Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on "http: found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Academic Search Premier Plus   (Ebsco)
Searches Academic Search Premier, eBook Collection and Audiobook Collection simultaneously. Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Coverage: varies, generally from 1998-, some from 1945, 1975
Note: Mobile interface for Academic Search Premier.
US Code / Law (2006 ed.)   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. Since 1926, the United States Code has been published every six years. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published and available on the U.S. House of Representatives website (search 1994 to present). For laws after 2006 search the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) which publishes the official code as it changes quarterly from 1997 through the current year.
Note: Unrestricted access
LexisNexis Academic   (Lexis Nexis)
Full text coverage of many news, legal, and business resources. Online tutorials to help you search.
Coverage: varies, generally from 1994-, NY Times back to 1980
America: History and Life with Full Text   (Ebsco)
America history and life is an index to journal articles, books and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. For articles on the history of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Coverage: index 1954- Updates monthly.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado, Denver   (Proquest)
This database is a subset containing only University of Colorado Denver content of the (ProQuest) Dissertations & Theses A&I database which indexes from 1861 onward , provides abstracts from 1980 onward, and allows 24-page previews from 1997 until the present.
Colorado State Publications   (Colorado State Library and the Colorado Department of Education)
The State Publications Library provides Colorado residents with convenient access to information produced by state government through a system of acquiring and loaning publications as well as answering questions related to state information. State publications are valuable sources of information published by state agencies that include annual reports, budgets, planning reports, newsletters, consumer information, legislative reports, and directories. They cover a wide variety of topics including health, business, education, crime, agriculture, mining, employment, taxes, water quality, wildlife, and the environment.
Note: Unrestricted access
World Economic Outlook   (International Monetary Fund)
Annual economic and financial survey compiled by the International Monetary Fund. Presents analysis and projection of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups, and in many individual countries. Index to publications.
Note: Unrestricted access
BIOSIS Previews   (Thomson ISI)
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) is an index to biological and biomedical literature in journals, patents, meetings and books. Includes abstracts. Search BIOSIS Previews, Medline and Web of Science simultaneously.
Coverage: abstracts 1926-
Chronicle of Higher Education   (The Chronicle of Higher Education)
Leading newspaper/website in the field of higher education. Here are selected links to portions of the website.
  News: Faculty RSS
  News: Administration RSS
  News: Technology RSS
  News: Community Colleges RSS
  News: Special Reports
    Diversity in Academe
  Data: Facts & Figures
    2011 Almanac of Higher Education
    2010 Almanac of Higher Education
    2009 Almanac of Higher Education
  Blog: Wired Campus RSS
  Blog: ProfHacker RSS
  Topics: Teaching RSS
  Topics: Research RSS
  Topics: Academic Freedom RSS
  Topics: Curriculum RSS
  Topics: Libraries RSS
  Topics: Distance Education RSS
  Topics: Technology RSS
  Topics: Leadership & Governance RSS
  Advice: Manage Your Career RSS
  Advice: Do Your Job Better RSS
ECanon   (James R. Adair)
ECanon, a part of TC: A Journal of Biblical Textual Criticism, is a database of canonical texts, currently containing various versions of the Bible and is designed to be a free online tool for scholars, students, clergy, and other interested people. Text available in English and Greek. Bible translations include the King James Version, Revised Standard Version, New Revised Standard Version, and Westcott and Hort Greek New Testament.
Note: unrestricted access
Health Information   (U.S. National Institutes of Health)
Consumer resources on health topics from the health related agencies of the United States government presented by the National Institutes of Health. To focus on scholarly resources on medical topics use the Auraria Library access to PubMed. Logging in will allow the citations found in PubMed to be linked to full text resources purchased by Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Country Profiles   (LexisNexis)
Data and articles about countries from several sources. This is the main easy search screen, the country profiles search form is in the lower left corner of the screen. This search only allows searching one source at a time. For more quick facts on a country try the Country Studies / Area Handbooks from the Library of Congress or the CIA World Factbook.
Rocky Mountain News   (Multiple sources)
Rocky Mountain News (1859 - 2009) was the oldest newspaper in Colorado.
  America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Index and full text excluding ads from 1989 - 2009.
  Rocky Mountain News (Rocky Mountain News) Access to articles in the paid archive, which go back to 1989, are not free.
  Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection (Colorado State Library) Searchable digitized issues from 1860-1875.
  Microfilm copies (Periodicals Reading Room) All issues from 1878 - 2009.
LOCUS   (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
LOCUS is SIAM's Online Journal Archive. This link will also lead to full text access to all current Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) journals.
Coverage: 1952-
Emerald Full Text   (Emerald)
Provides full text access (click on 'Fulltext' icon to search) to journals in management, human resources, information management, library and information services, marketing, operations management, production management, and training and education. Also includes engineering journals. Check the catalog Skyline for specific journal titles availability.
Coverage: varies widely ~1995-
Envirofacts Warehouse   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Envirofacts Warehouse allows you to retrieve environmental information from EPA databases on air, chemicals, facility information, hazardous waste, risk management plans, Superfund, toxic releases, and water permits. You may retrieve information from several databases at once, or from one database at a time. Note: expert searchers "technical users" may want to register to have access through the Direct Connect Option, see http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/technical.html
Note: Unrestricted access
Financial Aid   (BrainTrack)
Established in 1996, BrainTrack includes a directory of worldwide higher education institutions. BrainTrack may be used to find schools and careers of interest through the College and Career Guide. Also includes original articles on accreditation, financial aid, transfers and studying in the U.S. and interviews with college and career experts.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Books   (Google)
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. You'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book, depending on a few different factors. About Google Books.
Note: Unrestricted access
Highwire Press   (Highwire)
A database of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the sciences and medicine. Many articles are full text and freely available, while some require a subscription. Browsing Tips.
Note: Unrestricted access
Historical Abstracts with Full Text   (Ebsco)
Index to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updates monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life
Coverage: 1955-
IOP Journals   (Institute of Physics)
Full text article access to all Institute of Physics (IOP) journals by journal. To search across several IOP journals go to their search page.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
Educational CyberPlayground   (Karen Ellis)
Online educational resources for teachers, parents and everyone. Includes the National Children's Folksong Repository.
Note: Unrestricted access
LegalTrac   (Gale Cengage)
Article citations and summaries for law-related topics from law reviews and journals. Some documents available online. Alternate access from on campus.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Making of America   (Multiple sources)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan.
Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877
Note: Unrestricted access
Drudge Report   (Drudge Report)
An online newswire service. Provides links to web sites of international news services, journalists/columnists, and people in the news. Includes search engines for AP, UPI, and Reuters news services and links to front pages of 292 newspapers from 39 countries.
Note: Unrestricted access, includes prominent advertisements and is sometimes blocked by internet providers security systems.
Education Development Center   (EDC)
An international non-profit which manages 335 projects in 50 countries that address challenges in education, health, technology and human rights. The efforts are based on the "conviction that learning is the liberating force in human development." Projects include the Digital Divide Network, The Initiative for Pediatric Palliative Care at the Center for Applied Ethics and Professional Practice and Resources for Educators at the Center for Science Education.
Note: Unrestricted access
Military Education and Research Library Network (MERLN)   (U.S. Department of Defense)
MERLN provides public access to the library holdings and electronic information resources of many U.S. Defense agencies. It also includes the Military Policy Awareness Links - MiPALs - which provide direct access to defense-related U.S. policy statements on selected key topics.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Technical Information Service   (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Technical and government contractor reports which are usually the result of U.S. government sponsored research grants and produced by universities or research centers. Abstracts of reports, many of which are available from the National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project or the University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library, which has an extensive, comprehensive, historical collection in microfiche of technical reports from various federal agencies such as NTIS, NASA, Atomic Energy Agency (AEC), and Dept. of Energy (DOE). An interlibrary loan request will produce a microfiche copy of the report which you may keep or donate back to the Auraria Library. Be sure to indicate clearly on your request that it is a U.S. government technical report to be requested from UC Boulder.
Coverage: 1964-
Note: Unrestricted access
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)   (U.S. Department of Justice)
Database containing summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This site ONLY searches the Abstracts database. There are some articles online. For the online collection, go to the advanced website search of the NCJRS Virtual Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
TRAIL: Technical Reports Archive and Image Library   (Center for Research Libraries (CRL))
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is a cooperatively developed searchable archive of digitized federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. The repository documents are housed at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, in the HathiTrust Digital Repository and in the University of North Texas Digital Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Science.gov   (science.gov alliance)
Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page.
Note: Unrestricted access
Project Muse   (Project Muse)
Provides full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Current issues and backfiles. Try the Australian mirror site if this one does not work.
PsycINFO   (ProQuest)
PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines. -- Search PsycInfo, PsycArticles and Sociological Abstracts simultaneously.
Coverage: 1840-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey   (U.S. Geological Survey)
A catalog of USGS Publications (current and historic maps, aerial photos, satellite images, datasets, reports) and other products (screensavers, earth science image sets for teaching) available for purchase or for free download. see also How to obtain publications of the USGS and USGS publications warehouse.
Note: Unrestricted access
International Field Guides   (Diane Schmidt, University of Illinois Library)
A searchable database of field guides for plants, animals and other objects in North America and around the world, classified by type of organism and region covered. Eighteen categories are represented: from animals and edible plants, to flora and fauna, and miscellaneous. Check the Auraria Library catalog to see which guides we have in our collection.
Note: Unrestricted access
ScienceDirect   (Elsevier)
Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities from the publisher Elsevier. As of Aug. 2010 ScienceDirect has been renamed SciVerse ScienceDirect. Sciverse Scopus is not available, Auraria Library subscribes to Web of Science.
Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.
Wall Street Journal   (Multiple sources)
  Wall Street Journal (Proquest) Full text of the Eastern edition at Proquest. Coverage: 1984-
  Wall Street Journal Only headlines are available to non-subscribers, but they often offer a short free trial.
Internet Detective   (Intute Virtual Training Suite and Learn Higher Project)
Use this free Internet tutorial to learn to discern the good, the bad and the ugly for your online research. Other free tutorials.
Note: Unresticted access
WorldCat   (OCLC)
This database represents the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 63 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world; each record contains library holdings. ~1000 A.D.-present. A quick web version is available at the WorldCat website.
Course Reserves   (Auraria Library)
Faculty at Auraria sometimes place documents, videos and books on reserve (in paper or electronic formats) for their courses. Search this database for a specific course by instructor, department or course number. Faculty can find information on placing materials on reserve at the reserves department page.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog   (U.S. Library of Congress)
The catalog (PPOC) of the Library of Congress contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library. The catalog provides access through group or item records to about 50% of the Division's holdings. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations. The Library provides rights information wherever possible as a service to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron. An online exhibit area of selected historical materials is at the Prints and Photographs: an illustrated guide.
Note: Unrestricted access
TestLink   (Educational Testing Service)
The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Provides information on tests from the early 1900s to the present. The tests in this collection are from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, Great Britain and Australia. How to search.
Note: Unrestricted access
Dissertations & Theses A&I   (ProQuest)
Previously known as Digital Dissertations. Bibliographic citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from graduate schools and universities. Titles published since 1997 have 24 page previews available. Now includes full text of the University of Colorado Systems dissertations on Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System.
Coverage: index 1861- , abstracts 1980- , previews 1997-
AlterNet   (Independent Media Institute)
This is an online magazine and information resource from the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization for independent and alternative journalism. The archive includes more than 7,000 stories from over 200 sources.
Coverage: 1994-
Note: Unrestricted access
Ecolex   (FAO, IUCN, UNEP)
A gateway to information about environmental law has been developed by combining the legal libraries of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
Note: Unrestricted access
International Statistics   (United Nations)
Lists of and links to statistical agencies around the world created by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Note the link to data on-line which focuses on Europe and North America.
Note: Unrestricted access
PopNet   (Population Reference Bureau)
Browsable, comprehensive directory of population-related websites available by organization, by region and country, or by topic within countries. There is a new search feature linked from the search button at the bottom of the page.
Note: Unrestricted access
New York Stock Exchange Fact Book   (New York Stock Exchange)
Data about stock market activity, stock price trends, information on listed companies, and the investing public, institutional investors, trading in international securities on the NYSE, the NYSE community, security market credit, and bonds. Current activity as well as a historical perspective is available. Not published in paper anymore. For previous years see HG4571 .N56 in the Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
PLoS   (Public Library of Science)
PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine are online open access peer-reviewed journals .
Note: Unrestricted access
Definition of Open Access   (PubMed Central)
PubMed's definition adapted from the Bethesda Statement on Open Access Publishing.
Note: Unrestricted access
Denver Post   (Multiple sources)
   News (LexisNexis) Indexed full text coverage from 1994. New interface August 2007.
   America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Index and full text from June 1989.
   Denver Post (Denver Post) Most stories remain searchable (for free) for 60 days. Access to articles in the Denver Post archives which go back to 1993 are not free.
   Current paper issues (Periodicals Reading Room) Approximately the last week.
   Microfilm copies (Periodicals Reading Room) All issues from 1895.
Reuters News   (Reuters)
Free current news and pictures from the Reuters news network. For in-depth industry information and overviews try IBISWorld, Business Source Premiere, Business and Company Resource Center or Hoover's Online.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Bar Association   (Colorado Bar Association)
Website of the Colorado Bar Association. Primarily for members but there is a list of continuing legal education programs available to anyone.
Note: Unrestricted access to site, members only access to resources
New York Times   (Multiple sources)
   News (LexisNexis) Search articles from 1969-present. Get full-text from 1980-present, text only.
   New York Times (New York Times) The NYT site supplies full-text for 1987-present in .html at no cost, and for 1851-1922 in .pdf format, for a fee..
   America's Newspapers (Newsbank) Full-text from 1995-present, text only.
   Academic OneFile Plus (Gale-Cengage) Search from 1980–present, get full-text from 1985–present, text only.
   Digital microfilm (ProQuest) Only available in IE browser.  View entire East coast late edition for January 2008 until two months ago.
   Current paper issues (Periodicals Reading Room) Approximately the last week.
   Microfilm copies (Periodicals Reading Room) 1851-2008.
Federal Aviation Administration   (U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration)
The official site of the FAA with information on aircraft, airports, air traffic, data and research, licenses and certificates, training and testing, regulations and policies. For a repackaging of this info by a commercial site see the Aviation Reference Desk.
Note: Unrestricted access
Bureau of Labor Statistics   (U.S. Department of Labor)
Statistics related to U.S. and foreign labor, employment, wages, earnings and benefits, inflation and consumer spending including the Consumer Price Index. see also the agencies listed at FedStats - Labor. Use Economy at a Glance for state economic statistics.
Note: Unrestricted access
Economic Report of the President   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Annual Economic Reports of the President transmitted to the Congress of the United States. Includes links to Economic Indicators and the Budget. Also in print at GOVPUB REF Pr 42.9
Coverage: 1995-
Note: Unrestricted access
Electronic Frontier Foundation   (EFF)
EFF is a nonprofit group working focused on digital rights. There is a section which advocates for legalizing music file-sharing.
Note: Unrestricted access
PR Newswire   (United Business Media)
This an electronic distribution, targeting, measurement, translation and broadcast service to reach a wide audience with up-to-the-minute, full-text news developments. Reading it is free (searchable); posting to it is for members.
Note: Unrestricted access
CAM on PubMed   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the NLM partnered to index articles on complementary medicine.  This research data has been added to the larger PubMed database.  CAM on PubMed is a subset of PubMed and is searched through restricting PubMed searches to those items indexed as "related to complementary and alternative medicine".  Access CAM on PubMed through this link to be automatically directed to the full text resources available only to students, faculty and staff at the Auraria Campus.
Note: Non-Auraria patrons use this access point to search the public version of the CAM on PubMed index.
Legal Information Institute   (Cornell University Law School)
LII publishes electronic versions of core materials in law and links to other resources including Wex, its legal encyclopedia and its U.S. Supreme Court Collection.
Note: Unrestricted access
SCIRUS   (Elsevier)
Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). It includes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). More about SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access
United Nations Statistical Databases   (United Nations)
The UN Statistical Databases (UNSD) includes statistics, information on events and initiatives, methodological and data publications, and info on national statistical systems. Includes the Demographic Yearbook.
Note: Unrestricted access to non-subscription content
Library of Congress Classification Outline   (U.S. Library of Congress)
A description of the filing system for most books and other materials in Auraria Library and in most academic or research libraries. Detailed description.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Scholar (login required)   (Google, CrossRef)
Leading journal publishers are participating in a CrossRef Search Pilot program to open up scholarly materials to full-text searchability. Initially content was taken from 29 of the more than 1500 CrossRef collaborative publishers and societies, but has now extended to any publisher not specifically preventing access. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
The editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labeled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an inaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available through Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Avalon Project   (Yale Law School)
Text versions of historical documents in law, history, economics, politics, government and diplomacy with source information and links. Includes Project Diana an online human rights archive.
Coverage: 4000 bce -
Note: Unrestricted access
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations   (NDLTD)
An open access collection of theses and dissertations from over 200 universities and institutions worldwide. There are two search engines for this database, VTLS and SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access
Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases   (Agricultural Research Service)
Compiled "rather randomly from the literature on economic plants" this database is nonetheless extensive and informative. Dr. Jim Duke has devoted a lifetime to studying botanical medicines. Check out his books.
Note: Unrestricted access
Webopedia   (JupiterWeb)
Online dictionary and search engine for computer and Internet technology definitions. Includes a quick reference section with links to practical information.
Note: Unrestricted access
Industry Information Resources   (Integra Information)
Provides links to lists of industry resources for over 250 industries. Students have access, coutesy of Auraria Library, to many of these commercial databases. Check the Auraria Library catalog Skyline or the Industries databases.
Note: Unrestricted access
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy   (Stanford University)
In this dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed before they are made public.
Note: Unrestricted access
Uniform Crime Reports   (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Includes several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted and special studies, reports, and monographs are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. In addition, information about the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) is available.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Atlas of the United States   (U.S. Geological Survey with other government agencies & Environmental Systems Research Institute)
USGS was coordinated and lead the effort of more than 20 Federal agencies. Nationalatlas.gov is the new National Atlas of the United States. Like its predecessor, this new atlas provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.
Note: Unrestricted access
Student Aid on the Web   (U.S. Department of Education)
Describes educational funding and loan repayment considerations (The Student Guide). Also provides information about preparing for college, selecting a school, and applying to a program tailored for students, parents or counselors. Available in English and Spanish.
Note: Unrestricted access
SpringerLink   (Springer)
Scientific, technical, and medical ebooks and online journals from Springer-Verlag and other major STM publishers.
Springer “ebook to print book” print on demand service is now available. Look for a link in the ebook record.
DPL Western History/Genealogy Department   (Denver Public Library)
The Western History Collection and the Genealogy Collection holdings started being collected in the first decades of the twentieth century, 1935 and 1910 respectively (history of the collection).
Note: Unrestricted access
Guide to Computing Literature   (Association for Computing Machinery)
This is an index of materials from the key publishers in computing (of which ACM is one); including books, journals, proceedings and theses. The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by ACM and selected other materials.
NARA   (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, NARA, an independent Federal agency. It is America's national recordkeeper charged with ensuring ready access to the essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of Federal officials, and the national experience. see also digitized photos and documents in the Exhibit Hall. Opportunities for public comment.
Note: Unrestricted access
Writing Center    (UCD)
Offers writing assistance to all of the UCD community -faculty, staff, students and alumni. In person and online (online is Sun.-Thu. 8 pm to 11 pm).
Note: Unrestricted access
Writing Center.   (Metro State)
Available to any Metro student, the composition instructors and trained writing tutors at the lab work with you to develop your writing abilities. Online help also known as SmartThinking, is available.
Note: Unrestricted access
Movies   (The New York Times)
Browse or search 10,000 New York Times movie reviews. Included in the free review archive are all films reviewed since 1980, reviews of all Best Picture Academy Award winners, as well as The New York Times guide to Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made. In paper from 1950-1995 at Ref PN 1995 .N4.
Note: Unrestricted access
Open Access News   (Peter Suber)
The open access movement: Putting peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly literature on the internet. Making it available free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. Removing the barriers to serious research. Brief overview of OA
Note: Unrestricted access
Internal Revenue Code   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Title 26 (the Tax Code of the United States) from GPO. Or search the code from GPOAccess.
Note: Unrestricted access
Open CRS   (Center for Democracy & Technology)
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports.  A related site is the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT.
Note: Unrestricted access
USAGov   (U.S. General Services Administration)
A new address and a new name for FirstGov.gov. USA.gov is now the official U.S. gateway to all current government information. FirstGov en Espanol.
Coverage: Current websites only. For government sites that are no longer live try the Wayback Machine or the CyberCemetary
Note: Unrestricted access
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)   (Multiple sources)
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center. Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials.
  ERIC (Ebsco) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available (mobile interface).
  ERIC (ProQuest) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
  ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
  ERIC (U.S. Government Printing Office) Federally funded ERIC documents (a small percentage) from October 2002 to the present are available online.
Coverage: Abstracts:1966- ; Full text 1993-
In the First Person   (Alexander Street Press)
A free index to thousands of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives. Only a portion of the material referred to is currently available online for free. If asked for a userid and password that group of documents is NOT free to Aurarians. Try Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment for original source material that is available online.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Tips for Shepardizing Cases   (Syracuse University College of Law)
Provides guidance on how to Shepardize cases using the print volumes of Shepard's. The library references within it are to the library at Syracuse University, not to Auraria Library. The only online Shepard's available at Auraria Library is for the Supreme Court in LexisNexis.
Note: Unrestricted access
European Space Agency   (European Space Agency)
The Agency's projects are designed to find out more about the Earth, its immediate space environment, the solar system and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries. ESA also works closely with space organisations outside Europe to share the benefits of space with the whole of mankind.It has an extensive program of satellite monitoring the earth environment (air and water pollution, ozone, weather)
Note: Unrestricted access
Sanborn Maps of Colorado   (University of Colorado Boulder)
A digital collection of Sanborn fire insurance maps of cities across Colorado. The collection contains 346 maps of 79 principal cities in 52 counties covering the years 1883-1922. Available in a keyword search or a map interface search.
Note: Unrestricted access
Web of Science   (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Technical Support
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image   (Penn State)
SCETI, a fully integrated digital library, was created in 1996 to publish virtual facsimiles of rare books and manuscripts in the Penn Library's collections. Primary source materials including the Furness Shakespeare collection and ERIC (English Rennaissance in Context)
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Revised Statutes   (Colorado General Assembly)
The Colorado General Assembly has provided (via LexisNexis) the full text of the Colorado Revised Statutes online. (Microsoft Internet Explorer version 4.0 or above recommended.)
Note: Unrestricted access
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)   (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Center for Economic Documents Digitization)
An open archive of economic statistical publications and data, including an image library of economic statistical publications and the data extracted from those publications. Each data point is linked to its source publication. Use in connection with data contained in FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Data). The ability to retrieve series presented in preliminary, revised, and final releases provides a powerful tool in recreating and evaluating previous economic research and policy. Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Note: Unrestricted access
Marquis Biographies Online   (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, and the many Who's Who (aka Online Biographies) from Marquis ... in the Library in print.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished
Small Business Resources   (American Library Association)
American Library Association (ALA) recommendations and resources created by business librarians, including the Best of the Best Business Web sites.
Note: Unrestricted access
American FactFinder   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
A fairly easy to use source for population, housing, economic, and geographic from the census bureau. They also have data sets for download.
Note: Unrestricted access
SIAM Journals Online   (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
Includes full text access to all current SIAM journals. This link will also lead to LOCUS which is SIAM's Online Journal Archive that stretches back to 1952.
Coverage: 1997-
New Zealand Digital Library   (University of Waikato)
Provides several document collections, including historical documents, humanitarian and development information, computer science technical reports and bibliographies, literary works, and magazines. All are available over the Web, and can be accessed through searching and browsing interfaces provided by the Greenstone digital library software.
Note: Unrestricted access
NOAA   (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere. Includes the National Weather Service and the National Marine Fisheries Service. Also available is the Copyright Primer.
Note: Unrestricted access
OECD Policy Brief   (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Policy Brief contain concise summaries of country economic surveys and today's global policy challenges.
CUFTS   (Simon Fraser University Library)
The CUFTS knowledgebase includes a Journal Search to find which CUFTS electronic collection contains a journal title. Resource Comparison feature provides lists to analyse overlapping and unique journal titles and coverage dates in CUFTS electronic collections. Auraria Library has two similar databases that intergrate into our catalog Skyline to perform similar functions.
Coverage: Updated irregularly
Note: Unrestricted access
Medline   (Multiple sources)
Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  The Medline link above uses the NLM Gateway.  Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search.
See also:
  Medline (Thomson ISI) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science.
  PubMed Medline is the primary component of PubMed.
  MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).
Code of Federal Regulations   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
The CFR contains the permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the U.S. Federal Government. Divided into 50 titles (broad regulatory areas), print volumes are updated annually and issued quarterly. See e-CFR (beta) for a current, unofficial version.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Rhetoric   (Michael E. Eidenmuller, University of Texas, Tyler)
Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. See also a special issue: The Rhetoric of the 9-11
Note: Unrestricted access
Arago: People, Postage & the Past   (Smithsonian National Postal Museum)
Research history through stamps and create you own collection using this extensive website from the Smithsonian National Postal Museum.
Note: Unrestricted access
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
IUCN - The World Conservation Union, through its Species Survival Commission (SSC) assesses the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and selected subpopulations on a global scale to highlight taxa threatened with extinction, and therefore promote their conservation. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria
Note: Unrestricted access
Faculty of 1000 - Biology   (Biology Reports Ltd., BioMed Central)
An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of thousands of leading researchers. Includes content of The Scientist.
Guidelines for Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses   (Graduate School - UCD)
Guidelines For Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses. Graduate School, University of Colorado Denver Downtown Denver Campus, April 2006. See also Grad Student policies page for CLAS
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)   (American Association of University Professors)
The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Note: Unrestricted access
Occupational Outlook Handbook   (U.S. Department of Labor and others)
A list of resources related to this popular US department of Labor publication.
Note: Unrestricted access
OECD Factbook   (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators.
Note: Unrestricted access
Eurostat   (European Commission)
European Commission data and forecasts on the European Union as a whole or on separate countries within the Union. Eurostat relies on each country to send in their data, so it is sometimes incomplete. The site includes the Eurostat Yearbook
Note: Unrestricted access
Dred Scott Case Collection   (Washington University in St. Louis)
The records document Dred and Harriet Scotts' early struggle to gain their freedom through litigation and are the only extant records of this significant case as it was heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court. Additional resources and LexisNexis State & Federal Cases.
Flora of North America   (Flora of North America Association)
The Flora of North America presents information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all of the more than 20,000 species of plants native to or naturalized in North America north of Mexico. More floras available at .
Note: Unrestricted access
Old Magazine Articles.com   (Matt Jacobsen and others)
An indexed eclectic collection of PDFs of old articles, essays, poetry, cartoons and photographs collected from a number of different libraries, bookshops and yard sales throughout the United States and Europe.
The site states "To the best of our understanding, all the content is in the public domain (with the clear exception being the RSS feeds on the Latest Fashions" page and the "Education" page)". Check the Auraria Library catalog by journal title.
Note: Unrestricted access
EndNote Web   (Thomson ISI)
First time users: Login to Web of Science first, then register for a personal account. If you are already registered use the EndNote Web link above. Short EndNote Web training videos are available.
Note: If errors appear when trying to reach EndNote Web try clearing your cache.
Sage Journals Online   (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1.
Grove Art Online   (Oxford University Press)
Grove Art Online is included in Oxford Art Online. It is no longer a separate product.
Grove Music Online   (Oxford University Press)
Grove Music Online content has been included in Oxford Music Online. It is no longer a separate product.
Library Jargon Glossary   (Association of College and Research Libraries)
The Glossary is divided into two parts: (1) the Language Table, which presents a list of these terms in six languages, and (2) the Definitions, which give explanations in English for each of the terms. In the Definitions, a few terms have multiple meanings, each of which is indicated by Arabic numerals.
Note: Unrestricted access
Skyline, the Auraria Library Catalog   (Auraria Library)

Native American Ethnobotany   (Daniel E Moerman, University of Michigan Dearborn)
A Database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants. Results link you to an automatic search of the PLANTS database from the USDA, Natural Resource Conservation Service.
Note: Unrestricted access
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database   (Therapeutic Research Center)
A database of evidence-based, clinical information on natural medicines. Access to 2 seats provided by the UC Denver Health Sciences Library, Florence G. Strauss Indigenous Medicine Collection Fund.
Note: Please log out when finished.
Faculty of 1000 - Medicine   (Medicine Reports Ltd., BioMed Central)
An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in medical research, based on the recommendations of thousands of leading researchers. Includes content of The Scientist.
Thinkfinity   (Verizon Foundation)
Thinkfinity is an educational resource site including good quality subject-specific 'reference' sites. You can limit by 'higher education' and then by such resource types as 'reference' and 'primary resources.'
Also try the Literacy Network for resources about teaching literacy.
Note: Unrestricted access
TED Talks   (TED Conferences)
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. Initially (1984) it was simply a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Now it uses all sorts of technology to spread the ideas including conferences.
Note: Unrestricted access
Campus Research   (Westlaw)
Campus Research (from Westlaw) is a collection of news, business and law-related resources. It is divided under two content tabs, News & Business and Law.
Note: The Basic search in Westlaw is only available on campus.
Research Guide (s)   (Auraria Library)
Your librarians have created numerous guides to get your research underway. Often, a librarian will create a guide in consultation with your professor for your class. Check the Class Guides links to see if there is a guide for your course. If not, there’s a complete listing of Subject Guides that supply recommendations for starting research in different disciplines. The "How Do I?" guides provide pointers and tips for basic questions like ‘what’s a scholarly journal?,’ ‘how do I print from a wireless connection,’ and ‘how do I find books? Videos?
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
European Parliment   (European Union)
The EUs Fact sheets on the European Union are broken down in two ways -- by Topics and by Contents. These are essentially different ways of presenting the main subject areas discussed in the fact sheets.
Note: Unrestricted access
Hartford Institute for Religion Research   (Hartford Seminary)
The Hartford Institute for Religion Research (HIRR) at the Hartford Seminary in Hartford, MA has extensive online resources for the social/scientific study of religion, including articles, religious statistics, research resources, and links to the web pages of scholars working in the fields of sociology of religion and religion research.  Includes the Encyclopedia of Religion and Society,  William H. Swatos, Jr. Editor.
Note: Unrestricted access
Hydraulic Fracturing Information   (Colorado Oil & Gas Conservation Commission)
The Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (COGCC) has been monitoring the effects of oil and gas development on groundwater for many years. Study reports are available online from the COGCC library. Reports focusing on the Denver Julesburg Basin as well as other areas of Colorado are included.
Note: Unrestricted access
Natural Gas Extraction - Hydraulic Fracturing   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
The EPA's focus and obligations under the law are to provide oversight, guidance and, where appropriate, rulemaking that achieve the best possible protections for the air, water and land where Americans live, work and play. The Agency is investing in improving our scientific understanding of hydraulic fracturing, providing regulatory clarity with respect to existing laws, and using existing authorities where appropriate to enhance health and environmental safeguards. Hydraulic fracturing is one of several issues (Air, Climate Change, Emergencies, Green Living, Health and Safety, Land and Cleanup, Pesticides, Chemicals and Toxic Waste, and Water) addressed in the EPA's Learn the Issues webpages.
Note: Unrestricted access
NewsLink   (NewsLink Associates)
Organized links to newspapers, magazines, television and radio news worldwide.
Note: Unrestricted access
FedStats   (U.S. Federal Agencies with Statistical Programs)
FedStats shows the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by Federal agencies.
Note: Unrestricted access
Creative Commons   (cc)
Creative Commons offers a flexible range of protections and freedoms for authors and artists. A nonprofit built upon the "all rights reserved" of traditional copyright to create a voluntary "some rights reserved" copyright.
Note: Unrestricted access
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals   (American Chemical Society)
Full text access to all ACS journals. Look for the tab that says "Search the journals" or browse by journal.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
Note: On campus only link
Business Source Premier   (Ebsco)
Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Note: Mobile interface
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health)   (Ebsco)
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
ARTstor   (ARTstor)
ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of art, architecture, archeology, and humanities images, with descriptive information. ARTstor includes an OIV (offline image viewer). Images may be viewed and analyzed in the OIV, using features such as zooming, panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared use, or creating presentations to be delivered either online or offline. PowerPoint images may now be incorporated into the OIV. ARTstor continually adds digital collections to the database.
Note:
  The current version requires IE7, Firefox 2.0 or Safari 3.0. If you are in an older browser you must upgrade to use ArtStor.
  The complete functionality of ArtStor including creating folders and using the OIV is not available on an iPad because iPads do not support Java technology. To use these functions you need to use a laptop or desktop computer.
  Monitor resolution should be set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher for optimal use of ArtStor.
  Try clearing your browser cache if you have problems viewing ArtStor.
  If you have questions about using ArtStor, please contact Linda Tietjen, Arts & Architecture Collection Development Librarian, at 303-556-4298.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text   (Ebsco)
Citations, summaries and/or full text of U.S. & international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, and government and other reports, on many criminal justice topics; including crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Coverage: 1968-
Note: Mobile interface
Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Current Index to Statistics   (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics)
Index to journal articles, proceedings, book chapters, etc. about statistics and related subjects.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Searching terminology is a little different .. see Help.
Black's Law Dictionary   (Westlaw)
Legal definitions, quotations, alternative spellings, legal abbreviations. New terms in the 2004, 8th edition include "Amber Alert," "antispamming law," "Child Online Protection Act," "cyberpiracy," "cyberterrorism," "chad," "repressed-memory syndrome," "ethnic cleansing," "Strategic National Stockpile," and "grandparent rights."
Note: The Basic search in Westlaw is only available on campus.
EconLit with Full Text   (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals   (Ebsco)
An international bibliography of scholarly writings and primary source documents (journal articles, reviews, news columns and advertisements) on 19th century musical history and culture including ethnomusicology, genres of music, history of musicology, instruments, music theory, notation, performance practice, theory and analysis.
Coverage: 1800-1950
Note: Mobile interface
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia   (Ebsco)
This online encyclopedia, updated annually, consists of over 25,000 informative articles on a wide range of subjects. Useful for high-school and lower-division college level research.
Note: Mobile interface
GeoRef   (Ebsco)
Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and maps in Geology and the Earth Sciences. Includes GeoRef in Process content.
Coverage: North American geology from 1785-; international geology from 1933-
Note: Mobile interface
IEEE Xplore   (IEEE)
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
Coverage: 1988-
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished. Mobile interface
JSTOR   (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences Collections and Life Sciences Collection. Searches in JSTOR also allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 3-5 years before the present though current content is available in many cases.
Note: PDF Help
Note: Current Scholarship Program information
Left Index   (Ebsco)
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
MAS Ultra -School Edition   (Ebsco)
Useful for high school and community college level research, this database provides full text for over 500 general interest publications, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Emphasis is on recently published material; some key resources go back as far as 1975.
Coverage: ~1985-
Note: Mobile interface
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros)   (Ebsco)
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests. Online version contains 9th (1985) Yearbook through the current edition.
Coverage: updated semi-annually
Note: Mobile interface
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with full text (LISTA)   (Ebsco)
LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings in online information retrieval, information management, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, etc.
Note: Mobile interface
Middle Search Plus   (Ebsco)
Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets and primary source documents. Also included: Essential Documents in American History, 116,000 images (photos, maps and flags), and 96,600 biographies.
Coverage: Full text 1989- Indexes & abstracts 1984-
Note: Mobile interface
Music Index   (Ebsco)
The Music Index indexes (geographically as well as by subject area) international music periodicals and covers all styles and genres of music. It also cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, as well as news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Coverage: 1976-
Note: Mobile interface
eBooks Collection   (Ebsco)
Online access to full-text eBooks in multiple disciplines.
Note: Download directions.
Note: Limited to one simultaneous user.
Newspaper Source   (Ebsco)
This comprehensive news source contains: full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers; 18 international newspapers; newswires from 6 sources including AP Online, Asia Pulse, Canadian Corporate News, Canadian Press Wire, Newsbytes News Service and World Stream Newswires; full text of The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times; and indexing and abstracts for USA Today, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Note: Mobile interface
Bibliography of Native North Americans   (Ebsco)
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Note: Mobile interface
Philosopher's Index   (Ebsco)
Philosophers Index provides indexing and abstracting for books and journals in philosophy. Fields covered include aesthetics, political philosophy, ethics, epistemology, social philosophy and logic.
Coverage: 1940-
Note: Mobile interface
Primary Search   (Ebsco)
Primary Search provides indexing and full-text for popular magazines on many topics and pamphlets for elementary school research.  It includes the third edition of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, the Encyclopedia of Animals for info on the nature and habitat of familiar animals, and a large image collection of photographs, maps, and flags.
Note: Mobile interface
Prospector   (Alliance)
The unified catalog (index) of Auraria, Colorado College, Colorado State University, Denver Public Library, Fort Lewis College, Jefferson County Public Library, Regis University, University of Colorado at Boulder, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, University of Colorado Law Library, University of Denver, University of Denver Law Library, University of Northern Colorado, including government publications not in the Auraria Library.. Online requests can be made for documents to be sent to the Auraria Library in 2 business days.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile interface
LGBT Life   (Ebsco)
LGBT Life indexes literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues. Comprehensive coverage ranges from traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional periodical publications to books, bibliographies and dissertations.
Note: Mobile interface
Regional Business News   (Ebsco)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.
Note: Mobile interface
Datamonitor 360   (Datamonitor)
Access to lengthy industry reports authored by independent experts in their fields. Coverage of: Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Energy and Telecommunications. Each report includes: case studies; quantitative analysis; interviews with industry executives; discussion of strategic, and more. Previously named Reuter's Business Insight.
Note: Datamonitor 360 will no longer be published after August 2012. For additional industry information and overviews try IBISWorld, Business Source Premiere, Business and Company Resource Center or Hoover's Online.
RILM: Abstracts of Musical Literature   (Ebsco)
Citations and abstracts on international music. Updates monthly.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
SportDiscus   (Ebsco)
Indexes periodicals, theses, conferences and other writings on sports, leisure, and physical fitness. Updated weekly.
Coverage: books & theses 1949- , journals 1975-
Note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
Mobile interface
Statistical Insight   (ProQuest)
Statistical Insight (Proquest) (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe) contains statistical tables from the U.S., state and major international intergovernmental organizations. And indexes additional statistics from these government agencies, independent professional, trade, and research organizations; universities; and commercial publishers. Many of these abstracts are linked to the full text documents on other web sites.
Coverage: 1973- ; full text 1997-
Note: A quick overview to help you get started using Statistical Insight
TOPICsearch   (Ebsco)
A multidisciplinary, full text, current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Over 1,100 magazines, 150 newspapers, 400 pamphlets, 1,500 popular biographies, 800 book reviews, numerous government reports, and 15,000 public opinion polls are included. An excellent place to start if you need help choosing a topic.
Coverage: 1990 -
Note: Mobile interface
Value Line Investment Survey   (ValueLine)
Company/industry investment information service. Offers 3-to-5 year projections of key financial measures; commentary on current operations and future prospects; and a 'Timeliness Ranking,' reflecting a company's expected relative price performance in the year ahead. No online access.
Note: Paper version only. See the catalog record.
Communication and Mass Media Complete   (Ebsco)
CMMC indexes more than 400 communication and mass-media related journals with full text online available for about half of the journals. Many of the journals in CMMC have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present, dating as far back as 1915.
Note: Mobile interface
Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library   (Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation)
The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Digital Library contains RMMLF Annual Conference materials from 1955 to last year in a searchable format.
Coverage: 1955-
Note: Security certificate warnings may appear. It is safe to continue.
Note: No password required, click "Submit" to proceed.
Art Full Text   (Ebsco)
Full text plus abstracts/indexing of international peer-selected publications, including yearbooks and museum bulletins, covering Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism as well as advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, and sculpture.
Coverage: abstracts and indexing 1984- ; selected full text articles 1997-
Note: Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
PsycCritiques   (Ebsco)
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995.
Note: Mobile interface
WorldCat.org (or Open Worldcat)   (OCLC)
Do a quick search of 1.3 billion items in 10,000 libraries worldwide with OCLC's WorldCat. You may also add "find in a library" (with the quotes) or site:worldcatlibraries.org (no space after colon) to your web searches in Google or Yahoo to search the open access version of worldcat.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile interface
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text   (Ebsco)
A bibliographic and full-text database covering film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from journals and ebooks. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Note: Mobile interface
Art Retrospective   (Ebsco)
An in-depth record of contemporary art history. Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Note: Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
Campus Research - Law   (Westlaw)
Campus Research (from Westlaw) is a collection of news, business and law-related resources. It is divided under two content tabs, News & Business and Law. Campus Research - Law is a collection of law-related resources and includes important analytical sources, such as Am Jur 2d and the ALR's, as well as over 700 law reviews and journals. Primary Law Sources are also included, such as the United States Code Annotated (USCA or US Code), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and the Federal Register, as well as state statutes and regulations, and all federal and state cases.
Note: The Basic search in Westlaw is only available on campus.
WorldCat at Auraria Library   (Auraria Library)
Used to search for any materials in the Auraria Library from books and journals to ebooks, and from journal or newspaper articles to music and video online, both as scores or on CD/DVD. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Note: Mobile interface
Cambridge Journals Online   (Cambridge University Press)
This database provides full text access to 200+ journals published by Cambridge University Press. Journals represented are from a wide range of disciplines: archaeology and anthropology, biology, computer science, economics, history, literature, mathematics, medicine, etc.
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Mobile or low band width interface
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
Audiobooks Collection   (Ebsco)
Audiobooks in all subject categories.
Note: To download these audio books you must create and be logged into a free personal account and have specific software installed. Download directions.
Note: Limited to one simultaneous user.
Alt HealthWatch   (Ebsco)
Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, acupuncture and more. The content is from periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters.
Coverage: 1990-
Note: Mobile interface
GreenFILE   (Ebsco)
A multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Note: Mobile interface
Ulrichsweb   (ProQuest)
This directory identifies active and defunct periodicals of all types and can be used to identify: peer-reviewed publications, academic and journalistic writing outlets, and the universe of periodicals within subject areas.
Note: For information about the journals only. There is no linked access to Auraria Library content. To reach Auraria Library content search Skyline for the journal title.
Campus Research - News and Business   (Westlaw)
Campus Research (from Westlaw) is a collection of news, business and law-related resources. It is divided under two content tabs, News & Business and Law. Campus Research - News and Business includes newspapers, magazines, journals, international and foreign language publications, newswires, newsletters, and broadcast transcripts, as well as company information drawn from SEC filings and Hoover's company records.
Note: The Basic search in Westlaw is only available on campus.
European Union Law and Legal Information   (Westlaw)
European Union Law and Legal Information from Westlaw contains comprehensive coverage of European Union legal materials, including legislation, case law, preparatory documents, parliamentary questions, treaties, and information and notices (OJ C Series).
Note: The Basic search in Westlaw is only available on campus.
Bibliography of Scientific and Industrial Reports   (Robert L. Bolin, University of Nebraska Lincoln)
A catalog of formerly secret government research reports made available by the Federal Government after World War II.
Note: Unrestricted access
Copies of most of the documents listed in this index are available from the Library of Congress Duplication Service.
Teacher Reference Center   (Ebsco)
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Note: Mobile interface
Social Explorer Professional   (Oxford University Press)
Users can create demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1790 to the present. Users can visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. And users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. Auraria Library provides premium access to this database.
Coverage: 1790-
Note: Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.