Introduction
This Guide consists of a list of selected resources on Political
Science available in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also
suggests a research strategy or plan of action you can follow while
doing research or simply looking for information on a topic.
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
Looking through the Library's collection of Political Science materials
may help you decide on a topic. Information about Political Science
can be found in several collections, i.e., article databases, reference books, circulating books,
government documents, and videos. Find Articles
Databases -- Go to this page for a customized list of databases related
to political science and political philosophy. Many databases listed
on this page contain full
text, scholarly, peer
reviewed and refereed articles in leading journals.
In addition:
Web of Science (Thomson). 1990 - present.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed.
TIP If you're searching a database that does not offer
the full text of an article, remember to check the Journal Title in Skyline, Auraria Library's
online catalog, to see if Auraria owns the periodical in which
that article is located. In many cases, it is possible to
find a link to the full text of a specific periodical (journal,
magazine or newspaper) title.
Finding Older Articles in Print Indexes
Many older articles (generally, beyond ten years) are not indexed
online. Print indexes that lead to articles include:
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science,
1866-1974. Washington, Carolloton Press. REF
INDEX JA1. C18
Index to U.S. Government Periodicals. Chicago: Infodata
International, 1978 - 1987. GOVPUB INDEX J83.I5
International Bibliography of Political Science. Paris
: UNESCO, 1967, 1970, 1972, 1980, 1985-1998. REF JA1 .A1
I64
International Political Science Abstracts. Paris: International
Political Science Assoc. 1977 - 1999. REF INDEX JA36
.I5
Social Sciences Citation Index. Philadelphia: ISI, 1977
- 2005. REF INDEX: H1 .S63
Social Sciences Index. New York: H.W. Wilson. 1974 - 1998.
REF INDEX H1 .S62
United States Political Science Documents. 1975-1985. REF INDEX JA 1 .75
Books and Reference Materials
Books shelved on the second floor can be checked out. Books are arranged and located by call numbers which arrange the books by subject. Most of the library materials in the area of Political Science, and other related areas are assigned the call numbers as listed:
- J General Legislative and Executive Papers
- JA Political Science (General)
- JC Political Theory, Theory of the State
- JF Political Institutions and Public Administration
- JK Political Institutions and Public Administration: United States
- JL Political Institutions and Public Administration: America Outside
the U.S.
- JS Local Government
- K Law (General)
- KF Law (United States)
Skyline (Auraria Library Online
Catalog) -- Use the Library online catalog to find books that
Auraria owns on the shelf or electronically. Start with a keyword search and then for a more specific approach, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings which offer very specific terms or phrases used by libraries to describe what a given book or article is about.
You can link to thee subject headings from catalog records or try a subject search.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat
-- This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request
items not found through Skyline or Prospector, including books,
dissertations, videorecordings and other materials.
Also, remember to ask reference librarians if you need assistance!
Reference Books
CQ's Politics in America. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press.
REFDESK JK1012 .C63
Political Science Dictionaries
United States -- Politics and government -- Dictionaries.
Political Science Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Democracy. Washington, D.C. : Congressional
Quarterly, 1995.LOCATION: REF STACKS JC423 .E53 1995
The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress.
REF STACKS AND GOVPUB REF
JK1021 .D48 2007
Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group
Ratings. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2000. LOCATION: REF
JK1051 .S555
International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who.
London : Burke's Peerage Ltd., 1953- LOCATION: REF JA51
.I57
Almanacs
Almanac of American Politics. [Boston?] : Gambit. LOCATION: REF JK271 .B343
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Washington, D.C.
: Congressional Quarterly News Features, 1948- present. Annual. LOCATION: REF
JK1 .C663
TIP Link to the guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are available at the Auraria Library and elsewhere.
Election statistics
Elections -- United States -- Statistics -- Periodicals and
Elections United States History Statistics
Federal elections [electronic resource. (Federal Election Commission) INTERNET
Statistics of the presidential and congressional election of ... (Clerk of the House of Representatives)
INTERNET
Voting and registration in the election of ... (U.S. Bureau of the Census) INTERNET
Government Publications
Skyline catalog. Auraria Library is a selective U.S. government publications depository.
Government databases.
Government
Research Databases.
Colorado
State Publications -- Links to Colorado state government and information
about Colorado.
Federalist
Papers A series of 85 essays written by James
Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and John Jay between 1787 and 1788.
They were written to encourage the ratification of the proposed
US Constitution, drafted in Philadelphia in 1787. As a result, the
essays explain particular provisions of the Constitution in detail.
Full text.
Code of Federal
Regulations -- Federal regulations, agency opinions and US Attorney
General Opinions. Full text.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The GAO evaluates federal programs and activities, examines the
use of public funds and provides analyses, options, recommendations,
and other assistance to the Congress to help it make policy, oversight
and funding decisions
GPO Access --
Includes the Budget of the United States, Congressional publications,
bills, public laws, the Code of Federal Regulations, Economic
Indicators, the Economic Report of the President, the
Federal Register, the Government Information Locator Service,
Supreme Court Decisions from 1937-1975, the Unified Agenda
of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions, the United
States Code, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents,
and other documents. Full text.
Office of Management and
Budget (OMB) The OMB develops and executes the budget of the
federal government, oversees implementation of administration policies
and programs, and develops and implements management policies for
the government.
Thomas Legislative Server --
Find the status of bills, roll call votes, Congressional Record,
committee information and historical documents.
DRCOG
Auraria Library is a depository for documents published by the Denver Regional Council of Governments (DRCOG), a regional planning agency representing six counties and thirty-seven municipalities in the greater Denver metropolitan area. DRCOG publications can be located through Skyline, the Auraria Library's online catalog.
Public Opinion Polls
Databases above and those listed below, add the word "poll" or "survey" or "opinion" or "attitude" to subject words.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Gallup Poll News Service (LexisNexis Academic)
Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing (LexisNexis Academic)
LexisNexis Academic --
Those needing opinion poll data should also try using the Polls & Surveys SmartIndexing term in combination with news searches run from the Power Search form or the News search form. This will retrieve news stories that report on the contents of public opinion polls.
Harris Interactive: The Harris Poll
Newspapers from America's Newspapers
Pew Global Attitudes Project (Pew Research Center)
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press -- Polls on political topics often cited in the newspapers.
PollingReport.com -- A public opinion monitor, offering very frequently updated polling results and data. The site is updated whenever a new poll is released.
Public Agenda Online: The Inside Source for Public Opinion & Policy Analysis . Must register (free) to get free reports.
Statistics (Auraria Library subject guide)
Special Collections
Index to Current Urban Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood,
1972 - 1999/2000 REF INDEX HT 101.U72 This multi-volume set
is an index to local government publications issued by almost 300
of the largest North American cities and counties. All Colorado
documents, which include Aurora, Colorado Springs, Denver, Lakewood,
and Pueblo, are full-text on the Urban Documents Microfiche Collection.
National Municipal League/Civic League Archives LOCATION:
Auraria Archives and Special Collections The collection
includes the records and research files of the National Municipal
League (now called the National Civic League) from the early 1900s
through the present. Extensive subject files and geographic files
document activities of the League through its involvement in municipal
policy, state constitutional revision, and reapportionment. Included
are all publications of the League, including its renowned series
of model statements for charters and constitutions. Archives
and Special Collections is located in the second floor of the
Library.
To locate materials from a wide variety of institutions, check
the National Historical Publications and Records Commission website listing of projects.
When the Materials You Need Aren't Owned
by Auraria Library
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You may
use Prospector through Skyline or directly
through the Web.
WorldCat -- This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, as well as many foreign libraries. Use
to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector, including
books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials.
ILL (Interlibrary
loan) -- Use to order books, or journal and magazine articles, that
Auraria Library doesn't own, and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
Internet Resources
About Counties (National Association of Counties) -- Information
for, on and about counties in the United States.
ACLU -- An organization
dedicated to the preservation of the constitutional rights of all
the people of the US.
ACLU's Congressional Scorecard -- From the ACLU. Lists ratings and vote history for members of congress, as relates to civil liberties.
AFL-CIO
Almanac of Policy issues
--
Background information, archived documents, and links on major U.S. public policy issues.
AlterNet.org
American Enterprise Institute for
Public Policy Research
American Political Science Association
Amnesty International --
A worldwide movement that works to promote human rights, per international
standards, and as described in the Universal
Declaration of Human Rights
Background Notes -- From the
U.S. State Department, provides information on geographic entities
and international organizations and is updated periodically.
Brookings Institution -- A
private research organization dealing with public policy issues.
CATO Institute -- Promotes limited
government, individual liberty, and free markets.
Center for Defense Information
Chemical and Biological
Disarmament (Univ. of Michigan Library)
Civilrights.org
Congress Watch -- From Public
Citizen.
Country Studies
-- From the Library of Congress. Photographs, tables, glossaries,
bibliographies, maps, and charts for 101 countries and regions.
Democratic Party
Europa: Gatetway to the European Union
FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting)
Fiscal Survey
of States
Gendercide Watch
seeks to confront acts of gender-selective mass killing around the world.
Genocide Watch
German Propaganda
Archive -- Translated propaganda material from Nazi Germany
and the German Democratic Republic (GDR); contains speeches and
essays from leaders, examples of Anti-Semitic writings, cartoons,
stamps, photos, posters, speeches, pamphlets, and anti-American
caricatures.
Green Parties World Wide --
A directory of environmentalist parties around the world.
Gun Control vs.
Gun Rights (opensecrets.org)
Heritage Foundation -- Conservative
think tank.
Hoover Institution (Stanford University)
Hubert H. Humphrey
Institute of Public Affairs -- Univ. of Minnesota. Home of PUBPOL Listserv.
Human Development Reports
-- From the United Nations; Ranks countries on quality
of life indicators such as life expectancy, infant mortality, wealth
and other criteria.
Human Rights Library (Univ. of Minnesota)
Human Rights Watch
Images of American
Political History
Inequality.org -- Created
and maintained by "a network of journalists, writers and researchers
trying to look beyond conventional economics and its notions of
prosperity and progress," this Website features news, original articles,
and reprints.
Institute
for Counter-Terrorism
Institute for Global Communications -- Links to various anti-war and/or liberal/progressive websites.
The Institute for War & Peace
Reporting (IWPR) -- IWPR is an independent publishing and media
group, whose mission is to "inform the international debate on conflict
and
provide training and a platform for independent media and other
democratic voices."
John Locke Foundation --
Conservative think tank, based in North Carolina.
Kettering Foundation --
A research foundation that develops and tests strategies that will
strengthen the role of citizens in governing themselves. Democracy
requires citizens who accept their responsibility and are able to
make sound decisions about the public's interest. Democracy
requires healthy societies of citizens in communities. Democracy
requires legitimate institutions that encourage healthy civil societies.
John F. Kennedy School of Government (Harvard University)
Libertarian Party
Marx & Engels
Internet Archive
Meet the Mayors
-- This allows users to search for mayors by last name, city,
state, or population.
Miller Center of Public Affairs
National Academy of Public Administration
National Center for Policy Analysis
National Conference of State Legislatures
National Congress for Community
Economic Development
Opensecrets.org -- The
Online Source for Money in Politics Data, from the Center
for Responsive Politics (CRP) contains current information on money
that American politicians raise and spend.
Political Information.com -- Search for carefully chosen Websites relating to politics and general political information.
RAND -- RAND (a contraction
of the term research and development) is the first organization
to be called a "think tank." Originally a military contractor, RAND
performs reasearch into all aspects of public policy.
Record of American
Democracy, 1984-1990 (ROAD) (Harvard)
Republican National Committee
Research and Advocacy Groups
September 11 Digital Archive : Saving
the Histories of September 11, 2001
September
11 Resoures (University of Arizona)
stateline.org -- This Website
provides "a set of tools" that apprise state policy makers, the
public, and the media of important developments occurring in the
capitols of all 50 states. Features of the site include current
and past news items on state government, statistical data and background
information for every state, a library of updated data tables, and
developments for major political issues.
Strategic
Intelligence (Loyola College, Maryland) -- U.S. and international links to the intelligence
community.
truthout.org -- an alternative
news source containing articles from the world press on various
current events, many of which are not available from the US media.
Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy (University of Arizona) -- The catalog contains citations to books, reports,
and periodicals on all aspects of public policy, with special collections
on U.S.-Mexico border issues, environmental conflict resolution,
environmental policy in the Southwest (climate change, environmental
health, and water resources), and American Indian policy. All of
the materials in the catalog are available at the Udall Center library
in Tucson, Arizona or for purchase. Some publications are available online.
UNISPAL: United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine --The Division for Palestinian Rights, established by the UN, has developed the United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL). It's mission is to provide full-text documents from the UN system relevant to the question of Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict since 1946.
Urban Institute -- "A
non-partisan economic and social policy research organization."
U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
U.S. Diplomatic
History Resources Index
U.S.
Federal Government Information (Vanderbilt University links)
Web Genocide Documentation
Centre -- An extensive compilation of primary materials
and annotated links related to genocidal and mass man-made killing
occurrences.
Western Governor's Association
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars -- An institute for
advanced study, and a neutral forum for open, serious, and informed
dialogue between pre-eminent thinkers and government policymakers.
World At War --
From the Center for Defense Information. This examines various
ongoing military conflicts around the world.
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
REFDESK = Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level PERIOD = Periodicals Department
Main Level.
|