| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Virtual Reference Library (Gale Cengage) With one search you can find articles in six full text encyclopedias of history and multcultural studies. Includes Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students (4v, 2002), Dictionary of American History (3rd ed., 10v, 2003), African American Almanac (9th ed., 2003), African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience (2003), Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America (3v, 2004), Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2nd ed., 3v, 2000) Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Plant Sciences Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage) A basic encyclopedia of botany. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| American Decades Primary Sources (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale Cengage) This cross-disciplinary collection spans the 20th century with each volume in the set presenting full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Colorado Virtual Library (Colorado State Library The Colorado Virtual Library is a collaborative project of the Colorado State Library and the Colorado library community providing the residents of Colorado access to the information resources of the libraries in the state of Colorado. Note: Unrestricted access |
| NCJRS Virtual Library (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice) Search NCJRS' Justice Information Center web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the While House Office of National Drug Control Policy. Full text. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Virtual Journals in Science and Technology (American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society) Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each of the virtual journals presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, journals from participating publishers on AIP's Scitation, Science, and Nature. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Reference Books on Architecture (Auraria Library) Key sources you can find in the reference stacks. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Biography Reference Center (Ebsco) Full text biographical articles on Nobel Prize winners, authors, artists, politicians, world leaders, film directors, American reformers, musicians and composers from the ancient world to the present. Replaces and expands on Biographies Plus Illustrated from H.W. Wilson. |
| Educator's Reference Desk (Information Institute of Syracuse) The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to the following resources: links to resources on a variety of educational issues including internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups, lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States, a question archive of responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education and the ERIC Database. Note: Unrestricted access |
| General Reference Center Gold (Gale Cengage) Index to general magazines, newspapers and reference sources, many articles available online. A good source for popular culture, sports, etc. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Health Reference Center Academic (Gale Cengage) Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) (U.S. Department of Justice) Database containing summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. This site ONLY searches the Abstracts database. There are some articles online. For the online collection, go to the advanced website search of the NCJRS Virtual Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Oxford Digital Reference Shelf (Oxford University Press) A list of and links to the scholarly reference titles in the Arts (including dance and decorative arts), Literature and language, history and culture, African-American history, science and social sciences from Oxford University Press. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Reference USA (infoUSA) A directory of 12 million businesses and 120 million households. The business directory includes non-profit and government organizations searchable by a variety of criteria, including industry type, location, and sales volume. |
| Teacher Reference Center (Ebsco) Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Note: Mobile interface |
| Informe (Revistas en Espanol) (Gale Cengage) Investiga las noticias y eventos mas actuales, la informacion de negocios del momento, los arteculos de salud mas importantes, temas de cultura popular y muchas otras materias incluidas en las revistas hispanas mas populares. [Please excuse the lack of appropriate punctuation.] Coverage: 1995- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale Cengage) A comprehensive index to more than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Index linked to many complete articles. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Business and Company Resource Center (Gale Cengage) Presents full text profiles, including histories, chronologies, civil claims, financial data and rankings, of US and international firms; articles from business journals, newsletters, and the business sections in newspapers; selected investment reports from Investext; industry overviews; and industry trade associations. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Business Index ASAP (Gale Cengage) Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Academic and business journal articles with full text and images. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Computer Database (Gale Cengage) Index to articles and reviews, many articles available on line, on computer-related topics. Coverage: 1997- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Contemporary Authors (Gale Cengage) A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors worldwide. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Dictionary of American History (Gale Cengage) Written by academic specialists, the signed and original articles in this resource range from 100-word definitions to 7,000-word essays. Topics range from specific places, incidents and institu-tions to broadly sweeping concepts, covering all aspects of American history and daily life including: sports, diplomacy, labor, art, economics, wars, institutions, legends, places, scandals, Acts of Congress, cultural icons, government agencies and much more. Illustrations and maps are also included. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Expanded Academic Index ASAP (Gale Cengage) Index, with abstracts and much full text, to journal and magazine articles in most fields. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| General Business File ASAP (Gale Cengage) Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies. Coverage: 1982- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale Cengage) Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Also includes health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| General OneFile (Gale Cengage) News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Coverage: Updated daily Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| LegalTrac (Gale Cengage) Article citations and summaries for law-related topics from law reviews and journals. Some documents available online. Alternate access from on campus. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| National Newspaper Index (Gale Cengage) This file indexes 25 major U.S. national and regional newspapers. Coverage: Updated monthly. 1994- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Academic OneFile Plus (Gale Cengage) News and peer-reviewed periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations. Coverage: Updated daily. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| PROMT (Gale Cengage) Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use it to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. Coverage: 1999- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Opposing Viewpoints (Gale Cengage) Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) presents both sides of difficult "hot topic" issues using articles, essays, primary documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, statistics, court case overviews, profiles of government and special interest groups, web-sites, and podcasts. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Literary Criticism Online (Gale Cengage) Literary Criticism Online (LCO) contains full-text critical literary commentary from seven well-known resources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Something About the Author, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism and Short Story Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. LCO also links to Gales Lit Index, an index to additional literary compendiums. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Cengage) A searchable full-text facsimile-image database of 19th-century newspapers from across the nation chronicling American culture, daily life and events. |
| Book Review Index Online (Gale Cengage) A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with millions of review citations from thousands of publications. Coverage: 1965- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. Limited to 2 simultaneous users. |
| Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage) Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions. Coverage: Updated daily. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Something About the Author (Gale Cengage) Use SATA to find biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of books for young people as well as illustrations, author photos, and citations for further research. Coverage: 2009- : Earlier volumes in print format: REF PN451 .S6. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Cengage) DLB provides full-text access to critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. Entries also include listings of the author's most important writings and citations to writings about the author. Browse individual volumes in DLB’s main, documentary and yearbook series online. Coverage: v.1 1978- : Earlier volumes in print format: REF PS129 .D47. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection (Collaborative Digitization Program) Search 18 Colorado newspapers including Colorado Daily Republican & Rocky Mountain Herald, Colorado Miner, Rocky Mountain News Weekly, Denver Daily Times, and the Daily Register Call. Coverage: 1859-1923 Note: Unrestricted access |
| Internet Detective (Intute Virtual Training Suite and Learn Higher Project) Use this free Internet tutorial to learn to discern the good, the bad and the ugly for your online research. Other free tutorials. Note: Unresticted access |
| Colorado's Main Streets (Collaborative Digitization Program) A project to educate the public about the value of preservation; the role historic structures play in livable communities, encourage heritage tourism, and offer opportunities for students and teachers to use the sites as educational tool. Note: Unrestricted access |
| RDS Business and Management Practices - Selected Documents (LexisNexis) Focuses on management issues and business practices, how companies and managers make decisions, implement new technology or new techniques with special emphasis on case studies and practical applications including guidelines. From the Gale Group. |
| Chicano Database (OCLC from the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California) Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index." Coverage: 1967- Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished. |
| Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco) Citations, summaries and/or full text of U.S. & international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, and government and other reports, on many criminal justice topics; including crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. Coverage: 1968- Note: Mobile interface Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Original Sources (Western Standard Publishing Company) Thousands of full text classic works and firsthand accounts in books, documents, pictures, images, and sounds from world history, U.S. history, science and mathematics, social sciences, literature, political science and law, language, and philosophy and religion. Formerly known as American Reference Library. |
| Climate Monitoring (NOAA National Climate Data Center) Presentations for the U.S. of climatic data summaries including precipitation and temperature data, snow data, global products, and drought monitoring. Note: Unrestricted access |
| New Zealand Digital Library (University of Waikato) Provides several document collections, including historical documents, humanitarian and development information, computer science technical reports and bibliographies, literary works, and magazines. All are available over the Web, and can be accessed through searching and browsing interfaces provided by the Greenstone digital library software. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Round Trips (Jim Strum and Tim Gore) RoundTrips is student-centered distance learning developed by classroom teachers for use by classroom teachers and delivered via innovative and engaging technology. Through the unique resource of RoundTrips' portable satellite transmitter and video studio, expand your classroom beyond its four walls and textbooks. There is an unfortunate spinning log on the home page so this link points to a list of current projects. Note: Unrestricted access |
| EPA databases (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) A gateway to the resources of EPA that are of particular use to researchers. It includes plans, data, reports and funding programs. Coverage: current Note: Unrestricted access |
| ARBAonline (Libraries Unlimited) A database for quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Derived from the American Reference Books Annual. Coverage: 1997- |
| Using Primary Sources on the Web (RUSA, ALA) Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past. When used with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Web of Knowledge (Thomson ISI) The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration. Note: Technical Support |
| Encyclopedia.com (HighBeam Research, Inc.) Search more than 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias. Though filled with advertisements, the resources presented are sound. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Green's Dictionary of Slang (Oxford University Press) A dictionary of the "impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language". It covers five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world. |
| Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (Penn State) SCETI, a fully integrated digital library, was created in 1996 to publish virtual facsimiles of rare books and manuscripts in the Penn Library's collections. Primary source materials including the Furness Shakespeare collection and ERIC (English Rennaissance in Context) Note: Unrestricted access |
| Knovel Library (Knovel Corporation) An extensive collection of reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Many of the reference works are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools for data analysis. |
| MAS Ultra -School Edition (Ebsco) Useful for high school and community college level research, this database provides full text for over 500 general interest publications, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Emphasis is on recently published material; some key resources go back as far as 1975. Coverage: ~1985- Note: Mobile interface |
| EH.Net Encyclopedia (EH.Net) The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History provides students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. The articles are written by experts and carefully edited. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Federal Aviation Administration (U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration) The official site of the FAA with information on aircraft, airports, air traffic, data and research, licenses and certificates, training and testing, regulations and policies. For a repackaging of this info by a commercial site see the Aviation Reference Desk. Note: Unrestricted access |
| UNICEF Country Statistics (United Nations Childrens Fund) Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Stanford University) In this dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed before they are made public. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Peterson's (Thomson Peterson's) Information on colleges and universities, graduate and undergraduate programs, applications, funding (scholarships and grants), testing and more from a leading publisher of reference material. Note: Unrestricted access |
| WordNet (Princeton University) An online lexical reference system whose design is inspired by current psycholinguistic theories of human lexical memory. English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are organized into synonym sets, each representing one underlying lexical concept. Different relations link the synonym sets. Note: Unrestricted access |
| U.S. Industry and Trade Data and Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce) This single-source, industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy offers: new macro forecast for U.S. industries, highlighting trends and top performers; historical data on shipments, imports, exports, and employment; discussions of industry trends, technology, and international competition; one-, two-, and five-year forecasts; recent trade patterns and major country markets; graphs highlighting domestic and international trends; expanded coverage of industries driving the information technology revolution as well as several other important industries; detailed discussions of E-commerce vis-a-vis specific industries; and reference lists for further research. Note: Unrestricted access |
| ABC-CLIO eBooks (ABC-CLIO) Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional electronic books from a leading university, academic and professional publisher. The Library does not own many ebooks from this publisher. Please contact us if you would like other books in this format. |
| Bartelby.com (Bartleby.com) Standard reference books on the web including American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's II Thesaurus, Bartlett's Quotations, the King James Bible, Oxford Shakespeare, Gray's Anatomy, Strunk's Elements of Style, World Fact Book, and the Columbia Encyclopedia and Gazetteer.. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Europa World (Routledge) Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs. First published in 1926, the year book is one of the world's leading reference works covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. |
| Oxford African American Studies Center (Oxford University Press) The Oxford African American Studies Center database provides a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online focusing on African American and African history and culture. It provides access to a core collection of reference materials published by Oxford University Press, including 7500+ articles by top scholars in the field. In addition, it provides access to 1000+ images, 100+ maps, 100+ charts and tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries. Updated 3 to 4 times annually. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Citation Styles for Research Papers (Long Island University) A quick visual reference on five citation styles: AMA, APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago style. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Ethnologue (SIL International) An encyclopedic reference work cataloging the world's known living languages. Note: Unrestricted access (check for reproduction restrictions) |
| FAQ on Deaf Culture (Gallaudet University Library) A quick reference guide to information on deafness from Gallaudet University Library. Gallaudet University is a university in which all programs and services are specifically designed to accommodate deaf and hard of hearing students. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (Gale Cengage) Reference work providing information on the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community in most of the major countries around the world. |
| Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America (2004) (Gale Cengage) A three-volume survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States from the founding. Includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture. |
| FindArticles.com (LookSmart, Gale Group) An "archive of published articles that you can search for free." At present, contains articles dating back to 1998 from more than 300 magazines and journals. Note: Unrestricted access |
| PopNet (Population Reference Bureau) Browsable, comprehensive directory of population-related websites available by organization, by region and country, or by topic within countries. There is a new search feature linked from the search button at the bottom of the page. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology (Idea Group Reference) Scholarly research from all over the world on all aspects of information science and technologies. Includes terms, definitions and explanations of concepts, processes and acronyms; comprehensive coverage of critical issues related to utilization and management of information science and technologies; and references on existing literature of all research on information science and technologies. |