auraria library
library logo

Database trials Access from off-campus How do I... WorldCat Local at Auraria Library WorldCat.org GoogleScholar Security Certificate Warnings


 Resource Alerts:

Past alerts
Got Questions?
Chat requires JavaScript.

Sorry, AskAuraria! IM chat is offline.

Article Databases & Indexes

Search by title:

...or by subject: 

 

All Databases A-Z:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Multi-subject databases:
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage)
Campus Research (Westlaw)
LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis)

Search results for:  1-24 of 24 

pages: 1 

We Recommend
Medline (Multiple sources)
Medline is the leading research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Medline (Thomson) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science.
Medline (PubMed) The free version of Medline with a keyword search engine.
MEDLINEplus, the consumer help version, is also available in Spanish.
Coverage: 1966- 
MIT CogNet (MIT)
MIT CogNet is a full text library of electronic books,journals, and conference proceedings in the cognitive and brain sciences fields. This resource is relevant to the following subject areas: psychology, biology, medicine, artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, and philosophy.
PsycARTICLES (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Coverage: 1985- (unless otherwise noted) 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
PsycINFO (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines.
Coverage: 1840- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication 
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.  
Web of Science (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. Tutorial on how to use WOS. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge.
Coverage: 1975- 
Note: Technical Support 
Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology (Annual Reviews)
A journal of critical reviews by invited qualified authors. They review significant developments in the discipline (i.e. all areas of clinical psychology research and practice).
Annual Review of Psychology (Annual Reviews)
A journal of critical reviews by invited qualified authors. They review significant developments in the discipline (i.e. all areas of psychology research and practice).
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros) (Ebsco)
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests. Online version contains 9th (1985) Yearbook through the current edition.
Coverage: updated semi-annually 
PsychiatryOnline (American Psychiatric Publishing)
This website provides access to the DSM-IV-TR� (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th edition, Text Revision) and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
Other Useful Databases
Classics in the History of Psychology (Christopher D. Green, York University)
Classics in the History of Psychology is the full texts of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines. There are over books, articles, and chapters on-line and links to relevant works at other sites.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Cochrane Library (Wiley Interscience)
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
Additional Resources
AJOL (African Journals OnLine)
AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Animal Behavior Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Index and abstracts to the scientific literature on the study of animal behavior, aggression, behavioral ecology, communication, learning, dominance, genetics of behavior, foraging, memory, neurophysiology, parental-filial and reproductive behavior.
Coverage: 1982- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Education Full Text (WilsonWeb)
Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Not all of the journals covered in this database are available online, full-text. Include a search of the ERIC database.
Coverage: abstracts 1983-, full text 1996- Updated monthly.  
Note: Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index.  
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (Multiple sources)
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center. Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials.
ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
ERIC (Microfiche) Auraria Library has microfiche of all ERIC documents thru July 2004 in the Periodicals Reading Room.
ERIC (U.S. Government Printing Office) Federally funded ERIC documents (a small percentage) from October 2002 to the present are available online.
Coverage: Abstracts:1966- ; Full text 1993- 
JSTOR (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to the entire JSTOR archive including the Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, and the Ireland Collection. Searches in JSTOR will allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images as well.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present, now with links to the current content of the archived journals to which Auraria Library subscribes. 
LLB Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Search LLBA and MLA simultaneously.
Coverage: 1973- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Sage: an Online Journal Collection (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1. 
Social Services Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.
Coverage: 1980- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Sociological Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.
Coverage: 1963- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
SpringerLink (Springer)
Scientific, technical, and medical ebooks and online journals from Springer-Verlag and other major STM publishers.
Springer “ebook to print book” print on demand service is now available. Look for a link in the ebook record.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals (Informaworld)
Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology. Note that you can look up the journals in a specific subject by clicking on 'Journals by Subject'.
Wiley Interscience (Wiley)
Provides indexing all journal titles and access to many journal titles on the Wiley Interscience database. Just start searching using the search box on the left side of the screen.
Coverage: full text generally from 1998- 
Note: This database does not provide a full text only search nor does it distinguish between titles Auraria Library owns and those we don't. 

Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated June 7, 2009