Databases A-Z : Search Results

Find databases and websites for online, academic, vetted or peer-reviewed research material.

Search for Databases by Keyword

Search results: Your search on Psychology found the following databases.
Please select one or more of these databases to search further.


Annual Review of Clinical Psychology   (Annual Reviews)
A journal of critical reviews by invited qualified authors. They review significant developments in the discipline (i.e. all areas of clinical psychology research and practice).
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Annual Review of Psychology   (Annual Reviews)
A journal of critical reviews by invited qualified authors. They review significant developments in the discipline (i.e. all areas of psychology research and practice).
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Classics in the History of Psychology   (Christopher D. Green, York University)
Classics in the History of Psychology is the full texts of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines. There are books, articles, and chapters on-line and links to relevant works at other sites.
Note: Unrestricted access
Sociological Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in theoretical and applied sociology, social science and policy science.
Coverage: 1963-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
SportDiscus   (Ebsco)
Indexes periodicals, theses, conferences and other writings on sports, leisure, and physical fitness. Updated weekly.
Coverage: books & theses 1949- , journals 1975-
Note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
Mobile interface
PsycARTICLES   (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Coverage: 1985- (unless otherwise noted)
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
PsycCritiques   (Ebsco)
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995.
Note: Mobile interface
Citation Styles for Research Papers   (Long Island University)
A quick visual reference on five citation styles: AMA, APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago style.
Note: Unrestricted access
PsycINFO   (ProQuest)
PsycINFO is the core indexing and abstracting service covering psychology and the related disciplines. -- Search PsycInfo, PsycArticles and Sociological Abstracts simultaneously.
Coverage: 1840-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   (Gale Cengage)
GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on Title List at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
MIT CogNet   (MIT)
MIT CogNet is a full text library of electronic books,journals, and conference proceedings in the cognitive and brain sciences fields. This resource is relevant to the following subject areas: psychology, biology, medicine, artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, and philosophy.
Access Science   (McGraw-Hill)
Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists.
Coverage: updated weekly
Animal Behavior Abstracts   (Proquest)
Index and abstracts to the scientific literature on the study of animal behavior, aggression, behavioral ecology, communication, learning, dominance, genetics of behavior, foraging, memory, neurophysiology, parental-filial and reproductive behavior.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)   (Thomson ISI)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) allows you to evaluate and compare scholarly journals in all areas of the sciences and social sciences. Results can be used to determine which journals are the most important and influential in their respective disciplines by showing the highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, and the largest journals.
Coverage: 2009
Chicano Database   (OCLC from the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California)
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index."
Coverage: 1967-
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users, please log out when finished.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health)   (Ebsco)
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Mobile interface
Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)   (OCLC)
Full text of approximately 135 scholarly journals that Auraria Library subscribes to. Updates daily. You must place a check in front of 'full text' in the "Limit availability to" section to retrieve full text of the article.
Coverage: 1995-
Education Full Text   (Ebsco)
Leading publications in the field of education (over 700 journals). Not all of the journals covered in this database are available online in full-text.
Coverage: Updated monthly. abstracts 1983-, full text 1996-
Note: Formerly known as Education Abstracts Full Text and as Education Index.
Educator's Reference Desk   (Information Institute of Syracuse)
The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to the following resources: links to resources on a variety of educational issues including internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups, lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States, a question archive of responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education and the ERIC Database.
Note: Unrestricted access
General Business File ASAP   (Gale Cengage)
Index to business articles, many full text. Incorporates Investext research reports and includes full text company and industry investment reports and directory listings for companies.
Coverage: 1982-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Health and Wellness Resource Center   (Gale Cengage)
Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Also includes health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Health Reference Center Academic   (Gale Cengage)
Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center.
Coverage: 1980-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
JSTOR   (JSTOR)
An archival suite of full-text scholarly journals. Auraria Library has access to JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences Collections and Life Sciences Collection. Searches in JSTOR also allow the user to link directly to ARTSTOR images.
Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 3-5 years before the present though current content is available in many cases.
Note: PDF Help
Note: Current Scholarship Program information
LLB Abstracts   (ProQuest)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Coverage: 1973-
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
MEDLINEplus   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
MEDLINEplus provides information to help answer health questions bringing together, by health topic, authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), government, non-profit and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MEDLINEplus and give easy access to the medical research literature. The database also provides consumer health information, drug information, dictionary, and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.
Note: Unrestricted access
MEDLINEplus Informacion de Salud (Espanol)   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
MEDLINEplus le dirigir a informacion que ayuda a responder preguntas de salud. Catalogada por tema de salud, MEDLINEplus renne informacion oficial de NLM, Institutos Nacionales de la Salud (NIH, por su sigla en ingles), y otras organizaciones de gobierno y sin fines de lucro relacionadas con la salud. Tambion le proporciona una enciclopedia medica ilustrada y programas interactivos de instruccion de salud.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Buros)   (Ebsco)
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievements and intelligence tests. Online version contains 9th (1985) Yearbook through the current edition.
Coverage: updated semi-annually
Note: Mobile interface
NLM Gateway   (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
A Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple NIH databases. The current Gateway searches Medline/PubMed, TOXLINE Special, LOCATORplus, MedlinePlus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, HSRProj, OMIM, and HSDB.
Note: Unrestricted access
Science.gov   (science.gov alliance)
Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage. The Web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page.
Note: Unrestricted access
ScienceDirect   (Elsevier)
Includes articles from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, and a few in the fine arts and humanities from the publisher Elsevier. As of Aug. 2010 ScienceDirect has been renamed SciVerse ScienceDirect. Sciverse Scopus is not available, Auraria Library subscribes to Web of Science.
Coverage: 1996- ; selected back files to the beginning of a journals' publication
Note: Opposite click and save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, to personal web space, or to a flash drive instead of sending yourself a link.
Wiley Online Library   (Wiley-Blackwell)
Provides indexing all journal titles and access to many journal titles on the Wiley Interscience database. Just start searching using the search box on the left side of the screen.
Coverage: full text generally from 1998-
Note: This database does not provide a full text only search.
TestLink   (Educational Testing Service)
The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Provides information on tests from the early 1900s to the present. The tests in this collection are from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, Great Britain and Australia. How to search.
Note: Unrestricted access
SCIRUS   (Elsevier)
Open access scientific database from Elsevier searches across several well known open access (such as BioMed Central) and proprietary databases (Science Direct). It includes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). More about SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations   (NDLTD)
An open access collection of theses and dissertations from over 200 universities and institutions worldwide. There are two search engines for this database, VTLS and SCIRUS.
Note: Unrestricted access
Taylor and Francis Online Journals   (Taylor and Francis)
Provides access to fulltext electronic journals in most subject areas, including arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, education, history, engineering, medicine, business, economics, psychology. Note that you can look up the journals in a specific subject by clicking on 'Journals by Subject'.
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
SpringerLink   (Springer)
Scientific, technical, and medical ebooks and online journals from Springer-Verlag and other major STM publishers.
Springer “ebook to print book” print on demand service is now available. Look for a link in the ebook record.
WordNet   (Princeton University)
An online lexical reference system whose design is inspired by current psycholinguistic theories of human lexical memory. English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are organized into synonym sets, each representing one underlying lexical concept. Different relations link the synonym sets.
Note: Unrestricted access
Communications Research Guide   (Auraria Library)
Online and print resources and societies of interest to those studying the cross-disciplinary area of Communication, covering such subject areas as technical communications, interpersonal communication, mass media, Web design and language.
Note: Unrestricted access
Web of Science   (Thomson ISI)
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Over 7000 scholarly journals are indexed. WoS is part of a family of databases called the Web of Knowledge. Tutorial on how to use WoS. Quick tip videos from Web of Knowledge these include Thomson Scientific WebPlus, Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts, and Working with Results.
Coverage: 1975-
Note: Technical Support
PsychiatryOnline   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Psychiatry Online provides access to the DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th edition, Text Revision) and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
TeacherTube   (Teacher Tube Community)
TeacherTube is a video sharing website similar to, and based on, YouTube. It is designed to allow those in the educational industry, particularly teachers, to share educational resources such as video, audio, documents, photos, groups and blogs. The site contains a mixture of classroom teaching resources and others designed to aid teacher training. A number of students have also uploaded videos that they have made as part of K-12 and college courses.
Note: Unrestricted access
Oxford Journals   (Oxford University Press)
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.
Coverage: Varies
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (streaming video)   (Alexander Street Press)
CTIV (Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volumes I and II) provides an online collection of videos available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes videos from Microtraining Associates, Psychotherapy.net, the University of Manchester Department of Psychiatry, Allyn & Bacon, Pacific Seminars, and other sources. Includes counseling sessions/demonstrations, consultations, interviews, lectures and presentations. Online transcripts and video clip-making tools are also provided.
Note: Mobile enabled. Look for the mobile phone icon with a green plus sign.
Note: Auraria campus students and faculty members may bring a current campus I.D. to the Reserves & Video counter to borrow headphones for use on Auraria Library computers or in-house laptops.
ICPSR   (University of Michigan Institute for Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Some datasets are available to the public.
Note: You must register for a personal account from an on-campus computer (or a VPN connection) before you can download data.
Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective   (Accessible Archives)
Contains the full text of major articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer during the Civil War from the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, through the surrender at Appomattox, and to the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. Chosen articles focus on military concerns, travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc. Allows comparison of opposing perspectives of both Union and Confederate papers.
Coverage: November 1, 1860 through April 15, 1865
DSM-IV-TR   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link. Also available are the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from DSM-IV-TR ®.
Medline   (Multiple sources)
Medline is the research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  The Medline link above uses the NLM Gateway.  Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search.
See also:
  Medline (Thomson ISI) A keyword search engine incorporated in Web of Science.
  PubMed Medline is the primary component of PubMed.
  MEDLINEplus (US National Library of Medicine) This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).
Web of Knowledge   (Thomson ISI)
The index website for Thomson, the publishers of Web of Science. The search on this page searches several open access databases as well as Web of Science's Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index - Expanded. It also links to several useful researcher tools for collaboration.
Note: Technical Support
APA Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders   (American Psychiatric Publishing)
The Practice Guidelines is available online in PsychiatryOnline through this link.
AJOL   (African Journals OnLine)
AJOL links to citations representing multi-disciplinary articles from journals published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan or purchased through this database.
Note: Unrestricted access
Sage Journals Online   (Sage)
Full text access to hundreds of Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. See also the subject index of Sage publications.
Coverage: Varies. Many journals available from vol. 1.
Encyclopedia of Counseling   (Sage)
Fully searchable encyclopedia on all aspects of counseling.
Note: Email yourself a copy of the article instead of a link.
Cochrane Library   (Wiley Interscience)
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
Academic Earth   (Academic Earth)
A beta website of higher education lectures from faculty from Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford and Yale.
Note: Unrestricted access
ebrary ebooks   (ebrary)
Online access to full-text ebooks in multiple disciplines.
Annual Reviews   (Annual Reviews)
Compilations of critical review articles in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Coverage: 1996-
Note: Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Biology Research Guide   (Auraria Library, D. Turner)
Key resources and techniques on the topic from experts in library research.
Note: Unrestricted access
Mobile enabled. Automatically detects mobile phones.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Business and Management    (Oxford Handbooks Online)
Gives access to eBooks covering a variety of business and management topics. Auraria Library has purchased access to full text of titles published to OHO in the September, 2009 and the May, 2010 and the September, 2010 updates.
Making of America   (Multiple sources)
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Housed at two sites, Cornell University and the University of Michigan.
Coverage: Cornell - 1840-1900; Michigan - 1870-1877
Note: Unrestricted access