Database List : O

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

Occupational Outlook Handbook    (U.S. Department of Labor and others)
A list of resources related to this popular US department of Labor publication.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
ODS: Official documents of the United Nations    (United Nations)
The ODS comprises the full text of United Nations parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. The official record version of older United Nations resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards are stored separately on ODS in the “Resolutions” database, accessible only from the advanced search screen.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OECD Factbook    (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OECD Policy Brief    (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Policy Brief contain concise summaries of country economic surveys and today's global policy challenges.   Report A Problem
OECD.StatExtracts    (Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development )
This database from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development provides access to the core for OECD countries and selected non-member countries. Covers historical and current information on: country profiles, gross domestic product (GDP), goverment debt, labor/labour market, economic indicators, consumer price indexes (CPI), foreign aid, agriculture, health expenditure, education, population, trade, productivity, energy, environment.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OED Online    (Oxford English Dictionary)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialized periodicals to film scripts and cook books. Hundreds of new entries are added annually.   Report A Problem
Old Magazine Articles.com    (Matt Jacobsen and others)
An indexed eclectic collection of PDFs of old articles, essays, poetry, cartoons and photographs collected from a number of different libraries, bookshops and yard sales throughout the United States and Europe.
The site states "To the best of our understanding, all the content is in the public domain (with the clear exception being the RSS feeds on the Latest Fashions" page and the "Education" page)". Check the Auraria Library catalog by journal title.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Omnibus Surveys    (U.S. Department of Transportation)
These include a monthly household survey of 1,000 households each month, which collects data on core questions about general travel experiences, satisfaction with the system, and some demographic data. And targeted surveys to address special transportation issues, as the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) operating administrations need them
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
On Beyond Google: Using The Open Web For Expert Results Research Guide    (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Online Public Access (OPA)    (U.S. National Archives)
Simultaneously search multiple online resources from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, NARA.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Online Schools Directory    (Online schools)
National directory of colleges, universities and technical schools that offer online educational options. Listings by state.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Online Schools Directory    (Online schools)
National directory of colleges, universities and technical schools that offer online educational options listed by state.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Online Schools: Colorado    (Online schools)
Directory of technical colleges, community colleges, four-year colleges, and universities in Colorado that offer online programs.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OnlineNewspapers.com    (Web Wombat)
Created and maintained by Web Wombat, this metasite claims to index more than 10,000 online newspapers from around the world.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open Access News    (Peter Suber)
The open access movement: Putting peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly literature on the internet. Making it available free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Removing the barriers to serious research. Brief overview of OA
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open Access Thesis and Dissertations (OATD)    (OATD Steering Committee)
Use OATD to find full-text/open access graduate theses and dissertations from colleges, universities, and research institutions worldwide.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open CRS    (Center for Democracy & Technology)
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports.  A related site is the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open Directory Project    (The Open Directory)
The Open Directory Project is a large human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open J-Gate    (Informatics (India) Ltd.)
Open J-Gate, an electronic portal to global journal literature, indexes articles from academic, research and industry journals (more than half are peer-reviewed scholarly journals). Search for articles by keyword, author, title, etc. All articles are full text and open access (freely available to the user).
Coverage: Updated daily
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Open Library    (Internet Archive)
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and is funded in part by a grant from the California State Library. This is an Open project - the software is open, the data is open, the documentation is open, and the site is open.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OpenDOAR    (University of Nottingham)
The Directory of Open Access Repositories allows you to search for repositories, search repository contents, view a list of repositories and view repository statistics. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
OpenSky    (National Science Foundation, National Center for Atmospheric Research)
OpenSky is the open access institutional repository supporting the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) which manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado and the UCAR Community Programs (UCP), extending free and open access for the benefit of research and education.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Opera in Video (streaming video)    (Alexander Street Press)
Opera in Video is a collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Note: Use this link to cross-search all Auraria Library Alexander Street streaming video databases.
Note: Mobile enabled. Look for the mobile phone icon with a green plus sign.
Note: Auraria campus students and faculty members may bring a current campus I.D. to the Reserves & Video counter to borrow headphones for use on Auraria Library computers or in-house laptops.   Report A Problem
Opposing Viewpoints    (Gale Cengage)
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (OVIC) presents both sides of difficult "hot topic" issues using articles, essays, primary documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, statistics, court case overviews, profiles of government and special interest groups, web-sites, and podcasts.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Optics InfoBase    (Optical Society of America)
Optics InfoBase is the Optical Society of America's full text repository of both current and past volumes of all its journals. It also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.
Note: Create a personal account to access the OSA Communities connecting with other scholars in the field.   Report A Problem
Organic Syntheses    (CambridgeSoft Corporation)
Online version of the print OrganicSyntheses set which provides full text detailed experimental methods for the synthesis of organic compounds.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Original Sources    (Western Standard Publishing Company)
Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Formerly known as American Reference Library.   Report A Problem
Oxford African American Studies Center    (Oxford University Press)
The Oxford African American Studies Center database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online focusing on African American and African history and culture. It provides access to a core collection of reference materials published by Oxford University Press, including 7500+ articles by top scholars in the field. In addition, it provides access to 1000+ images, 100+ maps, 100+ charts and tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries. Updated 3 to 4 times annually.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Oxford Art Online    (Oxford University Press)
Includes Grove Art Online (a comprehensive online encyclopedia of the visual arts including articles and images), Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Oxford Bibliographies Online    (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a collection of scholarly discipline-based subject modules of recommended significant sources. OBO links directly to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data set needed. Auraria Library’s subscription covers Medieval Studies, Islamic Studies, and Buddhism which may be searched separately or all at once.
Coverage: Content reviewed annually   Report A Problem
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf    (Oxford University Press)
A list of and links to the scholarly reference titles in the Arts (including dance and decorative arts), Literature and language, history and culture, African-American history, science and social sciences from Oxford University Press.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Technology    (Oxford University Press)
Examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times including articles on military leaders, battles, sieges, individual fortresses, and military technology focusing on subjects such as armor, navigational techniques, and siege warfare tactics. In addition, each regional overview, such as Britain, the Byzantine Empire, and Hungary, includes a discussion of primary sources, an introductory narrative, and an entry on historiography.   Report A Problem
Oxford Handbooks Online: Business and Management     (Oxford Handbooks Online)
Gives access to eBooks covering a variety of business and management topics. Auraria Library has purchased access to full text of titles published to OHO in the September, 2009 and the May, 2010 and the September, 2010 updates.
Note: All handbooks, except those with a closed padlock icon next to the title, are available full text.   Report A Problem
Oxford Journals    (Oxford University Press)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Coverage: Varies
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
Oxford Music Online    (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press) includes Grove Music Online (full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem