Article Databases & Indexes
All Databases A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z |
| Multi-subject databases: |
|---|
| Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) |
| OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage) |
| Campus Research (Westlaw) |
| LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis) |
Search results for: 1-50 of 68 | pages: 1 2 | |
| Recommended Subject-Specific Databases |
|---|
| Access Newspaper Archive (NewspaperARCHIVE.com) Find full-text historic archived articles in U.S. national, regional and some international newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title 1700-2006. |
| American Decades Primary Sources (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This cross-disciplinary collection spans the 20th century with each volume in the set presenting full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| American Memory Collection (U.S. Library of Congress) Online primary source materials from The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., the world's largest library. Includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, and much more. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Notes (U.S. Library of Congress) Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. Note: unrestricted access |
| American Periodical Series Online (ProQuest) Presents digitized images of the pages of more than 1000 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories and the Southern Literary Messenger, which includes contributions from Edgar Allan Poe; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Coverage: 1741-1900 |
| American West (Adam Matthew Digital) Contains the digitized contents of The Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Contents include original manuscripts, ephemeral material (including trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets, etc.), maps, and rare printed works. |
| Awesome Stories (Awesome Stories) Awesome Stories gathers primary-source materials and presents them in the context of a story as a means of presenting subject-related links together in an interesting, cohesive way. Resources are from national archives, libraries, universities, and government web sites. |
| Biodiversity Heritage Library (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project) Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.” Note: Unrestricted access |
| Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective (Accessible Archives) This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc. Since the major events are described in detail by both Union and Confederate papers, their opposing perspectives are readily available for comparative evaluation. |
| Community Facts (The Piton Foundation) Community Facts (The Piton Foundation) provides detailed and current information about Denver's 77 neighborhoods. It includes data, maps and graphs about each neighborhood's population, housing, economic and education characteristics, and the health and safety of its residents. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Defining Gender (Adam Matthew Digital) Subtitled Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online. Includes documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets and diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals. Coverage: 1450 to 1910 |
| Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent. Many materials supply descriptions of North America's natural features and interactions among various cultural groups. Searchable by place, year, peoples, cultural/ personal events, flora, fauna, and other factors. Supplies unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1860 |
| eHRAF Archaeology (Human Relations Area Files) The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text documents are subject-indexed to the paragraph level. |
| eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files) The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. |
| Eighteenth Century Journals II (Adam Matthew Digital) An online collection of newspapers, magazines, and other writings covering diverse topics, including literature, politics, theatre, fashion, agriculture and social issues. Coverage: 1699-1812 |
| Everyday Life and Women in America (Adam Matthew Digital) This collection addresses all aspects of women's lives in 19th Century America. Contents include books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides (writings distributed on a single sheet of paper). Coverage: 1800-1920 |
| Gallica (National Library of France) Digital Library of the National Library of France. Journal articles, maps, rare books and special collections on many topics including travelogues, Voltaire, Africa, classic French literature, and sound recordings. All in French. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Homeland Security Digital Library (U.S. Department of Homeland Security) Policy, strategy, and presidential documents; theses and other reports from the U.S. Department on Homeland Security. Note: Unrestricted access |
| ICPSR (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research) The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some datasets are available to the public. Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data. |
| Internet Archive (Internet Archive) An Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Making of America (Multiple sources) Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877 Note: Unrestricted access |
| NARA (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration) NARA, an independent Federal agency, is America's national recordkeeper charged with ensuring ready access to the essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of Federal officials, and the national experience. see also digitzed photos and documents in the Exhibit Hall. Opportunities for public comment. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Nation Master (Rapid Intelligence) An excellent resource for finding current details about just about any country in the world. Currently, Nation Master has 335 statistical data sets, ranging from library books to airports. It shows the most frequently requested stats, allows easy comparison between countries using graphs, is searchable and has links to national profiles. Particularly useful for students looking for basic statistics on different countries and for teachers as a teaching aide. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (U.S. Library of Congress) Supplies links to archive and manuscript collections across the U.S. Often links to full-text documents and photographs. Review the 'Searching Manuscripts' instructions to learn how to use this interface most effectively. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Nineteenth Century Masterfile: The Digital Index of the Nineteenth Century (Paratext) Formerly called Poole's Plus this database contains more than 8 million citations to nineteenth century writings from periodicals, newspapers, books, the United States Congressional Record, United States Patents, and other U.S. and U.K. government publications. |
| Oral History Online (Alexander Street Press) This database provides in-depth indexing to thousands of oral history collections in English from around the world, including text, audio, and video files. Many of the records lead to the full-text resource. When the full-text is not available online, repository contact information is supplied. On-going funding provided by the Falkenberg Foundation. |
| Original Sources (Western Standard Publishing Company) Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Formerly known as American Reference Library. |
| Teacher Toolbox (Collaborative Digitization Program) The teacher toolbox at the Collaborative Digitization Program (started in Colorado) includes a repository of lesson plans for teachers using the online resources in the program. The resources range from contents of museums, botanic gardens, historical societies and libraries. Note: Unrestricted access |
| The History Makers (The History Makers) An archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Wayback Machine (Internet Archive) The Internet Archive is a growing digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It also includes a comprehensive list of other internet archives for moving images, audio and texts. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Women Writers Online (WWO) (Women Writers Project) Online editions of texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830. It also includes introductory essays by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics and supplies links to other textual databases and a collection of syllabi. |
| Other Useful Databases |
| Using Primary Sources on the Web (RUSA, ALA) Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When used with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Africa Research Central (Susan Tschabrun and others) Updated information about institutions with African primary source collections to facilitate international research in African Studies. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Amache Digital Collections Project (Auraria Library) Website that displays images, paper based documents and other information about the Granada Relocation Center. It provides easy online access to materials from the collections of the Colorado Historical Society and Auraria Library relating to the Japanese-American relocation camp at Amache in south-eastern Colorado during World War II. In addition, information is presented which will help students and others interested in this period of U. S and Colorado history gain a better understanding about why the camps were built and what life was like there. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Folklife Center (U.S. Library of Congress) The more than 4000 collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect; the stories of ex-slaves; an Appalachian fiddle tune heard around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music from shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Journeys (Wisconsin Historical Society) Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives. Note: Unrestricted access |
| American Rhetoric (Michael E. Eidenmuller, University of Texas, Tyler) Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. See also a special issue: The Rhetoric of the 9-11 Note: Unrestricted Access |
| ARTstor (ARTstor) ARTstor is a digital library that contains approximately 500,000 art, architecture, archeology, and humanities images, with descriptive information. ARTstor includes software, an OIV (offline image viewer), to facilitate use of these images in research and in the classroom. Images may be viewed and analyzed in the OIV, using features such as zooming, panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared use, or creating presentations to be delivered either online or offline. PowerPoint images may now be incorporated into the OIV. ARTstor continually adds digital collections to the database. If you have questions about using ArtStor, please contact Linda Tietjen, Arts & Architecture Bibliographer, at 303-556-4298. Note: The 2009 version of ArtStor requires IE7, Firefox 2.0 or Safari 3.0. If you are in an older browser you must upgrade or use the Legacy version of ArtStor. |
| Avalon Project (Yale Law School) Text versions of historical documents in law, history, economics, politics, government and diplomacy with source information and links. Includes Project Diana an online human rights archive. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Botanicus (Missouri Botanical Garden) Botanicus Digital Library is a freely accessible, web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
| China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital) This collection presents full-text manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. The resources have been indexed to provide ready accessibility for users by person, place and subject. An interactive map encourages searches by city and region. |
| Diplomacy Monitor (St. Thomas University School of Law) Full-text collection of communiqus, official statements, press briefings, position papers, interview transcripts and news releases from hundreds of diplomacy-related websites. Coverage: Covers latest three months. Note: Unrestricted access |
| DPL Western History/Genealogy Department (Denver Public Library) The Western History Collection and the Genealogy Collection holdings started being collected in the first decades of the twentieth century, 1935 and 1910 respectively (history of the collection). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape and Planning (College of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado at Denver) The Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape, and Planning (ELCALP) is an educational tool created by faculty, staff and students of the University of Colorado at Denver's College of Architecture and Planning. Its aim is to make images and information about buildings and sites in Colorado easily accessible in ways that are useful for many different people. This on-line database documents a wide array of sites, structures, and projects, including those which are significant because they have received awards from professional design and planning associations or because they appear on state and national registers of historic places. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) Empire Online focuses on the study of the history of British imperialism and colonization. Will ultimately contain documents from the Oriental and India Office Collections of the British Library, the Bodleian Library, and the Public Record Office and State Records of New South Wales. |
| Encyclopedia Smithsonian (Smithsonian Institution) Exhibits, collections, artifacts, art and research from the nations' attic listed in an online encyclopedia format. Note: Unrestricted access |
| EuroDocs (Richard Hacken, BYU) Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated which shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Fifty Years of Computing at MSU (Michigan State University) Website celebrating 50 years of digital computing at Michigan State University. Includes a live event panel discussion with the four men who built the first computer, along with one of the first women programmers and the founder of the MSU Cyclotron. Note: Unrestricted Access |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| History of Medicine (U.S. National Library of Medicine) Books, journals, archives, manuscripts, films, videos on the history of medicine. Diverse collection from the Library of Congress includes historical anatomies, archive texts from Ilamic medicine and American medicine. Note: Unrestricted access |
Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated
June 7, 2009
