Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on American Decades found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


American Decades Primary Sources   (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage)
This cross-disciplinary collection spans the 20th century with each volume in the set presenting full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
American Association for Cancer Research journals   (American Association for Cancer Research)
Access to five cancer research journals published by the American Association for Cancer Research.
Note: Indexed in PubMed.
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)   (American Association of University Professors)
The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Botanical Council Library Access (includes Herbalgram)   (American Botanical Council)
Scientific resources on herbal medicine from the American Botanical Council including the journal Herbalgram, a clinical guide to herbs, Commission E information, HerbPro, and HerbClip, a searchable database of reviews on current journal articles from a variety of publications.
American FactFinder   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
A fairly easy to use source for population, housing, economic, and geographic from the census bureau. They also have data sets for download.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Folklife Center   (U.S. Library of Congress, American Folklife Center)
These online oral history collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect; the stories of ex-slaves; an Appalachian fiddle tune heard around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music from shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Geophysical Union (AGU) journals   (American Geophysical Union)
Searchable online access to the AGU journals.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language   (Bartelby.com)
Fourth Edition, 2000. Over 90,000 entries feature new words and senses, audio word pronunciations, full-page colour illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Journeys   (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration including the journals and diaries of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download rare books, original manuscripts, maps and classic travel narratives.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Memory Collection   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Online primary source materials from The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Includes digital items such as George Washington's and Thomas Jefferson's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, and much more.
Note: Unrestricted access
American National Election Studies   (Stanford University and University of Michigan)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Notes   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
Note: unrestricted access
American Periodical Series Online   (ProQuest)
American Periodicals presents digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to 1900. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions; publications that reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel; literary publications like Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories and the Southern Literary Messenger, which includes contributions from Edgar Allan Poe; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Coverage: 1741-1900
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
American Presidency   (Smithsonian Institution)
The online manifestation of "The American Presidency: A Glorious Burden,"an exhibit from the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History of objects that represent the lives and times of the country's 42 presidents.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Presidency Project   (University of California, Santa Barbara)
The American Presidency Project is an archive of documents related to the study of the Presidency established in 1999 by scholars at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Rhetoric   (Michael E. Eidenmuller, University of Texas, Tyler)
Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. See also a special issue: The Rhetoric of the 9-11
Note: Unrestricted access
American Society of Microbiology Journals   (American Society of Microbiology)
Full text access to all the journals published by the American Society of Microbiology (ASM)
American Verse Project   (University of Michigan)
An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Note: Unrestricted access
American West   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains the digitized contents of The Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Contents include original manuscripts, ephemeral material (including trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets, etc.), maps, and rare printed works.
Asian American Studies Research Guide   (Auraria Library, K. Sobel)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature   (Bartelby.com)
Online versionof the 18 volume set, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writings on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.
Note: Unrestricted access
Dictionary of American History   (Gale Cengage)
Written by academic specialists, the signed and original articles in this resource range from 100-word definitions to 7,000-word essays. Topics range from specific places, incidents and institu-tions to broadly sweeping concepts, covering all aspects of American history and daily life including: sports, diplomacy, labor, art, economics, wars, institutions, legends, places, scandals, Acts of Congress, cultural icons, government agencies and much more. Illustrations and maps are also included.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
English and American Literature Research Guide   (Auraria Library, N. McCaslin)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Native American Ethnobotany   (Daniel E Moerman, University of Michigan Dearborn)
A Database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants. Results link you to an automatic search of the PLANTS database from the USDA, Natural Resource Conservation Service.
Note: Unrestricted access
Native American Studies Research Guide   (Auraria Library, D. Turner)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
North American plan for avian and pandemic influenza   (Security and Prosperity Partnership of North America)
The North American Plan for Avian and Pandemic Influenza outlines how Canada, Mexico and the United States intend to work together to combat an outbreak of avian influenza or an influenza pandemic in North America.
Note: Unrestricted access
Oxford African American Studies Center   (Oxford University Press)
The Oxford African American Studies Center database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online focusing on African American and African history and culture. It provides access to a core collection of reference materials published by Oxford University Press, including 7500+ articles by top scholars in the field. In addition, it provides access to 1000+ images, 100+ maps, 100+ charts and tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries. Updated 3 to 4 times annually.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Who's Who in American Art   (Marquis)
Biographies of the most noteworthy men and women in today's art world - including notable artists from the past.
Who's Who in American History   (Marquis)
Biographies of people who shaped American history.
Who's Who in American Politics   (Marquis)
Biographies of today's political leaders.
Working Bibliography of Japanese American Concentration Camp Art   (University of Maryland, Jane Dusselier)
Bibliography of works pertaining to classical, folk, craft and hobby art produced by Japanese Americans in concentration camps during World War II.
Note: Unrestricted access
America: History and Life with Full Text   (Ebsco)
America history and life is an index to journal articles, books and media reviews, and dissertations covering the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. For articles on the history of the rest of the world see Historical Abstracts.
Coverage: index 1954- Updates monthly.
Virtual Journals in Science and Technology   (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society)
Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each of the virtual journals presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, journals from participating publishers on AIP's Scitation, Science, and Nature.
Note: Unrestricted access
Chemistry.org   (American Chemical Society)
Chemistry for the non-chemist (policy makers, educators, enthusiasts) from the American Chemical Society.
Note: Unrestricted access
Biographies Online   (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, Who's Who in America, ... in the World, ... of American Women, ... in Science & Engineering, ... in American Law, ... in Medicine & Healthcare, ... in Finance & Business, ... in 20th Century America,... in the East, ... in the Midwest, ... in the South & Southwest, ... in the West, ... in Media & Communications, ... in Entertainment, ... in American Education, ... in American Nursing, ... in Religion, ... of Emerging Leaders in America and ... Among Human Services Professionals.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished
America's Historical Imprints   (Readex, a division of NewsBank)
America's Historical Imprints makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it includes the more than 37,000 works. Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
ASAE Directory   (American Society for Association Executives)
Directory of U.S. associations. Associations are self-added.
Note: Unrestricted access
Original Sources   (Western Standard Publishing Company)
Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Formerly known as American Reference Library.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
SPIN and Scitation   (American Institute of Physics)
Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996.
AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms.
While anyone can search Scitation, searching the SPIN database requires a subscription - either personal or institutional - to one of the publications hosted on Scitation. Links from SPIN to source journals are available for off-platform articles.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Unrestricted access
Thomas Global Register   (ThomasRegister)
This is a searchable database listing tens of thousands of American export companies in thousands of product categories. Free access if you register.
Note: Unrestricted access
HLAS Online   (U.S. Library of Congress)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Coverage: index 1936-
Note: Unrestricted access
Census.gov   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
Website of the U.S. Census Bureau. Comprehensive data on the United States summarized and analyzed.
Note: Unrestricted access
Climate Monitoring   (NOAA National Climate Data Center)
Presentations for the U.S. of climatic data summaries including precipitation and temperature data, snow data, global products, and drought monitoring.
Note: Unrestricted access
Natural Hazards Center Publications   (University of Colorado at Boulder)
Links to descriptions of individual publication series which are produced at the Hazards Center.
Note: Unrestricted access
Anthrosource   (American Anthropological Association)
Online, full-text access to 31 anthropology periodicals, including journals and newsletters. Some titles in the AnthroSource collection include: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, City & Society, Journal of Latin American Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, and Journal of Linguistic Anthropology.
ChoiceReviews.online   (American Library Association)
The online version of the print magazine CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education.
Cambridge Dictionaries Online   (Cambridge University Press)
Search in one of five English Language Teaching dictionaries: the Cambridge Dictionary of American English (1999); Cambridge International Dictionary of English (2000); Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs (1997); Cambridge Learner's Dictionary (2001); or Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms (1998).
Note: Unrestricted access
Universal Citation Guide   (American Association of Law Libraries)
This guide contains a set of universal citation standards that can be used to locate and cite law in both books and in electronic formats. It contains rules that enable researchers to make accurate, unambiguous citations on various legal authorities, including judicial opinions, constitutions, statutes, etc.
Note: Unrestricted access
Marquis Biographies Online   (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, and the many Who's Who (aka Online Biographies) from Marquis ... in the Library in print.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished
Chronicling America   (U.S. Library of Congress)
View newspaper pages from 1880 to 1922 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Also supplies information about newspapers published in the U.S. between 1690-present.
Coverage: 1690-
Note: Unrestricted access
Antarctic Bibliography   (American Geological Institute)
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. Produced with support from the National Science Foundation with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge.
Coverage: 1950-
Rocky Mountain Online Archive   (hosted by the University of New Mexico Libraries)
Information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. The online finding aids give detailed descriptions of historical primary source materials located at the different repositories.
Note: Unrestricted access
Biodiversity Heritage Library   (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”
Note: Unrestricted access
AIP Journals   (American Institute of Physics)
Full text access to all the AIP (American Institute of Physics) journals.
Coverage: From the beginning publication date of each journal
ACRLMetrics   (ACRL)
ACRLMetrics is a web portal that provides access to ACRL (American College of Research Libraries) and NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) academic library statistics.
Note:  
Librarian comments:  
Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Digital edition   (University of Virginia Press)
This collection includes the full-text of collected public and private papers of the third president of the United States, author of the Declaration of Independence, and a chief figure of the Enlightenment.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals   (American Chemical Society)
Full text access to all ACS journals. Look for the tab that says "Search the journals" or browse by journal.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
Note: On campus only link
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation   (Peter W. Martin, Cornell University Law School)
This online introduction to legal citation (2007 ed.) is focused on the forms of citation used in professional practice rather than those used in journal publication.
Note: Unrestricted access
Biographical Information   (LexisNexis)
Searches documents which contain biographical sources, people-related news sources and selected biographical stories, obituaries and business related stories covering company executives. At LexisNexis Academic under people. Full text.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index   (Gale Cengage)
A comprehensive index to more than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Index linked to many complete articles.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800   (Accessible Archives, Inc.)
The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered the New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of the time. Also included is the full-text of such writings as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne`s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
Coverage: 1728-1800
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment   (Alexander Street Press)
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent. Many materials supply descriptions of North America\\'s natural features and interactions among various cultural groups. Searchable by place, year, peoples, cultural/ personal events, flora, fauna, and other factors. Supplies unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women.
Coverage: 1534-1860
EconLit with Full Text   (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
Ethnic NewsWatch   (ProQuest)
Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol).
Coverage: 1990-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text   (Ebsco)
Index to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updates monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life
Coverage: 1955-
History and Culture ES   (Smithsonian Institution)
History & culture collections, exhibits and artifacts from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian.
Note: Unrestricted access
SORA - The Searchable Ornithological Research Archives   (University of New Mexico)
The SORA project is a collaborative open access electronic journal archive.This archive provides access to international Ornithological literature and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. The content of this site includes the following titles: The Auk (1884-1999), The Condor (1899-2000), The Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), The North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), and The Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999).
Note: Unrestricted access
Bibliography of Native North Americans   (Ebsco)
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Note: Mobile interface
Biography Reference Center   (Ebsco)
Full text biographical articles on Nobel Prize winners, authors, artists, politicians, world leaders, film directors, American reformers, musicians and composers from the ancient world to the present. Replaces and expands on Biographies Plus Illustrated from H.W. Wilson.
Art and Design ES   (Smithsonian Institution)
Art & design collections, exhibits and artifacts from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian.
Note: Unrestricted access
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers   (Gale Cengage)
A searchable full-text facsimile-image database of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation chronicling American culture, daily life and events.
Econ Data and Links (EDL)   (Dr. John A. Shaw)
Links to recent U.S. economic data, including population, income, productivity, poverty, money, federal finance, exchange rates, and prices. Created by a Professor Emeritus of Economics at California State University, Fresno.
Note: Unrestricted access
Google Scholar (login required)   (Google, CrossRef)
Leading journal publishers are participating in a CrossRef Search Pilot program to open up scholarly materials to full-text searchability. Initially content was taken from 29 of the more than 1500 CrossRef collaborative publishers and societies, but has now extended to any publisher not specifically preventing access. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
The editions freely available to Auraria Library patrons will have a link labeled "Auraria Library Resources". When you locate an inaccessible article here first check to see if other editions of the same item are available here. Then note the citation and use our journal finder in Skyline as another way to see what is available through Auraria Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Avalon Project   (Yale Law School)
Text versions of historical documents in law, history, economics, politics, government and diplomacy with source information and links. Includes Project Diana an online human rights archive.
Coverage: 4000 bce -
Note: Unrestricted access
Using Primary Sources on the Web    (RUSA, ALA)
Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When used with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research.
Note: Unrestricted access
DPL Western History/Genealogy Department   (Denver Public Library)
The Western History Collection and the Genealogy Collection holdings started being collected in the first decades of the twentieth century, 1935 and 1910 respectively (history of the collection).
Note: Unrestricted access
PsycARTICLES   (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Coverage: 1985- (unless otherwise noted)
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Literary Encyclopedia   (A network of scholars)
Profiles of the lives and works of literary authors whose works are valued in the English language, and other prominent figures such as philosophers and musicians whose lives and works are of interest to the literary reader.
Note: Unrestricted access
History Matters   (City University of New York and George Mason University)
A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning CUNY and the Center for History and New Media at GMU. Provides high school and college United States history teachers with access to online resources. The resources include teaching materials, primary documents (in text, image, and audio), discussion on United States history, and links to other Web resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Map Collections   (U.S. Library of Congress)
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form and are available inthis collection.
Note: Unrestricted access
PsycCritiques   (Ebsco)
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995.
Note: Mobile interface
Open CRS   (Center for Democracy & Technology)
American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports.  A related site is the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT.
Note: Unrestricted access
Intute   (Resource Discovery Network (UK))
Intute is designed to help the educator and researcher discover quality free web sites and online subscription databases in all subject disciplines. Scholars in the U.K. select and describe each site included in Intute. Formerly called Humbul Humanities Hub.
Tips for Shepardizing Cases   (Syracuse University College of Law)
Provides guidance on how to Shepardize cases using the print volumes of Shepard's. The library references within it are to the library at Syracuse University, not to Auraria Library. The only online Shepard's available at Auraria Library is for the Supreme Court in LexisNexis.
Note: Unrestricted access
America's News   (Newsbank)
Newsbank's America's News (previously known as America's Newspapers) provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including 11 Colorado newspapers. Each newspaper or wire service includes coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Coverage: Varies.
Denver Business Journal   (American City Business Journals, Inc.)
Online version of the weekly Denver business publication, Denver Business Journal.
Coverage: June 1996 -
Note: Click on the Denver Business Journal on the left. Then use the search box on the right to find articles.
Note: Limited to 15 simultaneous users.
ABC-CLIO eBooks   (ABC-CLIO)
Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional electronic books from a leading university, academic and professional publisher. The Library does not own many ebooks from this publisher. Please contact us if you would like other books in this format.
Teacher Toolbox   (Collaborative Digitization Program)
The teacher toolbox at the Collaborative Digitization Program (started in Colorado) includes a repository of lesson plans for teachers using the online resources in the program. The resources range from contents of museums, botanic gardens, historical societies and libraries.
Note: Unrestricted access
eHRAF World Cultures   (Human Relations Area Files)
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf   (Oxford University Press)
A list of and links to the scholarly reference titles in the Arts (including dance and decorative arts), Literature and language, history and culture, African-American history, science and social sciences from Oxford University Press.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Awesome Stories   (Awesome Stories)
Awesome Stories gathers primary-source materials and presents them in the context of a story as a means of presenting subject-related links together in an interesting, cohesive way. Resources are from national archives, libraries, universities, and government web sites.
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
The History Makers   (The History Makers)
An archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories.
Note: Unrestricted access
Everyday Life and Women in America   (Adam Matthew Digital)
This collection addresses all aspects of women's lives in 19th Century America. Contents include books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides (writings distributed on a single sheet of paper).
Coverage: 1800-1920
Strauss Complementary and Indigenous Medicine Collection   (UCD Health Science Library)
Books, journals and other materials, related to complementary health practices and alternative therapies around the world housed at the UCHSC library. Books from the collection may be borrowed by Auraria users via interlibrary loan and/or the Prospector System.
Ethnic News   (LexisNexis)
Ethnic News is a database of highly selected articles from the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Publications from African Americans, Hispanics, Latinos, Chicanos, Native Americans as well as Asian American, and European American cultures are represented.
Federal Websites - Native Americans   (Oklahoma Department of Libraries)
A guide to United States federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans. Most of these websites focus on tribal matters, though a few general websites are included for their importance. There are many more general websites important to tribes listed in the USA.gov website at the end of this guide.
Note: Unrestricted access
APA Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
The Practice Guidelines is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link.
CU Digital Library (CUDL)   (CU System)
The CU Digital Library, a collaborative project between the University of Colorado System and institutions of the Auraria Higher Education Campus, provides centralized access to locally created digital collections as well as additional resources for teaching, learning, and research. Collections include images, audio, and video files.
Note: Generally unrestricted access
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice   (Sage)
Fully searchable encyclopedia on all aspects of activism and social justice.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
National Indian Law Library Catalog   (Native American Rights Fund)
Use this library catalog from the National Indian Rights locate resources. Non members should then use a local catalog or database such as Skyline or Lexis Nexis to locate a copy to check out.
Note: Unrestricted access
ebrary ebooks   (ebrary)
Online access to full-text ebooks in multiple disciplines.
Founders Early Access   (University of Virginia Press, Rotunda)
Previously unpublished documents of the founders of the United States in a free online resource which includes letters and other papers penned by James Madison, John Adams, George Washington and Thomas Jefferson and others of the early American Republic.
Coverage: Founders Early Access is the free "pre-publication" edition of the Rotunda American Founding Era collection and will change content regularly.
Note: Unrestricted access
Social Explorer Professional   (Oxford University Press)
Users can create demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1790 to the present. Users can visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. And users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. Auraria Library provides premium access to this database.
Coverage: 1790-
Note: Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.
Past Masters   (Intelex)
Full-text philosophical writings including Aristotle: Complete Works, British Philosophy: 1600-1900, Continental Rationalists, Dewey: Collected Works, Dewey: Lectures, Hegel: OUP Translations, Peirce: Writings, Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill, and Wittgenstein: Collected Works.
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project   (Donald C. Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara)
A digital collection of over cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections, Donald C. Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara. Freely downloaded or may be streamed online.
Note: Unrestricted access
ASME Digital Library   (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) access to all the journals and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
Coverage: journals 2000- ; proceedings 2002-
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture (2008)   (Ebsco/Netlibrary)
The Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture provides both biographical and thematic entries that map out the presence of queer subjects within American popular culture in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance   (U.S. General Services Administration)
This is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. Updated bi-weekly.
Note: Unrestricted access
Teaching Strategies (Law)   (University of Denver)
Resources for teaching in higher education shown as part of an initiative, Teaching Tomorrow's Lawyers from DU Strum College of Law's Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System.
Note: Unrestricted access
Making of America   (Multiple sources)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan.
Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877
Note: Unrestricted access
MathSciNet   (American Mathematical Society)
MathSciNet is the online version of the American Mathematical Society publications Mathematical Reviews, and Current Mathematical Publications.
Coverage: 1940-
DttP: Documents to the People   (Stanford University)
Digital archive for the journal DttP: Documents to the People. DttP is the official publication of the American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table (ALA/GODORT).
Coverage: 1972-1998
Note: Unrestricted access
Middle Search Plus   (Ebsco)
Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets and primary source documents. Also included: Essential Documents in American History, 116,000 images (photos, maps and flags), and 96,600 biographies.
Coverage: Full text 1989- Indexes & abstracts 1984-
Note: Mobile interface
Primary Search   (Ebsco)
Primary Search provides indexing and full-text for popular magazines on many topics and pamphlets for elementary school research.  It includes the third edition of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, the Encyclopedia of Animals for info on the nature and habitat of familiar animals, and a large image collection of photographs, maps, and flags.
Note: Mobile interface
Television News Archive   (Vanderbilt University)
The TNA collection at Vanderbilt University is an extensive archive with individual network evening news broadcasts and hours of special news-related programming from the major U.S. networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN. These include presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.
Individuals may register for a free trial of five searches of TV-NewsSearch. You may buy a personal subscription with unlimited searching for $20.00/yr, but will still not be able to view online video, only request videos be sent to you.
Coverage: 1989-
Note: Unrestricted access to search. Viewing is by subscription.
ARBAonline   (Libraries Unlimited)
A database for quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Derived from the American Reference Books Annual.
Coverage: 1997-
NAICS   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
A searchable online version of the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) from the U.S. Census Bureau with links to tables that relate this version to older versions and to the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code.
Note: Unrestricted access
Virtual Reference Library   (Gale Cengage)
With one search you can find articles in six full text encyclopedias of history and multcultural studies. Includes Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students (4v, 2002), Dictionary of American History (3rd ed., 10v, 2003), African American Almanac (9th ed., 2003), African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience (2003), Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America (3v, 2004), Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2nd ed., 3v, 2000)
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
NARA   (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, NARA, an independent Federal agency. It is America's national recordkeeper charged with ensuring ready access to the essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of Federal officials, and the national experience. see also digitized photos and documents in the Exhibit Hall. Opportunities for public comment.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Register of Historic Places   (National Park Service)
The Nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture.
Note: Unrestricted access
Physical Review Online Archive   (American Institute of Physics)
Online access to the publications of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) including Physical Review A - E, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review Special Topics and Reviews of Modern Physics.
PsychiatryOnline   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Psychiatry Online provides access to the DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th edition, Text Revision) and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
Bartelby.com   (Bartleby.com)
Standard reference books on the web including American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's II Thesaurus, Bartlett's Quotations, the King James Bible, Oxford Shakespeare, Gray's Anatomy, Strunk's Elements of Style, World Fact Book, and the Columbia Encyclopedia and Gazetteer..
Note: Unrestricted access
Small Business Resources   (American Library Association)
American Library Association (ALA) recommendations and resources created by business librarians, including the Best of the Best Business Web sites.
Note: Unrestricted access
History of Medicine   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Books, journals, archives, manuscripts, films, videos on the history of medicine. Diverse collection from the Library of Congress includes historical anatomies, archive texts from Ilamic medicine and American medicine.
Note: Unrestricted access
AVMA   (American Veterinary Medical Association)
The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), established in 1863, is a not-for-profit association representing more than 75,000 veterinarians working in private and corporate practice, government, industry, academia, and uniformed services.
Note: Unrestricted access
Redalyic   (Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico)
La Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal es un proyecto impulsado por la Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico (UAEM), con el objetivo de contribuir a la difusion de la actividad cientifica editorial que se produce en y sobre Iberoamerica. An index to Latin American journals, in spanish.
Note: Unrestricted access
Eighteenth Century Journals   (Adam Matthew Digital)
This collection is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including the American and French revolutions, British and European literature, theatre and popular entertainment, politics and religion, popular morality and social life, and exoticism and imperialism. It offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals not available elsewhere.
Coverage: 1685 - 1815
The History Cooperative   (University of Illinois Press)
History journals, conference proceedings, papers, and historical maps. Created by the American Historical Association, the Organization of American Historians, the University of Illinois Press, and the National Academy Press.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online   (ProQuest)
Comprehensive index to scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions and indexes on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
Coverage: 1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive   (University of Virginia)
The University of Virginia Scripps Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
Coverage: 1940-
Note: Unrestricted access
Women Writers Online (WWO)   (Women Writers Project)
Online editions of texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1830. It also includes introductory essays by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics and supplies links to other textual databases and a collection of syllabi.
Library of Southern Literature   (University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924. This collection was originally based on Dr. Robert Bain's bibliography of the hundred most important southern literary works and continues to expand under the guidance of scholarly advisors Dr. Joseph M. Flora and Dr. William L. Andrews.
Note: Unrestricted access
Dictionary of Literary Biography   (Gale Cengage)
DLB provides full-text access to critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. Entries also include listings of the author's most important writings and citations to writings about the author. Browse individual volumes in DLB’s main, documentary and yearbook series online.
Coverage: v.1 1978- : Earlier volumes in print format: REF PS129 .D47.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980   (Adam Matthew Digital)
This collection presents full-text manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. The resources have been indexed to provide ready accessibility for users by person, place and subject. An interactive map encourages searches by city and region.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy   (American Musicological Society, Pedagogy Study Group)
The Journal of Music History Pedagogy (JMHP) is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal on teaching music history to all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
Coverage: 2010-
Current Index to Statistics   (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics)
Index to journal articles, proceedings, book chapters, etc. about statistics and related subjects.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Searching terminology is a little different .. see Help.
SciFinder Scholar   (American Chemical Society)
Electronic version of Chemical Abstracts, covers journal articles, patents, technical reports, books, etc. and the substructure module (SSM).
Already registered? Sign in and begin searching SciFinder Scholar. First time users click here to register. (Important!! Use your campus email, not your personal email.)
Coverage: 1907-
Note: We are working on getting off campus access; presently you must be on campus to access Scifinder.
ASCE Civil Engineering Research Library   (American Society of Civil Engineers)
The ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with full text access to all ASCE journals and proceedings.
Coverage: journals 1995- ; proceedings 1998-
Note: Please click through the popup statement that we need a new Google maps API key to continue on to your search results. This a known problem that is being addressed.
DSM-IV-TR   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link. Also available are the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from DSM-IV-TR ®.