Databases A-Z : G

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)    (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness    (Gale Cengage)
Reference work providing information on the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community in most of the major countries around the world.
Gallery of Teaching and Learning    (Carnegie Foundation)
The Gallery of Teaching and Learning provides examples of digital representations of knowledge related to teaching and learning from participants of Carnegie Foundation programs and partners.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gallica    (National Library of France)
Digital Library of the National Library of France. Journal articles, maps, rare books and special collections on many topics including travelogues, Voltaire, Africa, classic French literature, and sound recordings. All in French.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gallup Poll News Service    (LexisNexis)
Provides news centered on public opinion. Published each business day, articles from the Gallup Poll News Service analyze findings and trends in politics, business, social issues, and Americans' lifestyles.
Coverage: 2003-
Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing    (LexisNexis)
Publishes in-depth articles on the opinions and issues Gallup is investigating in government, in the workplace, in schools, in hospitals, and in faith communities. No longer published.
Coverage: 2002-2006
GAO    (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
This is the audit, evaluation and investigative arm of the United States Congress. GAO examines the use of public funds, evaluates federal programs and activities, and provides analyses, options, recommendations and other assistance to help the Congress make effective oversight, policy and funding decisions through financial audits, program reviews and evaluations, analyses, legal opinions and investigations.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered, and Queer Studies Research Guide    (Auraria Library, L. Archibeque)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Genamics JournalSeek    (Genamics)
A database of freely available journal information available on the Internet. The database presently contains more than 8500 titles; journal information includes the aims and scope, journal abbreviations, web links, and ISSN for journals.
Note: Unrestricted access (does not work with Netscape 4.7 or 4.08)
GenderWatch    (ProQuest)
GenderWatch is a full text database that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas providing perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Coverage: 1970-
Genealogy Survival Kit Research Guide    (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
General Business File ASAP    (Gale Cengage)
Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
General OneFile    (Gale Cengage)
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Coverage: Updated daily
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
General Reference Center Gold    (Gale Cengage)
Index to general magazines, newspapers and reference sources, many articles available online. A good source for popular culture, sports, etc.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
GeoNames    (Marc Wick)
The GeoNames geographical database is available for download free of charge under a creative commons attribution license. It contains over eight million geographical names and consists of 6.5 million unique features whereof 2.2 million populated places and 1.8 million alternate names.
Note: Unrestricted access
GeoRef    (Ebsco)
Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and maps in Geology and the Earth Sciences. Includes GeoRef in Process content.
Coverage: North American geology from 1785-; international geology from 1933-
Note: Mobile interface
Georgia Historic Newspapers    (Digital Library of Georgia)
Collection contains issues of three historic Georgia newspapers, the Cherokee Phoenix, the Dublin Post, and the Colored Tribune.
Coverage: selected issues 1758-1898
Note: Unrestricted access
GeoScience World    (GeoScienceWorld)
Full text access to a collection of high impact geosciences journals
Coverage: ca. 2000 -
German Language and Literature Research Guide    (Auraria Library, N. McCaslin)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Getty Geography Thesaurus    (Getty Research Institute)
The TGN contains nearly 1 million place names representing approximately 900,000 places. Each place has attributes, including names, place types, descriptive data, and coordinates. The places are arranged in hierarchies representing the current political and physical world
Note: Unrestricted access
Global Energy Management Research Guide    (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)    (Global Legal Information Network)
Official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations. GLIN membership is not required to search for information in GLIN. Most of the material in GLIN is freely accessible to the public.
Note: Unrestricted access
Global Market Information Database (GMID)    (Euromonitor)
Euromonitor International's statistical database includes demographic, economic and marketing reports and statistics which are comparable across countries. GMID presents business intelligence on countries, consumers, and lifestyles. It provides country profiles that include economic news, market reports, emerging sectors, and special demographic reports. Integrated data sets provide historical trends and forecasting numbers. Consumer lifestyles reports detail demographics and buying habits for a variety of products.
Note: Restricted to Auraria students,faculty, and staff only; login required. 
GlobalSpec    (General Electric)
Engineering search engine to find webpages on engineering materials and products from online catalogs.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gold Rush    (Alliance)
Gold Rush is a journal finding tool to help you find the best databases to search for articles on a specific topic or from a specific journal. Gold Rush will also help to determine whether or not you have access to a particular database. Warning: defaults to Alliance holdings when accessed from off campus.
Note: Unrestricted access
Good-Better-Best: Wikipedia vs. Google Scholar vs. Auraria Databases Research Guide    (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Google Books    (Google)
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. You'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors. About Google Books.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Government    (Google)
A single location for searching across U.S. government information, and for keeping up to date on government news.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Government: State Search    (Research Buzz)
This page allows you to search Googles government search engine and narrow your results by a state.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Guide    (Nancy Blachman)
An online tutorial on searching with Google. Not sponsored by Google.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Image Search    (Google)
A search engine to find images on the web that includes the ability to limit by usage rights.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Scholar (login required)    (Google, CrossRef)
Leading journal publishers are participating in a CrossRef Search Pilot program to open up scholarly materials to full-text searchability. Initially content was taken from 29 of the more than 1500 CrossRef collaborative publishers and societies, but has now extended to any publisher not specifically preventing access. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
The editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labeled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an inaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available through Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Government & Politics    (LexisNexis)
Use this engine to search political magazines and blogs, Federal news services and official websites such as The White House Bulletin, the Congressional Quarterly and many federal websites.
Government Publications Research Guide    (Auraria Library, L. Treff-Gangler)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Government Research Databases    (Auraria Library)
Research databases provided by the United States government free in the United States.
Note: Unrestricted access
Granger's World of Poetry    (Columbia University Press)
Grangers poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
Green's Dictionary of Slang    (Oxford University Press)
A dictionary of the "impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language".  It covers five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world.
GreenFILE    (Ebsco)
A multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Note: Mobile interface
Grove Art Online    (Oxford University Press)
Grove Art Online is included in Oxford Art Online. It is no longer a separate product.
Grove Music Online    (Oxford University Press)
Grove Music Online content has been included in Oxford Music Online. It is no longer a separate product.
GTOPO30 - Digital elevation model    (U.S. Geological Survey)
GTOPO30 is a global digital elevation model (DEM) with a horizontal grid spacing of 30 arc seconds (approximately 1 kilometer).
Note: Unrestricted access
Guide to Computing Literature    (Association for Computing Machinery)
This is an index of materials from the key publishers in computing (of which ACM is one); including books, journals, proceedings and theses. The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and selected other materials.
Guidelines for Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses    (Graduate School - UCD)
Guidelines For Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses. Graduate School, University of Colorado Denver Downtown Denver Campus, April 2006. See also Grad Student policies page for CLAS
GuideStar    (GuideStar)
Directory of more than 700,000 charities and non-profit organizations. Search by name, keyword, category, location, or revenue.
Note: Unrestricted access