|
Sage Journals Online (Sage) Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications. Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1. |
|
|
Sanborn Maps of Colorado (University of Colorado Boulder) A digital collection of Sanborn fire insurance maps of cities across Colorado. The collection contains 346 maps of 79 principal cities in 52 counties covering the years 1883-1922. Available in a keyword search or a map interface search. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SBRNet (Sports Business Research Network) This site covers all aspects of the sports industry, linking to market research reports, industry news, and thousands of Web sites related to sports and recreation businesses, activities and products. |
|
|
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (Penn State) SCETI, a fully integrated digital library, was created in 1996 to publish virtual facsimiles of rare books and manuscripts in the Penn Library's collections. Primary source materials including the Furness Shakespeare collection and ERIC (English Rennaissance in Context) Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Scholarly Journals on the Web (University of Houston) This directory provides links to established Web-based scholarly journals that offer access to English language article files without requiring user registration or fees. Full text. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
School Facts (Piton Foundation) This database provides information about schools in the Denver Public Schools system. Includes student demographics (income, race/ethnicity, average daily attence, percentage of student suspensions); experience & turnover of teachers, principal and staff; school performance ratings and CSAP scores, school performance data, |
|
|
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) The Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO is a refereed electronic library covering a selected collection of scientific journals in portuguese, spanish and english. The library is divided into collections from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Public Health (World Health Organization, WHO) and Spain. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Science Accelerator (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Search collections of DOE research results, project descriptions, and accomplishments. These collections enable you to find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search scientific e-prints, locate science conference papers and proceedings, and more. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation) Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Science and Technology ES (Smithsonian Institution) Science & technology collections, exhibits and artifacts from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Science and Technology Learning Materials (Merlot) Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on science and technology. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Science.gov (science.gov alliance) Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities from the publisher Elsevier. As of Aug. 2010 ScienceDirect has been renamed SciVerse ScienceDirect. Sciverse Scopus is not available, Auraria Library subscribes to Web of Science. Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link. |
|
|
SciFinder Scholar (American Chemical Society) Electronic version of Chemical Abstracts, covers journal articles, patents, technical reports, books, etc. and the substructure module (SSM). Already registered? Sign in and begin searching SciFinder Scholar. First time users click here to register. (Important!! Use your campus email, not your personal email.) Coverage: 1907- Note: We are working on getting off campus access; presently you must be on campus to access Scifinder. |
|
|
SciPer (Universities of Leeds and Sheffield) Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical is a searchable electronic index to the science content of sixteen nineteenth-century general periodicals. |
|
|
SCIRUS (Elsevier) Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). It includes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). More about SCIRUS. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Scitopia Partners List (Scitopia.org) The Scitopia partner societies regret to announce that the Scitopia free federated search portal has been discontinued in 2012. All of the Scitopia partners wish to thank our users for their support over the last few years, and we encourage you to visit the sites of the society partners for the best scholarly content in science and technology. |
|
|
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive (University of Virginia) The University of Virginia Scripps Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. Coverage: 1940- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SCRIPT-ed (AHRB Research Centre for Studies in Intellectual Property and Technology Law (United Kingdom)) An online, international, interdisciplinary and multi-lingual forum for articles, reports, commentaries, analysis, case and legislation critiques and book reviews pertaining to law and technologies in the broadest sense. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Search for Scholarships (Back to College) Includes multiple web-based scholarship databases. Though originally intended as a resource for adults returning to college, this information is applicable to all population groups looking for internet databases on funding opportunities. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SEC Filings and Reports (LexisNexis) EDGAR filings, annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements. At Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Full text. |
|
|
Shakespeare Resource Center (J. M. Pressley) The bardweb is a collection of links from all over the web to help locate information on William Shakespeare. |
|
|
Shakespeare Survey (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) The online version of the annual yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production published since 1948. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays and contains a section of reviews on that year's critical studies and of the year's major British performances. The Surveys are also illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs. Coverage: 1948- |
|
|
Shepard's Citations (LexisNexis) A direct citation search for US Supreme Court Cases. |
|
|
SHERPA (University of Nottingham) SHERPA is investigating issues in the future of scholarly communication. It is developing open-access institutional repositories in a number of research universities to facilitate the rapid and efficient worldwide dissemination of research. Use this site to find information, advice and materials relating to building and using repositories. There is also a summary of open access and guidance for authors. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Short Story Index (Ebsco) Short Story Index locates over 96,000 works of short fiction in anthologies and periodicals. Selected stories are available in full text after 1994. Users can identify stories by author, title, or subject. Coverage: Indexed 1984 - |
|
|
SIAM Journals Online (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) Includes full text access to all current SIAM journals. This link will also lead to LOCUS which is SIAM's Online Journal Archive that stretches back to 1952. Coverage: 1997- |
|
|
SIC Code (U.S. Department of Labor) Search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure from the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA). Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Skyline (Auraria Library) Auraria Library Catalog. Use it to locate all books, journals, videos, DVDs, CD-ROMs, audio books, ebooks, kits, skeletons, newspapers, magazines and electronic resources at the Auraria Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Skyline, the Auraria Library Catalog (Auraria Library) |
|
|
Small Business Resources (American Library Association) American Library Association (ALA) recommendations and resources created by business librarians, including the Best of the Best Business Web sites. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Social Explorer Professional (Oxford University Press) Users can create demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1790 to the present. Users can visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. And users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. Auraria Library provides premium access to this database. Coverage: 1790- |
|
|
Social Science Research Network (Social Science Electronic Publishing Inc. (SSEP)) Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 800 leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Note: Unrestricted access with registration |
|
|
Social Sciences Learning Materials (Merlot) Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on social sciences. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Social Work Research Guide (Auraria Library, L. Treff-Gangler) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science. Coverage: 1963- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
Sociology Research Guide (Auraria Library, E. Baker) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
Something About the Author (Gale Cengage) Use SATA to find biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of books for young people as well as illustrations, author photos, and citations for further research. Coverage: 2009- : Earlier volumes in print format: REF PN451 .S6. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
|
|
SORA - The Searchable Ornithological Research Archives (University of New Mexico) The SORA project is a collaborative open access electronic journal archive.This archive provides access to international Ornithological literature and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. The content of this site includes the following titles: The Auk (1884-1999), The Condor (1899-2000), The Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), The North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), and The Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999). Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) A non-profit legal organization organized to fight all forms of discrimination and to protect society's most vulnerable members, handling innovative cases that few lawyers are willing to take. It investigates and monitors hate and tracks extremist activity throughout the U.S in response to a resurgence of such groups. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
Spanish Language and Literature Research Guide (Auraria Library, N. McCaslin) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
|
|
SPARC (Association of Research Libraries) Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) is an alliance of academic and research libraries and organizations working through advocacy, education, and incubation of alternatives to correct market dysfunctions in the scholarly publishing system. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SPIE Digital Library (SPIE) Full text access to the SPIE ebooks, journals and proceedings, covering the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging. Coverage: 1990- |
|
|
SPIN (InfoEd) SPIN (the Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a database of federal, non-federal and corporate funding opportunities designed to assist faculty and staff in the identification of external sources of support for research, education and development projects. Access available through the UCD Health Science Campus Office of Sponsored Programs. Note: In Library use only. |
|
|
SPIN and Scitation (American Institute of Physics) Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms. While anyone can search Scitation, searching the SPIN database requires a subscription - either personal or institutional - to one of the publications hosted on Scitation. Links from SPIN to source journals are available for off-platform articles. Coverage: 1975- Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SPIRO (Architecture Visual Resources Library, University of California, Berkeley) SPIRO is the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs. Note: Unrestricted access |
|
|
SportDiscus (Ebsco) Indexes periodicals, theses, conferences and other writings on sports, leisure, and physical fitness. Updated weekly. Coverage: books & theses 1949- , journals 1975- Note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users, please log out when finished. Mobile interface |
|
|
SpringerLink (Springer) Scientific, technical, and medical ebooks and online journals from Springer-Verlag and other major STM publishers. Springer “ebook to print book” print on demand service is now available. Look for a link in the ebook record. |
|
|
SRDS (SRDS Media Solutions) SRDS is a search engine for media opportunities and marketing information. It includes demographic and lifestyle information for counties and metropolitan areas in the U.S, as well as rates and contact data for national and/or international magazines, digital media, newspapers, television, radio, direct marketing, and out-of-home businesses. SRDS includes 15 separate datasets: 1) Business Media Advertising Source, 2) Consumer Media Advertising Source, 3) Direct Marketing List Source, 4) Interactive Advertising Source, 5) Local Market Audience Analyst, 6) Newspaper Media Advertising Source, 7) Out of Home Advertising Source, 8) Print Media Production Source, 9) Radio Advertising Source, 10) TV & Cable Source, 11) IMG Business Asia Pacific, 12) IMG Business – Americas, 13) IMG Business – Europe, 14) IMG Consumer, and 15) IMG Newspaper (IMG is International Media Guide). Note: Requires an IE browser on a PC for this database. Note: SRDS does not work on Macs or with the Firefox browser. |