Database List : A

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

ABC-CLIO eBooks    (ABC-CLIO)
Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional electronic books from a leading university, academic and professional publisher. The Library does not own many ebooks from this publisher. Please contact us if you would like other books in this format.   Report A Problem
Abstracts in Anthropology    (Baywood Publishing - MetaPress)
Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant anthropological topics from periodicals supplying coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields including cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.   Report A Problem
Academic Charts Online    (ACO)
Academic Charts Online: Music (ACO) is a new database which measures the impact of music across countries and cultures. It enables evidence based research across all genres from pop to classical, jazz and world music.   Report A Problem
Academic Commons    (sponsored by Wabash University)
A comprehensive web resource focused on liberal arts education built by a community of faculty, academic technologists, librarians, administrators, and other academic professionals.
Note: Unrestricted access. Register to post resources.   Report A Problem
Academic Earth    (Academic Earth)
A beta website of higher education lectures from faculty from Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Academic OneFile    (Gale Cengage)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions.
Coverage: Updated daily.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Academic OneFile Plus    (Gale Cengage)
News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Coverage: Updated daily.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Academic Search Premier Plus    (Ebsco)
Searches Academic Search Premier, eBook Collection, MasterFile Premier and Audiobook Collection simultaneously. Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Coverage: varies, generally from 1998-, some from 1945, 1975
Note: Mobile interface for Academic Search Premier.   Report A Problem
Access for All    (Westminster Law Library)
Provides searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications, legislation related to each publication, and information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Access Newspaper Archive    (NewspaperARCHIVE.com)
Find full-text historic archived articles in U.S. national, regional and some international newspapers.
Coverage: Varies by title, 1700 - up to 1 year ago   Report A Problem
Access Science    (McGraw-Hill)
Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists.
Coverage: updated weekly   Report A Problem
Accounting and Tax Research Guide    (Auraria Library)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
ACM Digital Library    (Association for Computing Machinery)
Provides access to bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full text articles published in ACM journals, transactions and conference proceedings since the founding of ACM in 1947, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Coverage: 1947-   Report A Problem
ACRLMetrics    (ACRL)
ACRLMetrics is a web portal that provides access to ACRL (American College of Research Libraries) and NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) academic library statistics.   Report A Problem
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals    (American Chemical Society)
Full text access to all ACS journals.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
Note: On campus only link   Report A Problem
Adherents.com    (Adherents.com)
Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations, references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. "Adherents.com is an Internet initiative and is not affiliated with any religious, political, educational, or commercial organization."
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Advances in Inorganic Chemistry    (Elsevier)
Review journal in inorganic chemistry
Coverage: 2000-
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.   Report A Problem
AES On-line Electronic Library    (Audio Engineering Society)
Full text of the Audio Engineering Society journals, convention preprints, and conference papers, over 3,100 articles.
Coverage: 1953-2005   Report A Problem
AFOB Online    (Archeological Institute of America)
The Archaeological Fieldwork Opportunities Bulletin (AFOB) provides information on excavation opportunities, including general and site-specific bibliographies, how to find and choose fieldwork, advice on preparing for participation in an excavation, and more. Fieldwork opportunities are categorized by region: Africa, Asia, Middle America & Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Near and Middle East, Australasia and Pacific and North America.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
African and African-American Studies Research Guide    (Auraria Library, T. Beck)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Agricola    (U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library)
Search this database to find articles, chapters & book citations on agriculture-related topics.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
AIP Journals    (American Institute of Physics)
Full text access to all the AIP (American Institute of Physics) journals.
Coverage: From the beginning publication date of each journal   Report A Problem
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals    (U.S. Department of Defense)
Air University Library is a Department of Defense (DOD) library housing collections in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. The Index to Military Periodicals has significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in military and aeronautical periodicals. Updated quarterly.
Coverage: index 1990-
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
AJOL    (African Journals OnLine)
AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
ALFA Nursing Procedure Videos     (Dr. Terri Whitt, Saddleback College, CA)
ALFA (Assisted Learning For All) contains many videos showing various nursing procedures for RNs, LVN/LPNs and Nursing Students.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Alma Project: A Cultural Curriculum Infusion Model    (Denver Public Schools)
The Alma Project is a program that provides multicultural curriculum for early childhood education (ECE) through twelfth grade. This project supports the cultural infusion of standards-based lessons into the daily curriculum. This collection of units broadens the teacher's ability to teach a more inclusive and accurate curriculum through a literacy-based approach. More importantly, it honors the cultural and historical contributions of various ethnicities represented in Denver Public Schools—which is 80 percent minority.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Alphabet Bites    (Orange County Library System)
An interactive learning experience for children (and parents too!). It serves as an online counterpart to an in-person Children's Program series held throughout the library system in Orange County,Florida.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Alt HealthWatch    (Ebsco)
Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, acupuncture and more. The content is from periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters.
Coverage: 1990-
Note: Mobile interface   Report A Problem
Alternative and Complementary Medicine Research Guide    (Auraria Library, I. Ferrer-Vinent)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
AlterNet    (Independent Media Institute)
This is an online magazine and information resource from the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization for independent and alternative journalism. The archive includes more than 7,000 stories from over 200 sources.
Coverage: 1994-
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
America's Best Colleges    (U.S. News and World Report)
U.S. News ranks more than 1,400 colleges each year by area, discipline and programs. This links to the freely accessible information. Buy a subscription to get into the 'locked' areas online.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
America's Historical Imprints    (Readex, a division of NewsBank)
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.   Report A Problem
America's News    (Newsbank)
Newsbank's America's News (previously known as America's Newspapers) provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including 11 Colorado newspapers. Each newspaper or wire service includes coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Coverage: Varies.   Report A Problem
America: History and Life with Full Text    (Ebsco)
America history and life is an index to journal articles, books and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. For articles on the history of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Coverage: index 1954- Updates monthly.   Report A Problem
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1, 2, and 4    (Ebsco)
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1, 2, and 4. This collection is culled from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society’s extensive library of print materials. Series 1 covers 1691-1820 and contains 550 titles ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The content represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history. Series 4 contains more than 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. The Civil War is a focal point of the collection. Series 1, 2, and 4 each also contains news of daily life and broad subject matter, including writings on science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, entertainment, politics, and religion.   Report A Problem
American Association for Cancer Research journals    (American Association for Cancer Research)
Access to five cancer research journals published by the American Association for Cancer Research.
Note: Indexed in PubMed.   Report A Problem
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)    (American Association of University Professors)
The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American Botanical Council Library Access (includes Herbalgram)    (American Botanical Council)
Scientific resources on herbal medicine from the American Botanical Council including the journal Herbalgram, a clinical guide to herbs, Commission E information, HerbPro, and HerbClip, a searchable database of reviews on current journal articles from a variety of publications.   Report A Problem
American Decades Primary Sources    (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage)
This cross-disciplinary collection spans the 20th century with each volume in the set presenting full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
American FactFinder    (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
A fairly easy to use source for population, housing, economic, and geographic from the census bureau. They also have data sets for download.
Note: Unrestricted access
Tip: Build a dataset starting with the Reference Maps Search. To locate it scroll down and look on the right side of the screen.   Report A Problem
American Folklife Center    (U.S. Library of Congress, American Folklife Center)
These online oral history collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect; the stories of ex-slaves; an Appalachian fiddle tune heard around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music from shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American Founding Era Collection    (Rotunda - University of Virginia Press)
Cross-search primary source materials related to colonial America and the early Republic. This collection includes the papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Dolley Madison, and George Washington as well as a Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution.   Report A Problem
American Geophysical Union Earth and Space Index (EASI)    (American Geophysical Union)
Searchable online access to the American Geophysical Union (AGU) EASI journals in the Wiley Online Library.   Report A Problem
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language    (Credo Reference)
Fifth Edition, 2007. Entries feature new words and senses, audio word pronunciations, full-page color illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes.   Report A Problem
American Indian Histories and Cultures    (Adam Matthew Digital)
The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Native Americans from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library. Cross-searchable with the Library’s subscription to The American West collection.
Note: Security certificate warnings may appear. It is safe to continue.   Report A Problem
American Journeys    (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American Memory Collection    (U.S. Library of Congress)
Online primary source materials from The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Includes digital items such as George Washington's and Thomas Jefferson's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, and much more.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American National Election Studies    (Stanford University and University of Michigan)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920    (U.S. Library of Congress)
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
Note: unrestricted access   Report A Problem
American Periodical Series Online    (ProQuest)
American Periodicals presents digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to 1900. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories and the Southern Literary Messenger, which includes contributions from Edgar Allan Poe; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Coverage: 1741-1900
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem