Article Databases & Indexes
All Databases A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z |
| Multi-subject databases: |
|---|
| Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) |
| OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage) |
| Campus Research (Westlaw) |
| LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis) |
Search results for: 1-50 of 92 | pages: 1 2 | |
| ABC-CLIO ebooks (ABC-CLIO) Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional electronic books from a leading university, academic and professional publisher. The Library does not own many ebooks from this publisher. Please contact us if you would like other books in this format. |
| Abstracts in Anthropology (Baywood Publishing - MetaPress) Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant anthropological topics from periodicals supplying coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields including cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. |
| Academic Earth (Academic Earth) A beta website of higher education lectures from faculty from Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage) Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions. Coverage: Updated daily. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Access for All (Westminster Law Library) Provides searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications, legislation related to each publication, and information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Access Newspaper Archive (NewspaperARCHIVE.com) Find full-text historic archived articles in U.S. national, regional and some international newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title 1700-2006. |
| Access Science (McGraw-Hill) Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Coverage: updated weekly |
| Accounting Literature (LexisNexis) Accounting journals & literature. Coverage: varies, generally 1987-1995, some federal releases from the 1930's |
| ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full text articles published in ACM journals, transactions and conference proceedings since the founding of ACM in 1947, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations. Coverage: 1947- |
| ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals (American Chemical Society) Full text access to all ACS journals. Look for the tab that says "Search the journals" or browse by journal. Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal |
| Adherents.com (Adherents.com) Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations, references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. "Adherents.com is an Internet initiative and is not affiliated with any religious, political, educational, or commercial organization." Note: Unrestricted access |
| Advances in Heterocyclic Chemistry (Elsevier) Up-to-date reviews on a wide variety of heterocyclic topics. Heterocyclic compounds are used in pharmaceuticals, dyes, pesticides, herbicides, plastics, and for many other purposes. Coverage: 2000- |
| Advances in Inorganic Chemistry (Elsevier) Review journal in inorganic chemistry Coverage: 2000- |
| Advances in Organometallic Chemistry (Elsevier) Review journal for the organometallic chemistry of transition, lanthanide, actinide and main-group elements. Coverage: 2000- |
| AES On-line Electronic Library (Audio Engineering Society) Full text of the Audio Engineering Society journals, convention preprints, and conference papers, over 3,100 articles. Coverage: 1953-2005 |
| AFOB Online (Archeological Institute of America) One of the largest online listings of fieldwork opportunities in the world. AFOB Online provides information beyond a simple list of excavation opportunities, including general and site-specific bibliographies, how to find and choose fieldwork, advice on preparing for participation in an excavation, and more. Fieldwork opportunities are categorized by region: Africa, Asia, Middle America & Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Near and Middle East, Australasia and Pacific and North America. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Africa Research Central (Susan Tschabrun and others) Updated information about institutions with African primary source collections to facilitate international research in African Studies. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| AIP Journals (American Institute of Physics) Full text access to all the AIP (American Institute of Physics) journals. Coverage: From the beginning publication date of each journal |
| Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (U.S. Department of Defense) Air University Library is a Department of Defense (DOD) library housing collections in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. The Index to Military Periodicals has significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in military and aeronautical periodicals. Updated quarterly. Coverage: index 1990- Note: Unrestricted access |
| AJOL (African Journals OnLine) AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Almanac of Higher Education (Chronicle of Higher Education) An annual look at the statistics of United States' higher education system on the national and state levels. see also a partial version of the 2005-06 almanac, and a partial version of the 2004-05 almanac. |
| Alphabet Bites (Orange County Library System) An interactive learning experience for children (and parents too!). It serves as an online counterpart to an in-person Children's Program series held throughout the library system in Orange County,Florida. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Alt HealthWatch (Ebsco) Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, acupuncture and more. The content is from periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters. Coverage: 1990- |
| Alta Vista Image Search (Alta Vista) A search engine to find images on the web. Note: Unrestricted access |
| AlterNet (Independent Media Institute) This is an online magazine and information resource from the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization for independent and alternative journalism. The archive includes more than 7,000 stories from over 200 sources. Coverage: 1994- Note: Unrestricted access |
| Amache Digital Collections Project (Auraria Library) Website that displays images, paper based documents and other information about the Granada Relocation Center. It provides easy online access to materials from the collections of the Colorado Historical Society and Auraria Library relating to the Japanese-American relocation camp at Amache in south-eastern Colorado during World War II. In addition, information is presented which will help students and others interested in this period of U. S and Colorado history gain a better understanding about why the camps were built and what life was like there. Note: Unrestricted access |
| America's Best Colleges (U.S. News and World Report) U.S. News ranks more than 1,400 colleges each year by area, discipline and programs. This links to the freely accessible information. Buy a subscription to get into the 'locked' areas online. Note: Unrestricted access |
| America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Newsbank's America's Newspapers provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including 11 Colorado newspapers. Each newspaper or wire service includes coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Coverage: Varies. |
| America: History and Life (Ebsco) Index to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Updates monthly. For the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts. Coverage: index 1954- |
| American Association for Cancer Research journals (American Association for Cancer Research) Access to five cancer research journals published by the American Association for Cancer Research. Note: Indexed in PubMed. |
| American Association of University Professors (AAUP) (American Association of University Professors) The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Botanical Council Library Access (American Botanical Council) Scientific resources on herbal medicine from the American Botanical Council including the journal Herbalgram, a clinical guide to herbs, Commission E information, HerbPro, and HerbClip, a searchable database of reviews on current journal articles from a variety of publications. |
| American Decades Primary Sources (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This cross-disciplinary collection spans the 20th century with each volume in the set presenting full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| American FactFinder (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau) A fairly easy to use source for population, housing, economic, and geographic from the census bureau. They also have data sets for download. Note: AFF is in a full outage mode as of Thursday, Nov. 5, 2009. The systems teams are working on the problem, but have no estimate of repair time. |
| American Folklife Center (U.S. Library of Congress) The more than 4000 collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect; the stories of ex-slaves; an Appalachian fiddle tune heard around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music from shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language (Bartelby.com) Fourth Edition, 2000. Over 90,000 entries feature new words and senses, audio word pronunciations, full-page color illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Journeys (Wisconsin Historical Society) Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Memory Collection (U.S. Library of Congress) Online primary source materials from The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., the world's largest library. Includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, and much more. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American National Election Studies (Stanford University and University of Michigan) Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Notes (U.S. Library of Congress) Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. Note: unrestricted access |
| American Periodical Series Online (ProQuest) Presents digitized images of the pages of more than 1000 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories and the Southern Literary Messenger, which includes contributions from Edgar Allan Poe; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Coverage: 1741-1900 |
| American Presidency (Smithsonian) The online manifestation of "The American Presidency: A Glorious Burden,"an exhibit from the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History of objects that represent the lives and times of the country's 42 presidents. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Presidency Project (University of California, Santa Barbara) The American Presidency Project is an archive of documents related to the study of the Presidency established in 1999 by scholars at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Rhetoric (Michael E. Eidenmuller, University of Texas, Tyler) Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. See also a special issue: The Rhetoric of the 9-11 Note: Unrestricted Access |
| American Society of Microbiology Journals (American Society of Microbiology) Full text access to all the journals published by the American Society of Microbiology (ASM) |
| American Verse Project (University of Michigan) An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American West (Adam Matthew Digital) Contains the digitized contents of The Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Contents include original manuscripts, ephemeral material (including trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets, etc.), maps, and rare printed works. |
| Animal Behavior Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Index and abstracts to the scientific literature on the study of animal behavior, aggression, behavioral ecology, communication, learning, dominance, genetics of behavior, foraging, memory, neurophysiology, parental-filial and reproductive behavior. Coverage: 1982- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Animals (Ebsco) Designed primarily for the K-12 audience, this database (also known as the Ebsco Encyclopedia of Animals), provides information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The databases consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Some image links are available. Coverage: current |
| Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences (New York Academy of Sciences) The Annals series (approximately 30 volumes per year) provides multi-disciplinary perspectives on research in fields of current scientific interest. Coverage: table of contents 1964- , abstracts 1975- , full text 1997- |
Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated
June 7, 2009
