This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on International
Affairs available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also
suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow while
doing research or simply looking for information on a topic. You
may choose to use this suggested action plan in other libraries
as well, because some of the resources listed here can be found
in other libraries.
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
It is important to remember that you should choose a topic which
is not only interesting to you but also appropriate to your capabilities
and to the time available.
Looking through the Library's collection of materials relating
to International Affairs may help you decide on a topic. Information
about International Affairs can be found in several collections,
i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and book
collections. Books shelved on the second floor of the
Auraria Library can be checked out. Within each collection area,
library materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The
call number refers to a subject. Most of the library materials in
the areas of international affairs, and other related areas are
assigned the call numbers as listed:
- E183.7
United States Foreign Relations
- JA
Political Science (General)
- JK
Government of Countries
- JK570-JK573 United States Foreign
Relations: Treaties
- JX
International Law
- JX1635-JX1664 Diplomacy
- JX1952-JX1977 International Relations
- K
Law (General)
- KF
Law (United States)
To use Skyline, the Auraria Library
Online Catalog, to locate resources on specific topics, you
may search by Library of Congress Subject Heading.
Subject headings are the words
or phrases used by the Library of Congress to describe the main
topic of books and/or articles. Phrases listed below are examples
of headings related either directly or indirectly to International
Affairs:
Diplomacy
Foreign Policy
Foreign Relations
International Affairs
International Law
International Relations
Treaties
United States Foreign Relations
For additional subject headings, consult the Library of Congress
Subject Headings books located near the Reference area on the
first floor, or
ask a Reference Librarian.
You can also use the above headings, or terms similar or related
to them, as WORD searches within Skyline, the Auraria Library Online Catalog.
This may provide additional information. Phrases listed below
are just a few examples of words searches you can use when researching
International Affairs:
history united nations (Will find
materials related to the history of the United Nations)
foreign policy iran
(Will find materials related to the foreign policy of Iran, and/or
the policies of other countries toward Iran)
ngos human rights (Will
find materials related to Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO's)
and their impact on human rights)
back to top
Find Articles
Online Databases
Recommended Starting Points
Databases --
Go to this page for general databases that cover multiple subjects,
contain full text and scholarly,
peer reviewed articles which
appear in leading journals in various fields.
Foreign
Language News -- Foreign Language News is a module of (LEXIS-NEXIS)
Academic Universe. It contains articles from over 100 foreign newspapers
and magazines, in Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. All
articles are full text. Dates of coverage vary.
Government Research Databases
LEXIS
NEXIS Academic Universe -- Full text articles
on national and international issues, from U.S and foreign news
sources. These also include television and radio transcripts,
and wire service reports.
Public Affairs Information
Service (PAIS) --Premier index to domestic and international
policy documents from journals, books, and government publications. It offers no full text articles, only citations and abstracts.
Other Useful Databases
Findlaw -- Search Findlaw
on a variety of legal subjects including cases, courts, international
law, and legal forms.
LegalTrac --
Use this database to research: Case Studies, Government Regulations,
Practice of Law, Statutes, Taxation and International Law. Access
all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
1980-present; provided by IAC.
TIP If you find an article you want in a particular index,
but the index does not offer the article in full text, remember
to check Skyline, Auraria Library's
online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodical in which that
article is contained.
Also check Goldrush to see if the periodical is available
in any of the other online databases that the Library subscribes
to. For assistance in using these databases, or any other library
resources, please come to the Reference Desk!
back to top
Finding Older Articles in Print Indexes
Many older articles and documents (generally, before the mid-1990s)
are not indexed online. Print indexes that lead to articles on international
affairs include:
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science,
1866-1974. Washington, Carolloton Press. LOCATION:
REF INDEX JA1. C18
Current Treaty Index. Buffalo, N.Y. : W.S. Hein & Co.,
1982- LOCATION: GOVPUB U.S. S 9.10: INDEX
Index to U.S. Government Periodicals. Chicago: Infodata
International, 1978 - 1987. LOCATION: GOVPUB INDEX J83.I5
International Political Science Abstracts. Paris: International
Political Science Assoc. 1977 - 1999. LOCATION: REF INDEX
JA36.I5
Social Sciences Citation Index. Philadelphia: ISI, 1977
- 2005. LOCATION: REF INDEX: HI.S63
Social Sciences Index. New York: H.W. Wilson. 1974 - 1998.
LOCATION: REF INDEX H1.S62
back to top
Newspaper Databases and Indexes
LEXIS
NEXIS Academic Universe -- National, international,
and regional newspapers, all full text.
Newsbank -- Links to Colorado and national news sources, many full text.
Wall Street Journal
-- Full text of the Eastern edition. June 1981+.
Wall Street Journal homepage.
Indexes pre-dating those listed above:
Denver Post Index [REF INDEX AI21.D4]
The New York Times Index [REF INDEX AI21.N44]
Personal Name Index to "The New York Times Index", 1851-1974
[REF INDEX AI21.N442]
The Washington Post Index [REF INDEX AI21.W3]
back to top
Find Books
Auraria Library Online Catalog Use the
Library online catalog (Skyline) to find books in the library, and
to find out if the Library subscribes or has access to specific
journals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat
This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request
items not found through Skyline or Prospector. You may use
this to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other
materials that Auraria doesn't own.
NetLibrary
A database of online, full text books. Other eBooks.
ILL (Interlibrary
loan) Use to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library
doesn't own, and you cannot locate in Skyline or Prospector.
Tip: Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Materials to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
Government Publications
Government Documents Click here for Auraria
Library Government Publications Department and Government
Research Databases and Technical Reports.
Congressional
Universe -- The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative
information. Includes full text of proposed legislation and
status, legislative histories, congressional committee information,
campaign contributions and PAC activities, articles from "National
Journal" and more.
GPO Access -- Includes
the Foreign Affairs Network, Budget of the United States,
Congressional publications, bills, public laws, the United States
Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, Economic Indicators,
the Economic Report of the President, the Federal Register,
the Government Information Locator Service, Supreme Court
Decisions from 1937-1975, the Unified Agenda of Federal Regulatory
and Deregulatory Actions, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential
Documents, and other documents.
Monthly Catalog of
United States Government Publications -- An index to pre 1976
government publications, back to 1895. [GOVPUB INDEX
GP3.8] Also try the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
Original Sources
-- The largest single full text electronic collection of
documents, reference works, and other materials, relating to American
and world history.
back to top
Dissertations
Digital Dissertations -- Index, with citations and abstracts, of
most Ph.D. dissertations published in the U.S. Indexing from
1861 - present, abstracts from 1980 - present, updates monthly.
Dissertations
from the University of Colorado at Denver -- Search citations
and abstracts for CU-Denver dissertations from 1988; download the
full text of UCD dissertations and theses published after
1996.
Internet Resources
Background Notes
--From the U.S. State Department, provides information on countries
and international organizations. Background Notes for some
countries are currently unavailable.
Country Indicators for Foreign
Policy
Country Studies -- From
the Library of Congress. Tables, glossaries, bibliographies, maps,
etc., for 101 countries and regions.
ERPA: European Research
Papers Archive -- Provides a common interface for searching
a database of online working papers relevant to European integration.
School of Public Affairs -- At the University of Colorado
Green Parties World Wide --
A directory of environmentalist parties around the world.
Hoover Institution on War, Revolution
and Peace -- An organization that "seeks to secure and safeguard
peace, improve the human condition, and limit government intrusion
into the lives of individuals".
House of
Commons Research Papers --Compiled for the benefit of British
Members of Parliament by the staff of the House of Commons Library.
The papers are an occasional series, numbered by year and sequence
of publication, and usually deal with topics of current parliamentary
interest.
Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of
Public Affairs -- Home of PUBPOL Listserv.
Human Development Reports-- From the United Nations; ranks countries on quality
of life indicators such as life expectancy, infant mortality, wealth
and other criteria.
International Policy Institute
for Counter-Terrorism
Official
Websites of National Governments
Policies of the European Union
-- This site "provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs
and essential information on European integration. Users can also
consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion,
access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out
about the policies administered by the European Union".< dt>
PollingReport.com -- A bimonthly
public opinion monitor, offering a very frequently updated polling
results and data. The site is updated whenever a new poll is released.
Public Agenda Online
-- This site provides succinct, nonpartisan information on social
issues ranging from abortion to Social Security, from foreign policy
to privacy on the Internet.
RAND -- RAND (a contraction
of the term research and development) is the first
organization to be called a "think tank." Originally a military
contractor, RAND performs reasearch into all aspects of public policy.
Stationary Office
--U.K. (Great Britain) Official Publications on the Internet.
UN
System Pathfinder -- From the United Nations Dag Hammarskjold
Library selects "current, relevant and useful" publications from
UN organizations and groups them by topic (Culture, Disarmament,
Human Rights, Economic Development, etc.). Materials listed at the
site include "global studies and reports, handbooks and guides,
bibliographies and indices, international statistical publications,
compilations of treaties, resolutions and documents as well as annual
reports of UN bodies and specialized agencies."
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|