auraria library
library logo

Database trials Access from off-campus How do I... WorldCat Local at Auraria Library WorldCat.org GoogleScholar Security Certificate Warnings


 Resource Alerts:

Past alerts
Got Questions?
Chat requires JavaScript.

Sorry, AskAuraria! IM chat is offline.

Article Databases & Indexes

Search by title:

...or by subject: 

 

All Databases A-Z:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Multi-subject databases:
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage)
Campus Research (Westlaw)
LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis)

Search results for:  1-39 of 39 

pages: 1 

Recommended Subject-Specific Databases
Access for All (Westminster Law Library)
Provides searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications, legislation related to each publication, and information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Energy Citations Database (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The database provides access to DOE publicly available citations, with continued growth through regular updates. May be used to replace PubScience.
Coverage: 1948- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
FERC elibrary (U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission)
A records information system that contains documents submitted to and issued by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Continuation of print Reports and Statutes.
Coverage: index: 1981- ;  
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
Note: Unrestricted access 
ODS: Official documents of the United Nations (United Nations)
The ODS comprises the full text of United Nations parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. The official record version of older United Nations resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards are stored separately on ODS in the “Resolutions” database, accessible only from the advanced search screen.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Pacer (Administrative Office of the United States Courts)
PACER is an electronic service run by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on a cost-recovery basis. The service provides access to case and docket information from Federal Appellate, District and Bankruptcy courts, and the U.S. Party/Case Index, which is a national locator for cases filed in federal courts.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Science Accelerator (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Search collections of DOE research results, project descriptions, and accomplishments. These collections enable you to find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search scientific e-prints, locate science conference papers and proceedings, and more.
Note: Unrestricted access 
WorldWideScience.org (WorldWideScience Alliance)
Developed and maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information in partnership with the British Library, is a global science gateway enablling federated searching of national and international scientific databases. Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, published by contributing nations.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Other Useful Databases
ClinicalTrials.gov (U.S. National Institutes of Health)
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Note: Unrestricted access 
ICPSR (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some datasets are available to the public.
Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data. 
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (U.S. Department of Defense)
Air University Library is a Department of Defense (DOD) library housing collections in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. The Index to Military Periodicals has significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in military and aeronautical periodicals. Updated quarterly.
Coverage: index 1990- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
CancerNet (U.S. National Cancer Institute)
The National Cancer Institute's (NCI) many sources of cancer information including information on over 100 types of cancer including: treatment options, screening and detection tests, prevention, coping with cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, and cancer genetics, and the CANCERLIT database (updated monthly).
Coverage: 1963- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Cataloging records of U.S. government publications are updated daily.
Coverage: 1976- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Davis Bacon Wage Determination Decision (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Technical Information Service (NTIS))
The Davis Bacon Wage Determination Database contains wage determinations made by the U.S. Department of Labor under the mandate of the Davis-Bacon Act and related legislation.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Defense Technical Information Center (U.S. Department of Defense)
Indexing and full text documents in scientific and technical information over a wide range of DoD, federal, commercial and international sources. Access includes DTIC collections, Science.gov, the Library of Congress, World Wide Science.org and Scitopia.org.
Note: Unrestricted access 
DOE Information Bridge (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Free access to full text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Coverage: 1995- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
ECHO (Enforcement and Compliance History Online) (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Pilot site giving current detailed environmental compliance record of more than 800,000 regulated facilities nationwide.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Environmental Health Perspectives (U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Extensive database on the environment, toxicity, and cancer. A password is required for some data and publications in the database. As a depository library Auraria Library has free access. Request password from Government Publications office or Reference Desk.
Note: Unrestricted access 
EPA databases (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
This page is a gateway to the resources of EPA that are of particular use to researchers. It includes plans, data, reports and funding programs.
Coverage: current 
Note: Unrestricted access 
ETDE Web (International Energy Agency)
The world's largest collection of energy literature, with more than 3.8 million abstracted and indexed records. Access is free but you must register and be a citizen of a member country. For the U.S. they promise a response to your registration in 3 - 5 days.
Coverage: Updated twice monthly 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Federal Bulletin Board (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The Federal Bulletin Board (FBB) is an electronic bulletin board service of the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). Federal agencies use the FBB as a means to distribute electronic files to the public and to provide to the public free, immediate, and self-service access to federal information in electronic form. Users can access information from the White House and Executive Branch agencies (includes independent agencies).
Note: Unrestricted access 
Federal R&D Project Summaries (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Searchable descriptions and awards amounts of current federal research projects funded with federal grants from U.S. Department of Energy, National Institutes of Health, and the National Science Foundation.
Coverage: current 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Fedworld Databases (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Technical Information Service (NTIS))
Provides access to information within the NTIS and acts as an electronic gateway to government databases.
Coverage: current 
Note: Unrestricted access 
GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Online full-text Federal Register, Congressional Record, congressional bills, GAO reports, budget, presidential documents, and other federal government information, many updated daily.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Homeland Security Digital Library (U.S. Department of Homeland Security)
Policy, strategy, and presidential documents; theses and other reports from the U.S. Department on Homeland Security.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Military Education and Research Library Network (MERLN) (U.S. Department of Defense)
MERLN provides public access to the library holdings and electronic information resources of many U.S. Defense agencies. It also includes the Military Policy Awareness Links - MiPALs - which provide direct access to defense-related U.S. policy statements on selected key topics.
Note: Unrestricted access 
NASA Technical Reports Server (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Searches NASA technical report servers and non-NASA sites. Some reports are available online.
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Biological Information Infrastructure (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
NEPIS offers one stop shopping for over 6,000 full text, on line EPA documents.
Coverage: 1997- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Technical Information Service (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Technical and government contractor reports which are usually the result of U.S. government sponsored research grants and produced by universities or research centers. Abstracts of reports, many of which are available from the National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project or the University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library, which has an extensive, comprehensive, historical collection in microfiche of technical reports from various federal agencies such as NTIS, NASA, Atomic Energy Agency (AEC), and Dept. of Energy (DOE). An interlibrary loan request will produce a microfiche copy of the report which you may keep or donate back to the Auraria Library. Be sure to indicate clearly on your request that it is a U.S. government technical report to be requested from CU-Boulder.
Coverage: 1964- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project (U.S. Department of Commerce)
The Beta DART System is a product of the collaborative efforts of the NTIS and the GPO that provides access to NTIS full text documents dating from 1964 to 2000. As a beta test user comments are encouraged and welcomed.
Note: In library use only. Ask for help at Reference Desk or Government Publications service point. 
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice)
Database containing summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This site ONLY searches the Abstracts database. There are some articles online. For the online collection, go to the advanced website search of the NCJRS Virtual Library.
Note: Unrestricted access 
NCJRS Virtual Library (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice)
Search NCJRS' Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the While House Office of National Drug Control Policy. Full text.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Patents (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases) (U.S. Department of Commerce)
All U.S. patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current U.S. classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.
Coverage: 1790- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
PubMed Central (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Note: Unrestricted access but logging in will allow you to connect to Auraria Library's full text content. 
STAT-USA (U.S. Department of Commerce)
The federal government's comprehensive site of international trade reports and domestic economic information. National Trade Data Bank (NTDB), country commercial guides, market research reports, import/export statistics, and all other NTDB reports. Domestic economic statistics, Commerce Dept. contract/procurement announcements, and more.
THOMAS Legislative Server (U.S. Library of Congress)
Find the status of bills, roll call votes, Congressional Record, committee information and historical documents.
Note: Unrestricted access 
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services) (U.S. Department of Transportation)
The largest and most comprehensive source of information on transportation research now includes more than a half million records of published and ongoing research on all modes of transportation.
Note: Unrestricted access 
USA Trade Online (U.S. Department of Commerce)
A separate module of STAT-USA consisting of detailed statistical import/export data by country for 18,000 commodities.
Note: In library use only. Ask for help at Reference Desk or Government Publications service point. 

Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated June 7, 2009