Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Education found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Chronicle of Higher Education   (The Chronicle of Higher Education)
Leading newspaper/website in the field of higher education. Here are selected links to portions of the website.
  News: Faculty RSS
  News: Administration RSS
  News: Technology RSS
  News: Community Colleges RSS
  News: Special Reports
    Diversity in Academe
  Data: Facts & Figures
    2011 Almanac of Higher Education
    2010 Almanac of Higher Education
    2009 Almanac of Higher Education
  Blog: Wired Campus RSS
  Blog: ProfHacker RSS
  Topics: Teaching RSS
  Topics: Research RSS
  Topics: Academic Freedom RSS
  Topics: Curriculum RSS
  Topics: Libraries RSS
  Topics: Distance Education RSS
  Topics: Technology RSS
  Topics: Leadership & Governance RSS
  Advice: Manage Your Career RSS
  Advice: Do Your Job Better RSS
Education Development Center   (EDC)
An international non-profit which manages 335 projects in 50 countries that address challenges in education, health, technology and human rights. The efforts are based on the "conviction that learning is the liberating force in human development." Projects include the Digital Divide Network, The Initiative for Pediatric Palliative Care at the Center for Applied Ethics and Professional Practice and Resources for Educators at the Center for Science Education.
Note: Unrestricted access
Education Full Text   (Ebsco)
Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Not all of the journals covered in this database are available online in full-text.
Coverage: Updated monthly. abstracts 1983-, full text 1996-
Note: Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index.
Education Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on education,
Note: Unrestricted access
Education Research Guide   (Auraria Library, D. Turner)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Health Education Assets Library   (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of freely accessible, web-based multimedia teaching materials including teaching images, videos, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education, predominantly undergraduate medical education.
Note: Unrestricted access
Informal Science Education   (National Science Foundation)
Informal Science Education portion of the website of the Division of Elementary, Secondary, and Informal Education (ESIE) that supports the National Science Foundation's mission of providing leadership and promoting development of the infrastructure and resources needed to improve preK-12 STEM education throughout the United States.
Note: Unrestricted access
Military Education and Research Library Network (MERLN)   (U.S. Department of Defense)
MERLN provides public access to the library holdings and electronic information resources of many U.S. Defense agencies. It also includes the Military Policy Awareness Links - MiPALs - which provide direct access to defense-related U.S. policy statements on selected key topics.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Center for Education Statistics   (U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences)
Statistics and facts from the federal government on education.
Note: Unrestricted access
Biographies Online   (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, Who's Who in America, ... in the World, ... of American Women, ... in Science & Engineering, ... in American Law, ... in Medicine & Healthcare, ... in Finance & Business, ... in 20th Century America,... in the East, ... in the Midwest, ... in the South & Southwest, ... in the West, ... in Media & Communications, ... in Entertainment, ... in American Education, ... in American Nursing, ... in Religion, ... of Emerging Leaders in America and ... Among Human Services Professionals.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Worlds of Words: International Collection of Chilren's and Adolescent Literature   (University of Arizona, Education Department)
This comprehensive website includes a searchable database of children’s and adolescent books focusing on world cultures and indigenous peoples.
Note: Unrestricted access
Marquis Biographies Online   (Marquis)
Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, and the many Who's Who (aka Online Biographies) from Marquis ... in the Library in print.
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished
Working Bibliography of Japanese American Concentration Camp Art   (University of Maryland, Jane Dusselier)
Bibliography of works pertaining to classical, folk, craft and hobby art produced by Japanese Americans in concentration camps during World War II.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Grants Guide   (Community Resource Center)
This resource guide contains hundreds of profiles on local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, government agencies, and religious organizations.
Note: In-Library access only.
Note: The My Favorite Funders feature is not available.
TRAIL: Technical Reports Archive and Image Library   (Center for Research Libraries (CRL))
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is a cooperatively developed searchable archive of digitized federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. The repository documents are housed at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, in the HathiTrust Digital Repository and in the University of North Texas Digital Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
WilsonWeb   (Ebsco)
H.W. Wilson was purchased by Ebsco and the WilsonWeb databases are now available through the Ebsco database platform. The Wilson databases are included in this alphabetical list of resources available through Ebsco. Check the ones you wish to search and "Continue".
ResourceShelf   (Gary Price)
A blog for information professionals that contains resources and news highlights from the author of the List of lists.
Coverage: 2001-
Note: Unrestricted access
Physical Review Online Archive   (American Institute of Physics)
Online access to the publications of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) including Physical Review A - E, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review Special Topics and Reviews of Modern Physics.
ESL Cyber Listening Lab   (Randall S. Davis)
Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab is a personal project supported by advertising with a wide variety of useful practice tools.
Note: Unrestricted access
Learner's Dictionary   (Merriam-Webster)
Pronounciation exercises, words often confused and grammar information for people learning English are part of this free site from Merriam-Webster.
Note: Unrestricted access
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)   (Multiple sources)
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center. Future additions to the collection may include audio and video materials.
  ERIC (Ebsco) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available (mobile interface).
  ERIC (ProQuest) Access to the ERIC database with links to full-text when available.
  ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) Direct access to the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
  ERIC (U.S. Government Printing Office) Federally funded ERIC documents (a small percentage) from October 2002 to the present are available online.
Coverage: Abstracts:1966- ; Full text 1993-
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text   (Ebsco)
LLIS indexes articles and book reviews of library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Coverage: Indexing 1984 - ; selected full text 1994 -
Note: Limited to one simultaneous user, please close your browser when finished.
theSANDbox   (wiki by six Florida teachers)
A resource to help teachers understand new technologies. Notice how they've structured their wiki using links to other services for lesson plans, best practices, podcasts, agendas, and more.
Note: Unrestricted access
Science and Engineering Statistics   (National Science Foundation)
Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Citation Styles for Research Papers   (Long Island University)
A quick visual reference on five citation styles: AMA, APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago style.
Note: Unrestricted access
Occupational Outlook Handbook   (U.S. Department of Labor and others)
A list of resources related to this popular US department of Labor publication.
Note: Unrestricted access
Federal Websites - Native Americans   (Oklahoma Department of Libraries)
A guide to United States federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans. Most of these websites focus on tribal matters, though a few general websites are included for their importance. There are many more general websites important to tribes listed in the USA.gov website at the end of this guide.
Note: Unrestricted access
ACRLMetrics   (ACRL)
ACRLMetrics is a web portal that provides access to ACRL (American College of Research Libraries) and NCES (National Center for Education Statistics) academic library statistics.
Note:  
Librarian comments:  
Business Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on business.
Note: Unrestricted access
CQ Researcher plus Archive   (CQ Press)
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and political issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Full text.
Coverage: 1923-
Teaching Strategies (Law)   (University of Denver)
Resources for teaching in higher education shown as part of an initiative, Teaching Tomorrow's Lawyers from DU Strum College of Law's Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System.
Note: Unrestricted access
Educator's Reference Desk   (Information Institute of Syracuse)
The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to the following resources: links to resources on a variety of educational issues including internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups, lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States, a question archive of responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education and the ERIC Database.
Note: Unrestricted access
Financial Aid   (BrainTrack)
Established in 1996, BrainTrack includes a directory of worldwide higher education institutions. BrainTrack may be used to find schools and careers of interest through the College and Career Guide. Also includes original articles on accreditation, financial aid, transfers and studying in the U.S. and interviews with college and career experts.
Note: Unrestricted access
Humanities Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on humanities.
Note: Unrestricted access
Community Facts   (The Piton Foundation)
Community Facts (The Piton Foundation) provides detailed and current information about Denver's 77 neighborhoods. It includes data, maps and graphs about each neighborhood's population, housing, economic and education characteristics, and the health and safety of its residents.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Science Digital Library   (Information Institute of Syracuse)
Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Bar Association   (Colorado Bar Association)
Website of the Colorado Bar Association. Primarily for members but there is a list of continuing legal education programs available to anyone.
Note: Unrestricted access to site, members only access to resources
Pics4Learning   (Tech4Learning)
A usable image library for teachers and students. The Pics4Learning collection consists of thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Pics4Learning is developed as part of the Partners in Education program by Tech4Learning, and the Orange County Public Schools Technology Development Unit.
Note: Unrestricted access
Merlot   (Merlot)
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. RSS feed available on the site.
Note: Unrestricted access
Music Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on Music.
Note: Unrestricted access
Anthrosource   (American Anthropological Association)
Online, full-text access to 31 anthropology periodicals, including journals and newsletters. Some titles in the AnthroSource collection include: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, City & Society, Journal of Latin American Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, and Journal of Linguistic Anthropology.
Cabell's Business and Educational Directories   (Cabell Publishing, Inc.)
A resource for Business or Education professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. Cabell's contains current contact information, publisher websites, publication guidelines and review information for many journals.
Science and Technology Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on science and technology.
Note: Unrestricted access
Social Sciences Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on social sciences.
Note: Unrestricted access
SPIN   (InfoEd)
SPIN (the Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a database of federal, non-federal and corporate funding opportunities designed to assist faculty and staff in the identification of external sources of support for research, education and development projects. Access available through the UCD Health Science Campus Office of Sponsored Programs.
Note: In Library use only.
Academic Commons   (sponsored by Wabash University)
A comprehensive web resource focused on liberal arts education built by a community of faculty, academic technologists, librarians, administrators, and other academic professionals.
Note: Unrestricted access. Register to post resources.
CU Digital Library (CUDL)   (CU System)
The CU Digital Library, a collaborative project between the University of Colorado System and institutions of the Auraria Higher Education Campus, provides centralized access to locally created digital collections as well as additional resources for teaching, learning, and research. Collections include images, audio, and video files.
Note: Generally unrestricted access
Mathematics & Statistics Learning Materials   (Merlot)
Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on mathematics and statistics.
Note: Unrestricted access
Academic Earth   (Academic Earth)
A beta website of higher education lectures from faculty from Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
Note: Unrestricted access
Alma Project: A Cultural Curriculum Infusion Model   (Denver Public Schools)
The Alma Project is a program that provides multicultural curriculum for early childhood education (ECE) through twelfth grade. This project supports the cultural infusion of standards-based lessons into the daily curriculum. This collection of units broadens the teacher's ability to teach a more inclusive and accurate curriculum through a literacy-based approach. More importantly, it honors the cultural and historical contributions of various ethnicities represented in Denver Public Schools—which is 80 percent minority.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado State Publications   (Colorado State Library and the Colorado Department of Education)
The State Publications Library provides Colorado residents with convenient access to information produced by state government through a system of acquiring and loaning publications as well as answering questions related to state information. State publications are valuable sources of information published by state agencies that include annual reports, budgets, planning reports, newsletters, consumer information, legislative reports, and directories. They cover a wide variety of topics including health, business, education, crime, agriculture, mining, employment, taxes, water quality, wildlife, and the environment.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Water 2012: Connecting Coloradans to their Water   (Colorado Foundation for Water Education)
Colorado Water 2012 is a statewide celebration of water uses and value. It collects and provides acces to resources, events, and activities available to learn more about water.
Note: Unrestricted access
FAFSA on the web   (U.S. Department of Education)
Free application for federal student aid. This site has deadlines and facts about applying for student aid from the Federal government.
Note: Unrestricted access
Student Aid on the Web   (U.S. Department of Education)
Describes educational funding and loan repayment considerations (The Student Guide). Also provides information about preparing for college, selecting a school, and applying to a program tailored for students, parents or counselors. Available in English and Spanish.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado Library Law   (Colorado Department of Education)
The Colorado Library Law provides a legal framework for library operations and responsibilities for staff, governing boards, and agency attorneys who work with libraries.
Note: Unrestricted access
Education   (Creative Commons)
Repository of learning objects for use in teaching from the Creative Commons.
Note: Unrestricted access
Educational CyberPlayground   (Karen Ellis)
Online educational resources for teachers, parents and everyone. Includes the National Children's Folksong Repository.
Note: Unrestricted access
TestLink   (Educational Testing Service)
The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Provides information on tests from the early 1900s to the present. The tests in this collection are from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, Great Britain and Australia. How to search.
Note: Unrestricted access
World Heritage   (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)
Web site for the World Heritage Centre, a UNESCO organization devoted to the protection of the cultural and natural heritage.
Note: Unrestricted access
Cambridge Dictionaries Online   (Cambridge University Press)
Search in one of five English Language Teaching dictionaries: the Cambridge Dictionary of American English (1999); Cambridge International Dictionary of English (2000); Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs (1997); Cambridge Learner's Dictionary (2001); or Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms (1998).
Note: Unrestricted access
CAELA   (Center for Applied Linguistics)
The ESL Resource Database is from the Center for Adult English Language Acquisition. CAELA was created to help states build their capacity to promote English language learning and academic achievement of adults learning English.
Note: Unrestricted access
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)   (American Association of University Professors)
The American Association of University Professors is a professional organization to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Their site includes an Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession.
Note: Unrestricted access
Teacher Reference Center   (Ebsco)
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Note: Mobile interface
Academic Search Premier Plus   (Ebsco)
Searches Academic Search Premier, eBook Collection and Audiobook Collection simultaneously. Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Coverage: varies, generally from 1998-, some from 1945, 1975
Note: Mobile interface for Academic Search Premier.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy   (American Musicological Society, Pedagogy Study Group)
The Journal of Music History Pedagogy (JMHP) is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open access, online journal on teaching music history to all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
Coverage: 2010-
Earth Observatory   (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
Data and earth imagery from NASA. Includes an "image of the day", news, mission information and experiments to use in the classroom or just for fun.
Note: Unrestricted access
Chemistry.org   (American Chemical Society)
Chemistry for the non-chemist (policy makers, educators, enthusiasts) from the American Chemical Society.
Note: Unrestricted access
Chicano Database   (OCLC from the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California)
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index."
Coverage: 1967-
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health)   (Ebsco)
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
CollegeSource Online   (Career Guidance Foundation)
Provides cover-to-cover access to both current and past catalogs (varies by institution) for all 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools in the U.S.
Colorado by the Numbers   (University of Colorado at Boulder, Government Publications Library)
An online statistical abstract for the State of Colorado.
Note: Unrestricted access
Current Index to Statistics   (American Statistical Association and Institute of Mathematical Statistics)
Index to journal articles, proceedings, book chapters, etc. about statistics and related subjects.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Searching terminology is a little different .. see Help.
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)   (OCLC)
Full text of approximately 135 scholarly journals that Auraria Library subscribes to. Updates daily. You must place a check in front of 'full text' in the "Limit availability to" section to retrieve full text of the article.
Coverage: 1995-
EconLit with Full Text   (Ebsco)
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for more than 400 publications.
Coverage: 1969-
Note: Mobile interface
Emerald Full Text   (Emerald)
Provides full text access (click on 'Fulltext' icon to search) to journals in management, human resources, information management, library and information services, marketing, operations management, production management, and training and education. Also includes engineering journals. Check the catalog Skyline for specific journal titles availability.
Coverage: varies widely ~1995-
E-print archive   (arXiv.org)
arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Coverage: 1991-
Note: Unrestricted access
Ethnic NewsWatch   (ProQuest)
Full text articles in English and Spanish from Ethnic and Minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Searchable in English or Spanish. Click on the English button to begin searching. Or oprima el boton "Espanol" para comenzar a buscar (utilizando la interface en Espanol).
Coverage: 1990-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
General Reference Center Gold   (Gale Cengage)
Index to general magazines, newspapers and reference sources, many articles available online. A good source for popular culture, sports, etc.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
IOP Journals   (Institute of Physics)
Full text article access to all Institute of Physics (IOP) journals by journal. To search across several IOP journals go to their search page.
Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal
JSTOR   (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences Collections and Life Sciences Collection. Searches in JSTOR also allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 3-5 years before the present though current content is available in many cases.
Note: PDF Help
Note: Current Scholarship Program information
Left Index   (Ebsco)
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers over 250 periodical publications + many classic texts.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
LLB Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Coverage: 1973-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
MagPortal   (Hot Neuron)
Updated each business day, the site organizes articles into twelve main categories, with varying numbers of subcategories. The articles are briefly described, with links to the article and the main site of the periodical. In addition, users can access a list of similar articles via an icon at the end of most article descriptions. A keyword search engine is also provided.
Coverage: Updated daily
Note: Unrestricted access
MAS Ultra -School Edition   (Ebsco)
Useful for high school and community college level research, this database provides full text for over 500 general interest publications, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Emphasis is on recently published material; some key resources go back as far as 1975.
Coverage: ~1985-
Note: Mobile interface
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros)   (Ebsco)
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests. Online version contains 9th (1985) Yearbook through the current edition.
Coverage: updated semi-annually
Note: Mobile interface
Middle Search Plus   (Ebsco)
Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full-text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets and primary source documents. Also included: Essential Documents in American History, 116,000 images (photos, maps and flags), and 96,600 biographies.
Coverage: Full text 1989- Indexes & abstracts 1984-
Note: Mobile interface
National Academies Press   (The National Academies)
Fulltext access to books (ebooks) in science, engineering, and health from the National Academy of Sciences.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Tourism Database   (Michigan State University Extension)
This site contains information on numerous resources related to tourism education, including bulletins, research reports, videos, and training programs.
Note: Unrestricted access
Academic OneFile Plus   (Gale Cengage)
News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
Coverage: Updated daily.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
PAIS International   (ProQuest)
Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources.
Coverage: 1914-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Library of Congress International Gateway   (U.S. Library of Congress)
Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about nations and other areas of the world.
Note: Unrestricted access
Primary Search   (Ebsco)
Primary Search provides indexing and full-text for popular magazines on many topics and pamphlets for elementary school research.  It includes the third edition of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, the Encyclopedia of Animals for info on the nature and habitat of familiar animals, and a large image collection of photographs, maps, and flags.
Note: Mobile interface
Project Muse   (Project Muse)
Provides full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Current issues and backfiles. Try the Australian mirror site if this one does not work.
PsycINFO   (ProQuest)
PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines. -- Search PsycInfo, PsycArticles and Sociological Abstracts simultaneously.
Coverage: 1840-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982   (Ebsco)
Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Coverage: 1890-1982
Sociological Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.
Coverage: 1963-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
SPIN and Scitation   (American Institute of Physics)
Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996.
AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms.
While anyone can search Scitation, searching the SPIN database requires a subscription - either personal or institutional - to one of the publications hosted on Scitation. Links from SPIN to source journals are available for off-platform articles.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Unrestricted access
Statistical Resources on the Web   (University of Michigan Documents Center)
This is an extensive guide from the University of Michigan Documents Center in the University of Michigan Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Why Files?   (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
The Why Files is a popular and critically acclaimed web site that explores the science behind the news.
Note: Unrestricted access
Wiley Online Library   (Wiley-Blackwell)
Provides indexing all journal titles and access to many journal titles on the Wiley Interscience database. Just start searching using the search box on the left side of the screen.
Coverage: full text generally from 1998-
Note: This database does not provide a full text only search.
FedStats   (U.S. Federal Agencies with Statistical Programs)
FedStats shows the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by Federal agencies.
Note: Unrestricted access
Social Services Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
United Nations Statistical Databases   (United Nations)
The UN Statistical Databases (UNSD) includes statistics, information on events and initiatives, methodological and data publications, and info on national statistical systems. Includes the Demographic Yearbook.
Note: Unrestricted access to non-subscription content
Naxos Music Library (streaming audio)   (Naxos)
Naxos Music Library (NML) is an online music library offering streaming access to classical, jazz and world music labels including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, Naxos, ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. There is also film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content as well as spoken word (radio shows), amazing nature sounds (see the classical genre list) such as elephant seals, penguins and larks, and resources such as graded music exam playlists.
Note: Please log out using the following process: Click the red "Log-out" button at the top of the "Browse / Search" page. Then, close the browser.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals   (Taylor and Francis)
Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology. Note that you can look up the journals in a specific subject by clicking on 'Journals by Subject'.
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
PsycARTICLES   (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Coverage: 1985- (unless otherwise noted)
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
PsycCritiques   (Ebsco)
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995.
Note: Mobile interface
Inside Higher Ed   (Inside Higher Ed)
An online journal of higher education.
Note: Unrestricted access (with registration)
Web of Science   (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Technical Support
PsychiatryOnline   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Psychiatry Online provides access to the DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th edition, Text Revision) and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
Teacher Toolbox   (Collaborative Digitization Program)
The teacher toolbox at the Collaborative Digitization Program (started in Colorado) includes a repository of lesson plans for teachers using the online resources in the program. The resources range from contents of museums, botanic gardens, historical societies and libraries.
Note: Unrestricted access
TeacherTube   (Teacher Tube Community)
TeacherTube is a video sharing website similar to, and based on, YouTube. It is designed to allow those in the educational industry, particularly teachers, to share educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs. The site contains a mixture of classroom teaching resources and others designed to aid teacher training. A number of students have also uploaded videos that they have made as part of K-12 and college courses.
Note: Unrestricted access
College in Colorado   (College in Colorado Campaign)
One-stop resource to help students, parents and counselors plan, apply and pay for college.
Note: Unrestricted access
Oxford Journals   (Oxford University Press)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Coverage: Varies
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (streaming video)   (Alexander Street Press)
CTIV (Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volumes I and II) provides an online collection of videos available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes videos from Microtraining Associates, Psychotherapy.net, the University of Manchester Department of Psychiatry, Allyn & Bacon, Pacific Seminars, and other sources. Includes counseling sessions/demonstrations, consultations, interviews, lectures and presentations. Online transcripts and video clip-making tools are also provided.
Note: Mobile enabled. Look for the mobile phone icon with a green plus sign.
Note: Auraria campus students and faculty members may bring a current campus I.D. to the Reserves & Video counter to borrow headphones for use on Auraria Library computers or in-house laptops.
Classroom Connection   (Xcel Energy Foundation)
Classroom Connection is a vehicle for the dissemination and adaptation of exemplary educational programs. This "teacher led" network recognizes and rewards creative teachers by promoting the exchange of good teaching techniques, Classroom Connection serves as a catalyst for focusing more attention and resources on issues concerning education, and on the pivotal role teachers play in this process. The program is available to teachers throughout the service territory of Xcel Energy in Colorado, Wyoming, Texas, New Mexico Oklahoma and Kansas.
Note: Unrestricted access
Southern Poverty Law Center   (SPLC)
A non-profit legal organization organized to fight all forms of discrimination and to protect society's most vulnerable members, handling innovative cases that few lawyers are willing to take. It investigates and monitors hate and tracks extremist activity throughout the U.S in response to a resurgence of such groups.
Note: Unrestricted access
DSM-IV-TR   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link. Also available are the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from DSM-IV-TR ®.
This I Believe   (This I Believe, Inc., National Public Radio and Atlantic Public Media)
This I Believe is a national media project engaging people in writing, sharing, and discussing the core values and beliefs that guide their daily lives. NPR airs these three-minute essays on Morning Edition and All Things Considered. The project is based on the popular 1950s radio series of the same name hosted by Edward R. Murrow. Series available on iTunes.
Note: Unrestricted access
Alphabet Bites   (Orange County Library System)
An interactive learning experience for children (and parents too!). It serves as an online counterpart to an in-person Children's Program series held throughout the library system in Orange County,Florida.
Note: Unrestricted access
Theses/Dissertations   (Multiple Sources)
A list of databases to use to find theses and dissertations.
Note: Links to another list of databases
Awesome Stories   (Awesome Stories)
Awesome Stories gathers primary-source materials and presents them in the context of a story as a means of presenting subject-related links together in an interesting, cohesive way. Resources are from national archives, libraries, universities, and government web sites.
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
IUCN Redlist   (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources)
IUCN - The World Conservation Union, through its Species Survival Commission (SSC) assesses the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and selected subpopulations on a global scale to highlight taxa threatened with extinction, and therefore promote their conservation. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria
Note: Unrestricted access
NatureServe Explorer   (NatureServe)
Information on more than 65,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
Note: Unrestricted access
Teacher Rules, Roles and Rights   (National Council on Teacher Quality)
A new database of collective bargaining agreements, board policies, and teacher handbooks from the nation's largest school districts, educating 16 percent (over 8 million) of all school children, employing nearly 500,000 teachers and operating 11,000 schools from the National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ).
StoryBlocks   (Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy and Rocky Mountain Public Broadcasting Services)
Storyblocks is a project of Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy, working in partnership with Rocky Mountain Public Broadcasting Services. It is a collection of 30-60 second videos designed to model to parents, caregivers, and library staff some songs, rhymes, and fingerplays appropriate for early childhood. Each video clip includes helpful early literacy tips to increase caregivers’ understanding of child development and pre-literacy needs.
Note: Unrestricted access
Auraria Campus Group (photos on Flickr)   (Auraria Library)
This Flickr group is for pictures taken on the Auraria Campus in downtown Denver, Colorado. The Auraria Campus is home to three public institutions of higher learning: the Downtown Denver Campus of the University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center, also called UCDHSC-DDC, the Metropolitan State College of Denver, also called Metro State and MSCD, and the Community College of Denver, or CCD.
Note: Unrestricted access
Round Trips   (Jim Strum and Tim Gore)
RoundTrips is student-centered distance learning developed by classroom teachers for use by classroom teachers and delivered via innovative and engaging technology. Through the unique resource of RoundTrips' portable satellite transmitter and video studio, expand your classroom beyond its four walls and textbooks. There is an unfortunate spinning log on the home page so this link points to a list of current projects.
Note: Unrestricted access
Tuskeegee Airmen   (Tuskegee Airmen, Inc.)
The Tuskegee Airmen of World War II were America's first black military airmen. This website presents their history in photos and text and encourages today's youth in aviation careers.
Note: Unrestricted access
OECD Factbook   (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators.
Note: Unrestricted access
Library of Economics and Liberty   (Liberty Fund, Inc.)
Includes classic and modern economics books online, columns and articles, suggested readings, and related works in history, political theory and philosophy, fully search-able. Includes data sets, brief articles, annotated bibliographies, and links to online resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
World Almanac and Book of Facts (current edition)   (LexisNexis)
Quick, comprehensive, and authoritative information on the economy and business, arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, nations of the world, sports, the environment, noted personalities, vital statistics, crime employment, lifestyles, education, science and technology, health and nutrition, and more.
APA Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
The Practice Guidelines is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link.
AJOL   (African Journals OnLine)
AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database.
Note: Unrestricted access
Sage Journals Online   (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database   (CLCD Company, LLC)
Contains over 300,000 full-text book reviews of children's literature and over 1.8 million cataloging records.
University of Chicago Press Journals   (University of Chicago Press)
Full text access to about 50 journals in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.Off campus users may not be able to see PDFs larger than 350kB. Use the full text link instead.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Encyclopedia of Counseling   (Sage)
Fully searchable encyclopedia on all aspects of counseling.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Using English   (UsingEnglish.com)
UsingEnglish.com is a general English website, specializing in English ad a second language (ESL) with resources for learners and teachers.
Note: Unrestricted access
Creativity Resource for Teachers   (Denver Art Museum)
This is a growing resource of fully-developed lesson plans (early childhood-grade 12), related high-resolution images of works in the Denver Art Museum collection.
Note: Unrestricted access
America's Best Colleges   (U.S. News and World Report)
U.S. News ranks more than 1,400 colleges each year by area, discipline and programs. This links to the freely accessible information. Buy a subscription to get into the 'locked' areas online.
Note: Unrestricted access
Thinkfinity   (Verizon Foundation)
Thinkfinity is an educational resource site including good quality subject-specific 'reference' sites. You can limit by 'higher education' and then by such resource types as 'reference' and 'primary resources.'
Also try the Literacy Network for resources about teaching literacy.
Note: Unrestricted access
TED Talks   (TED Conferences)
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. Initially (1984) it was simply a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Now it uses all sorts of technology to spread the ideas including conferences.
Note: Unrestricted access
School Facts   (Piton Foundation)
This database provides information about schools in the Denver Public Schools system. Includes student demographics (income, race/ethnicity, average daily attence, percentage of student suspensions); experience & turnover of teachers, principal and staff; school performance ratings and CSAP scores, school performance data,
ebrary ebooks   (ebrary)
Online access to full-text ebooks in multiple disciplines.
Cyber Bullying Searchable Information Center   (Ebrary)
A searchable collection of ebooks on cyberbullying from a variety of publishers and government agencies.
Note: Unrestricted access
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness   (Gale Cengage)
Reference work providing information on the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community in most of the major countries around the world.
MetaLib   (U.S. Government Printing Office)
MetaLib is a federated search engine from the U.S. Government Printing Office that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, such as EPA, ERIC, Library of Congress, PubMed, and usa.gov, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Note: Unrestricted access
Statesman's Yearbook   (Palgrave McMillan)
Includes current and historical archival information (dating back to 1864) about every country in the world, including history, leaders, population, territory, social statistics, climate, government, elections, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry, trade, communications, social institutions, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives, further readings.
Adherents.com   (Adherents.com)
Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations, references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. "Adherents.com is an Internet initiative and is not affiliated with any religious, political, educational, or commercial organization."
Note: Unrestricted access
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals   (U.S. Department of Defense)
Air University Library is a Department of Defense (DOD) library housing collections in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. The Index to Military Periodicals has significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in military and aeronautical periodicals. Updated quarterly.
Coverage: index 1990-
Note: Unrestricted access
General OneFile   (Gale Cengage)
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Coverage: Updated daily
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Making of America   (Multiple sources)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan.
Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877
Note: Unrestricted access
Kid-Friendly Countries   (Population Connection)
Population Connection (previously named Zero Population Growth) is an educational organization that advocates action to stabilize world population at a level that can be sustained by Earth's resources. This is a searchable web report of aquality of life survey of 80 countries.
Note: Unrestricted access
Colorado's Main Streets   (Collaborative Digitization Program)
A project to educate the public about the value of preservation; the role historic structures play in livable communities, encourage heritage tourism, and offer opportunities for students and teachers to use the sites as educational tool.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mapping Your Future   (Mapping Your Future)
This website focuses on pre-college planning and is a public service project. Includes info on choosing a career, selecting a school, paying for higher education, a financial aid calendar and scholarship resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
ChoiceReviews.online   (American Library Association)
The online version of the print magazine CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education.
SPARC   (Association of Research Libraries)
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) is an alliance of academic and research libraries and organizations working through advocacy, education, and incubation of alternatives to correct market dysfunctions in the scholarly publishing system.
Note: Unrestricted access
National Biological Information Infrastructure   (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics))
A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources.
Note: Unrestricted access
Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape and Planning   (College of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado at Denver)
The Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape, and Planning (ELCALP) is an educational tool created by faculty, staff and students of the University of Colorado at Denver's College of Architecture and Planning. Its aim is to make images and information about buildings and sites in Colorado easily accessible in ways that are useful for many different people. This on-line database documents a wide array of sites, structures, and projects, including those which are significant because they have received awards from professional design and planning associations or because they appear on state and national registers of historic places.
Note: Unrestricted access
Author Rights   (SPARC)
Author Rights is an educational initiative and introduction to the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) Author Addendum, a legal form that enables authors of journal articles to modify publishers' copyright transfer agreements and allow authors to keep key rights to their articles.
Note: Unrestricted access
Digital Primer   (University of Maryland University College)
To learn about issues relating to copyright in digital works and the problems encountered by educational institutions in their use of digital materials for teaching, research and service. For those unfamiliar copyright law generally, please consult the UMUC Center for Intellectual Property's Copyright Primer.
Note: Unrestricted access
NASA   (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration databases, educational sites, photos and schedules.
Note: Unrestricted access
Know Your Copy Rights   (Association of Research Libraries)
A website for librarians who are developing positive educational programs for academic users of copyrighted materials in US not-for-profit institutions.
Note: Unrestricted access
Old Magazine Articles.com   (Matt Jacobsen and others)
An indexed eclectic collection of PDFs of old articles, essays, poetry, cartoons and photographs collected from a number of different libraries, bookshops and yard sales throughout the United States and Europe.
The site states "To the best of our understanding, all the content is in the public domain (with the clear exception being the RSS feeds on the Latest Fashions" page and the "Education" page)". Check the Auraria Library catalog by journal title.
Note: Unrestricted access
Cochrane Library   (Wiley Interscience)
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
Palgrave Connect eBooks: Social and Cultural Studies   (Palgrave Macmillan)
eBooks covering educational, gender, social, and cultural topics.
OpenSky   (National Science Foundation, National Center for Atmospheric Research)
OpenSky is the open access institutional repository supporting the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) which manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado and the UCAR Community Programs (UCP), extending free and open access for the benefit of research and education.
Note: Unrestricted access
World Digital Library   (Library of Congress and UNESCO)
The Library of Congress (LOC) and the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) jointly created this portal as a collection of high-quality digital items reflecting the cultural heritage of all UNESCO member countries.
Note: Unrestricted access