Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Biological Abstracts found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


BIOSIS Previews   (Thomson ISI)
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) is an index to biological and biomedical literature in journals, patents, meetings and books. Includes abstracts. Search BIOSIS Previews, Medline and Web of Science simultaneously.
Coverage: abstracts 1926-
Biological and Biomedical Journal Literature   (Thomson ISI)
A combined search abstracts in Web of Science, Medline and Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS).
Coverage: abstracts 1995-
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Abstracts in Anthropology   (Baywood Publishing - MetaPress)
Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant anthropological topics from periodicals supplying coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields including cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Animal Behavior Abstracts   (Proquest)
Index and abstracts to the scientific literature on the study of animal behavior, aggression, behavioral ecology, communication, learning, dominance, genetics of behavior, foraging, memory, neurophysiology, parental-filial and reproductive behavior.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text   (Ebsco)
Citations, summaries and/or full text of U.S. & international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, and government and other reports, on many criminal justice topics; including crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Coverage: 1968-
Note: Mobile interface
Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text   (Ebsco)
Index to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updates monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life
Coverage: 1955-
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with full text (LISTA)   (Ebsco)
LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings in online information retrieval, information management, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, etc.
Note: Mobile interface
LLB Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Coverage: 1973-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)   (U.S. Department of Justice)
Database containing summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This site ONLY searches the Abstracts database. There are some articles online. For the online collection, go to the advanced website search of the NCJRS Virtual Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
RILM: Abstracts of Musical Literature   (Ebsco)
Citations and abstracts on international music. Updates monthly.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
Social Services Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Sociological Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.
Coverage: 1963-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts   (ProQuest)
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides access to the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Index to Organism Names (ION)   (Thomson ISI)
ION contains all the animal, plant, and virus names data found within the Thomson BIOSIS literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts. Bacteria names will be added soon.
Note: Unrestricted access
Biodiversity Heritage Library   (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”
Note: Unrestricted access
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences   (New York Academy of Sciences)
The Annals series (approximately 30 volumes per year) provides multi-disciplinary perspectives on research in fields of current scientific interest.
Coverage: table of contents 1964- , abstracts 1975- , full text 1997-
Virtual Journals in Science and Technology   (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society)
Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each of the virtual journals presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, journals from participating publishers on AIP's Scitation, Science, and Nature.
Note: Unrestricted access
Highwire Press   (Highwire)
A database of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the sciences and medicine. Many articles are full text and freely available, while some require a subscription. Browsing Tips.
Note: Unrestricted access
PLoS   (Public Library of Science)
PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine are online open access peer-reviewed journals .
Note: Unrestricted access
SCIRUS   (Elsevier)
Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). It includes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). More about SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access
Medline   (Multiple sources)
Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  The Medline link above uses the NLM Gateway.  Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search.
See also:
  Medline (Thomson ISI) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science.
  PubMed Medline is the primary component of PubMed.
  MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).
Citation Styles for Research Papers   (Long Island University)
A quick visual reference on five citation styles: AMA, APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago style.
Note: Unrestricted access
Encyclopedia of Life   (EOL Council)
Open access collaborative encyclopedia of life on Earth. Searchable data and studies contributed by research institutions worldwide including the Field Museum of Natural History, Harvard University, and the Smithsonian Institution.
Note: Unrestricted access.
Note: Translations into Spanish and Arabic available.
Encyclopedia of life sciences   (Wiley Interscience)
A fully searchable database of articles covering the biological sciences. Articles are of three levels: introductory (undergrad) , advanced (upper division, grad, researcher), and keynote (articles discussing unique and often controversial topics of special interest in biology).
Faculty of 1000 - Biology   (Biology Reports Ltd., BioMed Central)
An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of thousands of leading researchers. Includes content of The Scientist.
University of Chicago Press Journals   (University of Chicago Press)
Full text access to about 50 journals in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.Off campus users may not be able to see PDFs larger than 350kB. Use the full text link instead.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Antarctic Bibliography   (American Geological Institute)
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. Produced with support from the National Science Foundation with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge.
Coverage: 1950-
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado, Denver   (Proquest)
This database is a subset containing only University of Colorado Denver content of the (ProQuest) Dissertations & Theses A&I database which indexes from 1861 onward , provides abstracts from 1980 onward, and allows 24-page previews from 1997 until the present.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System   (ProQuest)
Search citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by post-graduate students from all University of Colorado campuses and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts. Full text of many of those published after 1996 are downloadable.
EconLit with Full Text   (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
Electronic Journals Service   (Ebsco)
Electronic versions of many of Auraria Library's journals. Tables of Contents and abstracts for many more.
Expanded Academic Index ASAP   (Gale Cengage)
Index, with abstracts and much full text, to journal and magazine articles in most fields.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Population Index on the Web   (Princeton University)
An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database of abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index.
Coverage: 1986-2000
Note: Unrestricted access
Middle Search Plus   (Ebsco)
Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets and primary source documents. Also included: Essential Documents in American History, 116,000 images (photos, maps and flags), and 96,600 biographies.
Coverage: Full text 1989- Indexes & abstracts 1984-
Note: Mobile interface
National Technical Information Service   (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Technical and government contractor reports which are usually the result of U.S. government sponsored research grants and produced by universities or research centers. Abstracts of reports, many of which are available from the National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project or the University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library, which has an extensive, comprehensive, historical collection in microfiche of technical reports from various federal agencies such as NTIS, NASA, Atomic Energy Agency (AEC), and Dept. of Energy (DOE). An interlibrary loan request will produce a microfiche copy of the report which you may keep or donate back to the Auraria Library. Be sure to indicate clearly on your request that it is a U.S. government technical report to be requested from UC Boulder.
Coverage: 1964-
Note: Unrestricted access
Newspaper Source   (Ebsco)
This comprehensive news source contains: full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers; 18 international newspapers; newswires from 6 sources including AP Online, Asia Pulse, Canadian Corporate News, Canadian Press Wire, Newsbytes News Service and World Stream Newswires; full text of The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times; and indexing and abstracts for USA Today, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Note: Mobile interface
SPIN and Scitation   (American Institute of Physics)
Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996.
AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms.
While anyone can search Scitation, searching the SPIN database requires a subscription - either personal or institutional - to one of the publications hosted on Scitation. Links from SPIN to source journals are available for off-platform articles.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Unrestricted access
Statistical Insight   (ProQuest)
Statistical Insight (Proquest) (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe) contains statistical tables from the U.S., state and major international intergovernmental organizations. And indexes additional statistics from these government agencies, independent professional, trade, and research organizations; universities; and commercial publishers. Many of these abstracts are linked to the full text documents on other web sites.
Coverage: 1973- ; full text 1997-
Note: A quick overview to help you get started using Statistical Insight
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text   (ProQuest for Chadwyck-Healey )
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text is a music journal resource with hundreds of thousands of indexed articles, detailed abstracts and full text content from both scholarly and popular sources.
Coverage: 1874-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)   (Multiple sources)
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center. Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials.
  ERIC (Ebsco) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available (mobile interface).
  ERIC (ProQuest) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
  ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
  ERIC (U.S. Government Printing Office) Federally funded ERIC documents (a small percentage) from October 2002 to the present are available online.
Coverage: Abstracts:1966- ; Full text 1993-
POPLINE - reproductive health literature   (Info Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and the U.S. AID)
Database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Note: Unrestricted access
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management   (ProQuest)
A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index.
Coverage: 1967-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index   (ProQuest)
DAAI provides abstracts covering both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelery, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
ARTbibliographies Modern   (ProQuest)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Coverage: Entries date back as far as the late 1960s
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Teacher Reference Center   (Ebsco)
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Note: Mobile interface
Shakespeare Survey   (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
The online version of the annual yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production published since 1948. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays and contains a section of reviews on that year's critical studies and of the year's major British performances. The Surveys are also illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs.
Coverage: 1948-
Education Full Text   (Ebsco)
Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Not all of the journals covered in this database are available online in full-text.
Coverage: Updated monthly. abstracts 1983-, full text 1996-
Note: Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index.