| Nutrition Research Guide (Auraria Library, D. Turner) Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research. Note: Unrestricted access Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones. |
| Food Science Central (IFIS) A website with food and nutrition news and an index to articles on food, nutrition and food production. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Gale Cengage) GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection. Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Access Science (McGraw-Hill) Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Coverage: updated weekly |
| CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) (Ebsco) Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Coverage: 1982- Note: Mobile interface Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC. |
| Health Information (U.S. National Institutes of Health) Consumer resources on health topics from the health related agencies of the United States government presented by the National Institutes of Health. To focus on scholarly resources on medical topics use the Auraria Library access to PubMed. Logging in will allow the citations found in PubMed to be linked to full text resources purchased by Auraria Library. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Henry Stewart Talks (Henry Stewart Talks) Available from your computer desktop, the Henry Stewart Talks consists of animated audio visual presentations by leading world experts, covering topics in biomedicine and the life sciences. |
| Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale Cengage) Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Also includes health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Health Reference Center Academic (Gale Cengage) Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center. Coverage: 1980- Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link. |
| Health Topics (U.S. National Library of Medicine) Try this site to locate gateway pages related to a disease or other healthcare problem. Note: Unrestricted access |
| National Academies Press (The National Academies) Fulltext access to books (ebooks) in science, engineering, and health from the National Academy of Sciences. Note: Unrestricted access |
| SportDiscus (Ebsco) Indexes periodicals, theses, conferences and other writings on sports, leisure, and physical fitness. Updated weekly. Coverage: books & theses 1949- , journals 1975- Note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users, please log out when finished. Mobile interface |
| Tropical Plant Database (Raintree Nutrition, Inc.) Each plant database file contains taxonomy data, phytochemical information, ethnobotanical data, uses in traditional medicine systems, and clinical research (including links to clinical abstracts). Click on one of the tabs to navigate. Note: Unrestricted access |
| Web of Science (Thomson ISI) A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results. Coverage: 1975- Note: Technical Support |
| Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection (Ovid) Collection of full text medical and nursing journals. Coverage: varies |
| Journals@Ovid (Ovid) A large, searchable collection of biomedical journals, with many links to the complete article. Coverage: varies, ca. 1996- |
| American Botanical Council Library Access (includes Herbalgram) (American Botanical Council) Scientific resources on herbal medicine from the American Botanical Council including the journal Herbalgram, a clinical guide to herbs, Commission E information, HerbPro, and HerbClip, a searchable database of reviews on current journal articles from a variety of publications. |
| Web of Knowledge (Thomson ISI) The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration. Note: Technical Support |
| Alt HealthWatch (Ebsco) Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, acupuncture and more. The content is from periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters. Coverage: 1990- Note: Mobile interface |
| World Almanac and Book of Facts (current edition) (LexisNexis) Quick, comprehensive, and authoritative information on the economy and business, arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, nations of the world, sports, the environment, noted personalities, vital statistics, crime employment, lifestyles, education, science and technology, health and nutrition, and more. |
| Cochrane Library (Wiley Interscience) The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances. |