auraria library
library logo

Database trials Access from off-campus How do I... WorldCat Local at Auraria Library WorldCat.org GoogleScholar Security Certificate Warnings


 Resource Alerts:

Past alerts
Got Questions?
Chat requires JavaScript.

Sorry, AskAuraria! IM chat is offline.

Article Databases & Indexes

Search by title:

...or by subject: 

 

All Databases A-Z:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Multi-subject databases:
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage)
Campus Research (Westlaw)
LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis)

Search results for:  1-50 of 57 

pages: 1 2 

next>>

The OA Movement
Definition of Open Access (PubMed Central)
PubMed's definition adapted from the Bethesda Statement on Open Access Publishing.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Author Rights (SPARC)
Author Rights is an educational initiative and introduction to the SPARC Author Addendum, a legal form that enables authors of journal articles to modify publishers' copyright transfer agreements and allow authors to keep key rights to their articles.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Authors Rights  (Charles W. Bailey)
Author's Rights, Tout de Suite, the latest Digital Scholarship publication, is designed to give journal article authors a quick introduction to key aspects of author's rights and to foster further exploration of this topic though liberal use of relevant references to online documents and links to pertinent Web sites.
Create Change (SPARC)
In the age of the Internet, the ways you share and use academic research results are changing rapidly, fundamentally, irreversibly. There's great potential in change. After all, faster and wider sharing of journal articles, research data, simulations, syntheses, analyses, and other findings fuels the advance of knowledge. It's a two-way street, sharing research benefits you and others.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Open Access News (Peter Suber)
The open access movement: Putting peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly literature on the internet. Making it available free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Removing the barriers to serious research. Brief overview of OA
Note: Unrestricted access 
Publisher Copyright Policies (University of Nottingham)
Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Research Without Borders (Columbia University)
Complete video of Research without Borders, the 2008-09 speaker series on hot topics in scholarly communication.
Note: Unrestricted access 
SPARC (Association of Research Libraries)
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) is an alliance of academic and research libraries and organizations working through advocacy, education, and incubation of alternatives to correct market dysfunctions in the scholarly publishing system.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Scholarly Articles / Institutional Repositories
BioMed Central (BioMed Central)
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Directory of Open Access Journals (Lund University Libraries)
The DOAJ is an index to open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. All subject areas and languages are covered.
Note: Unrestricted access 
E-print archive (arXiv.org)
arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Coverage: 1991- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Google Scholar (Google, CrossRef)
Leading journal publishers are participating in a CrossRef Search Pilot program to open up scholarly materials to full-text searchability. Content was initially limited to the content of 29 of the more than 1500 CrossRef collaborative publishers and societies, but has now extended to any publisher not specifically preventing access.
The editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labelled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an unaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available thru Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Intute (Resource Discovery Network (UK))
Intute is designed to help the educator and researcher discover quality free web sites and online subscription databases in all subject disciplines. Scholars in the U.K. select and describe each site included in Intute. Formerly called Humbul Humanities Hub.
Latindex (Latindex partners)
Latindex es producto de la cooperaci�n de una red de instituciones que funcionan de manera coordinada para reunir y diseminar informaci�n bibliogr�fica sobre las publicaciones cient�ficas seriadas producidas en la regi�n.
Latindex is an online regional Information system for scholarly journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Biological Information Infrastructure (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An open access collection of theses and dissertations from over 200 universities and institutions worldwide.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Open J-Gate (Informatics (India) Ltd.)
Open J-Gate, an electronic portal to global journal literature, indexes articles from academic, research and industry journals (more than half are peer-reviewed scholarly journals). Search for articles by keyword, author, title, etc. All articles are full text and open access (freely available to the user).
Coverage: Updated daily 
Note: Unrestricted access 
OpenDOAR (University of Nottingham)
The Directory of Open Access Repositories allows you to search for repositories, search repository contents, view a list of repositories and view repository statistics. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Note: Unrestricted access 
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine are online open access peer-reviewed journals .
Note: Unrestricted access 
PubHub (The Foundation Center)
A Repository of Foundation-Sponsored Reports. Provides a searchable database of annotated links to electronic versions of reports and issue briefs created by or with arts foundation resources in the U.S.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Publish not Perish (University of Colorado libraries)
A tutorial for faculty on the art and craft of scholarly publishing.
Note: Unrestricted access 
PubMed Central (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Note: Unrestricted access but logging in will allow you to connect to Auraria Library's full text content. 
Scholarly Journals on the Web (University of Houston)
This directory provides links to established Web-based scholarly journals that offer access to English language article files without requiring user registration or fees. Full text.
Note: Unrestricted access 
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is a refereed electronic library covering a selected collection of scientific journals in portuguese, spanish and english. The library is divided into collections from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Public Health (WHO) and Spain.
Note: Unrestricted access 
SCIRUS (Elsevier)
Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). More about SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Virtual Journals in Science and Technology (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society)
Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each of the virtual journals presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, journals from participating publishers on AIP's Scitation, Science, and Nature.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Miscellaneous OA Databases
American Journeys (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives.
Note: Unrestricted access 
American Memory Collection (U.S. Library of Congress)
Online primary source materials from The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., the world's largest library. Includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, and much more.
Note: Unrestricted access 
American Notes (U.S. Library of Congress)
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
Note: unrestricted access 
ARD - the anthropology review database (SUNY Buffalo)
ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources.
Coverage: 1990- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Avibase (BirdLife International)
Bird Checklists of the World is part of Avibase and Bird links to the World, which are designed and maintained by Denis Lepage, and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, which is a co-partner of Birdlife International.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Chronicling America (U.S. Library of Congress)
View newspaper pages from 1880 to 1922 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Also supplies information about newspapers published in the U.S. between 1690-present.
Coverage: 1690- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Creative Commons (cc)
Creative Commons offers a flexible range of protections and freedoms for authors and artists. A nonprofit built upon the "all rights reserved" of traditional copyright to create a voluntary "some rights reserved" copyright.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Digital Quaker Collection (Earlham School of Religion)
DQC is a searchable digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Earth Observatory (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Data and earth imagery from NASA. Includes an "image of the day", news, mission information and experiments to use in the classroom or just for fun.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape and Planning (College of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado at Denver)
The Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape, and Planning (ELCALP) is an educational tool created by faculty, staff and students of the University of Colorado at Denver's College of Architecture and Planning. Its aim is to make images and information about buildings and sites in Colorado easily accessible in ways that are useful for many different people. This on-line database documents a wide array of sites, structures, and projects, including those which are significant because they have received awards from professional design and planning associations or because they appear on state and national registers of historic places.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Free Full Text (Yahoo)
Links to scholarly periodicals which allow some or all of their online content to be viewed for free (though some may require registration). Designed for users seeking specific articles for which they already have the citation.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Highwire Press (Highwire)
A database of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the sciences and medicine. Many articles are full text and freely available, while some require a subscription. Browsing Tips.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia Library)
The data presented here describe the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960. The terms and figures in the Historical Census Browser come directly from the statistical volumes published for each decade's decennial census by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. More information.
Note: Unrestricted access 
I Hear America Singing (U.S. Library of Congress)
Music, theatre and dance collections from the Library of Congress.
Note: Unrestricted access 
In the First Person (Alexander Street Press)
A free index to thousands of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives. Only a portion of the material referred to is currently available online for free. If asked for a userid and password that group of documents is NOT free to Aurarians. Try Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment for original source material that is available online.
Note: Unrestricted access Scheduled maintenance on all Alexander Street Press collections Sat., Jan. 30, 2010. Access may be disrupted sporadically between 7am and 3pm. 
Internet Sacred Text Archive (ISTA)
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.
Note: Unrestricted access 
IWM Collections Online (Imperial War Museum, UK)
View images, including photographs, works of art, aircraft, vehicles and objects, and listen to selected 'soundbites' from the Sound Archive. Includes a facility which allows you to order photographic images direct from the Photograph Archive of the Imperial War Museum.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Merlot (Merlot)
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. RSS feed available on the site.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Missouri Botanical Garden Rare Books (Missouri Botanical Garden Library & the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation)
Features 77 digitized volumes (12/2004) from the Missouri Botanical garden Library's Rare Book collection. This is the beginning of a large database of botanical and gardening illustrations and text available to scholars, gardeners, and book enthusiasts.
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Science Digital Library (Information Institute of Syracuse)
Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education.
Note: Unrestricted access 
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (U.S. Library of Congress)
Supplies links to archive and manuscript collections across the U.S. Often links to full-text documents and photographs. Review the 'Searching Manuscripts' instructions to learn how to use this interface most effectively.
Note: Unrestricted access 
New Zealand Digital Library (University of Waikato)
Provides several document collections, including historical documents, humanitarian and development information, computer science technical reports and bibliographies, literary works, and magazines. All are available over the Web, and can be accessed through searching and browsing interfaces provided by the Greenstone digital library software.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Open Library (Internet Archive)
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and is funded in part by a grant from the California State Library. This is an Open project - the software is open, the data is open, the documentation is open, and the site is open.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Romantic Circles (University of Maryland)
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It includes bibliographies, online texts, scholoarly resources, teaching materials and a blog among other things.
Note: Unrestricted access 

Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated June 7, 2009