Article Databases & Indexes
All Databases A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z |
| Multi-subject databases: |
|---|
| Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) |
| OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage) |
| Campus Research (Westlaw) |
| LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis) |
Search results for: 1-50 of 60 | pages: 1 2 | |
| Recommended Subject-Specific Databases |
|---|
| Accounting Literature (LexisNexis) Accounting journals & literature. Coverage: varies, generally 1987-1995, some federal releases from the 1930's Note: New interface |
| Business and Company Resource Center (Gale Cengage) Presents full text profiles, including histories, chronologies, civil claims, financial data and rankings, of US and international firms; articles from business journals, newsletters, and the business sections in newspapers; selected investment reports from Investext; industry overviews; and industry trade associations. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Business Insights (Reuters) Access to lengthy industry reports authored by independent experts in their fields. Coverage of: E-Commerce/Technology, Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Human Resources, Energy, and Telecommunications. Each report includes: case studies; quantitative analysis; interviews with industry executives; discussion of strategic, and more. |
| Business Knowledge Research (The Conference Board) Provides full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resources, productivity, customer relationship mangement and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis, and forecasts of US and international economic conditions. Coverage: 1998- |
| Business Source Premier (Ebsco) Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group. |
| Business Wire (BusinessWire) The most current five-days worth of full-text news releases on U.S. companies, searchable by company name. News items are geared to public relations professionals and investors. Coverage: last 5 days Note: Unrestricted access |
| Cabell's Business and Educational Directories (Cabell Publishing, Inc.) A resource for Business or Education professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. Cabell's contains current contact information, publisher websites, publication guidelines and review information for many journals. |
| Campus Research (Westlaw) Westlaw's Campus Research is a collection of news, business and law-related resources. It is divided under two content tabs, "News & Business" and "Law". "News and Business" includes hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, international and foreign language publications, newswires, newsletters, and broadcast transcripts, as well as company information drawn from SEC filings and Hoover's company records. "Law" includes important analytical sources, such as Am Jur 2d and the ALR's, as well as over 700 law reviews and journals. Primary Law Sources are also included, such as the United States Code Annotated (USCA), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and the Federal Register, as well as state statutes and regulations, and all federal and state cases. |
| Checkpoint (RIA) Provides primary tax documents and secondary analysis for federal, state and local taxation, estate planning, pensions and benefits, international taxation and payroll deduction from RIA and WG&L publications. Note: Please click through (IE) or approve (Firefox) the security certificate notice. It is a known problem we are working to correct. More |
| Company Dossier (LexisNexis) Search financial information by company name or SIC Code. Roughly equivalent to Company Financial Reports. Note: New interface |
| Compustat (Research Insight) Library use only (Standard and Poor's) Detailed financial data for thousands of public companies. Data can be used to create reports. Note: On CD-ROM. Available at Reference Desk. |
| Corporate Information (Wright Investors' Service) Click on any country to find web sites containing company information for that nation. Also links to basic country statistics, such as population, GDP, inflation, GDP, currency, per capita growth, and corporate structure and such guides as the World Fact Book and Country Commercial Guides. Users must register. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Disclosure Reports (OCLC) Financial reports on publicly owned companies. Updates weekly. Coverage: 1986- |
| EconLit with Full Text (Ebsco) EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications. Coverage: 1969- |
| EDGAR - SEC Filings (U.S. Securities Exchange Commission) Full-text SEC filings, including 10-k's, from the Securities and Exchange Commission home page. Coverage: updated daily Note: Unrestricted access |
| Emerald Full Text (Emerald) Provides full text access (click on 'Fulltext' icon to search) to journals in management, human resources, information management, library and information services, marketing, operations management, production management, and training and education. Also includes engineering journals. Check the catalog Skyline for specific journal titles availability. Coverage: varies widely ~1995- |
| Factiva (Dow Jones and Reuters) Provides a collection of more than 9,000 authoritative business sources, including the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B and Bureau van Dijk company profiles. To search in a specific journal or newspaper use 'More Search Options' next to the search box. |
| General Business File ASAP (Gale Cengage) Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies. Coverage: 1982- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Global Market Information Database (GMID) (Euromonitor) Euromonitor International's statistical database comprised of over one million demographic, economic and marketing reports and statistics. GMID provides business intelligence on countries, consumers, and lifestyles and offers access to internationally comparable statistics across 205 countries. Country profiles include economic news, market reports, emerging sectors, and special demographic reports. Integrated data sets provide historical trends and forecasting numbers. Consumer lifestyles reports detail demographics and buying habits for a variety of products. Note: Restricted to Auraria students, faculty, and staff only; login required. |
| Hoover's Online (Hoover's) Comprehensive company, industry and market information: in-depth coverage of 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises. Hoover's expertise and updated daily. Data is searchable by company A-Z and by geography, by industry and by stock index. There is also a browsable 'business boneyard' with records of companies that no longer exist. |
| ISI Emerging Markets (Internet Securities, Inc.) Presents news; industry information; company profiles; reports, and financial data; closing price quotes; macroeconomic statistics and forecasts; and legal and political news from emerging markets in Asia (China and India), Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela); and Central and Eastern Europe (Baltic States, including Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania; Bulgaria; Czech Republic, including Slovakia; Hungary; Poland; Romania; Russia, including Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan; Turkey and Ukraine). Searches can be limited to English-language. Documents also appear in these languages: Russian, Polish, Czech, Slovak, Hungarian, Turkish, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, German, French, Latvian, Bulgarian, Romanian and Ukrainian. Full text. |
| Mergent Online - International and Industrial Data (Mergent) A suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research on foreign companies, and on U.S. and foreign industries. The information resources included are: foreign company data and annual reports, foreign company archives, and industry reports for North America, Asia, the Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. THIS DATABASE DOES NOT HAVE U.S. COMPANY INFORMATION, THOUGH IT DOES HAVE U.S. INDUSTRY INFORMATION! |
| NAICS (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau) A searchable online version of the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) from the U.S. Census Bureau with links to tables that relate this version to older versions and to the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Private Company Reports (U.S.) (LexisNexis) Direct search of LexisNexis' US Private Companies Group File that covers more than 200,000 private companies. Note: New interface |
| PROMT (Gale Cengage) Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use it to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. Coverage: 1999- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Reference USA (infoUSA) A directory of 12 million businesses and 120 million households. The business directory includes non-profit and government organizations searchable by a variety of criteria, including industry type, location, and sales volume. |
| SEC Filings and Reports (LexisNexis) EDGAR filings, annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements. At Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Full text. Note: New interface |
| SIC Code (U.S. Department of Labor) Search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure from the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Small Business Resources (American Library Association) American Library Association (ALA) recommendations and resources created by business librarians, including the Best of the Best Business Web sites. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Thomas Global Register (ThomasRegister) Searchable database (Thomas Global Register) listing more than 45,000 American export companies in more than 5,500 product categories. Free access if you register. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Thomas Register of European Manufacturers (ThomasRegister) Search for over 207,000 industrial suppliers, organized by 10,500 industrial product classifications, in 6 languages, and from 17 European countries. Note: Unrestricted access |
| U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook (U.S. Department of Commerce) This single-source, industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy offers: new macro forecast for U.S. industries, highlighting trends and top performers; historical data on shipments, imports, exports, and employment; discussions of industry trends, technology, and international competition; one-, two-, and five-year forecasts; recent trade patterns and major country markets; graphs highlighting domestic and international trends; expanded coverage of industries driving the information technology revolution as well as several other important industries; detailed discussions of E-commerce vis-a-vis specific industries; and reference lists for further research. Note: Unrestricted access |
| USA Trade Online (U.S. Department of Commerce) A separate module of STAT-USA consisting of detailed statistical import/export data by country for 18,000 commodities. Note: In library use only. Ask for help at Reference Desk or Government Publications service point. |
| ValueLine Investment Survey (ValueLine) Company/industry investment information service. Offers 3-to-5 year projections of key financial measures; commentary on current operations and future prospects; and a 'Timeliness Ranking,' reflecting a company's expected relative price performance in the year ahead. Access is limited to the Standard Edition, and Small and Mid-Cap Edition, of the 'Value Line Investment Survey online'. All other sections, such as the 'Value Line Research Center' are not available. Note: In Library use only. Obtain password at the Reference Desk. A print edition also available at Reference Desk. |
| Wall Street Journal (Multiple sources) Wall Street Journal (Proquest) Full text of the Eastern edition at Proquest Newsstand. For Internet Explorer users, click on the + sign located next to Proquest Newspapers to access. Coverage: 1998- Wall Street Journal (Ebsco) Index to the Eastern edition through Ebsco. Coverage: 1995- Wall Street Journal Only headlines are available to non-subscribers, but they often offer a short free trial. |
| World Competitiveness Online (IMD) World Competitiveness Online is based on the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook ranking and analyzing how a nation's environment sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. Note: Please click through (IE) or approve (Firefox) the security certificate notice. It is a known problem we are working to correct. More |
| Other Useful Databases |
| AJOL (African Journals OnLine) AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Business Travel Planner (Northstar Travel Media) Travel information services website including hotel profiles, transportation, destination and security information on every country and over 8000 cities and news coverage including alerts via email. |
| Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press) This database provides full text access to 200+ journals published by Cambridge University Press. Journals represented are from a wide range of disciplines: archaeology and anthropology, biology, computer science, economics, history, literature, mathematics, medicine, etc. |
| Center for Tax Policy (CTP) The Center for Tax Policy (CTP) provides information, in report form, to business and government leaders to assist them in developing and implementing fair tax policy in Colorado. It is a non-profit, tax exempt organization that does not espouse a specific political agenda or promote any special interest group. It works in collaboration with the Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver. |
| Davis Bacon Wage Determination Decision (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Technical Information Service (NTIS)) The Davis Bacon Wage Determination Database contains wage determinations made by the U.S. Department of Labor under the mandate of the Davis-Bacon Act and related legislation. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Digital Primer (University of Maryland University College) To learn about issues relating to copyright in digital works and the problems encountered by educational institutions in their use of digital materials for teaching, research and service. For those unfamiliar copyright law generally, please consult the UMUC Center for Intellectual Property's Copyright Primer. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| ECO (Electronic Collections Online) (OCLC) Full text of approximately 135 scholarly journals that Auraria Library subscribes to. Updates daily. You must place a check in front of 'full text' in the "Limit availability to" section to retrieve full text of the article. Coverage: 1995- |
| Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology (Idea Group Reference) Scholarly research from all over the world on all aspects of information science and technologies. Includes terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms; comprehensive coverage of critical issues related to utilization and management of information science and technologies; and references on existing literature of all research on information science and technologies. |
| Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol). Coverage: 1990- |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| HispanSource (James J. Hill Reference Library) HispanSource contains information related to U.S. Hispanic/Latino marketing, consumers, demographics, associations, and print & broadcast media. Consists of two components: free information and a fee-based service. Note: Unrestricted access. Free component requires e-mail address to receive a password/username. The fee-based component is for users willing to pay the Hill Library (owners of the website) for more specialized & customized Hispanic market information. |
| Industry Information Resources (Integra Information) Provides links to lists of industry resources for over 250 industries. Students have access, coutesy of Auraria Library, to many of these commercial databases. Check the Auraria Library catalog Skyline or the Industries databases. Note: Unrestricted access |
| JSTOR (JSTOR) An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to the entire JSTOR archive including the Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, and the Ireland Collection. Searches in JSTOR will allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images as well. Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present, now with links to the current content of the archived journals to which Auraria Library subscribes. |
| Left Index (Ebsco) A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts. Coverage: 1982- |
Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated
June 7, 2009
