Database List : B

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

Bach Cantatas Website    (Aryeh Oron)
The Bach Cantatas Website (BCW) is a comprehensive site covering all aspects of J.S. Bach's cantatas and other vocal works. It is an international collective project.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Background Notes    (U.S. Department of State)
Succinctly covers the history, geography, culture, government, politics, economics, climate, and transportation of nations worldwide. Only selected titles are available in print, but all are on the Web site.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bartelby.com    (Bartleby.com)
Standard reference books on the web including American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's II Thesaurus, Bartlett's Quotations, the King James Bible, Oxford Shakespeare, Gray's Anatomy, Strunk's Elements of Style, World Fact Book, and the Columbia Encyclopedia and Gazetteer..
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bartlett's Quotations    (Bartleby.com)
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905. Provided on Bartleby.com.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
BBC Languages    (British Broadcasting Company)
This free site supplies a variety of resources to assist both beginning and advanced language learners.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
BBC Shakespeare Plays    (Ambrose Digital)
This streaming video collection contains these Shakespeare plays, all with closed captions available: All's Well that Ends Well, Antony and Cleopatra, As You Like It, The Comedy of Errors, Coriolanus, Cymbeline, Henry IV – Parts 1 & 2, Henry V, Henry VI – Parts 1, 2, & 3, Henry VII, Julius Caesar, King John, King Lear, Love's Labour's Lost, Macbeth, Measure for Measure, Merchant of Venice, Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Much Ado About Nothing, Othello, Pericles, Richard II, Richard III, Romeo & Juliet, Taming of the Shrew, The Tempest, Timon of Athens, Titus Andronicus, Troilus & Cressida, Twelfth Night, and Two Gentlemen of Verona.   Report A Problem
Beige Book    (Federal Reserve Board of Governors)
Released eight times a year, this publication presents anecdotal information on current economic conditions including interviews with businessmen, economists, and market.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids    (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers to teach how our government works, our civic responsibilities and how to use primary source materials available from the United States government departments, research institutes and agencies.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bibliography of Native North Americans    (Ebsco)
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Note: Mobile interface   Report A Problem
Bibliography of Scientific and Industrial Reports    (Robert L. Bolin, University of Nebraska Lincoln)
A catalog of formerly secret government research reports made available by the Federal Government after World War II.
Note: Unrestricted access
Copies of most of the documents listed in this index are available from the Library of Congress Duplication Service.   Report A Problem
Bibliography of the History of Art     (J. Paul Getty Trust )
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writings in English and French about the history of western art. The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is now available freely on the Getty web site along with the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Coverage: BHA, 1990-2007, IBA, 2008-2009. This is an archival repository and is no longer updated.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bibliotheca Alexandrina    (Bibliotheca Alexandrina)
The new Library of Alexandria, is dedicated to recapturing the spirit of the original. It aspires to be the World's window on Egypt, Egypt's window on the world, a leading institution of the digital age and it is a center for learning, tolerance, dialogue and understanding.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bibliotherapy Books for Children and Young Adults Research Guide    (Welch, M.)
Selections of reading material for children and young adults that are relevant to difficult life situations.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Big Book Yellow Pages    (Yellow Pages)
Directory of company addresses and phone numbers by name, industry or location. Can also search for types of business within a designated radius of a specific geographic point.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Biodiversity Heritage Library    (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress    (U.S. Library of Congress)
A searchable database of biographical sketches of members of the United States Congress from the Continental Congress to the present. Includes delegates from Puerto Rico, the Philippine Islands and the Territories and Presidents who were members of Congress.
Coverage: 1774-
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Biographies Online    (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, Who's Who in America, ... in the World, ... of American Women, ... in Science & Engineering, ... in American Law, ... in Medicine & Healthcare, ... in Finance & Business, ... in 20th Century America,... in the East, ... in the Midwest, ... in the South & Southwest, ... in the West, ... in Media & Communications, ... in Entertainment, ... in American Education, ... in American Nursing, ... in Religion, ... of Emerging Leaders in America and ... Among Human Services Professionals.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished   Report A Problem
Biography and Genealogy Master Index    (Gale Cengage)
A comprehensive index to more than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Index linked to many complete articles.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Biography Center    (EuropeanServers Ltd.)
Features an index to biographies of contemporary celebrities. Offers versions of the Web site in English, German, Spanish, and French.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Biography Reference Center    (Ebsco)
Full text biographical articles on Nobel Prize winners, authors, artists, politicians, world leaders, film directors, American reformers, musicians and composers from the ancient world to the present. Replaces and expands on Biographies Plus Illustrated from H.W. Wilson.   Report A Problem
Biography Research Guide    (Auraria Library, N. McCaslin)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Biointeractive.org    (Howard Hughes Medical Center (HHMC))
Free short films, animations, classroom activities, and other learning objects for educators on biology topics including bioinformatics and biochemistry.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Biological and Biomedical Journal Literature    (Thomson ISI)
A combined search abstracts in Web of Science, Medline and Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS).
Coverage: abstracts 1995-   Report A Problem
Biology Research Guide    (Auraria Library, D. Turner)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
BiologyBrowser    (Thomson BIOSIS)
Offers resources for the life sciences information community. Includes the Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology, the Zoological Record Thesaurus, and links to current science news stories and relevant web sites.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
BioMed Central    (BioMed Central)
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
BioOne    (Amigos)
Provides full-text of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.   Report A Problem
BIOSIS Previews    (Thomson ISI)
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) is an index to biological and biomedical literature in journals, patents, meetings and books. Includes abstracts. Search BIOSIS Previews, Medline and Web of Science simultaneously.
Coverage: abstracts 1926-   Report A Problem
Black's Law Dictionary    (Westlaw)
Legal definitions, quotations, alternative spellings, legal abbreviations. New terms in the 2004, 8th edition include "Amber Alert," "antispamming law," "Child Online Protection Act," "cyberpiracy," "cyberterrorism," "chad," "repressed-memory syndrome," "ethnic cleansing," "Strategic National Stockpile," and "grandparent rights."
Note: On-campus users can try a new version of Campus Research called WestLaw Next.   Report A Problem
BNA Tax Management    (Bloomberg BNA)
Currently known as Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Center. Comprises analysis, practice tools (including interactive forms), primary sources, and news regarding taxation of U.S. income; estates, gifts and trusts; and foreign income.
Coverage: current
Note: Security certificate warnings may appear. It is safe to continue.   Report A Problem
Book Review    (The New YorkTimes)
Sunday Book Review section of the New York Times. Reviews searchable and available from 1995.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982    (Ebsco)
Book Review Digest Retrospective (BRDR) supplies citations to more than a quarter of million reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction English-language books published in magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and books. Includes an excerpt of each complete review.   Report A Problem
Book Review Index Online    (Gale Cengage)
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with millions of review citations from thousands of publications.
Coverage: 1965-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Limited to 2 simultaneous users.   Report A Problem
Book Reviews - A Research Guide    (Auraria Library, E. Metter)
How to find book reviews and criticism for all types of books. Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Book, Movie, Music, Play and Video Reviews    (LexisNexis)
Use the Advanced Options to limit content to specific article types including book, movie, music, theatre and restaurant reviews.   Report A Problem
Books: How to Find Them at the Auraria Library Research Guide    (Auraria Library)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Botanicus    (Missouri Botanical Garden)
Botanicus Digital Library is a freely accessible, web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Includes the Missouri Botanical garden Library's Rare Book collection. This is a large database of botanical and gardening illustrations and text available to scholars, gardeners, and book enthusiasts.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Boulder County Latino History Project    (BCLHP)
The Boulder County Latino History Project (BCLHP), is a collaborative, grass-roots initiative to document and describe the history of Latinos in Boulder County, Colorado over the past century, with a primary focus on the towns of Longmont (an agricultural center), Lafayette (a coal mining community), and Boulder (shaped by commerce and the University of Colorado).
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
BoulderNews:The Daily Camera    (Daily Camera)
Current Boulder Colorado newspaper's website.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bridgeman Art Library    (The Bridgeman Art Library)
An extensive archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world from the national museums to private collections. All are available for licensing.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Britannica Online - Academic Edition    (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Use Britannica and the resources bundled within the collection for topic overviews, biographies, word and concept definitions, a world atlas, historical timelines, quotations, illustrations, photos, videos, links to relevant articles and websites, and data on nations of the world accessible through customizable charts and tables. Users can suggest edits and additions to content.
Note: Check the end of each article for a Citation Exporter.   Report A Problem
Brookings Policy Brief Series    (Brookings Institute)
Brookings Policy Briefs are short informative analytical editorials of current domestic and foreign policy challenges.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Budget of the United States government    (U.S. Office of Management and Budget )
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Buildings of Ireland    (Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government)
Website of the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH). The NIAH is a section within the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.The NIAH identifies and records the architectural heritage of Ireland, from 1700 to the present day. The ongoing surveys are presented by county, and consist of a database record and images of each building/structure surveyed.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bureau of Justice Statistics    (U.S. Department of Justice)
Statistics related to U.S. crime, criminology, policing and punishment.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bureau of Labor Statistics    (U.S. Department of Labor)
Statistics related to U.S. and foreign labor, employment, wages, earnings and benefits, inflation and consumer spending including the Consumer Price Index. see also the agencies listed at FedStats - Labor. Use Economy at a Glance for state economic statistics.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Bureau of Transportation Statistics    (U.S. Department of Transportation)
"Numbers to move people"
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Business Commons    (Digital Commons Network)
The Business Commons provides open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work, on Business and related disciplines from colleges and universities worldwide. It is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Business Decision Academic    (CIVIC Technologies)
Business Decision Academic (BDA) provides data and graphic reports to support various types of research projects, such as business, marketing and strategic plans, and also provides demographic analysis in various fields, including Public Administration, Sociology, Public Health, and Urban Planning. This resource can be used to evaluate potential sites for new stores, service centers or clinics; evaluate market penetration; analyze trade areas; perform competitive analyses, and more.
Coverage: Uses Census 2010 data and geographies, updated annually.
Note: Occasional problems with graphics may occur in IE 9. If they do switch to Chrome or Firefox.
Note: Help using the BDA and links to the Tapestry data manual.   Report A Problem
Business Index ASAP    (Gale Cengage)
Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Academic and business journal articles with full text and images.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem