Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Economic Data found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Country Reports on Economic and Trade Practices   (U.S. Department of State)
Reports on nations worldwide using data supplied by U.S. Embassies. (Click on the year desired in the left hand column, then on the region of interest, then on the country.)
Coverage: 1999-2001
Note: Unrestricted access
Country Reports on Economic and Trade Practices Archive   (U.S. Department of State)
Reports on nations worldwide using data supplied by U.S. Embassies.
Coverage: 1993-1999
Note: Unrestricted access
Economic Crisis and Recovery Research Guide   (Auraria Library, K. Sobel)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Economic Growth Resources   (Jonathan Temple, University of Bristol)
Links to webpages dealing with economic growth research, including data sets, journals, working papers, literature surveys, mailing lists and researchers web pages.
Note: Unrestricted access
Economic Indicators   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
A monthly compilation of economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. Also in print at GOVPUB Y 4.Ec 7:Ec7.
Coverage: updated monthly
Note: Unrestricted access
Economic Indicators (Current)   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
This is a list of commonly cited national monthly and quarterly economic indicators. Includes but not limited to Indicator Release Schedule; Construction; Governments; International Trade; Manufacturing; Retail Trade; Services; Wholesale Trade.
Coverage: Current
Note: Unrestricted access
Economic Report of the President   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Annual Economic Reports of the President transmitted to the Congress of the United States. Includes links to Economic Indicators and the Budget. Also in print at GOVPUB REF Pr 42.9
Coverage: 1995-
Note: Unrestricted access
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)   (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Center for Economic Documents Digitization)
An open archive of economic statistical publications and data, including an image library of economic statistical publications and the data extracted from those publications. Each data point is linked to its source publication. Use in connection with data contained in FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Data). The ability to retrieve series presented in preliminary, revised, and final releases provides a powerful tool in recreating and evaluating previous economic research and policy. Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Note: Unrestricted access
United Nations Economic Development Resources   (United Nations)
United Nations web resources related to world development issues,
World Economic Outlook   (International Monetary Fund)
Annual economic and financial survey compiled by the International Monetary Fund. Presents analysis and projection of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups, and in many individual countries. Index to publications.
Note: Unrestricted access
Association of Religion Data Archive   (Association of Religion Data Archives)
The Archive presents facts and data related to religions world-wide. From Pennsylvania State University.
Note: Unrestricted access
DOE Data Explorer   (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information)
Scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research by discipline.
Note: Unrestricted access
Econ Data and Links (EDL)   (Dr. John A. Shaw)
Links to recent U.S. economic data, including population, income, productivity, poverty, money, federal finance, exchange rates, and prices. Created by a Professor Emeritus of Economics at California State University, Fresno.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mergent Online - International and Industrial Data   (Mergent)
A suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research on foreign companies, and on U.S. and foreign industries. The information resources included are: foreign company data and annual reports, foreign company archives, and industry reports for North America, Asia, the Pacific, Europe, and Latin America. THIS DATABASE DOES NOT HAVE U.S. COMPANY INFORMATION, THOUGH IT DOES HAVE U.S. INDUSTRY INFORMATION!
National Climate Data Center (NCDC) Library   (U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA and the National Climatic Data Center provide access to data from research projects, weather stations, and satellites.
Note: On campus access only.
Note: Requires Internet Explorer browser.
U.S. Industry and Trade Data and Analysis   (U.S. Department of Commerce)
This single-source, industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy offers: new macro forecast for U.S. industries, highlighting trends and top performers; historical data on shipments, imports, exports, and employment; discussions of industry trends, technology, and international competition; one-, two-, and five-year forecasts; recent trade patterns and major country markets; graphs highlighting domestic and international trends; expanded coverage of industries driving the information technology revolution as well as several other important industries; detailed discussions of E-commerce vis-a-vis specific industries; and reference lists for further research.
Note: Unrestricted access
State of Working America   (Economic Policy Institute)
An interactive tool from the Economic Policy Institute demonstrates how growth in average income was shared between the richest 10% and the other 90% of Americans. All figures are in 2008 dollars.
EconLit with Full Text   (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
EH.Net Encyclopedia   (EH.Net)
The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History provides students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. The articles are written by experts and carefully edited.
Note: Unrestricted access
World Population Trends   (United Nations)
Index to full text resources on fertility, families, mortality, migration and other aspects of world population from the United Nations.
Note: Unrestricted access
Beige Book   (Federal Reserve Board of Governors)
Released eight times a year, this publication presents anecdotal information on current economic conditions including interviews with businessmen, economists, and market.
Note: Unrestricted access
OECD Policy Brief   (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Policy Brief contain concise summaries of country economic surveys and today's global policy challenges.
OECD Factbook   (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators.
Note: Unrestricted access
EDGAR - SEC Filings   (U.S. Securities Exchange Commission)
Full-text SEC filings, including 10-k's, from the Securities and Exchange Commission home page.
Coverage: updated daily
Note: Unrestricted access
ETDE Web   (International Energy Agency)
The world's largest collection of energy literature, with more than 3.8 million abstracted and indexed records. Access is free but you must register and be a citizen of a member country. For the U.S. they promise a response to your registration in 3 - 5 days.
Coverage: Updated twice monthly
Note: Unrestricted access
NetEc   (Washington University in St. Louis)
Links to sites and an Index to and full text of articles of interest to economists and economic researchers. NetEc, founded in 1993, is an international academic effort to improve the communication of economics via electronic media.
Note: Unrestricted access
United Nations Statistical Databases   (United Nations)
The UN Statistical Databases (UNSD) includes statistics, information on events and initiatives, methodological and data publications, and info on national statistical systems. Includes the Demographic Yearbook.
Note: Unrestricted access to non-subscription content
National Historical Geographic Information System   (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
Note: Unrestricted access
AIP Journals   (American Institute of Physics)
Full text access to all the AIP (American Institute of Physics) journals.
Coverage: From the beginning publication date of each journal
Business Source Premier   (Ebsco)
Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Note: Mobile interface
Country Profiles   (LexisNexis)
Data and articles about countries from several sources. This screen only allows searching one source at a time. For quick facts on a country try the Country Studies / Area Handbooks from the Library of Congress or the CIA World Factbook.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Each study deals with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social and national security systems and institutions. Over 80 countries are featured. From the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Note: Unrestricted access
GeoRef   (Ebsco)
Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and maps in Geology and the Earth Sciences. Includes GeoRef in Process content.
Coverage: North American geology from 1785-; international geology from 1933-
Note: Mobile interface
InfoNation   (United Nations)
A database from the United Nations that allows viewing and comparing the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States; up to seven countries may be selected.
Note: Unrestricted access
Regional Business News   (Ebsco)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.
Note: Mobile interface
Datamonitor 360   (Datamonitor)
Access to lengthy industry reports authored by independent experts in their fields. Coverage of: Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Energy and Telecommunications. Each report includes: case studies; quantitative analysis; interviews with industry executives; discussion of strategic, and more.
Sociological Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.
Coverage: 1963-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Statistical Resources on the Web   (University of Michigan Documents Center)
This is an extensive guide from the University of Michigan Documents Center in the University of Michigan Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Statistical Insight   (ProQuest)
Statistical Insight (Proquest) (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe) contains statistical tables from the U.S., state and major international intergovernmental organizations. And indexes additional statistics from these government agencies, independent professional, trade, and research organizations; universities; and commercial publishers. Many of these abstracts are linked to the full text documents on other web sites.
Coverage: 1973- ; full text 1997-
Note: A quick overview to help you get started using Statistical Insight
FedStats   (U.S. Federal Agencies with Statistical Programs)
FedStats shows the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by Federal agencies.
Note: Unrestricted access
International Statistics   (United Nations)
Lists of and links to statistical agencies around the world created by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Note the link to data on-line which focuses on Europe and North America.
Note: Unrestricted access
Bureau of Labor Statistics   (U.S. Department of Labor)
Statistics related to U.S. and foreign labor, employment, wages, earnings and benefits, inflation and consumer spending including the Consumer Price Index. see also the agencies listed at FedStats - Labor. Use Economy at a Glance for state economic statistics.
Note: Unrestricted access
Avalon Project   (Yale Law School)
Text versions of historical documents in law, history, economics, politics, government and diplomacy with source information and links. Includes Project Diana an online human rights archive.
Coverage: 4000 bce -
Note: Unrestricted access
Center for Tax Policy   (CTP)
The Center for Tax Policy (CTP) provides information, in report form, to business and government leaders to assist them in developing and implementing fair tax policy in Colorado. It is a non-profit, tax exempt organization that does not espouse a specific political agenda or promote any special interest group. It works in collaboration with the Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver.
Business Knowledge Research   (The Conference Board)
Provides full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resources, productivity, customer relationship mangement and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis, and forecasts of US and international economic conditions.
Coverage: 1998-
Europa World   (Routledge)
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is one of the world's leading reference works covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Global Market Information Database (GMID)   (Euromonitor)
Euromonitor International's statistical database includes demographic, economic and marketing reports and statistics which are comparable across countries. GMID presents business intelligence on countries, consumers, and lifestyles. It provides country profiles that include economic news, market reports, emerging sectors, and special demographic reports. Integrated data sets provide historical trends and forecasting numbers. Consumer lifestyles reports detail demographics and buying habits for a variety of products.
Note: Restricted to Auraria students,faculty, and staff only; login required. 
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf   (Oxford University Press)
A list of and links to the scholarly reference titles in the Arts (including dance and decorative arts), Literature and language, history and culture, African-American history, science and social sciences from Oxford University Press.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Confidential print: Middle East   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Confidential Print: Middle East, a full-text searchable collection of historical documents from the UK National Archives, covers such important events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. The Confidential Print series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were dispatches describing important personalities or economic analysis; and others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
Coverage: 1839-1969
Asia-Studies Full-text Online   (International Information Services)
Provides access to thousands of full-text reports covering 53 Asian Pacific countries on a variety of business, government, economic, and social issues.
Library of Economics and Liberty   (Liberty Fund, Inc.)
Includes classic and modern economics books online, columns and articles, suggested readings, and related works in history, political theory and philosophy, fully search-able. Includes data sets, brief articles, annotated bibliographies, and links to online resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
European Union Law and Legal Information   (Westlaw)
European Union Law and Legal Information from Westlaw contains comprehensive coverage of European Union legal materials, including legislation, case law, preparatory documents, parliamentary questions, treaties, and information and notices (OJ C Series).
IBISWorld Industry Market Research   (IBISWorld)
IBIS World Industry Research Reports provides current reports on U.S. industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.  The Library subscribes only to this section of IBISWorld.
Note: The subscription to Industry Market Research is paid for jointly by Metropolitan State College of Denver and the Auraria Library.
European Parliment   (European Union)
The EUs Fact sheets on the European Union are broken down in two ways -- by Topics and by Contents. These are essentially different ways of presenting the main subject areas discussed in the fact sheets.
Note: Unrestricted access
Social Explorer Professional   (Oxford University Press)
Users can create demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1790 to the present. Users can visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. And users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations. Auraria Library provides premium access to this database.
Coverage: 1790-
Statesman's Yearbook   (Palgrave McMillan)
Includes current and historical archival information (dating back to 1864) about every country in the world, including history, leaders, population, territory, social statistics, climate, government, elections, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry, trade, communications, social institutions, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives, further readings.
ASME Digital Library   (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) access to all the journals and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
Coverage: journals 2000- ; proceedings 2002-
Chemfinder   (CambridgeSoft Corporation)
A chemical database which provides CAS registry numbers, physical property data and 2D chemical structures.
Note: Unrestricted access
Engineering Village   (Elsevier)
Engineering Village 2 offers resources in the applied science and engineering fields. It provides access to Compendex (ex-Engineering Index) and INSPEC.
Coverage: INSPEC: 1969- ; Compendex: 1884-
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.
Compendex   (Elsevier)
Online version of Engineering Index. Citations and summaries to journal articles, technical papers, conference proceedings and papers in all engineering disciplines. Updated weekly.
Coverage: 1884-
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.
Computer Database   (Gale Cengage)
Index to articles and reviews, many articles available on line, on computer-related topics.
Coverage: 1997-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators   (Columbia University, U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Use ENTRI to match environmental treaties with natural resource indicators.
Coverage: current
Note: Unrestricted access
EPA databases   (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
A gateway to the resources of EPA that are of particular use to researchers. It includes plans, data, reports and funding programs.
Coverage: current
Note: Unrestricted access
E-print archive   (arXiv.org)
arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Coverage: 1991-
Note: Unrestricted access
Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey   (U.S. Geological Survey)
A catalog of USGS Publications (current and historic maps, aerial photos, satellite images, datasets, reports) and other products (screensavers, earth science image sets for teaching) available for purchase or for free download. see also How to obtain publications of the USGS and USGS publications warehouse.
Note: Unrestricted access
SEC Filings and Reports   (LexisNexis)
EDGAR filings, annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements. At Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Full text.
Entrez   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine, allows searches across multiple NLM/NCBI databases at one time including PubMed, PubMed Central, Human Genome, BLAST and GenBank.
Note: Unrestricted access
ICPSR   (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some datasets are available to the public.
Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data.
Colorado Virtual Library   (Colorado State Library plus)
The Colorado Virtual Library is a collaborative project of the Colorado State Library and the Colorado library community providing the residents of Colorado access to the information resources of the libraries in the state of Colorado.
Note: Unrestricted access
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
Historical Census Browser   (University of Virginia Library, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center)
Historical Census reports and maps from 1790 to 1960.
Note: Unrestricted access
Business Index ASAP   (Gale Cengage)
Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Academic and business journal articles with full text and images.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
TOPICsearch   (Ebsco)
A multidisciplinary, full text, current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Over 1,100 magazines, 150 newspapers, 400 pamphlets, 1,500 popular biographies, 800 book reviews, numerous government reports, and 15,000 public opinion polls are included. An excellent place to start if you need help choosing a topic.
Coverage: 1990 -
Note: Mobile interface
Community Facts   (The Piton Foundation)
Community Facts (The Piton Foundation) provides detailed and current information about Denver's 77 neighborhoods. It includes data, maps and graphs about each neighborhood's population, housing, economic and education characteristics, and the health and safety of its residents.
Note: Unrestricted access
UNICEF Country Statistics   (United Nations Childrens Fund)
Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being.
Note: Unrestricted access
Federal Reserve Districts   (Federal Reserve Board of Governors)
Links and a map of the twelve Federal reserve Districts, including links to regional economic information.
Note: Unrestricted access
Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases   (Agricultural Research Service)
Compiled "rather randomly from the literature on economic plants" this database is nonetheless extensive and informative. Dr. Jim Duke has devoted a lifetime to studying botanical medicines. Check out his books.
Note: Unrestricted access
ODS: Official documents of the United Nations   (United Nations)
The ODS comprises the full text of United Nations parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. The official record version of older United Nations resolutions and decisions adopted by the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards are stored separately on ODS in the “Resolutions” database, accessible only from the advanced search screen.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)   (American Association of University Professors)
The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Note: Unrestricted access
Facts on File World News Digest   (Facts on File News Services)
Facts on File World News Digest brings together and enhances news stories and editorials since 1940. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than a million hyperlinks. Major political, social, and economic events are included.
Coverage: 1940-
Open Library   (Internet Archive)
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and is funded in part by a grant from the California State Library. This is an Open project - the software is open, the data is open, the documentation is open, and the site is open.
Note: Unrestricted access
Earth Observatory   (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Data and earth imagery from NASA. Includes an "image of the day", news, mission information and experiments to use in the classroom or just for fun.
Note: Unrestricted access
Business and Company Resource Center   (Gale Cengage)
Presents full text profiles, including histories, chronologies, civil claims, financial data and rankings, of US and international firms; articles from business journals, newsletters, and the business sections in newspapers; selected investment reports from Investext; industry overviews; and industry trade associations.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Knovel Library   (Knovel Corporation)
An extensive collection of reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Many of the reference works are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools for data analysis.
Environmental Health Perspectives   (U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Extensive database on the environment, toxicity, and cancer. A password is required for some data and publications in the database. As a depository library Auraria Library has free access. Request password from the Research Help Desk.
Note: Unrestricted access
Hoover's Online   (Hoover's)
Comprehensive company, industry, contact and market information: in-depth coverage of worldwide businesses, updated daily. Data is searchable by company A-Z and by geography, by industry, by individual executives and by stock index. There is also a browsable 'business boneyard' with records of companies that no longer exist.
Nation Master   (Rapid Intelligence)
An excellent resource for finding current details about just about any country in the world. Currently, Nation Master has 335 statistical data sets, ranging from library books to airports. It shows the most frequently requested stats, allows easy comparison between countries using graphs, is searchable and has links to national profiles. Particularly useful for students looking for basic statistics on different countries and for teachers as a teaching aide.
Coverage: current
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Demography Office   (State of Colorado)
The State Demography Office is the primary state agency for population and demographic information. Its data are used by state agencies to forecast demand for facilities and services.
Note: Unrestricted access
Oxford Bibliographies Online   (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a collection of scholarly discipline-based subject modules of recommended significant sources. OBO links directly to specific chapters, books, websites, archives, or data set needed. Auraria Library’s subscription covers Medieval Studies, Islamic Studies, and Buddhism which may be searched separately or all at once.
Coverage: Content reviewed annually
CIA World Factbook   (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) supplies dozens of facts for each country including data on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, and defense forces.
Note: Unrestricted access
NIST Chemistry WebBook   (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook provides chemical and physical property data for a variety of compounds.
Note: Unrestricted access
Census.gov   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
Website of the U.S. Census Bureau. Comprehensive data on the United States summarized and analyzed.
Note: Unrestricted access
New York Stock Exchange Fact Book   (New York Stock Exchange)
Data about stock market activity, stock price trends, information on listed companies, and the investing public, institutional investors, trading in international securities on the NYSE, the NYSE community, security market credit, and bonds. Current activity as well as a historical perspective is available. Not published in paper anymore. For previous years see HG4571 .N56 in the Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Federal Aviation Administration   (U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration)
The official site of the FAA with information on aircraft, airports, air traffic, data and research, licenses and certificates, training and testing, regulations and policies. For a repackaging of this info by a commercial site see the Aviation Reference Desk.
Note: Unrestricted access
CAM on PubMed   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the NLM partnered to index articles on complementary medicine.  This research data has been added to the larger PubMed database.  CAM on PubMed is a subset of PubMed and is searched through restricting PubMed searches to those items indexed as "related to complementary and alternative medicine".  Access CAM on PubMed through this link to be automatically directed to the full text resources available only to students, faculty and staff at the Auraria Campus.
Note: Non-Auraria patrons use this access point to search the public version of the CAM on PubMed index.
Open Congress   (Sunlight Foundation and the Participatory Politics Foundation)
A free, open-source, not-for-profit, and non-partisan web resource with a mission to make Congress more transparent and to encourage civic engagement. Brings together official government data from multiple sources with news coverage, blog posts, public comments, and more.
Climate Monitoring   (NOAA National Climate Data Center)
Presentations for the U.S. of climatic data summaries including precipitation and temperature data, snow data, global products, and drought monitoring.
Note: Unrestricted access
Uniform Crime Reports   (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Includes several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted and special studies, reports, and monographs are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. In addition, information about the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) is available.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Atlas of the United States   (U.S. Geological Survey with other government agencies & Environmental Systems Research Institute)
USGS was coordinated and lead the effort of more than 20 Federal agencies. Nationalatlas.gov is the new National Atlas of the United States. Like its predecessor, this new atlas provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.
Note: Unrestricted access
Internet Archive   (Internet Archive)
An Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others.
Note: Unrestricted access
USA Trade Online   (U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau)
This portion of the Census Bureau website provides detailed statistical import/export data by country for 18,000 commodities.  Please return to the USA Trade Online home page to logout.
Note: In Library use only. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
TerraServer USA   (Microsoft & U.S. Geological Survey)
An online database providing free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States. Search by street address or latitude and longitude.
Note: Unrestricted access
Art Retrospective   (Ebsco)
An in-depth record of contemporary art history. Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Note: Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
Omnibus Surveys   (U.S. Department of Transportation)
These include a monthly household survey of 1,000 households each month, which collects data on core questions about general travel experiences, satisfaction with the system, and some demographic data. And targeted surveys to address special transportation issues, as the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) operating administrations need them
Note: Unrestricted access
Index to Organism Names (ION)   (Thomson ISI)
ION contains all the animal, plant, and virus names data found within the Thomson BIOSIS literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts. Bacteria names will be added soon.
Note: Unrestricted access
Eurostat   (European Commission)
European Commission data and forecasts on the European Union as a whole or on separate countries within the Union. Eurostat relies on each country to send in their data, so it is sometimes incomplete. The site includes the Eurostat Yearbook
Note: Unrestricted access
American National Election Studies   (Stanford University and University of Michigan)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Note: Unrestricted access
SRDS   (SRDS Media Solutions)
SRDS is a search engine for media opportunities and marketing information. It includes demographic and lifestyle information for counties and metropolitan areas in the U.S, as well as rates and contact data for national and/or international magazines, digital media, newspapers, television, radio, direct marketing, and out-of-home businesses. SRDS includes 15 separate datasets: 1) Business Media Advertising Source, 2) Consumer Media Advertising Source, 3) Direct Marketing List Source, 4) Interactive Advertising Source, 5) Local Market Audience Analyst, 6) Newspaper Media Advertising Source, 7) Out of Home Advertising Source, 8) Print Media Production Source, 9) Radio Advertising Source, 10) TV & Cable Source, 11) IMG Business Asia Pacific, 12) IMG Business – Americas, 13) IMG Business – Europe, 14) IMG Consumer, and 15) IMG Newspaper (IMG is International Media Guide).
Note: Requires an IE browser on a PC for this database.
Note: SRDS does not work on Macs or with the Firefox browser.
W3Schools   (Refsnes Data)
Free web-building tutorials, from basic HTML and XHTML to advanced XML, XSL, Multimedia, PHP, SQL and WAP.
Note: Unrestricted access