Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Ecology found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Left Index   (Ebsco)
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
Agricola   (U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library)
Search this database to find articles, chapters & book citations on agriculture-related topics.
Note: Unrestricted access
Access Science   (McGraw-Hill)
Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists.
Coverage: updated weekly
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals   (American Chemical Society)
Full text access to all ACS journals. Look for the tab that says "Search the journals" or browse by journal.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
Note: On campus only link
Animal Behavior Abstracts   (Proquest)
Index and abstracts to the scientific literature on the study of animal behavior, aggression, behavioral ecology, communication, learning, dominance, genetics of behavior, foraging, memory, neurophysiology, parental-filial and reproductive behavior.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
BIOSIS Previews   (Thomson ISI)
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) is an index to biological and biomedical literature in journals, patents, meetings and books. Includes abstracts. Search BIOSIS Previews, Medline and Web of Science simultaneously.
Coverage: abstracts 1926-
Encyclopedia of life sciences   (Wiley Interscience)
A fully searchable database of articles covering the biological sciences. Articles are of three levels: introductory (undergrad) , advanced (upper division, grad, researcher), and keynote (articles discussing unique and often controversial topics of special interest in biology).
ECHO (Enforcement and Compliance History Online)   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Pilot site giving current detailed environmental compliance record of more than 800,000 regulated facilities nationwide.
Note: Unrestricted access
Environmental Journals on the Internet   (National Library for the Environment)
Many full text journals and table of contents. From the National Library for the Environment.
Note: Unrestricted access
Threatened and Endangered Species System   (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service)
Standard Threatened and Endangered Species reports are accessible including taxonomic, range-based and regulatory reports.
Note: Unrestricted access
Conservation Plans and Agreements   (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service)
Regional and national summaries of HCP, SHA, CCA & CCAA are included in the different conservation plan and agreement reports.
Note: Unrestricted access
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia   (Wiley Interscience)
Provides short descriptive entries on virtually every topic in science & technology.
PLANTS database   (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service)
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Note: Unrestricted access
Highwire Press   (Highwire)
A database of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the sciences and medicine. Many articles are full text and freely available, while some require a subscription. Browsing Tips.
Note: Unrestricted access
JSTOR   (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences Collections and Life Sciences Collection. Searches in JSTOR also allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 3-5 years before the present though current content is available in many cases.
Note: PDF Help
Note: Current Scholarship Program information
MEDLINEplus   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
MEDLINEplus provides information to help answer health questions bringing together, by health topic, authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), government, non-profit and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MEDLINEplus and give easy access to the medical research literature. The database also provides consumer health information, drug information, dictionary, and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.
Note: Unrestricted access
MEDLINEplus Informacion de Salud (Espanol)   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
MEDLINEplus le dirigir a informacion que ayuda a responder preguntas de salud. Catalogada por tema de salud, MEDLINEplus renne informacion oficial de NLM, Institutos Nacionales de la Salud (NIH, por su sigla en ingles), y otras organizaciones de gobierno y sin fines de lucro relacionadas con la salud. Tambion le proporciona una enciclopedia medica ilustrada y programas interactivos de instruccion de salud.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Resources Inventory   (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service)
The National Resources Inventory (NRI) is a statistically based sample of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. nonfederal lands. It is the most comprehensive database of its kind ever attempted anywhere in the world.
Note: Unrestricted access
NLM Gateway   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple NIH databases. The current Gateway searches Medline/PubMed, TOXLINE Special, LOCATORplus, MedlinePlus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB.
Note: Unrestricted access
PAN Pesticide Database   (Pesticide Action Network)
The Pesticide Action Network, PAN, Pesticide Database brings together a diverse array of information on pesticides from many different sources, providing human toxicity (chronic and acute), ecotoxicity and regulatory information for approximately 5,400 pesticide active ingredients and their transformation products, as well as adjuvants and solvents used in pesticide products.
Note: Unrestricted access
Science.gov   (science.gov alliance)
Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
ScienceDirect   (Elsevier)
Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities from the publisher Elsevier. As of Aug. 2010 ScienceDirect has been renamed SciVerse ScienceDirect. Sciverse Scopus is not available, Auraria Library subscribes to Web of Science.
Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.
Toxicology and Environmental Health Information   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Free access to TOXLINE, TOXNET, the CHEM ID database as well as tutorials and links to toxicology and environmental health. Through National Library of Medicine.
Note: Unrestricted access
Wiley Online Library   (Wiley-Blackwell)
Provides indexing all journal titles and access to many journal titles on the Wiley Interscience database. Just start searching using the search box on the left side of the screen.
Coverage: full text generally from 1998-
Note: This database does not provide a full text only search.
Ecolex   (FAO, IUCN, UNEP)
A gateway to information about environmental law has been developed by combining the legal libraries of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
Note: Unrestricted access
Environmental Health News   (Environmental Health Sciences)
Worldwide news about a variety of subjects related to the environment and health of humans, wildlife and ecosystems.
Note: Unrestricted access
BioOne   (Amigos)
Provides full-text of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Web of Science   (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Technical Support
Oxford Journals   (Oxford University Press)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Coverage: Varies
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Medline   (Multiple sources)
Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  The Medline link above uses the NLM Gateway.  Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search.
See also:
  Medline (Thomson ISI) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science.
  PubMed Medline is the primary component of PubMed.
  MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
IUCN - The World Conservation Union, through its Species Survival Commission (SSC) assesses the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and selected subpopulations on a global scale to highlight taxa threatened with extinction, and therefore promote their conservation. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria
Note: Unrestricted access
NatureServe Explorer   (NatureServe)
Information on more than 65,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
Note: Unrestricted access
Faculty of 1000 - Biology   (Biology Reports Ltd., BioMed Central)
An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of thousands of leading researchers. Includes content of The Scientist.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management   (ProQuest)
A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index.
Coverage: 1967-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Botanicus   (Missouri Botanical Garden)
Botanicus Digital Library is a freely accessible, web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Includes the Missouri Botanical garden Library's Rare Book collection. This is a large database of botanical and gardening illustrations and text available to scholars, gardeners, and book enthusiasts.
Note: Unrestricted access
Flora of North America   (Flora of North America Association)
The Flora of North America presents information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all of the more than 20,000 species of plants native to or naturalized in North America north of Mexico. More floras available at .
Note: Unrestricted access
Encyclopedia of Life   (EOL Council)
Open access collaborative encyclopedia of life on Earth. Searchable data and studies contributed by research institutions worldwide including the Field Museum of Natural History, Harvard University, and the Smithsonian Institution.
Note: Unrestricted access.
Note: Translations into Spanish and Arabic available.
Science and Technology ES   (Smithsonian Institution)
Science & technology collections, exhibits and artifacts from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian.
Note: Unrestricted access
GreenFILE   (Ebsco)
A multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Note: Mobile interface
The Story of Stuff   (Annie Leonard)
The Story of Stuff is a 20-minute, fast-paced, fact-filled look at the underside of our production and consumption patterns.
Biological and Biomedical Journal Literature   (Thomson ISI)
A combined search abstracts in Web of Science, Medline and Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS).
Coverage: abstracts 1995-
Biodiversity Heritage Library   (Biodiversity Heritage Library Project)
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”
Note: Unrestricted access