecast the economy, do policy analysis, and examine historical
episodes.
Federal Reserve Bank of New
York Some of the current and historical rates on
this database include Commercial Paper Offering Rates, Prime Rate,
Foreign Exchange Rate, Discount Rate, and Certificate of Deposit
Rate. Information about "The Fed" in general and this regional bank
in particular is also supplied.
FRED II Created
by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRED II provides
historical US economic and financial data, including daily US interest
rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, and regional
economic information for Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky,
Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.
Global
Macroeconomic and Financial Policy Site
International
Monetary Fund Publications Source for IMF Working Papers, Country
Reports, policy discussions, etc.
Resources for Economists
on the Internet Compiled by Bill Goffe, Department
of Economics at SUNY Oswego, this page has numerous pointers to
sites under dozens of headings, including U.S. Macro and Regional
Data, World and Non-U.S. Data, Finance and Financial Markets, Economic
Consulting and Forecasting Services, Working Papers, Working Paper
Publication and Notification Services, Economic Journals on the
Internet, Directories to Universities, Business Schools, Economic
Departments and Economists, and Job information for Economists.
Salary Calculator
What would a salary in one city be equivalent to in another city?
The calculator on this page will give you the answer.
Spark Notes Provides
a collection of study guides for English literature, history, philosophy,
economics, mathematics, computer science, astronomy, physics, chemistry,
psychology, and biology. USERS MUST REGISTER TO ACCESS MATERIALS,
BUT REGISTRATION IS FREE.
Statistical
Universe Database available through Auraria Library. Provides
references to statistics of all types.
US Census Bureau
A dazzling variety and amount of social, demographic, and economic
information.
WebEc Economic
Journals on the Web. This site will, in some cases, link to the
full-text of the economic journals and newsletters represented.
In other cases the journal link does not supply full-text but will
supply such information as a description of the periodical, how
to subscribe, and editorial guidelines.
World Economic
Outlook Biannual economic and financial survey compiled by the
International Monetary Fund.
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
REF DESK = At the Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk GOVPUB
= Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office GOV
PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|