Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Industries found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


IBISWorld Industry Market Research   (IBISWorld)
IBIS World Industry Research Reports provides current reports on U.S. industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.  The Library subscribes only to this section of IBISWorld.
Note: The subscription to Industry Market Research is paid for jointly by Metropolitan State College of Denver and the Auraria Library.
Business Index ASAP   (Gale Cengage)
Perform in-depth research on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide. Academic and business journal articles with full text and images.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Industry News   (LexisNexis)
Searches articles on specific topics related to groups of industries from a variety of publications.
U.S. Industry and Trade Data and Analysis   (U.S. Department of Commerce)
This single-source, industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy offers: new macro forecast for U.S. industries, highlighting trends and top performers; historical data on shipments, imports, exports, and employment; discussions of industry trends, technology, and international competition; one-, two-, and five-year forecasts; recent trade patterns and major country markets; graphs highlighting domestic and international trends; expanded coverage of industries driving the information technology revolution as well as several other important industries; detailed discussions of E-commerce vis-a-vis specific industries; and reference lists for further research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Markets and Industry News   (LexisNexis)
Searches articles on specific topics related to groups of industries from a variety of publications.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Business and Company Resource Center   (Gale Cengage)
Presents full text profiles, including histories, chronologies, civil claims, financial data and rankings, of US and international firms; articles from business journals, newsletters, and the business sections in newspapers; selected investment reports from Investext; industry overviews; and industry trade associations.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
RDS Business and Management Practices - Selected Documents   (LexisNexis)
Focuses on management issues and business practices, how companies and managers make decisions, implement new technology or new techniques with special emphasis on case studies and practical applications including guidelines. From the Gale Group.
Business Source Premier   (Ebsco)
Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Note: Mobile interface
Business Wire   (BusinessWire)
The most current five-days worth of full-text news releases on U.S. companies, searchable by company name. News items are geared to public relations professionals and investors.
Coverage: last 5 days
Note: Unrestricted access
Corporate Information   (Wright Investors' Service)
Click on any country to find web sites containing company information for that nation. Also links to basic country statistics, such as population, GDP, inflation, GDP, currency, per capita growth, and corporate structure and such guides as the World Fact Book and Country Commercial Guides. Users must register.
Note: Unrestricted access
General Business File ASAP   (Gale Cengage)
Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Hoover's Online   (Hoover's)
Comprehensive company, industry, contact and market information: in-depth coverage of worldwide businesses, updated daily. Data is searchable by company A-Z and by geography, by industry, by individual executives and by stock index. There is also a browse-able 'business bone yard' with records of companies that no longer exist.
ISI Emerging Markets   (Internet Securities, Inc.)
EMIS, Emerging Market Information Service, presents news, industry information, company profiles, reports, and financial data, closing price quotes, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, and legal and political news from emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe including the Baltic States and Russia.
Searches can be narrowed to resources in English though they include many in over a dozen languages.
Note: Choose a country and modify other parameters using the links on the left side of the screen.
PROMT   (Gale Cengage)
Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use it to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.
Coverage: 1999-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Datamonitor 360   (Datamonitor)
Access to lengthy industry reports authored by independent experts in their fields. Coverage of: Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Energy and Telecommunications. Each report includes: case studies; quantitative analysis; interviews with industry executives; discussion of strategic, and more. Previously named Reuter's Business Insight.
Note: Datamonitor 360 will no longer be published after August 2012. For additional industry information and overviews try IBISWorld, Business Source Premiere, Business and Company Resource Center or Hoover's Online.
Thomas Register of European Manufacturers   (ThomasRegister)
Search for over 207,000 industrial suppliers, organized by 10,500 industrial product classifications, in 6 languages, and from 17 European countries.
Note: Unrestricted access
Value Line Investment Survey   (ValueLine)
Company/industry investment information service. Offers 3-to-5 year projections of key financial measures; commentary on current operations and future prospects; and a 'Timeliness Ranking,' reflecting a company's expected relative price performance in the year ahead. No online access.
Note: Paper version only. See the catalog record.
Wall Street Journal   (Multiple sources)
  Wall Street Journal (Proquest) Full text of the Eastern edition at Proquest. Coverage: 1984-
  Wall Street Journal Only headlines are available to non-subscribers, but they often offer a short free trial.
ResourceShelf   (Gary Price)
A blog for information professionals that contains resources and news highlights from the author of the List of lists.
Coverage: 2001-
Note: Unrestricted access
New York Stock Exchange Fact Book   (New York Stock Exchange)
Data about stock market activity, stock price trends, information on listed companies, and the investing public, institutional investors, trading in international securities on the NYSE, the NYSE community, security market credit, and bonds. Current activity as well as a historical perspective is available. Not published in paper anymore. For previous years see HG4571 .N56 in the Library.
Note: Unrestricted access
Bureau of Labor Statistics   (U.S. Department of Labor)
Statistics related to U.S. and foreign labor, employment, wages, earnings and benefits, inflation and consumer spending including the Consumer Price Index. see also the agencies listed at FedStats - Labor. Use Economy at a Glance for state economic statistics.
Note: Unrestricted access
Industry Information Resources   (Integra Information)
Provides links to lists of industry resources for over 250 industries. Students have access, coutesy of Auraria Library, to many of these commercial databases. Check the Auraria Library catalog Skyline or the Industries databases.
Note: Unrestricted access
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text   (Ebsco)
LLIS indexes articles and book reviews of library and information science periodicals. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Coverage: Indexing 1984 - ; selected full text 1994 -
Note: Limited to one simultaneous user, please close your browser when finished.
Web of Science   (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Technical Support
Factiva   (Dow Jones and Reuters)
Provides a collection of more than 9,000 authoritative business sources, including the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B and Bureau van Dijk company profiles. To search in a specific journal or newspaper use 'More Search Options' next to the search box.
Oxford Journals   (Oxford University Press)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Coverage: Varies
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Mergent Online - International and Industrial Data   (Mergent)
A suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research on foreign companies, and on U.S. and foreign industries. The information resources included are: foreign company data and annual reports, foreign company archives, and industry reports for North America, Asia, the Pacific, Europe, and Latin America.
Note: THIS DATABASE DOES NOT HAVE U.S. COMPANY INFORMATION, THOUGH IT DOES HAVE U.S. INDUSTRY INFORMATION!
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
Business Directory, Canada   (LexisNexis)
Search the company name, mailing address, telephone number, employment data, key decision maker's name and title, six position SIC codes, modeled sales volume figures, employment size and Yellow Page ad size, from infoUSA.
Private Company Reports (U.S.)   (LexisNexis)
Direct search of LexisNexis' US Private Companies Group File that covers more than 200,000 private companies.
Statesman's Yearbook   (Palgrave McMillan)
Includes current and historical archival information (dating back to 1864) about every country in the world, including history, leaders, population, territory, social statistics, climate, government, elections, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry, trade, communications, social institutions, religion, culture, diplomatic representatives, further readings.
America's News   (Newsbank)
Newsbank's America's News (previously known as America's Newspapers) provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including 11 Colorado newspapers. Each newspaper or wire service includes coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Coverage: Varies.
European Space Agency   (European Space Agency)
The Agency's projects are designed to find out more about the Earth, its immediate space environment, the solar system and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries. ESA also works closely with space organisations outside Europe to share the benefits of space with the whole of mankind.It has an extensive program of satellite monitoring the earth environment (air and water pollution, ozone, weather)
Note: Unrestricted access