|
Pacer (Administrative Office of the United States Courts) PACER is an electronic service run by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on a cost-recovery basis. The service provides access to case and docket information from Federal Appellate, District and Bankruptcy courts, and the U.S. Party/Case Index, which is a national locator for cases filed in federal courts. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
PAIS International (ProQuest) Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources. Coverage: 1914- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Palgrave Connect eBooks: Literature and Performing Arts (Palgrave Macmillan) eBooks covering drama, literature, theatre, and film topics. |
|
|
Palgrave Connect eBooks: Political Science and International Studies (Palgrave Macmillan) eBooks covering political topics and international issues. |
|
|
Palgrave Connect eBooks: Social and Cultural Studies (Palgrave Macmillan) eBooks covering educational, gender, social, and cultural topics. |
|
|
PAN Pesticide Database (Pesticide Action Network) The Pesticide Action Network, PAN, Pesticide Database brings together a diverse array of information on pesticides from many different sources, providing human toxicity (chronic and acute), ecotoxicity and regulatory information for approximately 5,400 pesticide active ingredients and their transformation products, as well as adjuvants and solvents used in pesticide products. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Digital edition (University of Virginia Press) This collection includes the full-text of collected public and private papers of the third president of the United States, author of the Declaration of Independence, and a chief figure of the Enlightenment. |
|
|
Past Masters (Intelex) Full-text philosophical writings including Aristotle: Complete Works, British Philosophy: 1600-1900, Continental Rationalists, Dewey: Collected Works, Dewey: Lectures, Hegel: OUP Translations, Peirce: Writings, Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill, and Wittgenstein: Collected Works. |
|
|
Patent Layout (Inventor Basics, Tyler Wilde) This is an annotated view of all the parts of a US patent. The site in general provides information on US patents to inventors, investors, and small businesses. Note: Unrestricted access Best viewed in Internet Explorer. |
|
|
Patents (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases) (U.S. Department of Commerce) All U.S. patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current U.S. classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent. Coverage: 1790- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Pathfinder News Now (Time, Inc.) Guide to the websites of Time, Inc. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Peer Reviewed, Refereed and Scholarly Journals: How To Find Them Research Guide (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
Peer-Reviewed Instructional Materials Online Database (PRIMO) (ALA) The PRIMO Database is a collection of peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 (Accessible Archives, Inc.) The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered the New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of the time. Also included is the full-text of such writings as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. Coverage: 1728-1800 |
|
|
Perseus Digital Library (Gregory Crane, Tufts University) Text and graphics of Ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology, and Latin literature. Includes Aristophanes, Demosthenes, Lysis, Plato, Xenophon, Pliny the Elder, Plutarch, Thucydides. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Personal Financial Planning Research Guide (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
Peter's Digital Resource Shelf (Peter Jacso) News highlights and reviews of electronic resources for information professionals. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Peterson's (Thomson Peterson's) Information on colleges and universities, graduate and undergraduate programs, applications, funding (scholarships and grants), testing and more from a leading publisher of reference material. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Pew Global Attitudes Project (Pew Research Center) The Pew Global Attitudes Project is a unique, comprehensive, internationally comparable series of surveys available to journalists, academics, policymakers and the public. It aims to gauge attitudes in every region toward globalization, trade and an increasingly connected world; to measure changes in attitudes toward democracy and other key issues among some of the European populations surveyed in the 13-nation 1991 benchmark survey, the Pulse of Europe (also directed by Dr. Albright and Mr. Kohut); to measure attitudes about terrorism; to examine the intersection between the Islamic faith and public policy in countries with significant Muslim populations; and to more deeply probe attitudes toward the United States in all countries. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Pew Research Center for People and the Press (Pew Research Center) An independent opinion research group with polls on political topics often cited in the newspapers. Formerly, the Times Mirror Center for the People & the Press. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Philosopher's Index (Ebsco) Philosophers Index provides indexing and abstracting for books and journals in philosophy. Fields covered include aesthetics, political philosophy, ethics, epistemology, social philosophy and logic. Coverage: 1940- Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (Philosophy Documentation Center) Philosophy Online (previously named Poiesis) is a database of current and recent issues of dozens of philosophy journals from philosophical societies, university departments and presses, and commercial publishers in several countries. Those journals listed that are subscribed to individually by the Auraria Library are available full-text in Poiesis. |
|
|
Physical Review Online Archive (American Institute of Physics) Online access to the publications of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) including Physical Review A - E, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review Special Topics and Reviews of Modern Physics. |
|
|
PhysNet (PhysNet) Physics related free-access journals from PhysNet, an international effort to support the research, teaching and public understanding of physics to develop, establish, and maintain a high quality, relevant, global, coherent and synergetic communication and information set of services for physics. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases (Agricultural Research Service) Compiled "rather randomly from the literature on economic plants" this database is nonetheless extensive and informative. Dr. Jim Duke has devoted a lifetime to studying botanical medicines. Check out his books. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Pics4Learning (Tech4Learning) A usable image library for teachers and students. The Pics4Learning collection consists of thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Pics4Learning is developed as part of the Partners in Education program by Tech4Learning, and the Orange County Public Schools Technology Development Unit. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Picsearch (Picsearch) A search engine to find images on the web. It has a relevancy algorithm and a filtering system. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Picture Australia (PictureAustralia) Began in 1998 as a pilot project called ImageSearch, it involved the Australian War Memorial, the National Library of Australia, and the State Libraries of New South Wales, Tasmania and Victoria. Following the very strong support it was expanded into a new service to libraries, galleries, museums, and archives. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
PILOTS - Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (Proquest) The Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, PILOTS Database, from the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It indexes literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. |
|
|
Plant Information Online (University of Minnesota Libraries) Plant Information Online offers a collection of databases including Plant and Seed Sources, Book and Magazine Citations to Plant Info & Images, and Selected Links to Plant Info & Images. Coverage: 1982- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Plant Sciences Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage) A basic encyclopedia of botany. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
PLANTS database (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service) The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Play Index (Ebsco) This index makes it possible to identify plays by a variety of criteria including: number of female/male characters, genre (comedy, monologue, etc), topic, intended audience (child/adult), title and playwright. Once a play is identified, open the record and select "Find this play in a book" to determine if the play is part of a print collection of plays. The Library has many play collections and individual plays in its circulating collection. |
|
|
PLoS (Public Library of Science) PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine are online open access peer-reviewed journals . Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Political Science Research Guide (Auraria Library, L. Treff-Gangler) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
POPLINE (Info Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and the U.S. AID) Database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
PopNet (Population Reference Bureau) Browsable, comprehensive directory of population-related websites available by organization, by region and country, or by topic within countries. There is a new search feature linked from the search button at the bottom of the page. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Population Index on the Web (Princeton University) An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database of abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index. Coverage: 1986-2000 Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
PR Newswire (United Business Media) This an electronic distribution, targeting, measurement, translation and broadcast service to reach a wide audience with up-to-the-minute, full-text news developments. Reading it is free (searchable); posting to it is for members. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Primary Search (Ebsco) Primary Search provides indexing and full-text for popular magazines on many topics and pamphlets for elementary school research. It includes the third edition of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, the Encyclopedia of Animals for info on the nature and habitat of familiar animals, and a large image collection of photographs, maps, and flags. Note: Mobile interface |
|
|
Princeton Review (Princeton Review) Information on all aspects of the college or graduate/professional school admissions process. GMAT, MCAT, GRE, SAT, PSAT, financial aid, graduate school rankings, career information, etc. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (U.S. Library of Congress) The catalog (PPOC) of the Library of Congress contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library. The catalog provides access through group or item records to about 50% of the Division's holdings. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations. The Library provides rights information wherever possible as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron. An online exhibit area of selected historical materials is at the Prints and Photographs: an illustrated guide. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Private Company Reports (U.S.) (LexisNexis) Direct search of LexisNexis' US Private Companies Group File that covers more than 200,000 private companies. |
|
|
Project Euclid (Cornell University Library) Provides fulltext access to scholarly journals in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Auraria Library has access rights to most of the journals in the database. Coverage: Varies |
|
|
Project Gutenberg (Project Gutenberg) Original provider of free to use (out of copyright in the US) and free of cost online ebooks. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Project Muse (Project Muse) Provides full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Current issues and backfiles. Try the Australian mirror site if this one does not work. |
|
|
Prokaryotes (Springer) Provides a comprehensive phylogenetic classification of all bacterial genera. You will see a list of the seven volumes. Search all the volumes at once through the search box on the right. |
|
|
Promoting Your Research Research Guide (Auraria Library, J. Beall) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
PROMT (Gale Cengage) Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use it to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. Coverage: 1999- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Prospector (Alliance) The unified catalog (index) of Auraria, Colorado College, Colorado State University, Denver Public Library, Fort Lewis College, Jefferson County Public Library, Regis University, University of Colorado at Boulder, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, University of Colorado Law Library, University of Denver, University of Denver Law Library, University of Northern Colorado, including government publications not in the Auraria Library.. Online requests can be made for documents to be sent to the Auraria Library in 2 business days. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile interface |