skip navigation and go to page content

Auraria Library home
 
psych journals
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide

Psychology

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research in psychology.

Article databases  
 
Each link will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.
 
psychology primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect
medicine recommended: Medline (Firstsearch or PubMed)
education major databases: ERIC, Education full text
Social Sciences Citation Index Unique print index shows citation patterns for articles in the social sciences. Use for difficult to find topics or to track the influence of a paper.

 

Books  

 

encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in many areas of psychology
handbooks list of psychology handbooks in Skyline
call number areas BF cognitive psychology
RC - internal medicine: clinical psychology, psychiatry, and physiology
Thesauri Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms - also available online through the PsycInfo database.

APA Manual

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.  Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2001.  REF BF 76.7 P83 2001.

This source describes the structure of an APA paper and detail on how to cite sources.  Numerous copies at the reference desk.  

See Style Manuals for  online versions. For help with APA style guidelines, visit APA's online resource www.apastyle.org . This is a good source for information on citing electronic media. Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format

Testing and Measurement

Mental Measurements Yearbook -- Contains descriptive information and full text critical reviews of commercially-available standardized assessments (English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests). This Skyline record provides information on the print edition in reference and a link to the online database.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. Many psychological and educational tests are unpublished. This directory provides information on many of these sometimes difficult to find tests.

Mental Health Statistics

National Institute on Mental Health : Numbers count - Statistics on disorders with references to source material and articles
Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General - Information about disorders, treatment and statistiss.
Center for Mental Health Services - Federal agency within the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). Mission to improve prevention and mental health treatment services for all Americans. See the section on Mental Health Statistics to access data output tables.

Internet Resources

Associations and organizations:  American Psychological Association PsycNET  | Association for Psychological Science | Society for Industrial-Organizational Psychology (TIP) | American Psychoanalytical Association | The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry | Buros Institute of Mental Measurements

Online reference for psychology: International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.

There are too many web pages to list. Start with Lii.org (see below) for a well maintained source of quality web sites.

Librarians Index to the Internet -- subject search search on psychology. List of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, documents, web pages and finding aids.

 

 

end of page