|
NAICS (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau) A searchable online version of the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) from the U.S. Census Bureau with links to tables that relate this version to older versions and to the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NARA (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration) NARA, an independent Federal agency, is America's national recordkeeper charged with ensuring ready access to the essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of Federal officials, and the national experience. see also digitized photos and documents in the Exhibit Hall. Opportunities for public comment. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NASA (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration databases, educational sites, photos and schedules. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NASA Technical Reports Server (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Searches NASA technical report servers and non-NASA sites. Some reports are available online. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Nation Master (Rapid Intelligence) An excellent resource for finding current details about just about any country in the world. Currently, Nation Master has 335 statistical data sets, ranging from library books to airports. It shows the most frequently requested stats, allows easy comparison between countries using graphs, is searchable and has links to national profiles. Particularly useful for students looking for basic statistics on different countries and for teachers as a teaching aide. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Academies Press (The National Academies) Fulltext access to books (ebooks) in science, engineering, and health from the National Academy of Sciences. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Accounts (United Nations) National accounts of approximatel 200 UN member countries. The System of National Accounts (SNA) consists of a coherent, consistent and integrated set of macroeconomic accounts, balance sheets and tables based on a set of internationally agreed concepts, definitions, classifications and accounting rules. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Atlas of the United States (U.S. Geological Survey with other government agencies & Environmental Systems Research Institute) USGS was coordinated and lead the effort of more than 20 Federal agencies. Nationalatlas.gov is the new National Atlas of the United States. Like its predecessor, this new atlas provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Biological Information Infrastructure (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics)) A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences) Statistics and facts from the federal government on education. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Climate Data Center (NCDC) Library (U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) NOAA and the National Climatic Data Center provide access to data from research projects, weather stations, and satellites. Note: On campus access only. Note: Requires Internet Explorer browser. |
|
|
National Directory of Scholarships, Internships, and Fellowships for Latino Students (Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute) The scholarships listed are for graduating high school seniors, undergraduates, and graduate/professional students. Scholarships only available at particular colleges or for students of specific localities are in the regional section. The national scholarships are available to all students attending, or planning to attend, any college in the country. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) NEPIS offers one stop shopping for over 6,000 full text, on line EPA documents. Coverage: 1997- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota) The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Indian Law Library Catalog (Native American Rights Fund) Use this library catalog from the National Indian Rights locate resources. Non members should then use a local catalog or database such as Skyline or Lexis Nexis to locate a copy to check out. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Newspaper Index (Gale Cengage) This file indexes 25 major U.S. national and regional newspapers. Coverage: Updated monthly. 1994- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
National Register of Historic Places (National Park Service) The Nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Resources Inventory (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service) The National Resources Inventory (NRI) is a statistically based sample of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. nonfederal lands. It is the most comprehensive database of its kind ever attempted anywhere in the world. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Science Digital Library (Information Institute of Syracuse) Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Technical Information Service (U.S. Department of Commerce) Technical and government contractor reports which are usually the result of U.S. government sponsored research grants and produced by universities or research centers. Abstracts of reports, many of which are available from the National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project or the University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library, which has an extensive, comprehensive, historical collection in microfiche of technical reports from various federal agencies such as NTIS, NASA, Atomic Energy Agency (AEC), and Dept. of Energy (DOE). An interlibrary loan request will produce a microfiche copy of the report which you may keep or donate back to the Auraria Library. Be sure to indicate clearly on your request that it is a U.S. government technical report to be requested from UC Boulder. Coverage: 1964- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Tourism Database (Michigan State University Extension) This site contains information on numerous resources related to tourism education, including bulletins, research reports, videos, and training programs. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (U.S. Library of Congress) Supplies links to archive and manuscript collections across the U.S. Often links to full-text documents and photographs. Review the 'Searching Manuscripts' instructions to learn how to use this interface most effectively. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
National Weather Service (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) The place for info on warnings & forecasts, severe weather, national maps, radar, rivers, air quality, satellite, climate, hurricanes, tsunamis and more. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Native American Ethnobotany (Daniel E Moerman, University of Michigan Dearborn) A Database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants. Results link you to an automatic search of the PLANTS database from the USDA, Natural Resource Conservation Service. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Native American Studies Research Guide (Auraria Library, D. Turner) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
Natural Hazards Center Publications (University of Colorado at Boulder) Links to descriptions of individual publication series which are produced at the Hazards Center. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (Therapeutic Research Center) A database of evidence-based, clinical information on natural medicines. Access to 2 seats provided by the UC Denver Health Sciences Library, Florence G. Strauss Indigenous Medicine Collection Fund. Note: Please log out when finished. |
|
|
Nature Journals Online (Nature Publishing Group) Publisher site for the Nature Publishing Group. |
|
|
NatureServe Explorer (NatureServe) Information on more than 65,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Naxos Music Library (streaming audio) (Naxos) Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. There is also film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), amazing nature sounds (see the classical genre list) such as elephant seals, penguins and larks, and resources such as graded music exam playlists. Note: Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser. |
|
|
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice) Database containing summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This site ONLY searches the Abstracts database. There are some articles online. For the online collection, go to the advanced website search of the NCJRS Virtual Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NCJRS Virtual Library (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice) Search NCJRS' Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the While House Office of National Drug Control Policy. Full text. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NetEc (Washington University in St. Louis) Links to sites and an Index to and full text of articles of interest to economists and economic researchers. NetEc, founded in 1993, is an international academic effort to improve the communication of economics via electronic media. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) An open access collection of theses and dissertations from over 200 universities and institutions worldwide. There are two search engines for this database, VTLS and SCIRUS. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
New Day Digital (New Day Films) These six New Day Films are streamed for student use: Straightlaced - How Gender's Got Us All Tied Up; Brooklyn Matters; Letters from the Other Side; Homeless in Paradise; Kansas vs. Darwin; In Whose Honor? |
|
|
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics (Palgrave Macmillan) The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 2008 8-volume print edition. This encyclopedia contains 1872 signed articles by over 1500 renowned scholars covering all aspects of economics. |
|
|
New York Stock Exchange Fact Book (New York Stock Exchange) Data about stock market activity, stock price trends, information on listed companies, and the investing public, institutional investors, trading in international securities on the NYSE, the NYSE community, security market credit, and bonds. Current activity as well as a historical perspective is available. Not published in paper anymore. For previous years see HG4571 .N56 in the Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
New York Times (Multiple sources) News (LexisNexis) Search articles from 1969-present. Get full-text from 1980-present, text only. New York Times (New York Times) The NYT site supplies full-text for 1987-present in .html at no cost, and for 1851-1922 in .pdf format, for a fee.. America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Full-text from 1995-present, text only. One File Plus (Gale-Cengage) Search from 1980–present, get full-text from 1985–present, text only. Digital microfilm (ProQuest) Only available in IE browser. View entire East coast late edition for January 2008 until two months ago. Current paper issues (Periodicals Reading Room) Approximately the last week. Microfilm copies (Periodicals Reading Room) All issues from 1851. |
|
|
New Zealand Digital Library (University of Waikato) Provides several document collections, including historical documents, humanitarian and development information, computer science technical reports and bibliographies, literary works, and magazines. All are available over the Web, and can be accessed through searching and browsing interfaces provided by the Greenstone digital library software. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
News (LexisNexis) Full text coverage of many radio, television, internet and print news resources. Includes wires, transcripts and press releases in sports, legal, medical, business, arts, university and world events. Dates of coverage vary, many update daily. Coverage: Updated daily. |
|
|
NewsDirectory.com (Tucows) Browse newspapers by country. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NewsHub (Tucows) Combs the Internet every 15 minutes, 24 hours a day to update information. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NewsLink (NewsLink Associates) Organized links to newspapers, magazines, television and radio news worldwide. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This comprehensive news source contains: full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers; 18 international newspapers; newswires from 6 sources including AP Online, Asia Pulse, Canadian Corporate News, Canadian Press Wire, Newsbytes News Service and World Stream Newswires; full text of The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times; and indexing and abstracts for USA Today, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
Newspapers from Around the World (Internet Public Library) The Internet Public Library (IPL) is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment at the University of Michigan School of Information. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Cengage) A searchable full-text facsimile-image database of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation chronicling American culture, daily life and events. |
|
|
NIST Chemistry WebBook (National Institute of Standards and Technology) The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook provides chemical and physical property data for a variety of compounds. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Enhanced digital companion to the NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions which is published in paper. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NLM Gateway (U.S. National Library of Medicine) A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple NIH databases. The current Gateway searches Medline/PubMed, TOXLINE Special, LOCATORplus, MedlinePlus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
NOAA (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) NOAA is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere. Includes the National Weather Service and the National Marine Fisheries Service. Note: Unrestricted access |