Database List : I

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

I Hear America Singing    (U.S. Library of Congress)
Music, theatre and dance collections from the Library of Congress.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
I-News Network    (I-News Network)
Search I-News for news and features stories for and about Coloradans. I-News is associated with Rocky Mountain PBS and calls its content public-service, research-based journalism.
Coverage: 2010 - present
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
IBISWorld Industry Market Research    (IBISWorld)
IBIS World Industry Research Reports provides current reports on U.S. industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.  The Library subscribes only to this section of IBISWorld.
Note: The subscription to Industry Market Research is paid for jointly by Metropolitan State University of Denver and the Auraria Library.   Report A Problem
ICPSR    (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some data sets are available without subscription.
Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data.
Note: List of ICPSR summer 2014 courses offered in Ann Arbor, MI and at other locations, including the University of Colorado Boulder.   Report A Problem
IEEE Xplore    (IEEE)
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
Coverage: 1988-
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished. Mobile interface   Report A Problem
Images    (Creative Commons)
Search for images, browse collections in a webspace where what you can do with the material is explicitly stated. No guessing. You might also want to publish your images here.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Images Canada    (Library and Archives Canada)
Search the collections of participating archives, libraries, museums and universities from across Canada by keyword, follow an Image Trail or browse through the Photo Essays for search ideas. In French and English.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Images: How to Find Them Research Guide    (Auraria Library, E. Metter)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
In the First Person    (Alexander Street Press)
A free index to thousands of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives. Only a portion of the material referred to is currently available online for free. If asked for a userid and password that group of documents is NOT free to Aurarians. Try Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment for original source material that is available online.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
In-cites    (Thomson ISI)
In-cites provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Index to Organism Names (ION)    (Thomson ISI)
ION contains all the animal, plant, and virus names data found within the Thomson BIOSIS literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts. Bacteria names will be added soon.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Indigenous Governance Database    (Native Nations Institute (NNI), University of Arizona Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy)
An online resource center for Native nation leaders, key decision-makers, employees, citizens, and others in search of educational and informational resources about nation building, sovereignty, governance, leadership, and sustainable economic and community development in Indigenous country. Includes text, video and audio resources.   Report A Problem
Industry Information Resources    (Integra Information)
Provides links to lists of industry resources for over 250 industries. Students have access, coutesy of Auraria Library, to many of these commercial databases. Check the Auraria Library catalog Skyline or the Industries databases.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
InfoPlease Almanac    (InfoPlease)
This almanac/encyclopedia offers overviews, facts and statistics on numerous subjects, and has special sections on sports and entertainment topics.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Informa HealthCare    (Informa HealthCare.com)
Database of pharmaceutical, medical, and life science journals published by Informa HealthCare.   Report A Problem
Informe (Revistas en Espanol)    (Gale Cengage)
Investiga las noticias y eventos mas actuales, la informacion de negocios del momento, los arteculos de salud mas importantes, temas de cultura popular y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas hispanas mas populares. [Please excuse the lack of appropriate punctuation.]
Coverage: 1995-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Inside Higher Ed    (Inside Higher Ed)
An online journal of higher education.
Note: Unrestricted access (with registration)   Report A Problem
INSPEC    (Elsevier)
The major database that indexes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in the fields of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Search both INSPEC and Compendex combined.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.   Report A Problem
Inter-play    (Inter-play)
An on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. Provides access to the locations of printed plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. Includes editor and translator information and page numbers when available. Separately published plays are not included.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internal Revenue Code    (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Title 26 (the Tax Code of the United States) from GPO. Or search the code from GPOAccess.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
International Affairs Research Guide    (Auraria Library, E. Baker)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
International Bibliography of Art     (ProQuest)
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from the Getty Research Institute and includes the content of the BHA.
Coverage: 2008-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
International Directory of Philosophy    (Philosophy Documentation Center)
The International Directory of Philosophy is an online database containing information on university philosophy departments and programs, philosophical societies, associations, research centers and institutes, journals, and philosophy publishers around the world. It is the successor to the Directory of American Philosophers and the International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers, standard reference works published by the Philosophy Documentation Center since 1970.   Report A Problem
International Field Guides    (Diane Schmidt, University of Illinois Library)
A searchable database of field guides for plants, animals and other objects in North America and around the world, classified by type of organism and region covered. Eighteen categories are represented: from animals and edible plants, to flora and fauna, and miscellaneous. Check the Auraria Library catalog to see which guides we have in our collection.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
International Historical Statistics    (Palgrave)
Use International Historical Statistics to find economic, financial, and social statistics for worldwide countries and territories, often spanning centuries and beginning as early as 1750. Find data for Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania including countries whose borders have changed. Within each region are chapters on population demographics, vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical tables can be downloaded as PDF or Excel files with the ability to merge tables and edit text.
Coverage: Extends from 1750 to 2010, but frequency and completeness of coverage varies among topics and countries.   Report A Problem
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text    (ProQuest for Chadwyck-Healey )
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text is a music journal resource with hundreds of thousands of indexed articles, detailed abstracts and full text content from both scholarly and popular sources.
Coverage: 1874-   Report A Problem
Internet Archive    (Internet Archive)
An Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Detective    (Intute Virtual Training Suite and Learn Higher Project)
Use this free Internet tutorial to learn to discern the good, the bad and the ugly for your online research. Other free tutorials.
Note: Unresticted access   Report A Problem
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)    (James Fieser, Bradley Dowden, editors)
This peer-reviewed academic resource, Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP), was founded as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Library of Early Journals    (ILEJ)
A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, the Internet Library has digitized selected twenty-year runs of three eighteenth-and three nineteenth-century journals and placed the images online. Journals include: Annual Register (1758-78), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77), Blackwood's EdinburghMagazine (1843-52), Notes and Queries (1849-69), and The Builder (1843-9).
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)    (IMDB)
Search for information on movies, directors, actors and more.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Public Library    (IPL)
The Internet Public Library is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment at the University of Michigan School of Information.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Sacred Text Archive    (ISTA)
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Internet Tutorials    (Laura Cohen, University at Albany SUNY)
A series of short, simple online tutorials on using the internet. Topics include basic searching through research techniques.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation    (Peter W. Martin, Cornell University Law School)
This online introduction to legal citation (2007 ed.) is focused on the forms of citation used in professional practice rather than those used in journal publication.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Intute    (Resource Discovery Network (UK))
Intute is designed to help the educator and researcher discover quality free web sites and online subscription databases in all subject disciplines. Scholars in the U.K. select and describe each site included in Intute. Formerly called Humbul Humanities Hub.   Report A Problem
IOP Journals    (Institute of Physics)
Full text article access to all Institute of Physics (IOP) journals by journal. To search across several IOP journals go to their search page.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal   Report A Problem
Iraq Study Group Report    (Baker and Hamilton, 12/07/06)
Recommendations for actions to be taken in Iraq, the United States, and the region from the Iraq Study Group, co-chaired by James A. Baker, III andLee H. Hamilton.   Report A Problem
Ireland in Pictures    (Quinnipac University)
A digitized version of the 1898-9 book of 400 photographs by the Hon. John F. Finerty.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance    (Iter)
This collection databases includes a bibliography of articles from some 500 journals literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700 AD). Search by author, title, keyword, etc. Citations only. There are also searchable databases of scholars, extant manuscripts, early theatre, and architectural details. Some of the databases are difficult to access from off campus.   Report A Problem
IUCN Redlist    (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
IUCN - The World Conservation Union, through its Species Survival Commission (SSC) assesses the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and selected subpopulations on a global scale to highlight taxa threatened with extinction, and therefore promote their conservation. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
IWM Collections Online    (Imperial War Museum, UK)
View images, including photographs, works of art, aircraft, vehicles and objects, and listen to selected 'soundbites' from the Sound Archive.Includes a facility which allows you to order photographic images direct from the Photograph Archive of the Imperial War Museum.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem