Defined as "the study of human social behavior," sociology centers
on the study of origins, development, organization, and institutions
of human society.
While a great deal of material about sociology is kept in the sociology
area of Auraria Library (Library
of Congress Classification System call letters HM-HX), students
of sociology may also need to consult books, journals, and other
media in other fields of study as well. These fields might include,
but may not be limited to, anthropology and history (for origins
and development of institutions), medicine, business, political
science and government (for patterns of group organization or studies
of institutions).
TYPES OF LIBRARY MATERIALS
Information in libraries, including Auraria Library, is divided
in two ways, by type and by discipline. Reference books, circulating
books, journals and magazines, media, and government documents are
types of material; each type has a separate department in the library.
The second kind of division, by discipline or subject, is indicated
by call number. The main call numbers for sociology and social work
follow:
- H Social science
(General)
- HA Statistics
- HM Sociology
- HN Social history
- HQ The family. Marriage.
Woman
- HT Communities. Cities.
Races
- HV Social pathology. Social
public welfare
- HX Socialism. Communism.
Anarchism
To find library material on any topic, you need to know the type
of material and the call number.
For example, to locate the book
The Group as Agent of Change, you need to know that it is a
book you can check out and is shelved on the second floor, and that
the Library of Congress call number is HM 134 J33, which tells you
its position on the shelf.
For a more specific approach, use the Library
of Congress Subject Headings which offer very specific terms
or phrases used by libraries to describe what a given book or article
is about.
Reference Books
Reference books usually cover material briefly and broadly or present
statistics or facts about a particular subject. They can be useful
in helping you pick a subject for research since many of them cover
a number of related concepts.
Some especially useful reference books are listed below. Other
reference sources may be found by using Skyline, Auraria Library's catalog. Do
a word search using sociology or social work followed by one of
the following: encyclopedia, dictionary, handbook, statistics or
by browsing the shelves near the books listed. The Reference section
of the Library is located on the first floor.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological
Language.
Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2000. REF HM425 .J64 2000.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Sociology. New York: Oxford
University Press, 1994. This concise desk reference is arranged
like a dictionary but has a wider scope. A good place to start when
researching terms in sociology. REF HM17.C66 1994
Dictionary of Quotations in Sociology. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1985. This unusual and useful dictionary presents the nature,
origin, development, and current status of general sociological
concepts through direct quotations. About 75 percent come from modern
sociology, the remaining 25 percent from other social sciences,
philosophy, religion, and other related fields. REF HM17.B37
1985
Dictionary of Social Behavior and Social Research Methods.
Monterey, CA: Brooks/Cole, 1981.Emphasis is on social psychology.
It includes the definition of approximately 1,000 terms, such as
Johari Window and Zeigarnik effect, that are considered important
in the social psychology field. 2nd Floor HM17.S72
Encyclopedia of Sociology. 4 vols. New York: MacMillan,
1992.A current work including 370 articles which provide summaries
of sociological concepts, theory, and other areas of scholarly investigation.
REF HM17.E5 1991
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Sociology. 3rd ed. Guilford,
CT: Dushkin, 1986. Designed to provide the information and background
necessary to understand the concepts in sociology. The "Topic Guides"
point out the specific relationship between individual articles
in the book. REF HM17.C52 1986
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
-- This online version of the 24-volume printed encyclopedia contains
nearly 4,000 signed articles by social science scholars from many
disciplines. Fully searchable, with integrated internal linking.
Printed encyclopedia was originally published in 2001; online version
to be updated annually. Also in paper: REF H40.A2 I5
Social Issues. New York : Macmillan Library Reference,1998.
2nd FL HM17 .E5152 1998
The Social Science Encyclopedia. Boston: London: Routledge,
1985. A one volume encyclopedia which contains over 700 social science
terms, theories and theorists. The signed entries, written by experts
in the field, cover not only topics in social sciences, but also
related topics in biology, business, and medicine. Most entries
include bibliographical references. REF H41.S63
Sources of Information in the Social Sciences: A Guide to the
Literature. Chicago: American Library Association, 1986.Provides
a systematic guide of the literature in the fields of history, geography,
economics and business administration, sociology, anthropology,
psychology, education, and political science. It is especially useful
for upper-division and graduate students. REF H 51.Z9
W4 1985
Books
Circulating books, or books that can be checked out, contain far
more detail than reference books. To find in-depth information on
your subject use Skyline, Auraria Library's catalog and
do a word search using keywords related to your topic.
Examples of keywords: gangs, alcoholism, single parent families,
homelessness, marriage, socialization, social customs.
To get more information, think of synonyms for the term you
try first. You might begin with siblings or brothers and sisters
and then try family relationships to find more information. Once
you have found one or two titles that look useful, the easiest way
to find useful synonyms is to look at the full record screen for
those books and check the "Subject" section for other useful
key words. Some may be more on target than the term you have been
using.
Skyline automatically does Boolean searching every time you put
two words together. A word search on family relationships searches
for any records for items with the words family and relationships.
You can do another type of Boolean searching using synonyms.
family and (relationships or structure)
This search finds records for items with the word family and relationships
or family and structure This type of searching is also
useful for finding singular and plural forms of words. For example:
(family or families).
Specific Databases to Locate Books and Other Materials
Keep in mind there are different library systems that offer
different services and features. For example:
Skyline (Auraria Library Online
Catalog) -- Use the Library online catalog to find books that
Auraria owns on the shelf, or electronically. You may also
use Skyline to find out if the Library subscribes subscribes to
specific periodicals.
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book.
WorldCat
-- This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, and many foreign libraries. Use to request
items not found through Skyline or Prospector, including books,
dissertations, videorecordings and other materials.
Tip Link to the guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
You may use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector. You may use WorldCat
to request books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials
that Auraria doesn't own.
Indexes provide citations. If you need relatively recent material
select one of the electronic indexes available from the Library's
homepage. For older or more in-depth lists of articles you may have
to consult one of the print-only indexes. To Find a Journal, Magazine
or Newspaper Article Consult the Find
Articles guide to find information about locating journals
and magazines.
Online Indexes
Recommended Starting Points
Databases
-- Go to this page for databases related to sociology and sociological
theory. Many databases on this page contain full
text, scholarly, peer
reviewed and refereed articles that appear in leading journals.
When the Materials You Need Aren't Owned
by Auraria Library
Prospector:
the Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You may
use Prospector through Skyline or directly
through the Web.
WorldCat
-- This database contains the book records of nearly every library
in the United States, as well as many foreign libraries. Use
to request items not found through Skyline or Prospector, including
books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials.
ILLiad -- Use
to order books, or journal and magazine articles, that Auraria Library
doesn't own, and you cannot locate in Skyline or Prospector.
Internet Resources
Allyn & Bacon
Sociology Links Pages
American
Sociological Association -- Provides news, career resources
and information from sections of this major organization.
Childstats.gov
Council
of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) -- CESSDA
promotes the acquisition, archiving and distribution of electronic
data for social science teaching and research in Europe.
Data on the Net -- Browse
over 862 Internet sites for numeric social science statistical data,
data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses
and more. Updated frequently.
Elder Mistreatment:
Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation in an Aging
Everything Postmodern -- Great,
extensive site for postmodern theory.
Famous Sociologists -- Leading figures in sociology dead
and very much alive. A detailed site with links to sociologists'
works.
Research Resources for the Social
Sciences -- Sponsored by McGraw-Hill this site provides links
to numerous information resources related to sociology.
Social Research and
Statistics Links -- Based on the book "Using the Web for Social
Research."
Social Science Information
Gateway -- Detailed site broken down by sociological topic.
Society for the Study of Social
Problems
Sociological Tour through
Cyberspace -- Background, data resources and theories related
to sociology, death and dying, mass communications, gender theory
and sociology of knowledge.
Sociological Research Online
-- One of the leading journals in sociology.
Sociology
of Knowledge
Sociology Timeline
from 1600
SocioSite -- A
very detailed site with links to aspects of sociology.
SocioWeb -- Explore
the Web by sociological category.
World Systems Archive
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
GOVPUB = Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office
GOV PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|