skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

computer cable
 
Statistics and Facts

This guide recommends methods and resources for locating facts and statistics found in print and online collections at the Auraria Library and on the Internet.  

  This 'A' symbol indicates a resource available only to students, staff & faculty of the Auraria Campus both from on and off campus.

Statistics in Books  
 
Hundreds of the Library's reference and circulating books contain current and historical statistics.  To find them:  
   
Go to Skyline, Auraria Library's online catalog.  
Do a Word search, using a word or words that describe the kind of statistics you want, or a region you'd like statistics for, combined with the word STATISTICS, for example: COLORADO ECONOMIC STATISTICS.  
You can also find statistics by matching your keyword(s) with ENCYCLOPEDIAS, HANDBOOKS, OPINION POLLS, PUBLIC OPINION, SURVEYS, or MISCELLANEA .  

 

Multi-Subject Statistics Resources and Almanacs  
 
Online databases, almanacs, and websites. These databases feature facts and statistics.
Newspaper databases. Newspaper articles often have statistical data in them.
LII: Librarians' Index to the Internet: Ready Reference and Quick Facts. Links to many quick fact and statistics-filled pages on the Internet.
IPL: Internet Public Library: Ready Reference Another wonderful site similar to LII above.
Statistical Resources on the Web. Links to statistics-packed pages on the Web for dozens of topics.
Articles from journals and magazines. Journals and magazine articles frequently contain statistics. 

 

Abbreviations  
 
Abbreviations.com  
Acronym Finder  

 

Aging  
 
Administration on Aging's Statistics on the Aging Population Statistics from the U.S. Government.
CDC's National Center for Health Statistics Data on trends in health and aging.
Policy and Research Page from AARP Reports highlighted by the American Association of Retired Persons.

 

Auraria Campus Statistics  
 
Auraria Higher Education Center: Facts and Statistics. Choose from Quick Links menu.  
CCD: Key College Data  
UCD Essential Facts - 2006-2007  
Auraria Campus Miniority Enrollment - 2007  

 

Business, Finance, and Marketing  
 
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Statistics related to U.S. and foreign labor, employment, earnings, prices, and the Consumer Price Index.
International Financial Statistics. Data related to finances and economic conditions of many nations. REF HG3881.I626. Older editions on 2nd floor.
Trade Statistics.  
World Marketing Forecasts. Statistical database of consumer market/socio-economic predictions. Can be used to understand how consumer-spending patterns on hundreds of products are forecast over the next five years. Also has forecasts for socio-economic/lifestyle indicators. Displayed in Excel.

 

Calculators
 
AskNumbers. Unit conversion calculators.
Martindale's Calculator's On-Line Center. More than 20,000 'calculators' for all topics.

 

Census/Demographics  
 
Census of Population and Housing. The decennial census from 1790-present.
Colorado State Demography Office Homepage The State Demography Office is the primary state agency for population and demographic information.
DataPlace: Explore Data About Places Consolidates Census and other federal data into maps, charts, and graphs. You can map different criteria relating to demographics (such as income, age, ethnicity, language, education) by zip code or area.
Demographics and Housing.  
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970. GovPub and REF HA214 .H57 1993.
Historical U.S. Census Data Browser.  
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What? REF HC110.C6.O35. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.
IPUMS: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series Census microdata for social and economic research: 1850-2000.
The Lifestyle Market Analyst. Demographic, geographic and "lifestyle" information for major U.S. markets. Annual. REF HC106.8 .L5. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.
PopNet. Population statistics from the Population Reference Bureau.
Population Reference Bureau. Population, health, and the environment data worldwide.
Sourcebook of County Demographics. Profile of counties in the U.S., including median household income, age distribution, race breakdown, and "Purchase Potential Profiles:" Annual. REF HA203 .S65. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics. Data of interest to marketers arranged by zip code. Includes household income. REF HA203.S66. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.
State and County QuickFacts.  
U.S. Census Bureau  

 

Charities/Non-Profits
 
Guidestar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations.
National Center for Charitable Statistics.A national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.

 

Children  
 
ChildStats.gov Access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
ChildTrends Databank. National trends and research on over 80 key indicators of child and youth well-being.
The Data Resource Center (DRC) on Child and Adolescent Health. National, state and regional survey findings.
Kids Count Data Book. Data and statistics concerning the educational, social, economic and physical well-being of children; arranged by state. Both print and online through Skyline. HQ792.U5 K53.
National Institute of Mental Health -NIMH Statistics on mental illness and behavioral disorders.
National Center for Children in Poverty 50-State Demographics : State statistics on the income status, education level, family structure, and employment status of families and children.
Statistical Handbook on the Worlds Children. REF HQ767.9.K385 2002.
UNICEF. United Nations Children's Fund.  Provides statistics relating to children worldwide.

 

Colorado
 
Colorado Health Resources. Useful resources compiled by Denison Memorial Library for the National Network fo Libraries of Medicine.
Colorado State: Guide Created by Auraria Library Government Documents Department.
DataPlace: Explore Data About Places. Consolidates Census and other federal data into maps, charts, and graphs. You can map different criteria relating to demographics (such as income, age, ethnicity, language, education) by zip code or area.
DenverStats: Compendium of Statistical Information About Denver Colorado Created by Denver Public Library.
Denver and Local: Guide Created by Auraria Library Government Documents Department.
Focus Colorado. Overviews and forecasts for Colorado economic conditions. GOVPUB REF GA 4.17/year.
LexisNexis Academic. Includes Colorado publications such as The Denver Post and The Rocky Mountain News.
Metro Denver Facts. Data on climate, construction, cost of living, education, employment, business, tourism, and trade among others. REF HC108.4.D4.
Neighborhood Facts. Useful statistics about Denver metropolitan neighborhoods supplied by the Piton Organization.
Neighborhood Profiles for 'Center City' Neighborhoods. Facts and links compiled by the Downtown Denver Partnership.
State and County QuickFacts.

 

Countries
 
Online databases and websites with country information.
Geohive Global Statistics.

 

Crime/Capital Punishment  
 
Bureau of Justice Statistics. Statistics on crime, victims, law enforcement, offenders, sentencing and more.
Capital Punishment Statistics Facts and statistics on the death penalty from the Bureau of Justics Statistics.
Crime and Justice Electronic Data Abstracts. From the Bureau of Justice Statistics. Aggregated data from a variety of published sources are presented in spreadsheets to facilitate use with analytic software. Includes thousands of numbers and hundreds of categories, displayed by jurisdiction and over time.
Crime in Colorado.  
Correctional Populations in the United States. Number of inmates in local, state, and federal jails. 
Drug War Facts This site has a bias toward ending 'drug prohibition' but by and large pulls its statistics from reputable resources. Organizations for and against reform of drug laws: http://www.csdp.org/links.htm
Focus on the Death Penalty Death penalty statistics from a variety of resources.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD). Leads to statistics on virtually all areas of criminal justice.
International Justice Statistics. Leads to statistics found on specific country websites and data compiled by the United Nations.
National Institute on Drug Abuse U.S. government agency. Supplies facts and statistics on illegal drugs.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. Statistics on criminal offenses, arrests, prosecutions, courts, correctional facilities, releases, and paroles. Print, CD-ROM, and information through Skyline. GovPub or REF J 29.9/6.
Uniform Crime Reports for the U.S. Earlier print editions in GovPub U.S. J 1.14/7.
United Nations Office on Justice and Crime. Data collected by the U.N.

 

Dictionaries  
 
Definitions via Google Here's a quick and dirty - but usually quite effective - way to find word and phrase definitions on Google: in the Search box type define: word(s) you want defined. Example: define: manifest destiny
General and Specialized Dictionaries Linked from the Librarians Internet Index Look up a word in an English language dictionary or in a subject-specific dictionary for such topics as science, medicine, music, and law.
English and Non-English Language Dictionaries Linked from the 'Internet Public Library.'
ILoveLanguages.com Links to impressive number of dictionaries for languages worldwide.

 

Economic Data
 
Bureau of Economic Analysis - United States
Economic Data: Recommended Databases and Websites.
GPO Acess: Economic Indicators - United States
OMB: Economic Indicators -United States
Statistical Resources on the Web Foreign and International Economics - Created by the University of Michigan's Document Center

 

Education  
 
Almanac of Higher Education. An annual look at the statistics of United States' higher education system on the national and state levels from the Chronicle of Higher Education.
College and University Rankings: General/Undergraduate Links to sites that supply college rankings for Undergraduate Colleges.
College and University Rankings: Graduate/Research Links to sites that supply college rankings for Graduate/Research programs in higher education.
The Condition of Education. Statistics for for elementary, secondary and post-secondary levels. Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub REF ED 1.109.
Digest of Education Statistics. Data for enrollments, finance and expenditures, population characteristics, and salaries for U.S. education. Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub REF ED 1.326.
NCES, National Center for Education Statistics.  
Open Doors Data Table Information on foreign students and scholars currently in the United States and on U.S. students who sojourn abroad as part of their academic experience.
Revenues and Expenditures Data on Colorado state school districts. Older editions in print.
SRS: The Division of Science Resources Statistics.  
UNICEF. United Nations Children's Fund.  Provides statistics relating to children worldwide.

 

Elections and Voting  
 
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Statistics on U.S. politics, including voting records and elections. REF JK1 .C663.
FactCheck: Annenberg Political Fact Check. The site creators examine recent statements by politicians or political organizations from any political party, and print the claim, test its truthfulness, and cite their sources. 
Federal Election Campaign Reports. Financial disclosure information on campaign expenses filed by House and Presidential campaigns, Parties and Political Action Committees, and Political Party Committees.
Roll Call Votes. Tally results for bills presented in the U.S. Congress.

 

Energy  
 
Energy Information Administration. Provides Statistics from the U.S. Department of Energy.
International Energy Agency. Energy-related statistics worldwide.

 

Environment  
 
Auraria Library's Environmental Studies Subject Guide.  
Environmental Statistics.  
Guide to Environmental Statistics.  
State of the World: Worldwatch. Statistics and rankings energy use and environmental conditions in many nations. REF HC59 .S734. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.

 

Exchange Rates  
 
Currency Site - FX Converter. Supplies exchange rates for 164 countries from 1990 to date.
Xe.com  

 

Flags
 
Flags of the World.

 

Food Composition and Agriculture  
 
Nutritive Value of Foods. Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub REF A 1.77:72/2002.
United States Census of Agriculture: 1987, 1992, 1997.  

 

Government-Related  
 
American FactFinder Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census.
Annotated Links to Web Sites about Government Statistics.  
Government Information. Hundreds of resources in a guide created by the Auraria Library Government Document Department.
FedStats. The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. 
Government Statistical Service (U.K.)  
InfoNation.  
Searchable Government Databases Listed by Subject This guide created and maintained by St. Mary's University.
Statistical Organizations on the Web.  

 

Health and Medicine  
 
Cancer Rates and Risks.  
Colorado Health Resources. Useful resources compiled by Denison Memorial Library for the National Network fo Libraries of Medicine.
Colorado Statistics and Research Data. Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Demographic and Health Surveys Page. Primary sources of information on women, men and their families in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. 
Health Statistics. From MEDLINEplus.
Health, United States. National Center for Health Services Research. Includes healthcare financing data.  Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub REF HE 20.7042/6.
Hospital Statistics. Book. American Hospital Association. A profile of services, use, personnel and finances of U.S. hospitals.
National Center for Health Statistics.  
Statistical Databases from the Centers for Disease Control [CDC].  
World Health Report. From the World Health Organization.  Historical editions in print under the title World Health Statistics. 2nd floor: RA407.A1 W6
WHOSIS World Health Organization Statistical Information System.

 

Historical Statistics, U.S.  
 
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970. Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub and REF HA214 .H57 1993.
Historical U.S. Census Data Browser.  

 

Housing/Homelessness Information  
 
Homelessness data and information links From the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development.
Homelessness statistics and information From the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
Housing Statistics Stats from the U.S. Census.
National Coalition for the Homeless Fact Sheets Sample titles: 'Why Are People Homeless?' 'Who is Homeless.'
Substance Abuse Information: Homeless From SAMHSA: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

 

Immigration  
 
Statistical Abstract of the United States Available online and in print. Latest print editions at the Reference Desk and on the Government Documents Reference Shelves.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics From the Homeland Security website.
United States Census: United States Foreign Born Population Many tables and reports on the 'Foreign Born' population
Office of Immigration Statistics From the Homeland Security website. Includes information about Legal Permanent Residents, Immigration Enforcement Actions, and more.

 

Labor, Employment, Salaries, and Wages  
 
American Salaries and Wages Survey. In the Library's reference collection: REF HD4975.A447.
Colorado Labor Market Information. Includes Colorado Occupational Employment Statistics
Geographic Reference Report Redmond, WA: ERI Economic Research Institute. Snapshots of average wages and cost of living for hundreds of U.S. locations.  REF HD6983 .G38.
JobStar Central Salary Information Links to both general and profession-specific salary data.
Low-Income Working Families: Facts and Figures 2005 Report from the Urban Institute
Monthly Labor Review.   Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub L 2.6.
Quarterly Wage and Employment Series (QWES).  
Salary Calculator. Shows what a salary in one city be equivalent to in another. For comparing international cost of living: International Salary Calculator.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Also in print under the title Handbook of Labor Statistics.

 

Libraries
 
LibraryHQ.com: Library Statistics
LRS: Library Research Service

 

Military  
 
Military and Defense Statistical Resources on the Web  
Military Balance London: Institute for Strategic Studies. The Library owns 1968 to the present. REF UA15 .L65 
SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmaments, and International Security. Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, Oxford University Press. Facts and figures related to weapons and conflicts. Both print and online through Skyline. REF UA10.S69a.
World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers. Both print and online through Skyline. GovPub REF1.16. Older data.

 

Polls and Surveys  
 
Gallup Poll. Widely recognized barometer of American opinion. For poll archives see: Gallup Brain for opinions since 1935.
Harris Poll Online. Conducts opinion surveys and other polls in countries around the world.
The Pew Global Attitudes Project. From the Pew Research Center 'aims to gauge attitudes in every region toward globalisation, trade and an increasingly connected world'.
PollingReport.com. An independent and non-partisan clearinghouse of recent polls from news services and pollsters.
Polls and Surveys (Lexis/Nexis). Subscription database available to Auraria Campus students, faculty and staff. Includes sources in opinion polling such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Maintained by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, a non-profit education and research organization in the field of public opinion and public policy.
Rasmussen Reports. An electronic publishing firm specializing in the collection, publication, and distribution of public opinion polling information. Some information free; some by subscription.
World Public Opinion. Produced by the Program on International Policy Attitudes. Users can explore worldwide public opinion by region or by topic.

 

Quotations  
 
African American Quotations Civilization's Quotations: Life's Ideal
Bartleby's Familiar Quotations (1910 edition) Quotations Page
The Routledge Dictionary of Latin Quotations : The Illiterati's Guide to Latin Maxims, Mottoes, Proverbs and Sayings General print quotation books in the Auraria Library Collection.

 

Religion  
 
Adherents.com. Statistics on "over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc."
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA).  
American Religious Identification Survey  

 

Social Indicators  
 
Data on the Net. Listing of Internet sites of numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
National Center for Charitable Statistics. A national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
U.S. Bureau of the Census.  

 

Sports  
 
SBRNet  (Sports Business Research Network)
This site covers all aspects of the sports industry, linking to market research reports, industry news, and thousands of Web sites related to sports and recreation businesses, activities and products. Subscription database. Available in the Library to all in-house users or off-campus by Auraria campus students, faculty, and staff members.
Skier Visits at Colorado Ski Resorts.  
Sports Almanac. At the Infoplease.com site. A wide variety of sports facts and statistics.
Shrp Sports. Scores and standings back through history of the NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, ABA, WHA, and college football, as well as NCAA tournament scores, grand slam winners, and more.

 

State and Counties  
 
County and City Data Book. From the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Also in print.  C3.134/2:C 83/2/.
CQ's State Fact Finder: Rankings Across America. Congressional Quarterly.  Rankings and statistics for each state for a number of categories. REF HN60 .C68. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.
The Geographic Reference Report: Annual Report of Costs, Wages, Salaries, and Human Resource Statistics. Lists for metropolitan areas cost-of-living information and median costs for housing. REF HD6983.G38.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Both print and online through Skyline. REF or GovPub REF C 3.134/5.
State Politics and Policy Quarterly Data Resource A series of data sets than include more than 50 state-level indicators on everything from crime rates to unified partisan control of state government. Most variables are available by state, and for a 20-yr. period (approximately 1974 to 1999).
State Rankings: A Statistical View of the 50 United States. Contains comparisons of states for more than 500 subjects. REF HA203 .U17. Earlier editions on 2nd floor.

 

Transportation
 
National Transportation Statistics.
Public Transportation Statistics.
Transportation Statistics. Part of FedStats.

 

Understanding Statistics
 
RobertNiles.com. Understanding statistics.

 

U.S. Veterans
 
Veteran Data and Information. From the U.S. Department for Veteran Affairs.

 

Vital Statistics
 
National Center for Health Statistics. Learn where to write/who to contact to find vital statistics for particular states in the U.S.
National Vital Statistics Reports. Look here to find Birth, Marriage, Divorce, and Death statistics in the U.S.

 

 
end of page