auraria library
library logo

Database trials Access from off-campus How do I... WorldCat Local at Auraria Library WorldCat.org GoogleScholar Security Certificate Warnings


 Resource Alerts:

Past alerts
Got Questions?
Chat requires JavaScript.

Sorry, AskAuraria! IM chat is offline.

Article Databases & Indexes

Search by title:

...or by subject: 

 

All Databases A-Z:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Multi-subject databases:
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
OneFile (searches Academic and General OneFile) (Gale Cengage)
Campus Research (Westlaw)
LexisNexis Academic (Lexis Nexis)

Search results for:  1-40 of 40 

pages: 1 

Recommended Subject-Specific Databases
Basic Legal Research (LexisNexis)
Full text coverage of many national and international legal resources; including statutes, codes, case law and regulations, on both the Federal and State levels, and including secondary literature, international legal materials, patent research, and information on careers in law.
Note: New interface 
Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Colorado Demography Office (State of Colorado)
The State Demography Office is the primary state agency for population and demographic information. Its data are used by state agencies to forecast demand for facilities and services.
Note: Unrestricted Access 
Criminal Justice Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Citations and summaries of U.S. & international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, government and other reports on many criminal justice topics including crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Coverage: 1968- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
CRS Reports (Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland)
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year, none of which are distributed to the public. Because CRS reports are created using public money and are not readily accessible to the research community, the Thurgood Marshall Law Library has created an online collection in the subject areas of Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy. Other sources of these documents are also listed.
Note: Unrestricted access 
CyberCemetery (University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office)
The University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office, as part of the Federal Depository Library Program, created a partnership to provide permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions (e.g. National Bioethics Advisory Commission).
Coverage: 1995- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index.
Coverage: 1967- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
General Business File ASAP (Gale Cengage)
Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies.
Coverage: 1982- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Google Scholar (Google, CrossRef)
Leading journal publishers are participating in a CrossRef Search Pilot program to open up scholarly materials to full-text searchability. Content was initially limited to the content of 29 of the more than 1500 CrossRef collaborative publishers and societies, but has now extended to any publisher not specifically preventing access.
The editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labelled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an unaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available thru Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access 
GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Online full-text Federal Register, Congressional Record, congressional bills, GAO reports, budget, presidential documents, and other federal government information, many updated daily.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Homeland Security Digital Library (U.S. Department of Homeland Security)
Policy, strategy, and presidential documents; theses and other reports from the U.S. Department on Homeland Security.
Note: Unrestricted access 
LexisNexis Congressional (LexisNexis)
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including full text of proposed bills and status, full text hearings 1980-2003 (NEW!), legislative histories, Congressional Record, full text of laws from 1789 to present, congressional committee information, campaign contributions and PAC activities, articles from "National Journal" and the historical Congressional Index 1789-1969. This module indexes Congressional hearings and reports and documents found in the Serial Set back to its beginning in 1789.
Coverage: 1789- 
Open CRS (Center for Democracy & Technology)
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of several unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports.
Note: Unrestricted access 
PAIS International (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources. Search PAIS Archive and PAIS International simultaneously.
Coverage: 1960- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Public Administration/Affairs (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Searches across several CSA databases that contain journals related to public administration/affairs. (Criminal Justice Abstracts, Criminology - Sage, Management and Organization Studies - Sage, PAIS Archive, PAIS International, Political Science - Sage, Urban Studies and Planning - Sage).
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Public Papers (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Social Services Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.
Coverage: 1980- 
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.  
Theses/Dissertations (Multiple Sources)
A list of databases to use to find theses and dissertations.
Note: Links to another list of databases 
Web of Science (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. Tutorial on how to use WOS. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge.
Coverage: 1975- 
Note: Technical Support 
Other Useful Databases
America: History and Life (Ebsco)
Index to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Updates monthly. For the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Coverage: index 1954- 
Budget of the United States government (U.S. Office of Management and Budget )
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
This database provides full text access to 200+ journals published by Cambridge University Press. Journals represented are from a wide range of disciplines: archaeology and anthropology, biology, computer science, economics, history, literature, mathematics, medicine, etc.
Chicano Database (OCLC from the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California)
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index."
Coverage: 1967- 
Code of Federal Regulations (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The CFR contains the permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the U.S. Federal Government. Divided into 50 titles (broad regulatory areas), print volumes are updated annually and issued quarterly. See e-CFR (beta) for a current, unofficial version.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Colorado by the Numbers (University of Colorado at Boulder, Government Publications Library)
An online statistical abstract for the State of Colorado.
Note: Unrestricted access 
CQ Researcher plus Archive (CQ Press)
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and political issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Full text.
Coverage: 1923- 
EconLit with Full Text (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969- 
Economic Indicators (U.S. Government Printing Office)
A monthly compilation of economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. Also in print at GOVPUB Y 4.Ec 7:Ec7.
Coverage: updated monthly 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol).
Coverage: 1990- 
JSTOR (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to the entire JSTOR archive including the Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, and the Ireland Collection. Searches in JSTOR will allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images as well.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present, now with links to the current content of the archived journals to which Auraria Library subscribes. 
Left Index (Ebsco)
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts.
Coverage: 1982- 
LexisNexis Statistical (LexisNexis)
LexisNexis Statistical (formerly Statistical Universe) contains over 30,000 statistical tables from the U.S. government agencies, state governments; and major international intergovernmental organizations. It also indexes thousands of additional statistics from these government agencies as well as independent professional, trade, and research organizations; universities; and commercial publishers. Many of these abstracts are linked to full text documents on other web sites.
Coverage: 1973- ; full text 1997- 
Natural Hazards Center Publications (University of Colorado at Boulder)
Links to descriptions of individual publication series which are produced at the Hazards Center.
Note: Unrestricted access 
North American plan for avian and pandemic influenza (Security and Prosperity Partnership of North America)
The North American Plan for Avian and Pandemic Influenza outlines how Canada, Mexico and the United States intend to work together to combat an outbreak of avian influenza or an influenza pandemic in North America.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Open J-Gate (Informatics (India) Ltd.)
Open J-Gate, an electronic portal to global journal literature, indexes articles from academic, research and industry journals (more than half are peer-reviewed scholarly journals). Search for articles by keyword, author, title, etc. All articles are full text and open access (freely available to the user).
Coverage: Updated daily 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Sage: an Online Journal Collection (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1. 
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive (University of Virginia)
The University of Virginia Scripps Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
Coverage: 1940- 
Note: Unrestricted access 
Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center)
This is an extensive guide from the University of Michigan Documents Center in the University of Michigan Library.
Note: Unrestricted access 
U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory (LSU Libraries)
Originally created in 1994, the directory is a partnership of Louisiana State University and the Federal Depository Library Program. The directory lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual. Indentations will inform the reader of the institution's place in the hierarchy. If an institution is not represented here, try the parent organization. Searchable by agency keyword (e.g., Treasury Bureau) NOT subject.
Note: Unrestricted access 
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database (United Nations)
Women in Politics was developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The database is regularly up-dated to include new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics
Note: Unrestricted access 

Maintained by Gayle Bradbeer and last updated June 7, 2009