| Journal Citation Reports (JCR) (Thomson ISI) Journal Citation Reports (JCR) allows you to evaluate and compare scholarly journals in all areas of the sciences and social sciences. Results can be used to determine which journals are the most important and influential in their respective disciplines by showing the highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, and the largest journals. Coverage: 2009 |
| Colorado Water 2012: Connecting Coloradans to their Water (Colorado Foundation for Water Education) Colorado Water 2012 is a statewide celebration of water uses and value. It collects and provides acces to resources, events, and activities available to learn more about water. Note: Unrestricted access |
| MADCAD (CompuTecture) MADCAD provides full-text access to numerous building codes and standards, including the International Building Code, International Energy Conservation Code, International Fire Code, etc. |
| Natural Gas Extraction - Hydraulic Fracturing (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) The EPA's focus and obligations under the law are to provide oversight, guidance and, where appropriate, rulemaking that achieve the best possible protections for the air, water and land where Americans live, work and play. The Agency is investing in improving our scientific understanding of hydraulic fracturing, providing regulatory clarity with respect to existing laws, and using existing authorities where appropriate to enhance health and environmental safeguards. Hydraulic fracturing is one of several issues (Air, Climate Change, Emergencies, Green Living, Health and Safety, Land and Cleanup, Pesticides, Chemicals and Toxic Waste, and Water) addressed in the EPA's Learn the Issues webpages. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Environmental Economics Research Guide (Auraria Library, W. Tietjen) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| Environmental Health News (Environmental Health Sciences) Worldwide news about a variety of subjects related to the environment and health of humans, wildlife and ecosystems. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Environmental Health Perspectives (U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences) Extensive database on the environment, toxicity, and cancer. A password is required for some data and publications in the database. As a depository library Auraria Library has free access. Request password from the Research Help Desk. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Environmental Journals on the Internet (National Library for the Environment) Many full text journals and table of contents. From the National Library for the Environment. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest) A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index. Coverage: 1967- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Environmental Studies (LexisNexis) Search law reviews, news, and federal documents (including EPA, OSHA and Superfund site reports) on environmental topics. |
| Environmental Studies Research Guide (Auraria Library, I. Ferrer-Vinent) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (Columbia University, U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Use ENTRI to match environmental treaties with natural resource indicators. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
| Library Environmental Scan 2003 (OCLC) Pattern Recognition report was produced for OCLC's worldwide membership to examine the significant issues and trends impacting OCLC, libraries, museums, archives and other allied organizations, both now and in the future. The scan provides a high-level view of the information landscape, intended both to inform and stimulate discussion about future strategic directions. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) NEPIS offers one stop shopping for over 6,000 full text, on line EPA documents. Coverage: 1997- Note: Unrestricted access |
| Toxicology and Environmental Health Information (U.S. National Library of Medicine) Free access to TOXLINE, TOXNET, the CHEM ID database as well as tutorials and links to toxicology and environmental health. Through National Library of Medicine. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Access Science (McGraw-Hill) Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Coverage: updated weekly |
| Computer Science Research Guide (Auraria Library, D. Turner) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology (Idea Group Reference) Scholarly research from all over the world on all aspects of information science and technologies. Includes terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms; comprehensive coverage of critical issues related to utilization and management of information science and technologies; and references on existing literature of all research on information science and technologies. |
| Food Science Central (IFIS) A website with food and nutrition news and an index to articles on food, nutrition and food production. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Informal Science Education (National Science Foundation) Informal Science Education portion of the website of the Division of Elementary, Secondary, and Informal Education (ESIE) that supports the National Science Foundation's mission of providing leadership and promoting development of the infrastructure and resources needed to improve preK-12 STEM education throughout the United States. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (Ebsco) LLIS indexes articles and book reviews of library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Coverage: Indexing 1984 - ; selected full text 1994 - Note: Limited to one simultaneous user, please close your browser when finished. |
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with full text (LISTA) (Ebsco) LISTA (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings in online information retrieval, information management, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, etc. Note: Mobile interface |
| National Science Digital Library (Information Institute of Syracuse) Funded by the National Science Foundation, the NSDL is a digital library of exemplary educational resources for social science, science, technology, engineering and mathematics. For all education levels, elementary through higher education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Palgrave Connect eBooks: Political Science and International Studies (Palgrave Macmillan) eBooks covering political topics and international issues. |
| Political Science Research Guide (Auraria Library, L. Treff-Gangler) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| Science Accelerator (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Search collections of DOE research results, project descriptions, and accomplishments. These collections enable you to find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search scientific e-prints, locate science conference papers and proceedings, and more. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation) Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Science and Technology ES (Smithsonian Institution) Science & technology collections, exhibits and artifacts from the Smithsonian Institution's Encyclopedia Smithsonian. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Science and Technology Learning Materials (Merlot) Merlot is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education which contains high quality learning resources. This is the section on science and technology. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Social Science Research Network (Social Science Electronic Publishing Inc. (SSEP)) Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 800 leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Note: Unrestricted access with registration |
| Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (Morgan & Claypool) This online library consists of ebooks (lectures) that summarize/synthesize important research or development topics in computer science or engineering, authored by an expert in the field. The collection covers engineering areas, primarily related to electrical engineering, computer science, and bioengineering. |
| Virtual Journals in Science and Technology (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society) Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each of the virtual journals presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, journals from participating publishers on AIP's Scitation, Science, and Nature. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Web of Science (Thomson ISI) A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results. Coverage: 1975- Note: Technical Support |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides access to the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. |
| Compendex (Elsevier) Online version of Engineering Index. Citations and summaries to journal articles, technical papers, conference proceedings and papers in all engineering disciplines. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1884- Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link. |
| ECHO (Enforcement and Compliance History Online) (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) Pilot site giving current detailed environmental compliance record of more than 800,000 regulated facilities nationwide. Note: Unrestricted access |
| EPA databases (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) A gateway to the resources of EPA that are of particular use to researchers. It includes plans, data, reports and funding programs. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
| Threatened and Endangered Species System (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service) Standard Threatened and Endangered Species reports are accessible including taxonomic, range-based and regulatory reports. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| National Atlas of the United States (U.S. Geological Survey with other government agencies & Environmental Systems Research Institute) USGS was coordinated and lead the effort of more than 20 Federal agencies. Nationalatlas.gov is the new National Atlas of the United States. Like its predecessor, this new atlas provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States. Note: Unrestricted access |
| NOAA (U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere. Includes the National Weather Service and the National Marine Fisheries Service. Also available is the Web of Science. Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link. |
| PLoS (Public Library of Science) PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine are online open access peer-reviewed journals . Note: Unrestricted access |
| SCIRUS (Elsevier) Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). It includes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). More about SCIRUS. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Natural Hazards Center Publications (University of Colorado at Boulder) Links to descriptions of individual publication series which are produced at the Hazards Center. Note: Unrestricted access |
| WordNet (Princeton University) An online lexical reference system whose design is inspired by current psycholinguistic theories of human lexical memory. English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are organized into synonym sets, each representing one underlying lexical concept. Different relations link the synonym sets. Note: Unrestricted access |
| SciPer (Universities of Leeds and Sheffield) Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical is a searchable electronic index to the science content of sixteen nineteenth-century general periodicals. |
| GeoScience World (GeoScienceWorld) Full text access to a collection of high impact geosciences journals Coverage: ca. 2000 - |
| Marquis Biographies Online (Marquis) Biographical database searchable by birth date, education and degree, career history, creative works and more. Profiles from: Who Was Who in America, and the many Who's Who (aka Online Biographies) from Marquis ... in the Library in print. Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users, please log out when finished |
| Momento Project (Research Library, Los Alamos National Laboratory and the Computer Science Department, Old Dominion University) This experimental project attempts to search directly for and display archived versions of a website from a variety of sources including the websites archive, and the Wayback Machine. Note: Unrestricted access |
| OpenSky (National Science Foundation, National Center for Atmospheric Research) OpenSky is the open access institutional repository supporting the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) which manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Colorado and the UCAR Community Programs (UCP), extending free and open access for the benefit of research and education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Agricola (U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library) Search this database to find articles, chapters & book citations on agriculture-related topics. Note: Unrestricted access |
| ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals (American Chemical Society) Full text access to all ACS journals. Look for the tab that says "Search the journals" or browse by journal. Coverage: from the beginning publication date of each journal Note: On campus only link |
| Architectural Index (Architectural Index) Index to 18 prominent journals in the areas of architecture, interior design, and construction. Coverage: index 1982- |
| ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) access to all the journals and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Coverage: journals 2000- ; proceedings 2002- |
| BIOSIS Previews (Thomson ISI) BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) is an index to biological and biomedical literature in journals, patents, meetings and books. Includes abstracts. Search BIOSIS Previews, Medline and Web of Science simultaneously. Coverage: abstracts 1926- |
| Chemfinder (CambridgeSoft Corporation) A chemical database which provides CAS registry numbers, physical property data and 2D chemical structures. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Engineering Village (Elsevier) Engineering Village 2 offers resources in the applied science and engineering fields. It provides access to Compendex (ex-Engineering Index) and INSPEC. Coverage: INSPEC: 1969- ; Compendex: 1884- Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link. |
| Health Information (U.S. National Institutes of Health) Consumer resources on health topics from the health related agencies of the United States government presented by the National Institutes of Health. To focus on scholarly resources on medical topics use the Auraria Library access to PubMed. Logging in will allow the citations found in PubMed to be linked to full text resources purchased by Auraria Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
| ARTstor (ARTstor) ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of art, architecture, archeology, and humanities images, with descriptive information. ARTstor includes an OIV (offline image viewer). Images may be viewed and analyzed in the OIV, using features such as zooming, panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared use, or creating presentations to be delivered either online or offline. PowerPoint images may now be incorporated into the OIV. ARTstor continually adds digital collections to the database. Note: The current version requires IE7, Firefox 2.0 or Safari 3.0. If you are in an older browser you must upgrade to use ArtStor. The complete functionality of ArtStor including creating folders and using the OIV is not available on an iPad because iPads do not support Java technology. To use these functions you need to use a laptop or desktop computer. Monitor resolution should be set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher for optimal use of ArtStor. Try clearing your browser cache if you have problems viewing ArtStor. If you have questions about using ArtStor, please contact Linda Tietjen, Arts & Architecture Collection Development Librarian, at 303-556-4298. |
| Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent. Many materials supply descriptions of North America\\'s natural features and interactions among various cultural groups. Searchable by place, year, peoples, cultural/ personal events, flora, fauna, and other factors. Supplies unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women. Coverage: 1534-1860 |
| Knovel Library (Knovel Corporation) An extensive collection of reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Many of the reference works are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools for data analysis. |
| Energy Citations Database (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The database provides access to DOE publicly available citations, with continued growth through regular updates. May be used to replace PubScience. Coverage: 1948- Note: Unrestricted access |
| EnergyFiles Portal Search (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to energy science and technology, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. Sponsored, developed, and maintained by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Envirofacts Warehouse (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) Envirofacts Warehouse allows you to retrieve environmental information from EPA databases on air, chemicals, facility information, hazardous waste, risk management plans, Superfund, toxic releases, and water permits. You may retrieve information from several databases at once, or from one database at a time. Note: expert searchers "technical users" may want to register to have access through the Direct Connect Option, see http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/technical.html Note: Unrestricted access |
| ETDE Web (International Energy Agency) The world's largest collection of energy literature, with more than 3.8 million abstracted and indexed records. Access is free but you must register and be a citizen of a member country. For the U.S. they promise a response to your registration in 3 - 5 days. Coverage: Updated twice monthly Note: Unrestricted access |
| Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia (Wiley Interscience) Provides short descriptive entries on virtually every topic in science & technology. |
| GeoRef (Ebsco) Citations for U.S. and international journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and maps in Geology and the Earth Sciences. Includes GeoRef in Process content. Coverage: North American geology from 1785-; international geology from 1933- Note: Mobile interface |
| PLANTS database (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service) The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale Cengage) Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Also includes health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Health Reference Center Academic (Gale Cengage) Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| MEDLINEplus (U.S. National Library of Medicine) MEDLINEplus provides information to help answer health questions bringing together, by health topic, authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), government, non-profit and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MEDLINEplus and give easy access to the medical research literature. The database also provides consumer health information, drug information, dictionary, and an illustrated medical encyclopedia. Note: Unrestricted access |
| MEDLINEplus Informacion de Salud (Espanol) (U.S. National Library of Medicine) MEDLINEplus le dirigir a informacion que ayuda a responder preguntas de salud. Catalogada por tema de salud, MEDLINEplus renne informacion oficial de NLM, Institutos Nacionales de la Salud (NIH, por su sigla en ingles), y otras organizaciones de gobierno y sin fines de lucro relacionadas con la salud. Tambion le proporciona una enciclopedia medica ilustrada y programas interactivos de instruccion de salud. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Academies Press (The National Academies) Fulltext access to books (ebooks) in science, engineering, and health from the National Academy of Sciences. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Resources Inventory (U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service) The National Resources Inventory (NRI) is a statistically based sample of land use and natural resource conditions and trends on U.S. nonfederal lands. It is the most comprehensive database of its kind ever attempted anywhere in the world. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Technical Information Service (U.S. Department of Commerce) Technical and government contractor reports which are usually the result of U.S. government sponsored research grants and produced by universities or research centers. Abstracts of reports, many of which are available from the National Technical Information Service Full Text Pilot Project or the University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library, which has an extensive, comprehensive, historical collection in microfiche of technical reports from various federal agencies such as NTIS, NASA, Atomic Energy Agency (AEC), and Dept. of Energy (DOE). An interlibrary loan request will produce a microfiche copy of the report which you may keep or donate back to the Auraria Library. Be sure to indicate clearly on your request that it is a U.S. government technical report to be requested from UC Boulder. Coverage: 1964- Note: Unrestricted access |
| NLM Gateway (U.S. National Library of Medicine) A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple NIH databases. The current Gateway searches Medline/PubMed, TOXLINE Special, LOCATORplus, MedlinePlus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Academic OneFile Plus (Gale Cengage) News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations. Coverage: Updated daily. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| PAN Pesticide Database (Pesticide Action Network) The Pesticide Action Network, PAN, Pesticide Database brings together a diverse array of information on pesticides from many different sources, providing human toxicity (chronic and acute), ecotoxicity and regulatory information for approximately 5,400 pesticide active ingredients and their transformation products, as well as adjuvants and solvents used in pesticide products. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Science.gov (science.gov alliance) Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page. Note: Unrestricted access |
| PsycINFO (ProQuest) PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines. -- Search PsycInfo, PsycArticles and Sociological Abstracts simultaneously. Coverage: 1840- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Right-to-Know Network (RTK Net) Provides free access to numerous databases such as the Toxics Release Inventory, CERCLIS, text files, and conferences on the environment, housing, and sustainable development. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Toxnet (U.S. National Library of Medicine) A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Why Files? (University of Wisconsin-Madison) The Why Files is a popular and critically acclaimed web site that explores the science behind the news. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Information Bridge (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Free public access to over 210,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Wiley Online Library (Wiley-Blackwell) Provides indexing all journal titles and access to many journal titles on the Wiley Interscience database. Just start searching using the search box on the left side of the screen. Coverage: full text generally from 1998- Note: This database does not provide a full text only search. |
| Ecolex (FAO, IUCN, UNEP) A gateway to information about environmental law has been developed by combining the legal libraries of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the World Conservation Union (IUCN), and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library (Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation) The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Digital Library contains RMMLF Annual Conference materials from 1955 to last year in a searchable format. Coverage: 1955- Note: Security certificate warnings may appear. It is safe to continue. Note: No password required, click "Submit" to proceed. |
| Taylor and Francis Online Journals (Taylor and Francis) Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology. Note that you can look up the journals in a specific subject by clicking on 'Journals by Subject'. Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage: 1985- (unless otherwise noted) Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| PsycCritiques (Ebsco) Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995. Note: Mobile interface |
| Heritage at Risk (ICOMOS) These reports identify threatened heritage places, monuments and sites, present typical case studies and trends, and share suggestions for solving individual or global threats to our cultural heritage. Note: Unrestricted access |
| BioOne (Amigos) Provides full-text of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. |
| National Biological Information Infrastructure (U.S. Geological Survey (Center for Biological Informatics)) A broad, collaborative program to provide increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources linking diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and others. NBII partners and collaborators also work on new standards, tools, and technologies that make it easier to find, integrate, and apply biological resources information. see also NBII digital image library & teacher resources. Note: Unrestricted access |
| European Space Agency (European Space Agency) The Agency's projects are designed to find out more about the Earth, its immediate space environment, the solar system and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries. ESA also works closely with space organisations outside Europe to share the benefits of space with the whole of mankind.It has an extensive program of satellite monitoring the earth environment (air and water pollution, ozone, weather) Note: Unrestricted access |
| Sanborn Maps of Colorado (University of Colorado Boulder) A digital collection of Sanborn fire insurance maps of cities across Colorado. The collection contains 346 maps of 79 principal cities in 52 counties covering the years 1883-1922. Available in a keyword search or a map interface search. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press) Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| ASCE Civil Engineering Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) The ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with full text access to all ASCE journals and proceedings. Coverage: journals 1995- ; proceedings 1998- Note: Please click through the popup statement that we need a new Google maps API key to continue on to your search results. This a known problem that is being addressed. |
| POPLINE - reproductive health literature (Info Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and the U.S. AID) Database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape and Planning (College of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado at Denver) The Electronic Library of Colorado Architecture, Landscape, and Planning (ELCALP) is an educational tool created by faculty, staff and students of the University of Colorado at Denver's College of Architecture and Planning. Its aim is to make images and information about buildings and sites in Colorado easily accessible in ways that are useful for many different people. This on-line database documents a wide array of sites, structures, and projects, including those which are significant because they have received awards from professional design and planning associations or because they appear on state and national registers of historic places. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Avibase (BirdLife International) Bird Checklists of the World is part of Avibase and Bird links to the World, which are designed and maintained by Denis Lepage, and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, which is a co-partner of Birdlife International. Note: Unrestricted access |
| AtoZ Maps Online (World Trade Press) A database of proprietary and royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps. Coverage: New maps added monthly. |
| Downtown Denver Area Plan (Downtown Denver Partnership and Denver Civic Ventures) The Downtown Denver Partnership and Denver Civic Ventures are working in partnership with the City and County of Denver to produce the Denver Downtown Area Plan. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Medline (Multiple sources) Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The Medline link above uses the NLM Gateway. Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search. See also: Medline (Thomson ISI) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science. PubMed Medline is the primary component of PubMed. MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish). |
| Web of Knowledge (Thomson ISI) The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration. Note: Technical Support |
| Superfund National Priority List (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) Information on the most polluted sites in the United States and on their cleanup. Note: Unrestricted access |
| IUCN Redlist (International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources) IUCN - The World Conservation Union, through its Species Survival Commission (SSC) assesses the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and selected subpopulations on a global scale to highlight taxa threatened with extinction, and therefore promote their conservation. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria Note: Unrestricted access |
| NatureServe Explorer (NatureServe) Information on more than 65,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Guidelines for Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses (Graduate School - UCD) Guidelines For Preparing Masters' and Doctoral Theses. Graduate School, University of Colorado Denver Downtown Denver Campus, April 2006. See also Grad Student policies page for CLAS |
| FERC elibrary (U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission) A records information system that contains documents submitted to and issued by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Continuation of print Reports and Statutes. Coverage: index: 1981- ; Note: Unrestricted access |
| Library of Economics and Liberty (Liberty Fund, Inc.) Includes classic and modern economics books online, columns and articles, suggested readings, and related works in history, political theory and philosophy, fully search-able. Includes data sets, brief articles, annotated bibliographies, and links to online resources. Note: Unrestricted access |
| DOE Data Explorer (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research by discipline. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Federal Websites - Native Americans (Oklahoma Department of Libraries) A guide to United States federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans. Most of these websites focus on tribal matters, though a few general websites are included for their importance. There are many more general websites important to tribes listed in the USA.gov website at the end of this guide. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online (ProQuest) Comprehensive index to scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions and indexes on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source. Coverage: 1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741 Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| GreenFILE (Ebsco) A multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Note: Mobile interface |
| WorldWideScience.org (WorldWideScience Alliance) Developed and maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information in partnership with the British Library, is a global science gateway enablling federated searching of national and international scientific databases. Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, published by contributing nations. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Water Resources of the United States (U.S. Geological Survey) The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data (stream flow, ground water levels and water quality), publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Antarctic Bibliography (American Geological Institute) Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. Produced with support from the National Science Foundation with contributions from the Scott Polar Research Institute, University of Cambridge. Coverage: 1950- |
| Biological and Biomedical Journal Literature (Thomson ISI) A combined search abstracts in Web of Science, Medline and Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS). Coverage: abstracts 1995- |
| DOE Green Energy (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) This is a search of green energy DOE technical report literature, green energy patent information and more. Note: Unrestricted access |
| MetaLib (U.S. Government Printing Office) MetaLib is a federated search engine from the U.S. Government Printing Office that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, such as EPA, ERIC, Library of Congress, PubMed, and usa.gov, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Book Review Digest Plus (Ebsco) Reviews of books, journals and magazines includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and text of book reviews from eleven other technical and science databases from Wilson. Coverage: Updated monthly. 1983- |
| Chemistry.org (American Chemical Society) Chemistry for the non-chemist (policy makers, educators, enthusiasts) from the American Chemical Society. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System (ProQuest) Search citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by post-graduate students from all University of Colorado campuses and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts. Full text of many of those published after 1996 are downloadable. |
| Federal R&D Project Summaries (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Searchable descriptions and awards amounts of current federal research projects funded with federal grants from U.S. Department of Energy, National Institutes of Health, and the National Science Foundation. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
| Education Development Center (EDC) An international non-profit which manages 335 projects in 50 countries that address challenges in education, health, technology and human rights. The efforts are based on the "conviction that learning is the liberating force in human development." Projects include the Digital Divide Network, The Initiative for Pediatric Palliative Care at the Center for Applied Ethics and Professional Practice and Resources for Educators at the Center for Science Education. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Congressional Research Service Reports on the Environment (National Library for the Environment) These CRS reports were produced by the Congressional Research Service, a branch of the Library of Congress providing nonpartisan research reports to members of the House and Senate. The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) has made these reports available to the public at large, through the National Library for the Environment (NLE). Note: Unrestricted access |
| Project Muse (Project Muse) Provides full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Current issues and backfiles. Try the Australian mirror site if this one does not work. |
| WilsonWeb (Ebsco) H.W. Wilson was purchased by Ebsco and the WilsonWeb databases are now available through the Ebsco database platform. The Wilson databases are included in this alphabetical list of resources available through Ebsco. Check the ones you wish to search and "Continue". |
| Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest) Previously known as Digital Dissertations. Bibliographic citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from graduate schools and universities. Titles published since 1997 have 24 page previews available. Now includes full text of the University of Colorado Systems dissertations on Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System. Coverage: index 1861- , abstracts 1980- , previews 1997- |
| Bibliotheca Alexandrina (Bibliotheca Alexandrina) The new Library of Alexandria, is dedicated to recapturing the spirit of the original. It aspires to be the World's window on Egypt, Egypt's window on the world, a leading institution of the digital age and it is a center for learning, tolerance, dialogue and understanding. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Images Canada (Library and Archives Canada) Search the collections of participating archives, libraries, museums and universities from across Canada by keyword, follow an Image Trail or browse through the Photo Essays for search ideas. In French and English. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Open CRS (Center for Democracy & Technology) American taxpayers fund the Congressional Research Service ($100 million/yr) yet only a portion of these reports are released to the public and there is no systematic collection of them that is publically accessible. Through the cooperation of unofficial collectors Open CRS provides citizen access to CRS Reports already released into the public domain. CDT encourages Congress to provide systematic public access to all CRS Reports. A related site is the Congressional Research Service Reports Collection at UNT. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Government Research Databases (Auraria Library) Research databases provided by the United States government free in the United States. Note: Unrestricted access |
| World Almanac and Book of Facts (current edition) (LexisNexis) Quick, comprehensive, and authoritative information on the economy and business, arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, nations of the world, sports, the environment, noted personalities, vital statistics, crime employment, lifestyles, education, science and technology, health and nutrition, and more. |
| SPIE Digital Library (SPIE) Full text access to the SPIE ebooks, journals and proceedings, covering the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging. Coverage: 1990- |
| Advances in Inorganic Chemistry (Elsevier) Review journal in inorganic chemistry Coverage: 2000- Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link. |
| DOE Information Bridge (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information) Free access to full text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. Coverage: 1995- Note: Unrestricted access |
| General OneFile (Gale Cengage) News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Coverage: Updated daily Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| OECD Factbook (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Factbook contains economic, environmental and social statistics for the OECD countries (mostly European) using over 100 different economic indicators. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Scitopia Partners List (Scitopia.org) The Scitopia partner societies regret to announce that the Scitopia free federated search portal has been discontinued in 2012. All of the Scitopia partners wish to thank our users for their support over the last few years, and we encourage you to visit the sites of the society partners for the best scholarly content in science and technology. |
| CQ Researcher plus Archive (CQ Press) Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and political issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Full text. Coverage: 1923- |
| BiologyBrowser (Thomson BIOSIS) Offers resources for the life sciences information community. Includes the Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology, the Zoological Record Thesaurus, and links to current science news stories and relevant web sites. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Making of America (Multiple sources) Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877 Note: Unrestricted access |
| Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This comprehensive news source contains: full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers; 18 international newspapers; newswires from 6 sources including AP Online, Asia Pulse, Canadian Corporate News, Canadian Press Wire, Newsbytes News Service and World Stream Newswires; full text of The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times; and indexing and abstracts for USA Today, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. Note: Mobile interface |
| Original Sources (Western Standard Publishing Company) Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Formerly known as American Reference Library. |
| PAIS International (ProQuest) Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources. Coverage: 1914- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey (U.S. Geological Survey) A catalog of USGS Publications (current and historic maps, aerial photos, satellite images, datasets, reports) and other products (screensavers, earth science image sets for teaching) available for purchase or for free download. see also How to obtain publications of the USGS and USGS publications warehouse. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science. Coverage: 1963- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| SPIN and Scitation (American Institute of Physics) Scitation is the re-launch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci-tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. AIP's SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. The SPIN database differs from Scitation in that it includes articles that are hosted on other online platforms. While anyone can search Scitation, searching the SPIN database requires a subscription - either personal or institutional - to one of the publications hosted on Scitation. Links from SPIN to source journals are available for off-platform articles. Coverage: 1975- Note: Unrestricted access |
| PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) The U.S. National Library of Medicine's PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed is part of the Entrez series of databases provided by NLM's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Citations here include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature) and publisher web sites. Logging in allows you to connect to Auraria Library's full text content. |
| MESSENGER Web Site (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Messenger Team) The Messenger (MErcury Surface, Space ENvironment, GEochemistry and Ranging) Web Site displays NASA's "mission to conduct the first orbital study" of Mercury through images, photo mosaics, illustrations, descriptions of the program and the associated science and technology. Connects directly to Google Earth. Note: Unrestricted access |
| ICPSR (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research) The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some datasets are available to the public. Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data. |
| New Zealand Digital Library (University of Waikato) Provides several document collections, including historical documents, humanitarian and development information, computer science technical reports and bibliographies, literary works, and magazines. All are available over the Web, and can be accessed through searching and browsing interfaces provided by the Greenstone digital library software. Note: Unrestricted access |
| SPIN (InfoEd) SPIN (the Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a database of federal, non-federal and corporate funding opportunities designed to assist faculty and staff in the identification of external sources of support for research, education and development projects. Access available through the UCD Health Science Campus Office of Sponsored Programs. Note: In Library use only. |
| Oxford Digital Reference Shelf (Oxford University Press) A list of and links to the scholarly reference titles in the Arts (including dance and decorative arts), Literature and language, history and culture, African-American history, science and social sciences from Oxford University Press. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Highly Cited (Thomson ISI) Author biographies and bibliographies from Web of Science publishers ISI Thomson. |
| In-cites (Thomson ISI) In-cites provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Informa HealthCare (Informa HealthCare.com) Database of pharmaceutical, medical, and life science journals published by Informa HealthCare. |
| Strauss Complementary and Indigenous Medicine Collection (UCD Health Science Library) Books, journals and other materials, related to complementary health practices and alternative therapies around the world housed at the UCHSC library. Books from the collection may be borrowed by Auraria users via interlibrary loan and/or the Prospector System. |
| Sage Journals Online (Sage) Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications. Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1. |