Article Databases & Indexes
All Databases A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z |
| Multi-subject databases: |
|---|
| Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) |
| OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage) |
| Campus Research (Westlaw) |
| LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis) |
Search results for: 1-45 of 45 | pages: 1 | |
| Recommended Subject-Specific Databases |
|---|
| ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (Multiple sources) Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center. Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials. ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available. ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC (Microfiche) Auraria Library has microfiche of all ERIC documents thru July 2004 in the Periodicals Reading Room. ERIC (U.S. Government Printing Office) Federally funded ERIC documents (a small percentage) from October 2002 to the present are available online. Coverage: Abstracts:1966- ; Full text 1993- |
| Cabell's Business and Educational Directories (Cabell Publishing, Inc.) A resource for Business or Education professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. Cabell's contains current contact information, publisher websites, publication guidelines and review information for many journals. |
| College in Colorado (College in Colorado Campaign) One-stop resource to help students, parents and counselors plan, apply and pay for college. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Education Full Text (WilsonWeb) Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Not all of the journals covered in this database are available online, full-text. Include a search of the ERIC database. Coverage: abstracts 1983-, full text 1996- Updated monthly. Note: Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index. |
| Internet Detective (Intute Virtual Training Suite and Learn Higher Project) Use this free Internet tutorial to learn to discern the good, the bad and the ugly for your online research. Other free tutorials. Note: Unresticted access |
| JSTOR (JSTOR) An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to the entire JSTOR archive including the Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, and the Ireland Collection. Searches in JSTOR will allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images as well. Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present, now with links to the current content of the archived journals to which Auraria Library subscribes. |
| Learning Express Library (LearningExpress, LLC) LearningExpress Library includes interactive online practice tests and tutorials for academic and licensing tests. Tests and subjects include writing, law enforcement, math, algebra, TOEFL, reading, nursing, job searching, military and many more areas. |
| Sage: an Online Journal Collection (Sage) Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications. Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1. |
| School Facts (Piton Foundation) This database provides information about schools in the Denver Public Schools system. Includes student demographics (income, race/ethnicity, average daily attence, percentage of student suspensions); experience & turnover of teachers, principal and staff; school performance ratings and CSAP scores, school performance data, |
| theSANDbox (wiki by six Florida teachers) A resource to help teachers understand new technologies. Notice how they've structured their wiki using links to other services for lesson plans, best practices, podcasts, agendas, and more. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Other Useful Databases |
| Online Writing Lab (CCD) The online writing lab provides a selection of resources to help you improve your writing including style guides, grammar guides, handouts, a paper bank and online tutoring where you can submit a paper and get a critique of it before you turn it in for a grade. Available to all students at Auraria. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Writing Center (UCDHSC) Offers writing assistance to all of the UCDHSC community -faculty, staff, students and alumni. In person and online (online is Sun.-Thu. 8 pm to 11 pm). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Writing Center. (MSCD) Available to any MSCD student the composition instructors and trained writing tutors at the lab work with you to develop your writing abilities. Online help available. Note: Unrestricted access |
| AJOL (African Journals OnLine) AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Almanac of Higher Education (Chronicle of Higher Education) An annual look at the statistics of United States' higher education system on the national and state levels. see also a partial version of the 2005-06 almanac, and a partial version of the 2004-05 almanac. |
| America's Best Colleges (U.S. News and World Report) U.S. News ranks more than 1,400 colleges each year by area, discipline and programs. This links to the freely accessible information. Buy a subscription to get into the 'locked' areas online. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Association of University Professors (AAUP) (American Association of University Professors) The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Awesome Stories (Awesome Stories) Awesome Stories gathers primary-source materials and presents them in the context of a story as a means of presenting subject-related links together in an interesting, cohesive way. Resources are from national archives, libraries, universities, and government web sites. |
| Chronicle of Higher Education (The Chronicle of Higher Education) Leading newspaper in the field of higher education. |
| Classroom Connection (Xcel Energy Foundation) Classroom Connection is a vehicle for the dissemination and adaptation of exemplary educational programs. This "teacher led" network recognizes and rewards creative teachers by promoting the exchange of good teaching techniques, Classroom Connection serves as a catalyst for focusing more attention and resources on issues concerning education, and on the pivotal role teachers play in this process. The program is available to teachers throughout the service territory of Xcel Energy in Colorado, Wyoming, Texas, New Mexico Oklahoma and Kansas. Note: Unrestricted access |
| CollegeSource Online (Career Guidance Foundation) Provides cover-to-cover access to both current and past catalogs (varies by institution) for all 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools in the U.S. Note: In Library access only. |
| Colorado Grants Guide (Community Resource Center) This resource guide contains hundreds of profiles on local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, government agencies, and religious organizations. see also the latest print edition in the Reference Collection, HG177.5.U62 C64 Ref Note: In Library access only. |
| Earth Observatory (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Data and earth imagery from NASA. Includes an "image of the day", news, mission information and experiments to use in the classroom or just for fun. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Education Development Center (EDC) An international non-profit which manages 335 projects in 50 countries that address challenges in education, health, technology and human rights. The efforts are based on the "conviction that learning is the liberating force in human development." Projects include the Digital Divide Network, The Initiative for Pediatric Palliative Care at the Center for Applied Ethics and Professional Practice and Resources for Educators at the Center for Science Education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Educational CyberPlayground (Karen Ellis) Online educational resources for teachers, parents and everyone. Includes the National Children's Folksong Repository. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Educator's Reference Desk (Information Institute of Syracuse) The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to the following resources: links to resources on a variety of educational issues including internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups, lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States, a question archive of responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education and the ERIC Database. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol). Coverage: 1990- |
| Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of freely accessible, web-based multimedia teaching materials including teaching images, videos, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education, predominantly undergraduate medical education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Informal Science Education (National Science Foundation) Informal Science Education portion of the website of the Division of Elementary, Secondary, and Informal Education (ESIE) that supports the National Science Foundation's mission of providing leadership and promoting development of the infrastructure and resources needed to improve preK-12 STEM education throughout the United States. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Inside Higher Ed (Inside Higher Ed) An online journal of higher education. Note: Unrestricted access (with registration) |
| JSTOR (JSTOR) An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to the entire JSTOR archive including the Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, and the Ireland Collection. Searches in JSTOR will allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images as well. Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present, now with links to the current content of the archived journals to which Auraria Library subscribes. |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) (Ebsco) Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests. Online version contains 9th (1985) Yearbook through the current edition. Coverage: updated semi-annually |
| Merlot (Merlot) A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. RSS feed available on the site. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education) Statistics and facts from the federal government on education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Science Digital Library (Information Institute of Syracuse) Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| PAIS International (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources. Search PAIS Archive and PAIS International simultaneously. Coverage: 1960- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Pics4Learning (Tech4Learning) A copyright-friendly image library for teachers and students. The Pics4Learning collection consists of thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Pics4Learning is developed as part of the Partners in Education program by Tech4Learning, and the Orange County Public Schools Technology Development Unit. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Picsearch (Picsearch) A search engine to find images on the web. It has a relevancy algorithm and a filtering system. Note: Unrestricted access |
| PsycINFO (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines. Coverage: 1840- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation) Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| SCIRUS (Elsevier) Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). More about SCIRUS. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Sociological Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science. Coverage: 1963- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Teacher Toolbox (Collaborative Digitization Program) The teacher toolbox at the Collaborative Digitization Program (started in Colorado) includes a repository of lesson plans for teachers using the online resources in the program. The resources range from contents of museums, botanic gardens, historical societies and libraries. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Thinkfinity (Verizon Foundation) Thinkfinity is an educational resource site including good quality subject-specific 'reference' sites. You can limit by 'higher education' and then by such resource types as 'reference' and 'primary resources.' Also try the Literacy Network for resources about teaching literacy. Note: Unrestricted access |
| University of Chicago Press Journals (University of Chicago Press) Full text access to about 50 journals in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences. Off campus users may not be able to see PDFs larger than 350kB. Use the full text link instead. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated
June 7, 2009
