Database List : U

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Browse Databases by Title

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory    (LSU Libraries)
Originally created in 1994, the directory is a partnership of Louisiana State University and the Federal Depository Library Program. The directory lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual. Indentations will inform the reader of the institution's place in the hierarchy. If an institution is not represented here, try the parent organization. Searchable by agency keyword (e.g., Treasury Bureau) NOT subject.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
U.S. Government Agencies Research Guide    (Auraria Library, B. Cronin)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
U.S. Industry and Trade Data and Analysis    (U.S. Department of Commerce)
This single-source, industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy offers: new macro forecast for U.S. industries, highlighting trends and top performers; historical data on shipments, imports, exports, and employment; discussions of industry trends, technology, and international competition; one-, two-, and five-year forecasts; recent trade patterns and major country markets; graphs highlighting domestic and international trends; expanded coverage of industries driving the information technology revolution as well as several other important industries; detailed discussions of E-commerce vis-a-vis specific industries; and reference lists for further research.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Ulrich's Serials Analysis System    (ProQuest)
Ulrichs Serials Analysis System is a tool for librarians who need to identify, analyze, evaluate and create reports about their print and electronic serials holdings.   Report A Problem
Ulrichsweb    (ProQuest)
This directory identifies active and defunct periodicals of all types and can be used to identify: peer-reviewed publications, academic and journalistic writing outlets, and the universe of periodicals within subject areas.
Note: For information about the journals only. There is no linked access to Auraria Library content. To reach Auraria Library content search Skyline for the journal title.   Report A Problem
UN Conference on Trade and Development    (United Nations)
Established in 1964, UNCTAD promotes the development-friendly integration of developing countries into the world economy. UNCTAD has progressively evolved into an authoritative knowledge-based institution whose work aims to help shape current policy debates and thinking on development, with a particular focus on ensuring that domestic policies and international action are mutually supportive in bringing about sustainable development.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
UN Data    (United Nations Statistical Division)
Since the foundation of the United Nations, the UN Statistical Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has been collecting statistical information from member states on agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Users can search and download the statistical resources of the UN system including the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (MBS) and the Demographic Yearbook System.
Note: Unrestricted access to non-subscription content.
UN Datasets Information.   Report A Problem
UN Economic Commisssion for Europe, International Statistics    (United Nations)
Lists of and links to statistical agencies around the world created by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Note the link to statistical database which focuses on Europe and North America.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
UNBISnet    (United Nations)
The UNBISnet (UN bibliographic information system) is the catalogue of United Nations (U.N.) documents and publications indexed by the U.N. Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the U.N. Office at Geneva.
Coverage: 1979 -
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
UNICEF Country Statistics    (United Nations Childrens Fund)
Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Uniform Crime Reports    (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Includes several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted and special studies, reports, and monographs are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. In addition, information about the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) is available.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
United Nations Economic Development Resources    (United Nations)
United Nations web resources related to world development issues including the Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), Trade and Development (UNCTAD), Environment (UNEP), Human Settlements (UN-Habitat), Drugs and Crime (UNODC), Development Programme (UNDP).   Report A Problem
United Nations Population Information Network    (United Nations)
Aguide to population information on the UN system websites.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
United States Congress, Committee Hearings, Internet Resources Research Guide    (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.   Report A Problem
Universal Citation Guide    (American Association of Law Libraries)
This guide contains a set of universal citation standards that can be used to locate and cite law in both books and in electronic formats. It contains rules that enable researchers to make accurate, unambiguous citations on various legal authorities, including judicial opinions, constitutions, statutes, etc.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
University of Chicago Press Journals    (University of Chicago Press)
Full text access to about 50 journals in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.Off campus users may not be able to see PDFs larger than 350kB. Use the full text link instead.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.   Report A Problem
US Code / Law (2006 ed.)    (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. Since 1926, the United States Code has been published every six years. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published and available on the U.S. House of Representatives website (search 1994 to present). For laws after 2006 search the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) which publishes the official code as it changes quarterly from 1997 through the current year.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
USA Spending    (Office of Management and Budget (OMB))
The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006, full text of the Transparency Act (PDF File), requires that the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) establish a single searchable website, accessible to the public at no cost. Updated in October 2010 to display of first-tier sub-award data (subcontracts and subgrants). Sub-award information shown on the website is provided by FSRS (see Sources of Data). The latest guidance documents pertaining to sub-award reporting can be found under News. Includes interactive awards by state graphic.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
USA Trade Online    (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
This portion of the Census Bureau website provides detailed statistical import/export data by country for 18,000 commodities.  Please return to the USA Trade Online home page to logout.
Note: In Library use only. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.   Report A Problem
USAGov    (U.S. General Services Administration)
A new address and a new name for FirstGov.gov. USA.gov is now the official U.S. gateway to all current government information. FirstGov en Espanol.
Coverage: Current websites only. For government sites that are no longer live try the Wayback Machine or the CyberCemetary
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Useit.com    (Jakob Nielsen)
Website on useability and web design, includes original papers and collected links to articles on the web.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
USGS Historical Topographic Maps    (Google Earth Gallery)
Historical digitized US Geological Survey (USGS) topographical maps from the 1940s to the 2000s.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
USGS National Geologic Map Database (NGMD)    (U.S. Geological Survey)
The National Geologic Map Database contains digital copies of recent and historic geologic maps of the United States and its territories. Features include an advanced search, an index of geologic terms, information about current geologic mapping projects, and MapView, a map-based visual browsing interface.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Using English    (UsingEnglish.com)
UsingEnglish.com is a general English website, specializing in English ad a second language (ESL) with resources for learners and teachers.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem
Using Primary Sources on the Web     (RUSA, ALA)
Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When used with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research.
Note: Unrestricted access   Report A Problem